We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Viking Hotel Waterford

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Viking Hotel Waterford
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

463 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 453: English reviews
Start your review of Viking Hotel Waterford
 Click to rate
A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
12 reviews
1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Stayed two nights and slept well. Room was clean and very quiet. Breakfast and dinner was delicious. Had a hot irish breakfast and ordered bacon mushroom pasta with garlic bread for dinner loved it! Highly recommend!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Waterford, Ireland
Reviewed 1 week ago

we didn't want to travel far from home as hubby unwell. basic city hotel, but, lovely friendly staff. beds extremely comfortable. meal served ok, service good; music pleasant, evening pleasant. good value as Supervalu deal on outskirts of city, car park available, convenient.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Linda T
Reviewed 1 week ago

Arrived on the 15th March Wednesday night to Saturday (3 nights stay). Our coach arrived late in the evening however, a meal was arranged for us. We found the room to be clean, comfortable and adequate for a short stay.. All the staff were great, friendly and obliging nothing seemed too much trouble for them. Not my first time in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank George T
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Rude staff at reception very abruptly checked us in went for lunch in the bar food took almost an hour and the bar was not busy. Also staff having an argument behind the bar while we were paying for food. Not close to town and no late bar for residents. Would not recommend

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Norah S
Cork, Ireland
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Fab place, ideal location, great staff, food was perfect. Very clean, modern & spacious. Great atmosphere & very friendly staff, very helpful. I can't say enough good things about this lovely hotel....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gitoverit
Carlow, Ireland
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here for 1 night on business, easy access from the motorway with free parking which is a plus. Prompt check in, rooms spacious and clean. Had food in the bar, plenty of choice on the menu. Good nights sleep, hotel is located outside of town so no noise from the street late at night Breakfast was great, plenty of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank molaszka
Cork, Ireland
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Recently had carvery lunch at this hotel. Food was ice cold and tasteless. Tables were filthy and full of plates. Staff were too busy chatting to each other and showing each other stuff on their phones to bother cleaning up obviously. Unfortunately the worst carvery lunch i have ever had. Complete waste of money!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maryi
Darren B, Operations Manager at Viking Hotel Waterford, responded to this review

Hi Maryi Thank you for your feedback , I am sorry we did not live up to our usual high standards on when you were here for lunch which i would like to apologise for.I take this matter very seriously and will have a full investigation about the staff's conduct on the day in question .Can you please contact me...

Carlow, Ireland
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

very friendly staff, great food and clean spacious bedrooms.my second visit and i recommend it for a peaceful break. its just off the ring road and away from the busy center. not for young families as there is no swimming pool or gym or kids activity area but for relaxing its perfect. special mention to sarah on the desk as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank joerooney
Darren B, Operations Manager at Viking Hotel Waterford, responded to this review

Hi joerooney Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us.I am delight that you enjoyed your stay and you were able to unwind and relax.I will pass on your kind words about Sarah on reception.Thank you fro choosing the Viking Hotel for your recent visit to Waterford and hope to welcoming you...

Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Viking hotel is a good hotel for the business traveler - clean, modern room; easy to get to via car and has parking; perhaps a bit far from the tourist attractions for some. I've traveled to Waterford many times over the past 2+ years and this is my first stay at the Viking Hotel. It is a modern hotel,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank steveokeefeMA
Darren B, Operations Manager at Viking Hotel Waterford, responded to this review

Hi steveokeefeMA Thank you for sending your review.We do have a lot of business travelers staying with due to our location which is ideal for them as we have free parking onsite and have easy access to all major roads. There is a bus stop located down the road which will drop you to the city.Tank again for taking the...

dublin
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed in the Viking Hotel on Friday 24 February with my other half and two kids. I was a bit surprised by the location but the hotel itself was lovely. The rooms were spacious, clean and the beds were so comfy. The biggest asset this hotel has is its staff, from the girl on reception to the waiting staff, nothing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank smore2102
Darren B, Operations Manager at Viking Hotel Waterford, responded to this review

Hi smore2101 Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.I am glad that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us here in the Viking Hotel.We are very lucky with the staff we have here in the hotel and pride ourselves on giving every guest the renowned Irish Welcome and the home away for home feel. We...

33 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (26)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Waterford hotels
2.9 mi away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
1,086 reviews
2.4 mi away
Fitzwilton Hotel
Fitzwilton Hotel
#6 of 12 in Waterford
1,302 reviews
2.5 mi away
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
#4 of 12 in Waterford
1,109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
1,213 reviews
2.4 mi away
Treacys Hotel Waterford
Treacys Hotel Waterford
#9 of 12 in Waterford
1,033 reviews
4.3 mi away
Woodlands Hotel
Woodlands Hotel
#10 of 12 in Waterford
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
Show More
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Viking Hotel Waterford staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“we requested a room away from main road, which we got”
 of 5 bubbles LindaFiona, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We were in 320 and family were in 319 these rooms were great as there are only 3 floors.Only thing was we overlooked the car workshops.”
 of 5 bubbles georgetQ376TE, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“I prefer rooms overlooking the Car Park.”
 of 5 bubbles brendanst, 3 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Just Specify What Kind of Room you require and the Staff will help you out, But Every Room in the Hotel is quiet”
 of 5 bubbles ad038, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Get a room away from the vending machines which are near the lift”
 of 5 bubbles AnneM124, 20 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5