We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Kilkenny Tourist Hostel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Kilkenny Tourist Hostel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

110 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 77: English reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Came here with a group of international students (40 people). It was relatively inexpensive. The room was average for a hostel - seemed quite clean. The only downside is that we were having a bit of 'craic' in the shared living room in the evening and got kicked out around 10pm. It was just a little bit awkward as we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hanna J
Pollock Pines, California
Reviewed 13 September 2016

When we arrived, we were happy to see that we were right in town and able to walk everywhere! We had such a lovely time in beautiful Kilkenny. The staff at the hostel was very polite and we expected on a Friday night that everyone would be loud and we probably would have trouble sleeping but everyone was just as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Diane and Dave S
Köln
Reviewed 8 September 2016 via mobile

The hostel is perfectly situated in the town center, so that everything could be reached by food. The common room as well as the kitchen have a nice atmosphere. Besides the spat out gum on the floor besides my bet and the carpet in the bedrooms I liked the hostel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ikear
Canton of Lucerne, Switzerland
Reviewed 17 August 2016

Centrally located, with very friendly and helpful staff, small, but nice rooms, surprisingly quiet, a friendly atmosphere, self-catering possible. We stayed in the family room (four people). A place to recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chrischris211
Reviewed 12 August 2016 via mobile

Staff was very rude and intimidating I came back at 8 o'clock in the morning to sleep until 10 when we had to check out and because my friends brought one guy back to stay in the room where there was a spare bed we were rudely a woken by the staff and we had to get changed straight away...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Holly P
miss A, Manager at Kilkenny Tourist Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Thanks for letting us know your experience of staying with us. I think your comment regarding your friends bringing guys back and being noisy is explanation enough as to why you were asked to leave early. We do not tolerate this and aim to deal with it as efficiently as possible so that other paying guests are not inconvenienced....

Athens, Greece
Reviewed 30 July 2016

Lovely hostel in an old building. It was interesting wondering around this building trying to imagine what a house it must have been, once upon a time! They have turned it into a hostel but you can still feel the character of the old house. The place was really clean, the kitchen nice and bright, staff very friendly and helpful....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SmagP
Bray, Ireland
Reviewed 26 June 2016 via mobile

Stayed here on the weekend for Rod Stewart in an eight bed dorm with my friends, the hostel is in a perfect location for heading out on the town and all the staff were lovely! The facilities are great and the hostel is lovely and clean! Would DEFFO stay again!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jen D
Reviewed 16 June 2016

I walked in in May - knowing nothing of the place. Upon realising how big the place is I was expecting more noise, less comfor and generally lower level of maintenance than a smaller hostel. I was wrong. The staff is nice and welcoming, there's a relaxed atmosphere and even with stags in I have no complaints about noise. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Heather M
Reviewed 11 June 2016

The building was older, but maintained and clean. The staff was mostly helpful and gave good recommendations of what to do/where to go. The location was nice, near lots of the pubs and restaurants. The rooms were not cramped and good value for the amount of money.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amanda E
Genoa, Italy
Reviewed 25 May 2016

Simple hostel that (I think) is ran by backpackers too... The staff is very nice and helpful. Rooms and bathrooms are clean. They offer free milk or tea for breakfast (no food thou) but you have to go early because milk will be finished by 9:00.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fockowoko

34 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
0.4 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#2 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,593 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kilford Arms Hotel
Kilford Arms Hotel
#13 of 18 in Kilkenny
634 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
#7 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
#8 of 18 in Kilkenny
669 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
0.7 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#3 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Kilkenny Tourist Hostel is the best located Hostel in Kilkenny with great low prices, the friendliest staff and lots of guests from all over the world to socialise with. There's a mix of dormitories and private rooms, free WiFi and computer access, a fully equipped kitchen to cook in, tea and coffee, and lots of information on how to see Kilkenny like a local. Plus there's free lockers, free towels, and a cheap laundry service. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Kilkenny Tourist Hostel

Address: 35 Parliament Street, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Price Range: £20 - £61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Kilkenny Tourist Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Kilkenny Tourist Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 11 is the cosiest room, but stay downstairs in the big dorm if you want wi-fi in the room. It's dodgy anywhere else.”
 of 5 bubbles 352heatherm, 16 Jun 2016 | Read review
“The wifi did not reach the rooms, you had to be downstairs”
 of 5 bubbles 453amandae, 11 Jun 2016 | Read review
“road next to room can be a bit loud but nice other wise...”
 of 5 bubbles jordanleew, 22 Jun 2015 | Read review
“If your looking to have a quieter sleep try get a room at the back of the hostel.”
 of 5 bubbles molliep293, 14 May 2015 | Read review
“Ask for rooms facing the back. Always bring ear plugs to hostels ;)”
 of 5 bubbles MajelG, 5 Oct 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay