Clayton Hotel Liffey Valley
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Clayton Hotel Liffey Valley

Fonthill Road Liffey Valley, Dublin D22 X4W6 Ireland
Lobby - featuring my knee
Traveller (619)
Clayton Liffey Valley Standard Double Single
Room & Suite (346)
Bar at the Clarion Hotel Liffey Valley
Dining (93)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

3.5
#118 of 176 hotels in Dublin
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Value
The 4-star Clayton Hotel Liffey Valley is the perfect base for a trip to Dublin. Located at the M50/N4 intersection and a 6-minute walk from the Liffey Valley Shopping Centre. The spacious rooms include flat screen TVs, tea & coffee facilities and complimentary Wi-Fi. Dining options include a casual Asian restaurant, an all-day lounge/bar and an upscale Italian restaurant serving wood-fired pizza. Room service is also available. Other amenities include a heated indoor pool, a gym and a game room with table football. Modern conference facilities can accommodate up to 390 guests.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Children's playground
Indoor play area for children
Airport transportation
Wifi
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Fitness classes
Sauna
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Kids' meals
Vending machine
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids pool
Highchairs available
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Room service
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Safe
Iron
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Green
Languages Spoken
English

Location

Fonthill Road Liffey Valley, Dublin D22 X4W6 Ireland
3,735Reviews53Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 1,319
  • 1,033
  • 697
  • 328
  • 358
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Barbara T wrote a review Aug 2020
Belfast, United Kingdom14 contributions30 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed here with my family for 2 nights last week. We were lucky and were 2nd in queue to check in. There was about 10/15 people behind us. If you can, check in online as staff always seem really busy. We had a family executive room with 2 separate bedrooms with balcony & kitchenette in kids room. The balcony was overlooking a Toyota sales showroom & a view of The liffey valley shopping centre in distance.(room 551) It was lovely and big, kids were loving the balcony and not having to share a room with us. We had 2 tables but no chairs so we had to request them. It was extremley warm in the room so we opened some windows and left to have a swim. Once there the receptionist had no knowledge of our booking and seemed very confused. Once I told her we booked over the phone a day previous and spoke to someone she let us in. (We had to buy 4 swimming caps 3euros each so bring your own if you have any) Obviously with the ongoing covid-19 precautions we were aware things would be slightly different but we wernt aware we would only get an 8th of the pool to ourselves (ropes separating us from other families). We all love swimming so that was abit of a disappointment. When back in our room we got washed & changed for dinner in The globe restaurant (included in our booking) We all really enjoyed our meals, they were delicious. We especially enjoyed the bruschetta. No tables in seating/bar area to have a drink so we went straight up to our room which was still very warm even though windows were open. Played some games with the kids and went to bed. After a few hours sleeping my son came into us saying he couldnt sleep as a loud speaker/tannoy was sounding telling people to leave the premises. He thought out hotel was on fire or something. Anyway after telling him it may have been a dream it sounded again and I heard it. I went and slept with him and said if it sounded again I would go to reception and ask what it was. It did 2 or 3 times and we both didnt sleep for the rest of the night. He didnt want me to leave the room and he didnt want to leave with me. At breakfast I asked the waiter about it and he wasnt aware of anything and seemed confused so after breakfast I went and asked about it at reception. The receptionist just kept looking at her screen to see if anything was reported. She also seemed v confused and couldnt explain what it may have been. She apologized and assured me she would look into it. We never did get an explanation and it happened both nights we were staying!@! My son was so tired the 2nd day he he slept on and missed breakfast. Disturbed sleep for 2 nights with 2 kids and one v.frightened & anxious 8 year old is not good. We have came to the conclusion it was one of the cars show room alarms outside our hotel. If you can, request a room overlooking hotel carpark at the opposite side of hotel room 551 as you dont want to be woken at all hours with loud security alarms. Other guests must have been disturbed & complained, I'm sure it just wasnt us.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Feds wrote a review Aug 2020
Lisburn, United Kingdom11 contributions1 helpful vote
4.0 of 5 bubbles
An excellent experience. Breakfast was delicious. Oana and all the staff were friendly and very helpful. We had a repacking stay in the hotel. We were really happy with our superior quadruple room. It was very clean. The sanitation stations in different parts of the entire hotel including the lifts made us feel safe. A very good and well-adapted setting during this risky time. All the staff were wearing face shields or masks. The swimming pool was clean and the limited number of people in the pool at a time made us feel safe. We will definitely stay again in Clayton Liffey Valley Hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: you can request a room with balcony if you wish but there is no guarantee you’ll get it.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ivo Todorov, Other at Clayton Hotel Liffey Valley
Responded 25 Aug 2020
Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your experience in our hotel. We are happy to see that you enjoyed our breakfast, the service, and the high level of sanitation throughout the property. We hope to see you again in the near future. Kind regards, Ivo Todorov, Restaurant Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Andys-trips wrote a review May 2022
25 contributions10 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Good hotel for a good location. Reception and staff very helpful and friendly. Wonderful use of on site swimming pool, bit strange that we all had to buy and ware swimming hats! My wife and I travelled with a little one, I was surprised that no drinking chocolate in room neither at reception or the bar which was a bit disappointing. They did not seem to have much as we asked for some toothpaste as we forgot to pack ours which they did not have either strange for a 5 star hotel. You had to book your room to be cleaned and book breakfast which we found a bit odd as we already booked breakfast and thought the room would be cleaned as usual. We had a room with a balcony which was lovely to end the night with, with a glass wine.

The morning breakfast was lovely, very friendly welcome. Much to chose from, cooked breakfast, cereal, fruit, lovely fresh juices and fresh coffee which was a bit strong, it was good to see they even had oat milk which was a big thumbs up.

Like I mentioned the location was good. It was about a 15min walk to the new liffey valley shopping center which was fully of restaurants, cinema and shops, you can also get the C3 bus which is a 15min trip into Dublin center, make sure you have a bus pass or the correct change for the bus as they do not except debit payment on the bus.

Overall nice place to stay for a weekend.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Walk to the liffey valley shopping center which is full of places to eat and drink. Most of the...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Stereohippy wrote a review Aug 2021
2 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
The rooms aren't cleaned, at all; sticky soda spills on the dresser, crushed water bottles under the bed, rubbish in all the bin. you can make a reservation for meals but don't expect them to be honoured And don't try to address any of this with the staff as they'll get all up in you face (aggressive AF) insisting that it's your fault for not chasing after them to ensure they're doing their job (pretty sure he was a manager too). Never ever staying here or any other Clayton hotel ever again, a more hygienic and better value use of the money spent in Clayton Liffey Valley would have been as toilet paper. Total rip off and thoroughly disgusting place. The Globe Bar served congealed mayonnaise (like it had been sitting out all night).
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Andrea L wrote a review Jun 2020
1 contribution1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I recently spent 8 weeks here because I work in healthcare and because I live with my elderly parents I was unable to go home. While it was challenging and lonely at times I have to say I couldn’t have picked a better place to stay in. The staff are warm and friendly and always very helpful especially Pawel who was there to check me in on the first day check me out 8 weeks later and for everything in between. I had everything I needed from great WiFi a fridge and clean towels/linen right outside my door I didn’t have to request anything because it was always provided. So a massive thank you to Pawel and the rest of the staff at the Clayton Hotel I know it can’t have been easy welcoming guests during this pandemic but you do it so well.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from P T, Front Office Manager at Clayton Hotel Liffey Valley
Responded 11 Jun 2020
Dear ALowe2639, Thank you for your kind review! We truly appreciate your kind words about our staff. It's definitely a boost for us every time we hear positive reviews such as this. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon! Kind Regards, Pawel Kulas Front Office Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Deborah D wrote a review Oct 2020
1 contribution1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We had a fantastic stay at the Clayton Liffey Valley! Our family was there to celebrate a communion and we got such a warm welcome from all staff. The rooms were spotless & the beds huge, the food in the hotel was delicious and our children were made to feel really special , especially at breakfast by our waiter Ivo he was such a pleasure to be around. The whole experience was fantastic and we will definitely be back soon.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
June08 wrote a review Aug 2020
Galway66 contributions53 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed as a family of 5 and had inter connecting rooms which were v clean but on the ground floor so over looked the car park. We were in a room by the group area check in door where there was a fire exit that people used to go out smoking or talking on the phone which was just outside our window so very noisey. I did not feel safe at all in those rooms. We weren’t aware we had to prebook breakfast or the pool so when we eventually checked in ( room wasn’t ready) we were told we could only eat breakfast at 7am!!! And no pool slots available. Kids NOT happy, restaurant was booked out too so we had to drive to another one. Breakfast despite being at 7am was very nice and bar lunch was v tastey but v dark and dingey room. The pool staff were lovely and put us on a cancellation list so we got a slot but it was all divided up into squares and you couldn’t even swim as it was too small. All in all a very disappointing experience and we won’t stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ivo Todorov, Other at Clayton Hotel Liffey Valley
Responded 25 Aug 2020
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am sorry to hear that you experienced issues at night and with booking our facilities. The fire exit is only used as an emergency exit, so we will investigate why it was used by guests and put procedures in place to ensure it doesn't happen again. Due to the new government regulations we can only accommodate certain amount of people at the same time - so we advise that you book as early as possible. We hope the issues outlined do not deter you from booking with us again. We hope to see you again in our hotel. Kind regards, Ivo Todorov, Restaurant Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Coraon wrote a review Feb 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Just back from a 2 night stay for midterm with 3 kids ages 10, 7 and 5. I would not recommend this hotel for a family break, there are no kids facilities, no playground, kids club, kids area, no kids breakfast the pool is good and has a lovely small toddler pool however it is very badly run there were no towels available we had to use towels fr om bedroom and half the pool was sectioned off for lane swimming for adults only, my 10 yr old is a good swimmer and was enjoying the lane swimming and was asked to stay out of the lanes
We stayed in a family suite and it was a very good size but it was very dark and warm and the carpet wasn't clean there was a stall smell of cigarette smoke in the room the shower curtain in the bathroom was filthy.
We ate in the gusto restaurant and the food was not good, we had no other option as bar was booked out, the restaurant was self service with v limited option s and food was cold and very unappetising. The breakfast was average at best, kids were very disappointed that there were no pancakes which are a feature of most family hotels. We had a drink in the bar, sofas were stained my husband had a pint of Guinness and a pint if coors both were warm and glass was dirty.
In our second night the fire alarm sounded for about 30 mins on and off at app 10.30pm when kids were sleeping we all had to evacuate the rooms but nobody knew what was going on communication was terrible.
The only redeeming factor in this hotel were the staff every single staff member we met were so nice and pleasant and helpful, the hotel is in a very good location but it needs serious tlc and updating and proper management of the facilities that are there. We have stayed in many family friendly hotels In ireland and this was by far the poorest.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
st4838 wrote a review May 2022
Sligo, Ireland33 contributions11 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I arrived at 6pm I had checked in online and I picked up the room key. The reception area was so busy and loud that I had to lip read what the receptionist was saying. Even at that time there was a loud group from a party also outside the hotel on the side of the bar.

We had reservations in liffey valley to eat and go to the cinema so I just collected the key card and we didn't return to the room until after 10pm.

When we got to the room, despite the booking clearly being for 2 adults 3 children there was no beds set up for the children and no bedding in the room. There was no answer when we rang reception and my husband had to go to find staff. When they arrived they had 2 sheets and 2 pillow covers. No pillows or duvets. And the pull out sofa bed was not suitable for 2 children and still left us with one child without a bed.

The noise levels around the hotel throughout the night was awful we were not too near the ground floor but it still sounded like there was a party outside our window, closing the window did not help.

The last time we stayed we had similar problems but because of location and our plans, I said we'd give the Clayton liffey valley another chance.
It was very disappointing to see not only had things not got any better but had actually got worse.
We took the stairs instead of the lift to breakfast and it looked like they hadn't been hoovered in a long time. There was only one bin in the whole suite in the bathroom I'm sure this is to speed up the cleaning of rooms but it wasn't very helpful to us.

Very disappointed, this was a trip for a special occasion and it really knocked a lot of good out of the weekend.
Breakfast was standard.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
SuzS wrote a review Jul 2021
Northern Ireland, United Kingdom42 contributions51 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We arrived at the hotel around 5pm to find a small queue to check in. We soon realised the queue was moving ridiculously slow and everyone seemed to be complaining. We waiting around 35 mins to check in and it seemed the rooms weren’t ready for everyone checking in at 5.30pm which is very strange. We were allocated a room straight away but when we arrived the cleaner was still in it. She obviously tried to finish quickly but we had to call her back as there were marks all over the table etc and there was no toilet paper.

We had no time to change before our dinner reservation at the Italian so quickly hurried to dinner. The dinner menu wasn’t explained proper and my husband and I tried to order separate starters to be informed it was a sharing platter only, when it arrived the breads were missing and we had to request these. The platter was pretty poor and we barely touched it. We were overly happy to discover it was a Buffet for main course. I thought the save choice would be to order pizza as there was a pizza oven and this would be fresh. Somehow my pizza arrived cold and I had to send it back. When it came again it was pretty poor, the cheese tasted like very cheap quality. I barely touched it. I should point out that I am not overly fussy about pizza! We ordered desert to get something for our daughter but it was so slow we complained to the duty manager. In fairness he took the food off our bill.

The bed was comfortable and there was a fan in the room which was good in the warm weather.

Breakfast was good and the service excellent.

Overly I feel the hotel is greatly overpriced for a basic hotel. If I was staying again I would certainly not eat dinner in the hotel.

I think the hotel should spend less time gifting stays to influencers and more time sorting out issues.
That being said I know there are staff shortages in these industries but the food really was to a very poor standard.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Dublin area.
PRICE RANGE
£123 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
clarion liffey valley, clarion hotel dublin, liffey valley hotel, clarion dublin, dublin clarion
LOCATION
IrelandProvince of LeinsterCounty DublinDublinNorth City Centre
NUMBER OF ROOMS
350
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

CLAYTON HOTEL LIFFEY VALLEY - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about Clayton Hotel Liffey Valley
Which popular attractions are close to Clayton Hotel Liffey Valley?
Nearby attractions include Liffey Valley Shopping Centre (0.5 miles), Jump Zone (0.5 miles), and The Wren's Nest Pub (0.5 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Clayton Hotel Liffey Valley?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Clayton Hotel Liffey Valley?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Clayton Hotel Liffey Valley?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Clayton Hotel Liffey Valley?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Clayton Hotel Liffey Valley?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Hudson Rooms, Hogs & Heifers Liffey Valley, and TGI Friday's.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Clayton Hotel Liffey Valley?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Does Clayton Hotel Liffey Valley have airport transportation?
Yes, Clayton Hotel Liffey Valley offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Clayton Hotel Liffey Valley?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Clayton Hotel Liffey Valley offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Clayton Hotel Liffey Valley?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Kilmainham Gaol Museum (3.9 miles), Guinness Storehouse (4.9 miles), and Áras an Uachtaráin (3.5 miles).
All Dublin HotelsDublin Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in DublinHotels near Clayton Hotel Liffey Valley
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire