We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Wayside

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Wayside
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

54 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 53: English reviews
Mullica Hill, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Surprise to see people still smoke indoors when they host B & B. We were having breakfast and when Teresa came to see if we needed coffee, or toast the smell of smoke from the kitchen was unbelievable. The house was clean, the beds comfortable and the towels nice. The bathroom in the hall is shared with the other rooms,... More 

Helpful?
Thank sgboatbuilder
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My wife and I traveled around Ireland celebrating our honeymoon! We stayed at the Wayside at the Gap of Dunloe and it is a Beautiful B&B. The location is top notch! Theresa was very nice and our breakfast was delicious! We took a Jaunting Car ride into the Gap and back. It was a great experience and very educational with... More 

Helpful?
Thank SWeyer1570
Theresa F, Owner at Wayside, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to leave a review of our bnb.It was a pleasure to have such a lovely honeymoon couple stay with us and I am glad that ye enjoyed it.Eugene and I wis h ye good luck and every blessing in yer future.Theresa and Eugene More 

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was the first place I stayed in Ireland, and despite being a bit difficult to get to originally (I got a little lost) the location was perfect. You're a short walk away from some of the more beautiful sights I've seen. I spent my entire trip hiking and exploring the Gap of Dunloe and the surrounding mountains. The hosts... More 

Helpful?
Thank CarolineLennon
Theresa F, Owner at Wayside, responded to this review

Dear Caroline,Thanks for taking the time to leave a review.I am glad ye felt at home and enjoyed yer stay and hiking the Gap. Kind regards Theresa and Eugene More 

2 reviews
Reviewed 24 October 2016 via mobile

We spent a weekend here with great hosts Theresa and Eugene and had such a fabulous time! The area is picture perfect and the b&b was perfectly clean, with wonderfully comfortable beds and an absolutely beautiful view over the Gap of Dunloe which we could enjoy over a great breakfast every morning. We 100% recommend this gem to anyone and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Elaine K
Theresa F, Owner at Wayside, responded to this review

Thanks Elaine for your review.I am glad that ye were comfortable and enjoyed yer stay with us. Kind regards Theresa. More 

Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2016

Was recommended to stay in The Wayside. In no way disappointed. Theresa and Eugene were perfect hosts making me feel most welcome for the three nights that I stayed. The facilities were excellent. Kate Kearney's Cottage is a short distance up the road which leads to the Gap of Dunloe and The Black Valley where one could spend hours/days walking... More 

Helpful?
Thank ronald k
Theresa F, Owner at Wayside, responded to this review

Thank you Ronnie for your review.I am glad you enjoyed your 3 night stay with us,and the peace and tranquility of the Gap Of Dunloe and Black Valley,and the fine weather.I hope you have some fab photos after your trip. Kind regards. Theresa and Eugene. More 

Gravenhurst, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2016

We went to Ireland to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary and Wayside was one of the places we had booked in advance. We got there late afternoon and were warmly greeted by our host. After settling in, he recommended Kate Kearney's Cottage for dinner and as it was raining, he drove us there himself! Our room was very nice and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank brian b
Theresa F, Owner at Wayside, responded to this review

Wilma and Brian Thanks a lot for yer review.I am glad ye had a memorable stay with us,and again Happy 25th wedding anniversary. Eugene and Theresa Ferris More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2016 via mobile

For a first time at a bed and breakfast, my wife and I didn't know what to expect. The room was clean and quiet. The food was delicious and the hostess and her husband very polite and helpful. Definitely recommended!

Helpful?
1 Thank Ian W
Theresa F, Owner at Wayside, responded to this review

Thanks Ian and April for yer review.We are glad that ye enjoyed yer stay with us.We really enjoyed having such a lovely couple stay with us. Kind regards. Theresa and Eugene Ferris More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 October 2016

Absolutely lovely. Perfect location for visiting Gap of Dunloe. Patsha(not sure for the spelling of her name) was an amazing host and so kind and full of chat and advice on the things to do. The beds were so comfortable and the hot and power shower was so refreshing!!! If I ever return to Ireland (and I hope I do!),... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer 이
Theresa F, Owner at Wayside, responded to this review

Thanks Jennifer for your review.I am glad that you ,your Dad and the film crew enjoyed yer stay with us recently.It gives me great pleasure to know that our guests go away happy,refreshed and enjoy a good bed and breakfast and good Irish hospitality. Theresa More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 September 2016

Just loved this bed and breakfast , the couple that run it Tess and Eugene are pretty special. They could not do enough for us and I wish we could have stayed longer. They made our trip to Killarney the most memorable and enjoyable holiday we have had in a long time. Our rooms were spotless and the children so... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank ERuane
Boyle, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 September 2016

Wayside B&B was lovely and well looked after. Theresa was a very friendly and helpful host. Our stay was very enjoyable and we had a fantastic time at Wayside B&B. We will definitely be visiting again.

Helpful?
1 Thank reynoldssarah93

13 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (9)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.6 mi away
The Dunloe
The Dunloe
#1 of 1 in Beaufort
701 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Europe Hotel & Resort
3.1 mi away
Killeen House
Killeen House
#1 of 2 in Aghadoe
894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Loch Lein Country House
1.1 mi away
Inveraray Farm Guesthouse
0.0 mi away
The Ferris Wheel B&B
The Ferris Wheel B&B
#73 of 145 in Killarney
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
Room types
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast

Additional Information about Wayside

Address: Gap of Dunloe, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Price Range: £58 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Wayside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Wayside staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Sidcup, United Kingdom

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Wayside staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you can get the one room with the your own bathroom, located at the back of the house. Keep curtain closed as you dress in the AM.”
 of 5 bubbles sgboatbuilder, 11 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Pay with cash.No credit cards.”
 of 5 bubbles hjmacmahon, 23 Aug 2016 | Read review
“All rooms should be fine, ensuite is available if you like, but the shared bathroom is fine. There is not much noise at night either so room location should also be fine.”
 of 5 bubbles dylandcd, 2 Aug 2013 | Read review
3 of 3
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay