We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Clayton Hotel Limerick

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Clayton Hotel Limerick
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,063 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,014: English reviews
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

Went jere on.a trip.for a meal.had Great time lovely staff great service very friendly place next to headway limerick In steamboat quay who do alot of work for people with brain injuries and are completely relient on volunteers from around limerick

 Report
Helpful?
Thank shane r
cmcbreen, Manager at Clayton Hotel Limerick, responded to this review

Dear shane r, Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay at Clayton Hotel Limerick. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and do hope to see you again in the very near future. Kind regards, Callum McBreen Deputy General Manager Clayton Hotel Limerick

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

possibly one of the best hotels I have ever stayed at. From the welcoming banter of the reception staff, large rooms with desk area, great view of the river. Good leisure facilities and pool. Decent breakfast although a bit noisy at times. Will definitely go back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gary D
cmcbreen, Manager at Clayton Hotel Limerick, responded to this review

Dear Garry D, Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent at Clayton Hotel Limerick. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back very soon. I will be passing your lovely comments back to the team which they will be delighted to hear. Best regards, Callum McBreen Deputy General Manager Clayton Hotel...

Cork, Ireland
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Been meaning to post this for ages Checked in here for one night back in September 2016 Had a lovely room with a view of the city up high on the 13th floor I think?? Check in was smooth and friendly from what I remember! Room was lovely! And a very unusual shape but that made it lovely. Probably one...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LeeOKeeffe
cmcbreen, Manager at Clayton Hotel Limerick, responded to this review

Dear LeeOKeeffe, Many thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback from your recent stay at Clayton Hotel Limerick. I am delighted that you enjoyed your experience with us. I will be passing your comments back to the team which they will be delighted to hear. We do hope to see you back again soon. Best regards, Callum...

County Galway, Ireland
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Just back from a weekend stay in the Clayton. Found staff to be uninterested in guests and just getting the job done (apart from one older man at the front desk who was lovely). The rooms were fairly basic. Beds were comfortable but found it very cold at night time. Shower was good. The bathroom sink was hard to use...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KaitlynH20
cmcbreen, Manager at Clayton Hotel Limerick, responded to this review

Dear KaitlynH20, Many thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback from your recent stay with us at Clayton Hotel Limerick. We rely on guest feedback to help us strive to surpass guests expectations. I am disappointed to learn that you felt that some areas of the hotel let you down especially when you felt our staff were...

Teguise
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here for just one night at the weekend and it was a pleasant experience. The hotel is located on the quay just 5 minutes walk away from the main shopping areas of O'Connell Street. The staff were helpful when required, and there was a good selection of hot & colds foods available in a breakfast buffet, but it it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stephen O
cmcbreen, Manager at Clayton Hotel Limerick, responded to this review

Dear Stephen O, Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay at Clayton Hotel Limerick. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you back aging very soon. In relation to the room service trays, Employees do gather the trays in that location for a minimum amount of time. I will investigate...

Peachtree City, Georgia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Everything in this hotel was very clean. Front desk was very kind and friendly. All guests seem happy because of their big smiles. The panorama view from the window of my room was absolutely beautiful. The lounge has delicious Asian food and of course cold Guiness on draft. I had a very pleasant stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tatsuya373
cmcbreen, Manager at Clayton Hotel Limerick, responded to this review

Dear tatsuya373, Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay at Clayton Hotel Limerick. We are delighted that you enjoyed the experience and we hope to see you back again very soon. Happy New Year to you and your family. Best regards, Callum McBreen Clayton Hotel Limerick

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here recently for a break away. We weren't looking for much, just a night away and some leisure time in the pool. When we arrived we were told that the sauna, jacuzzi and steam room were all currently being renovated. I understand that this couldn't be helped. But we were incredibly disappointed as we were really looking forward...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karen M
cmcbreen, Manager at Clayton Hotel Limerick, responded to this review

Dear Karen M, Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay at Clayton Hotel Limerick. I do apologize that you didn't get to experience our Jacuzzi and Sauna but due to essential works, we have decided to heavily invest in our Leisure Center which will be amazing when completed at month end. In regards to the Room...

Cork, Ireland
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Booked this hotel and ended up paying a fortune for one night as there was very limited availability in Limerick. (My choice fair enough) Family room, 2 adults and 2 children under 5. €250 for 1 night, no breakfast, no swimming pool...no frills and when we arrived we were told to use the nearby tower block public carpark. When we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HelsBells77
Management response:

Dear HellsBells77, Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at Clayton Hotel Limerick. I am very disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay and will investigate the issues raised further. I would be most grateful if you could contact me directly on the below details. Kind regards, Callum McBreen Deputy General Manager Clayton...

Galway, Ireland
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here over the Christmas for one night. The views from our room were spectacular especially with the Christmas lights on display. The food was amazing. The staff were so friendly and helpful. Nice clean hotel. The swimming pool looks out on the river with more wonderful views.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lily F
Management response:

Dear Lilly F, Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay at Clayton Hotel Limerick. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your time here and enjoyed our facilities. I will be passing your comments back to the team which they will be delighted to hear. We hope to see you again in the near future....

Limerick, Ireland
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were here for one night, It is a very nice hotel, Had lunch and dinner here, Staff were only ok i was not dressed up so maybe if i had put my suit on they might have been more helpful, But the hotel was very clean and comfortable.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John B
Management response:

Dear John B, Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at Clayton Hotel Limerick. I am however surprised at your comments that you found our staff only OK as you felt you were not dressed up. I want to assure you that we at The Clayton Hotel Limerick treat all of our guests with...

239 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (210)
Viewed
View from Room (43)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (25)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (35)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (95)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Limerick hotels
0.9 mi away
Absolute Hotel
Absolute Hotel
#1 of 20 in Limerick
1,796 reviews
0.5 mi away
Limerick Strand Hotel
Limerick Strand Hotel
#4 of 20 in Limerick
2,225 reviews
0.4 mi away
The George Limerick
The George Limerick
#6 of 20 in Limerick
1,393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Savoy Hotel
The Savoy Hotel
#5 of 20 in Limerick
1,066 reviews
3.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Limerick
0.3 mi away
No. 1 Pery Square Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Irelands Tallest Hotel. 4* Hotel with 158 Riverside Bedrooms located in Limerick City Centre. Full leisure centre, 15 minutes from Shannon Airport. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Clayton Hotel Limerick

Address: Steamboat Quay, Limerick, Ireland (Formerly Clarion Hotel Limerick)
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Limerick > Limerick
Price Range: £68 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Clayton Hotel Limerick 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Clayton Hotel Limerick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Limerick
Limerick Clarion
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Limerick
#8 Business Hotel in Limerick
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Clayton Hotel Limerick staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from Clayton Hotel Limerick staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“ask for a river view”
 of 5 bubbles 674garyd, 14 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Room 700 has a view over the old Dock and looks well lit up at night.”
 of 5 bubbles 633stepheno, 10 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Higher floors have better view.”
 of 5 bubbles tatsuya373, 8 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Nice river view from 6th floor.”
  • Nice view from room
 of 5 bubbles HelsBells77, 3 Jan 2017 | Read review
“all rooms have good views. Odd numbers look over the city and even numbers look out the estuary.”
 of 5 bubbles Dexysgirl, 27 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay