Newark Hotel
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Newark Hotel

239-241 Eastfield Road, Peterborough PE1 4BH England
Room
Traveller (44)
Dining (15)
Twin room
Room & Suite (14)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

3.5
#26 of 30 hotels in Peterborough
3.5 of 5 bubbles
Location
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Value
Popular with Contractors, The Newark is budget accommodation, just 15 minutes walk from the City Centre, The Newark has free parking subject to availability, free WiFi and a licensed bar. All rooms at The Newark are non smoking, and feature LCD TVs with all freeview channels, washbasins and tea/coffee making facilities. A majority of rooms are ensuite, while we also have some budget rooms with access to several shared wash facilities around the property. We are located a short walk from several eateries and deliverable by over 100 more. Free parking is available to residents in a large car park to the rear of the property, which is secured overnight and covered by CCTV. We are licensed and Guests can enjoy a drink in the courtyard area, which has a sheltered area with chairs and tables - ideal for smokers. The property is easily accessible from the A1(M), just 10 minutes away by car. Other near by attractions are the East of England Showground, Nene Valley Railway and Sacrewell Farm. Located just off the A1139, The famous 12th-century Peterborough Cathedral is just a 20-minute walk from The Newark, while Queensgate Shopping Centre is also just 20 minutes away by foot.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Free breakfast
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Non-smoking hotel
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
Quiet
Languages Spoken
English

Location

239-241 Eastfield Road, Peterborough PE1 4BH England
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 53 out of 100
53
Cambridge Airport
31.7 mi
See all flights
Nottingham Airport
42.6 mi
See all flights
103Reviews0Q+A25Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 19
  • 41
  • 22
  • 9
  • 12
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Helen I wrote a review Oct 2022
Shepton Mallet, United Kingdom5 contributions1 helpful vote
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The good points, the receptionist was ever so helpful and our rooms were clean. On site parking. The not so good points, some of the furniture was broken and very noisy as its on a busy road so ask for a back room. The light in the bathroom wasn't working but repaired the following day. Expensive for what it was.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Newark Hotel, General Manager at Newark Hotel
Responded 7 Oct 2022
Thanks for your review, You stayed during the Stamford horse trials where all Hotels with in half an hour of the event put their rates up by 50% - 100% and were either booked up or you would have seen priced at £150 - £250 a night at the time of booking!. We had a last minute cancellation and you booked paying £87 (would have been £80 if you booked direct) or £56 on normal day. We could have priced it at £120 and being the cheapest would have sold it. Sorry you were unhappy with the road noise - if you were light sleepers we could have given you ear plugs although all rooms are double glazed. All our windows are double glazed and its not often guests complain about noise. The wardrobe you mention has been repaired. Kind Regards
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Andy P wrote a review Jul 2018
Dubai, United Arab Emirates36 contributions32 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
In general the building could do with updating lots of signs of damage around the place.......However the bedroom was clean walldrobe chair kettle tea and coffee radiator and most importantly a fan as the temperature was a touch high. Bathroom small but all there including shiwer over bath again clean plenty of fresh clean towels. Bed was very comfortable. Quite throughout the night the staff are friendly off street secure parking. Town is only 10 mins away. Breakfast was good full English with plenty of coffee.
In all value for money just look past the damage
Read more
Date of stay: July 2018Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sandie F wrote a review May 2015
St. Neots, United Kingdom5 contributions3 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I live quite a distance from Peterborough and needed a cheap stay for an early start job interview. The staff at reception were friendly. The room was basic but clean. The shower and toilet just across the way adequate for my needs. I had dinner in the restaurant (most of the workers stayed in the bar area to eat with Sky Sports on) and breakfast the next day was good with friendly waiting staff. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this if you are on a budget. Not many places charge £36 per night with breakfast included. Oh...and I got the new job!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2015
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
David G wrote a review Sept 2022
3 contributions2 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I was booked in to the hotel with a colleague, and on arrival we both thought the hotel was closed, this was due to the poor lighting and was told to park in the car park at the rear of the building. The car park area smelt strongly of cannabis's and once inside the reception area was very dull, on arriving at my room it was very dusty with a fan in the room full of dust and a smell.
The toilet and shower was shared and the light is on a timer and it only last about 2 minutes.

I have traveled around the UK and this is the worst hotel I have ever stayed in, it need closing for a deep clean and updating and as the other hotels in the area were full, so I had to stay for a few days. The main photos make it look nice, but its not..
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Newark Hotel, General Manager at Newark Hotel
Responded 7 Oct 2022
Sorry you were unhappy. faced with an annual increase of £50,000 in utilities the lighting is reduced, although we have PIR sensor lights instead f the powerful floodlights. Being a Budget contractor hotel on narrow margins, we have no choice in this or putting prices up. We are an older Hotel, having been open for 45 years, but if you look in most accommodation you will find dust behind the beds / tvs etc. We thoroughly clean our rooms every 4-6 weeks to include areas which may not be done in standard room changes, to say we are dirty are untrue. The 2 rooms you were in although a budget, were refurbished from a-z only 24 months ago and repainted 12 months ago, the communal areas do need updating but being budget accommodation we are limited to the amount we are able to spend on improvements but we are prioritising guest rooms and slowly getting through them. When they are eventually finished we will work on the communal areas With regards to smoking in the carpark, there are contractors who smoke away from the building or in their vehicles, we have no control over what they smoke but we are a non smoking hotel. The budget rooms your company booked are at £33 a night - substantially cheaper that others who I expect were available for between £80 - £120 a night, we also have ensuite rooms at only a little more but suspect they were booked up. We're sorry your company did not choose to accommodate you in more expensive accommodation.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
peter h wrote a review Aug 2021
Halifax, United Kingdom247 contributions60 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Again i had booked last yr for the newark for my yearly visit to truck fest, which was my 11th year to both the hotel & truck fest. was welcomed by mgr and he assisted me with my suitcase as i am registured disabled, i love this hotel.i booked for two nights from the saturday to the monday, breakfast was spot on as usual i had the full english mmm. and sunday night i asked if was possible to rustle up me something to eat, so ordered fish n chips at additional £10 but looked both beautiful and delish. this is budget hot but ideal for going to events like the truck fest.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: if your disabled ask for room GO5.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tourist766989 wrote a review May 2022
5 contributions
+1
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Arrived a couple of hours early and was delighted to be able to check in early, that's the good part.
The room was extremely dated and scruffy (see pictures). Our room looked out over the courtyard and car park. In the evening there was loud shouting and swearing in that area. I looked out to see drunk males threatening each other and then unbelievably one of the males CS spray the other. Completely scary.
In the morning we went down for breakfast. Nobody about, just some cereal and old marmalade and margerine. No sign of bread or milk. I phoned the manager and 5 minutes later one of the staff appeared in her pyjamas to show us some milk and bread in a fridge that was for long term residents of the hotel.
Although we had booked for 2 nights we immediately checked out.
I have stayed in dozens of hotels all over the world and the UK. This would be in my top 5 worst!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Newark Hotel, General Manager at Newark Hotel
Responded 11 May 2022
Hi, we are a budget Hotel, popular with contractors and travellers on a tight budget, as we are one of the cheapest Hotels in the city, offering value for money accommodation. We were surprised to hear you had booked us as a weekend getaway as a couple and can only presume it was because we were 20-50% cheaper than all the other Hotels in the City. On the evening of your stay we were fully booked, and there was unfortunately an altercation between 2 guests, which lasted for 2 minutes. This incident has been reported, guest barred and matter left with the authorities. On speaking with you I explained that this is beyond our control and could happen anywhere, which, being an ex-police officer, you agreed with. You did say you would check out immediately as you didn't feel safe. As such, added with the disturbance, we said we would arrange a refund - (we would be be able to remake and resell) which you were very happy with but then changed your mind, and said you would not go immediately but leave in the morning. We spoke with the booking agent and agreed for them to refund the 2nd night of your (non refundable) stay. We're puzzled why you say you checked out immediately in the evening yet reference breakfast the morning? You booked a room only stay. We do not currently offer any paid options and instead reduced our rates accordingly. What we do offer, when available is a COMPLIMENTARY light breakfast of cereals and toast, which we did on Saturday bookings and informed guests on check in. You called in the morning to complain that there was no bread and milk so a staff member who was working late the night before, had to come and take it out of the fridge for you (next to the breakfast table). As complimentary, we do not have staff at hand in the morning, as we would, if it were charged cooked offering which we are sometimes able to offer dependant on staffing. As you did not pay for the cereals, toast, milk, tea, bread, coffee, jams it is disappointing that you still find the need to pick fault at this as it is normally an appreciated extra, however, we apologise the free items were not up to your standards. We are pleased though that you felt safe enough to come downstairs for breakfast before leaving. We have hundreds of guests who stay at the hotel, and our reviews are mostly favourable. Despite being a budget Hotel we are investing in refurbishing. It is unfortunate you were not in one of our refurbished rooms as you would have perhaps been happier with your stay. We would suggest that you would possibly be happier if you pay the premium to stay in one of the chain Hotels where your expectations would be better met. Thank you for taking time out of your day to leave a review .
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
peter h wrote a review Sept 2020
Halifax, United Kingdom247 contributions60 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I had origionaly booked the newark for 1st w/end of may for my 10th yearly visit for truckfest, but had been rebooked to the august bank holiday of 29/8/2020 due to the coronavirus. Anyway on arrival was greeted with a welcome on nice to see you again,& was told all about the social distancing guidance rules & that breakfasts will be at staggered times upto 8am,& filled in track n trace. I went to my usual room GO5 which is an en-suite and ideal for me as i am registured disabled. anyway my whole weekend was brilliant and relaxing and going to the truckfest for the 10th year in a row, my breakfasts where spot on & to the newarks high standard, and deff hit the spot in the mornings, i would really recommend this hotel to anyone visiting peterborough.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: if your a disabled visitor would recomend you book GO5, ramps are available on request for rear...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Peter hemingway wrote a review May 2022
Halifax, United Kingdom66 contributions4 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
well as i had already booked last year for this years stay, i arrived at the newark on the saturday before truck fest, i was welcomed with a lovely smile by fran, went to my usual room on ground floor as i am registured disabled, my stay was up to parr. i know this hotel is going through changes at mo with been redecorated and building work o/side but its still worth a stay there, i class this hotel as my second home as i have been coming to stay here since 2011. my full english breakfasts was absolutely delishious & tastey, and i know if you fancy an evening meal & it costs extra £10 its well worth it. the car park is ideal for visitors & is secure.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: room 5 is ok
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
David P wrote a review Mar 2023
2 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
One of the weirdest hotels I’ve ever stayed in. More catered for labourers and construction workers. Halls that you’d see the twins from the shining in. No staff over night which is a concern, having said that at least we didn’t eat there, even though they were open during covid, I can’t add anything else. Other than most haunted should maybe film there at night. Might turn out to be a drunk construction worker who has got lost. 2/10
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Take some holy water and low expectations
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Newark Hotel, General Manager at Newark Hotel
Responded 27 Apr 2023
unusual review we've responded to - a year after your apparent stay during lockdown when we were open to key workers? We openly advertise as a budget contractor accommodation which is not unusual. Booking with us suggests we fitted your budget requirements. You can indeed book elsewhere, which is busier, more facilities and larger rooms, but in most cases you have to pay a premium. We offer clean quiet value accommodation which is why we are very popular in at times an expensive city to stay in. Your review suggests you found it very quiet and were not disturbed which good - if you found it noisy and had sleepless nights we would be concerned! As smaller independent accommodation (not sure how someone could het lost) we do not have someone sat at reception 24/7
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
sparkleyglitter wrote a review Sept 2016
28 contributions10 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Booked into this hotel as it was a lot cheaper than anywhere else in Peterborough (that looked half way bearable) on the night we needed it... wasn't expecting much at all especially after reading the reviews on here.

We were pleasantly surprised - not only greeted by friendly staff but a nice spacious clean room with tea/coffee facilities and an ensuite - looked like the room had recently had some work done on it and we certainly saw evidence of improvements and work being done around the place so hopefully it will improve even more with time.

Breakfast was also an additional pleasant surprise and the couple (owners?) were very helpful and pleasant - we went away with full bellies, good directions and a big thumbs up.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2016Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
No results found.Try changing or clearing your search to read questions and answers.
David P wrote a tip Mar 2023
2 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Take some holy water and low expectations "
Read full review
Peter hemingway wrote a tip May 2022
Halifax, United Kingdom66 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"room 5 is ok"
Read full review
peter h wrote a tip Aug 2021
Halifax, United Kingdom247 contributions60 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"if your disabled ask for room GO5."
Read full review
peter h wrote a tip Sept 2020
Halifax, United Kingdom247 contributions60 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"if your a disabled visitor would recomend you book GO5, ramps are available on request for rear doors,"
Read full review
peter h wrote a tip May 2019
Halifax, United Kingdom247 contributions60 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"no comment"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Peterborough area.
PRICE RANGE
£43 - £54 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandCambridgeshirePeterborough
NUMBER OF ROOMS
15
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

NEWARK HOTEL - Updated 2024 Prices, Reviews, and Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Newark Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Newark Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Escape Peterborough (0.6 miles), Embassy Flares Peterborough (0.7 miles), and Central Park (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Newark Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Newark Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Newark Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Newark Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Gurkha Durbaar, Katana, and Tavan.
Is Newark Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.4 miles away from the centre of Peterborough.
Are there any historical sites close to Newark Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Flag Fen (1.9 miles), Longthorpe Tower (2.5 miles), and PeterboroughTown Centre (0.9 miles).
Is Newark Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Peterborough HotelsPeterborough Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in PeterboroughHotels near Newark Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire