We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]}}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,371 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,362: English reviews
Start your review of Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa
 Click to rate
Inistioge, Ireland
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Spent Saturday evening and a good part of Sunday here for a family event at Easter and was a bit underwhelmed with everything. Bar prices are at 4-star hotel levels but little else is. On the Saturday night there were number of children allowed to run around unchallenged at a late hour. The buffet food on the Sunday was average...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank John G
HillgroveHotel, Director of Sales at Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa, responded to this review

Dear John G I am really sorry that your recent family event was underwhelming. We offer supervised kids club until 9pm, after which time it is the parent's responsibility to supervise their own children. Our Managers do keep a watchful eye on this. We generally do not get complaints about the portions we serve but I will certainly speak to...

Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

My friend and I booked a spa day at the hillgrove a few weeks ago, the staff in the spa were exceptional , could not possibly have been nicer or more welcoming. The spa itself is gorgeous (especially the outdoor hot-tub) and the treatments were also great, I would definitely rate the whole spa package a 5 star experience. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dublinblogger
HotelOwnerMonaghan, Director of Sales at Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa, responded to this review

Dear dublinblogger Thank you for choosing the Hillgrove Hotel Leisure & Spa for your spa break. Delighted that you enjoyed the spa facilities, treatments and outdoor hot tub. I will certainly make our Spa Manager aware of your glowing feedback. I am really sorry that you did not enjoy the cocktails and food as much and I will certainly speak...

Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

Great hotel with fab staff! As soon as we walked through the doors we were greeted by lovely young girl. Then during our check in process we had a lovely man who wished us a very happy stay. The bedroom was out of this world. Spa facilities were lovely. The whole hotel was very clean

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Martine G
HotelOwnerMonaghan, Director of Sales at Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Martine G Thank you for choosing the Hillgrove Hotel Leisure & Spa for your recent family break. We really value your lovely feedback regarding your recent stay with us. Delighted that our staff, spa and facilities were worthy of a 5 :) Sharon McMahon Sales & Marketing

Buncrana, Ireland
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

My kids love when we go to the Hillgrove Monaghan - don't want to leave, always ask to go back! We stayed there last summer and I went out to the shop early while everyone else was still sleeping - came back in the front door and spotted a kid way down at the check in desk in what I...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank themusicboxireland
HotelOwnerMonaghan, Director of Sales at Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa, responded to this review

Dear themusicboxireland Thank you for choosing the Hillgrove Hotel Leisure & Spa for your recent family break. We really value your lovely feedback regarding our family friendly facilities. Our Minion Bob should be around over the Summer too :) Kind regards Sharon McMahon Sales & Marketing

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We went for couple of days at the end of the Easter holidays Positives - staff where excellent very attentive an well trained in the most part. Food in the bar was decent, and the kids club (although our wee one was too young) seemed to be good. The hotel is certainly geared towards children. Negatives - cleanliness was poor,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Stuart M
HotelOwnerMonaghan, Director of Sales at Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Stuart M Firstly thank you for your lovely comments regarding our staff and bar food. I have spoken to our Restaurant Manager and can assure you that the carpet in the Restaurant is vacuumed after each sitting and during the breakfast service if necessary. As you can imagine the hotel was extremely busy last week with the Easter holidays....

A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
HotelOwnerMonaghan, Director of Sales at Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa, responded to this review

Reviewed 1 week ago

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rosie S
HotelOwnerMonaghan, Director of Sales at Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa, responded to this review

Portadown
Reviewed 1 week ago

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer M
HotelOwnerMonaghan, Director of Sales at Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa, responded to this review

Galway, Ireland
Reviewed 1 week ago

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank John O
HotelOwnerMonaghan, Director of Sales at Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa, responded to this review

Drogheda, Ireland
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank deirdrewinters
HotelOwnerMonaghan, Director of Sales at Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa, responded to this review

268 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (244)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (43)
Viewed
Room/Suite (37)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (130)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monaghan
0.9 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel and Leisure Club
0.6 mi away
Westenra Arms Hotel
Westenra Arms Hotel
#3 of 4 in Monaghan
217 reviews
5.7 mi away
Castle Leslie Estate
Castle Leslie Estate
#1 of 1 in Glaslough
1,408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Farnham Estate Hotel, Cavan
0.5 mi away
Ashleigh House
Ashleigh House
#4 of 4 in Monaghan
70 reviews
12.3 mi away
The Glencarn Hotel
The Glencarn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Castleblayney
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Show More
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
3 months ago
3 months ago
over a year ago
northern ireland
over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The hotel rooms at the back have better views than to the front so if you want a view ask for one at the back.”
RosieS969, 22 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Not a lot of choice else where for eating unless you travel ! Nice spa area”
ferguson562, 3 Apr 2017 | Read review
“our room looked out towards the back very quite ,and spacious ,”
ettie13, 3 Apr 2017 | Read review
“ask for a room at the back”
121alecb, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Make sure you ask for downstairs room if you are disabled”
bridiemck1, 28 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5