We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Grand Canal Hotel

Show Prices
#38 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Grand Canal Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,607 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Grand Canal Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,463: English reviews
Newry, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Stayed here on bank holiday weekend and got an excellence price for the room. Upon arriving we were kindly met and given our keys to the room. The room was clean and had a excellent view of the aviva stadium, for a rugby fan anyway. Biggest disadvantage of this hotel is its location, about 20min walk from the Temple Bar...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Fearghal324
SheilaBaird, Manager at Grand Canal Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Thank you for your comments following your recent stay. We were sorry to hear that you were disappointed with breakfast. All our products are Irish in origin and generally we have found the quality to be very good. We will certainly review them to ensure the standard is maintained. Thank you again for your comments. Kind regards

Ottawa
Reviewed 2 June 2014

I stay at this hotel for the last night on our tour of Ireland. The hotel was not located in a convenient place in Dublin. There was a restaurant and bar in the hotel for food but for the most part they were basic. The rooms were very small, we barely had enough room for our two large bags etc..........

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ottyb
SheilaBaird, Manager at Grand Canal Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback. We are very sorry to hear that the bed in the room was uncomfortable for you and disappointed you did not notify us as we would have been happy to change the room for you. The continental breakfast is generally has cereals, breads, fruits, cheeses and yogurts on...

West Lafayette, Indiana
Reviewed 1 June 2014

My husband and I arrived very early in the morning to the Grand Canal Hotel after an overnight flight from Chicago to Dublin. We checked in and expected to have to store our bags till the afternoon, but to our surprise the desk manager was able to get us a room right away. The room was very clean and the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Katie C
SheilaBaird, Manager at Grand Canal Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Thank you for your postings and feedback. I am pleased we were able to accommodate an early check in for you, Hope you enjoyed your time in Ireland. Kind regards

Columbia,IL
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Our last day in Ireland and we booked in at the Grand and glad we did . The room was very nice and comfortable. Tried from all the running so we ordered in room service and was very pleased with the service and the meal. Good value.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rollinsthomas
SheilaBaird, Manager at Grand Canal Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Thank you for your feedback. Delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope you had a good journey home. Thanks again for the posting. Kind regards

Sao Caetano do Sul, SP
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Despite of being a little bit far from the main attractions of Dublin, but very close to the Aviva Stadium and O2 Arena the hotel is good. The room is not very big but it is clean. The bathroom is not the strong point of the room and I think the room we were offered was for disabled. The breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jeferson G
SheilaBaird, Manager at Grand Canal Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Thank you for your posting. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. We do have a couple of wet rooms with walk in shower facilities. Always happy to change if a bath is your preference. Hope we will see you again soon. Many thanks again for the feedback. Kind regards

Ballymoney, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Channy2013
SheilaBaird, Manager at Grand Canal Hotel, responded to this review

Athlone
Reviewed 27 May 2014

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank capto
SheilaBaird, Manager at Grand Canal Hotel, responded to this review

London
Reviewed 25 May 2014

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ccm301981
SheilaBaird, Manager at Grand Canal Hotel, responded to this review

Magherafelt, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 May 2014

 Report
Helpful?
Thank James M
SheilaBaird, Manager at Grand Canal Hotel, responded to this review

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 May 2014

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ken J
SheilaBaird, Manager at Grand Canal Hotel, responded to this review

678 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (284)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (48)
Viewed
Room/Suite (85)
Viewed
Bathroom (27)
Viewed
View from Room (14)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Other (90)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (326)
Viewed
Amenities (40)
Viewed
Executive Double Room (34)
Viewed
Dining (56)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (30)
Viewed
Standard Triple Room (32)
Viewed
Standard Twin Room (31)
Viewed
Suite (44)
Viewed
The Hotel (59)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (68)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
2.5 mi away
Dublin Skylon Hotel
Dublin Skylon Hotel
#33 of 153 in Dublin
1,783 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#5 of 153 in Dublin
4,346 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sandymount Hotel
Sandymount Hotel
#31 of 153 in Dublin
2,004 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane
0.5 mi away
Mespil Hotel
Mespil Hotel
#29 of 153 in Dublin
431 reviews
0.2 mi away
Roxford Lodge Hotel
Roxford Lodge Hotel
#10 of 153 in Dublin
1,238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
GreenLeadersBronze level
Show More
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Grand Canal Hotel staff and other travellers.
28 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (28)

Questions? Get answers from Grand Canal Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We were at the end of the hallway on the 2nd floor and it was perfectly quiet but a lousy view out of the window.”
U3857DUmaryc, 24 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Deluxe rooms worth the extra, ask for a balcony”
  • Room/balcony
USAIndytravels, 6 Apr 2017 | Read review
“The 3rd floor was quite, warm, windows open for fresh air, has an elevator and private bat; able to charge our iPads and cell phones.”
18272016, 2 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Rooms that look at the road were not loud at all and they have a pretty view”
416janap, 17 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room high up and away from the main road. But generally speaking the road noise is not intrusive whichever room you have.”
626philipa, 27 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5