We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Kilkenny House Hotel

Save
Share
Traveller (37)
Room & Suite (21)
Dining (5)
Overview
Kilkenny House Freshford Road, Kilkenny Ireland See on map
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Air Conditioning
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Breakfast included
3 Star accommodation
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (247)
Filter reviews
197 results
Traveller rating
36
45
37
29
50
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
36
45
37
29
50
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hotel standards friendly man twenty minute walk convenient hotel power shower hotel bar short walk into town stayed here for two nights buffet style comfortable stay ted taxi
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 197 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

It was seriously overpriced for what it was! Basically a budget b&b ! In a far out location! The bed was fine, but there was no drinking water( not to mind bottled) water in the room! When I came in I was quizzed like a...More

Thank Mairead O
Response from KilkennyHouse, Reception at Kilkenny House HotelResponded 1 week ago

Good afternoon Mairead, Thank you for the review of your stay. The rate you booked was for a double room on a Saturday night in Kilkenny. We keep our prices less than our nearest comparable 3 star hotel competitors. We are 20 minute walk or...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The Iris flag outside the hotel is quite frankly appalling. They didn't even have the decency to buy a proper Irish flag so the hotel is using a Guinness flag instead. As a Kilkenny resident I think the fact they replaced an Irish flag with...More

Thank Eoghan03
Response from KilkennyHouse, Reception at Kilkenny House HotelResponded 1 week ago

Good afternoon Eohan Regarding your comments about one of the flags outside our hotel, it is not our National Irish Flag at all. If it was, we would be flying it with all due respect. The flag in question is a fun flag with a...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We had such a great sleep. The beds were comfortable and the bathroom was spacious. It's a shame there was no lift to the floors above ground level. Unfortunately for us we had a very noisy neighbour that continually yelled and slammed his door. Guests...More

Thank PriscillaF
Response from KilkennyHouse, Reception at Kilkenny House HotelResponded 2 weeks ago

Good afternoon Priscilla, Thank you for the review of your stay with us and the kind comments. Although we do not have a lift at present, we do offer to assist with luggage when needed. We do strive to keep all our guests happy. Kind...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This is a reasonable, neat, comfortable three star hotel. What makes it unreasonable, as the polite unapologetic gentleman at the desk explained, is that they turn a profit by tripling prices at the weekend. They can do so because of the demand from Dublin visitors...More

Thank Ian1406
Response from KilkennyHouse, Dyrektor generalny at Kilkenny House HotelResponded 3 weeks ago

Good afternoon, Thank you for your review and comments. We do not triple our prices at the weekend - our prices vary on a daily basis depending on market demand. Some days during the week could work out less than double the rate for a...More

Reviewed 1 September 2018 via mobile

We paid 155 Euro for one night here which was way overpriced. That did not include breakfast. I presume that rate is better if booked far in advance. Good twenty minute walk to town. Room basic enough but clean and bed comfortable. Receptionist not very...More

Thank fionagun
View more reviews
About
Hotel class
Hotel Amenities
HOTEL FEATURES
Free Parking
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Air Conditioning
Non-Smoking Hotel
Beachfront
Breakfast included
Pool
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Number of rooms
32
Price range
US$56 - US$151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Location
Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Number of rooms
32
Price range
US$56 - US$151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Location
Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Photos
Traveller (37)
Room & Suite (21)
Dining (5)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (4)
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 19 nearby hotels
Newpark Hotel
2,240 reviews
.69 miles away
Troysgate House
96 reviews
.78 miles away
Brog Maker Hotel
88 reviews
.78 miles away
Kilkenny Inn Hotel
390 reviews
.85 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 254 nearby restaurants
Cafe L'Arche
15 reviews
.80 miles away
Royal Spice Indian Restaurant
510 reviews
.97 miles away
Kernel Bar & Kitchen
90 reviews
.85 miles away
John Cleeres Bar
88 reviews
.98 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 147 nearby attractions
St. Canice's Cathedral & Round Tower
1,413 reviews
.84 miles away
Dunmore Cave
313 reviews
.61 miles away
Watergate Theatre
9 reviews
.98 miles away
Kilkenny Golf Club
20 reviews
.70 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Kilkenny House Hotel staff and past guests.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Room Tips
"Rooms are quiet."
Gerry51
16 Aug 2018
Read review
"Request a room to the front."
silverfox711
17 Jun 2018
Read review
"Avoid upper floors unless you are feeling strong !"
DannyD2634
9 Jun 2018
Read review
"got nothing to tell you."
mossy9
24 Jan 2018
Read review
Show More 
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing