We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Travelodge Waterford

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Travelodge Waterford
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

381 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Travelodge Waterford
See the most recent reviews
Showing 356: English reviews
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 24 October 2014

I was unable to attend my daughters wedding and asked Travelodge if they are able to do something special for their wedding night. I am so impressed with the front desk (Ciara) that never just pushed my request aside and sent it on to Conor who has truly gone way and beyond to assist. Their room looks lovely and I...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Cathy A
Conor M, General Manager at Travelodge Waterford, responded to this review

Dear Cathy A, Thank you for taking the time to share your Travelodge experience on tripadvisor. It was a shame that you couldn't attend Samantha & Paul's wedding but let me assure you that we pulled out all the stops for them and they really enjoyed their stay with us. Hopefully you will be able to visit them here in...

A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2014 via mobile

We have been traveling Ireland for some time now and this is the 3rd Travelodge we have stayed in. It is cheap and the rooms are clean which is what we were looking for. However you pay the price for having a cheap room because the wifi, food, and even vending machine are very expensive. Besides that we would be...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Conor M, General Manager at Travelodge Waterford, responded to this review

Dear Tripadvisor Member, Thank you for your kind words about our hotel. Our aim here at Travelodge is to provide guests with a room that is clean and comfortable at an affordable price and i am glad to see that in this instance we delivered on our promise. I do hope that you will come back to visit us again...

Clonmany, Ireland
Reviewed 4 October 2014 via mobile

Found this hotel to be great value. Only €50 for the night and its so close to all the nightlife. It's very easy to find and the parking is free. It's very basic but it is spotless. What more could you want?

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ms_vaughnstrider
Conor M, General Manager at Travelodge Waterford, responded to this review

Dear Ms_vaughanstrider, Thank you for your kind words about our hotel. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us here in Travelodge Waterford. I hope that you will come back and visit us again sometime in the near future. Regards, Conor M

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 3 October 2014

Terrible stay, it started off well where we were given a reasonably nice room, five minutes after we entered the room (just settling in) we got a knock on the door telling us that this room had already been prebooked and moved us to a different room, on arrival there was a horrible damp and old smell in the room...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank ShaunaC85
Conor M, General Manager at Travelodge Waterford, responded to this review

Dear ShaunaC85, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I must apologise for the circumstances that you encountered during your stay with us. If possible could i please ask that you make contact with myself at waterford@travelodge.ie as i would like to discuss some of the issues that you mentioned in more detail many thanks Conor M

County Wexford, Ireland
Reviewed 28 September 2014

This hotel seems to be great for a stag or a hen, or a casual get together. The rooms are very dated. As soon as I entered the room, there was a very strong smell of detergent. If you want a place to crash for a night, this is the place for you. If you want comfort, this is not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kieran C
Conor M, General Manager at Travelodge Waterford, responded to this review

Dear Kieran C, Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property. Please accept my sincerest of apologies for the strong smell of cleaning product in the bathroom. We are currently engaged in some deep cleaning but clearly on this occasion too much product was used. I will talk to our accommodation supervisor regarding this and...

Ryde, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 September 2014

I don't like to give a poor review, but there were so many things wrong about this stay. Reception was poor with no greeting, the receptionist sat down the whole time he was checking us in. The room was dirty, with food debris from previous occupier, and dirty carpet that left marks on our feet after showering. The bed was...

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank SG2012
Conor M, General Manager at Travelodge Waterford, responded to this review

Dear SG2012, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I must apologise for the circumstances that you encountered during your stay with us. I would very much like to discuss these items with you in more detail so could i please ask that you make contact with myself at waterford@travelodge.ie so that we can go through the...

St. John
Reviewed 12 September 2014 via mobile

The rest of the room was quite alright but the carpets were absolutely filthy. A very deep cleaning of the carpets would improve the stay one hundred fold. Between the lingering urine smell and bleached bathroom we had to keep the windows open. We had to pay 5€ extra for wifi and was only good for one device. Every B+B...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fishout24
Conor M, General Manager at Travelodge Waterford, responded to this review

Dear fishout24, Thank you for your review. I was disappointed to read your comments and please accept my apologies for the problems that you mentioned. We are currently in the process of refurbishing the hotel and new bedroom carpets are being implemented throughout the property. Please also accept my apologies for the bleached bathroom smell that you referred to. Our...

Reviewed 12 September 2014

My friend and I went to stay here for one night. There was a slight mix up when we arrived but it was sorted out immediately and we were given complimentary breakfast. The Manager was very helpful and made sure we were looked after.Very clean rooms and good location.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank anneO1235
Conor M, General Manager at Travelodge Waterford, responded to this review

Dear anneO1235, Thank you for your review. It always pleases me to read reviews from guests such as yourself that have really enjoyed their stay with us because it means that we ensured that guest expectations were met, which as a hotelier is exactly what it's all about. Apologies once again for the slight mix up with your booking and...

Reviewed 10 September 2014

I would recommend anyone to stay here. The staff are soooo friendly and welcoming. I have stayed in waterford travel lodge approximately 10 times this year because I have relations living in waterford and I had a great experience every time. The rooms are spotless, the location is perfect and it is very reasonably priced.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Graceflanagan
Conor M, General Manager at Travelodge Waterford, responded to this review

Dear Graceflanagan, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It is always a pleasure to welcome you to our hotel. I shall pass your kind words onto my team and I do hope that you will come stay with us again sometime in the near future Regards, Conor M

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 10 September 2014

Absolutely terrible. The bed was not fit for anyone to sleep on and the carpet and walls were filthy. We arrived quite late and were leaving early next morning so decided to just put up with it. This hotel needs a complete refurbishment and should be closed down until that happens. It is the worst hotel we have ever stayed...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank aussgirl
Conor M, General Manager at Travelodge Waterford, responded to this review

Dear aussgirl, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. Please accept my sincerest apologies for the problems that you encountered during your stay with us. If possible, could I please ask that you make contact with myself directly at waterford@travelodge.ie as i would like to discuss some of the items that you mentioned in...

96 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (79)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (18)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Waterford hotels
1.1 mi away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
1,102 reviews
1.0 mi away
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
#4 of 12 in Waterford
1,120 reviews
1.9 mi away
Viking Hotel Waterford
Viking Hotel Waterford
#11 of 12 in Waterford
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
1,230 reviews
1.0 mi away
Fitzwilton Hotel
Fitzwilton Hotel
#6 of 12 in Waterford
1,318 reviews
1.1 mi away
Tower Hotel Waterford
Tower Hotel Waterford
#5 of 12 in Waterford
1,071 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Waterford Travelodge Hotel is ideally located just outside the main city centre. Travelodge Waterford is located on the main Cork to Rosslare Road (N25) our hotel is the ideal gateway to all that the sunny South East has to offer. Local beaches and golf courses are all on our doorstep. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Travelodge Waterford

Address: N25 Cork Road, Waterford, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Price Range: £49 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge Waterford 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Travelodge Waterford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterford Travel Lodge
Waterford Travelodge
Travel Lodge Waterford
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Travelodge Waterford staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question
wales

I too would like the opportunity to respond to " general manager Connor "

I would further ask how the disgusting smell in the upstairs corridor would be attributed to another property having sewerage problems when other parts of the travel lodge and external areas had no smell at all ?

I cannot understand how just a certain area on the first floor would be affected as pipework would run throughout the building and any build up would come upwards from the ground floor?

Further to this ,reading through all the reviews ,the responses are inconsistent , they tell us that a refurbishment has been taking place anytime over the last 12-18 months , that beds have " all been renewed " .. are " in the process of bring renewed" or " will all be renewed shortly" .

Some reviews posted in August 2015 have only had responses updated by " The manager" in mid 2016 .. so problems have been ongoing for some time then ?

I would reiterate despite the claims that I am wrong , that people are actually being housed there .

I have looked at the reviews in detail , on several occasions where very good reviews have been written the reviewers are all " first time reviewers" ? ....mmm?

Perhaps there should be a way of contacting these " reviewers" to check the validity of the entries .

Why , after constant complaints , about groups congregating outside the front door being loud etc etc would you encourage them with a smoking area ?

Move it further away !

Shame on Travelodge head office for not looking after their brand / property / reputation . The word Hostel has been used in many of the reviews I have read .. I think that could even be a bit derogatory of some hostels. Thorough cleaning , ongoing maintenance , staffing , new bedding .. the list is endless ...no , for me this last visit was enough .. never ever will I recommend a visit here and hell would freeze over before I would stay or let my family stay there .

6 months ago

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Travelodge Waterford staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms opposite the local McDonalds can be a bit noisy.”
Harninio, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
“avoid ground floor as we noticed a lot of young people's groups were staying in this part of the hotel.”
DanGT_9923, 22 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Wifi only lasts 24 hours”
muraodk, 7 Sep 2016 | Read review
“anywhere away from the stag party”
0terryt, 17 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room away from McDonalds!!!”
Malabracha, 6 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5