We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

The Lawrance

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (167)
Room & Suite (18)
Dining (4)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#2 of 14 apartments in Harrogate
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The comfort of home, the five star service of a luxury hotel - The Lawrance. Your every need meticulously catered for, your every whim beautifully accommodated. Whether you're here on business or for pleasure, you'll find The Lawrance far more than just a place to stay. It's luxurious home from home accommodation. We have 3 properties to choose from: Kings, Duchy and York House. 1 bedroom studios to 3 bedroom apartments, from 1 night to 1 year.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Conference facilities
Non-smoking hotel
Express check-in / check-out
Private check-in / check-out
Complimentary tea
Show more
Room features
Seating area
Iron
Coffee / tea maker
Kitchenette
Dishwasher
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Kitchenware
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Trendy
397Reviews8Q+A60Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 276
  • 70
  • 24
  • 5
  • 22
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Standley125 wrote a review Dec 2023
Manchester, United Kingdom41 contributions81 helpful votes
Lovely apartment with all amenities. Very close to town centre. Unfortunately we wouldn’t stay again due to parking being a good 10 minutes walk away and not knowing your accommodation until a couple of days before. Fan not working in the bathroom and bar missing in fridge to store bottles.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from The Lawrance, General Manager at The Lawrance
Responded 27 Dec 2023
Dear Standley125, Thank you for taking the time to leave us such an in-depth review! We're so pleased to hear that you enjoyed our convenient location and well-equipped apartment. We aim to provide all our guests with a luxurious home-from-home from which they may explore Harrogate at their leisure. Our apologies for the issues you experienced. Regarding parking, should guests reach out to us we are more than happy to explain our sites and how they work. If parking is vital, guests are welcome to book our Duchy Road site with parking. We sincerely hope that you consider reaching out and giving us another chance to make your future stays perfect. Feel free to call us and a member of our team will personally take care of your stay. Kindest regards, The Lawrance
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
lesley n wrote a review Dec 2023
1 contribution
Great stay, certainly wasn't expecting what we got. Home from home and basically a 1 bedroom house with bedroom and bathroom upstairs. Spotlessly clean and bed is amazingly comfortable. Great location too. Will definitely be returning
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from The Lawrance, General Manager at The Lawrance
Responded 15 Dec 2023
Dear 217lesleyn, Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review. We are glad that you enjoyed your high-standard beautifully appointed apartment. We are thrilled to read these fantastic scores and the overall description of the apartment and your experience with us We hope to see you soon! Kindest Regards, The Lawrance Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Stefn81 wrote a review Dec 2023
Chester, England31 contributions21 helpful votes
Received an email today cancelling our booking for this weekend. Email advised they were no longer able to accommodate us due to a maintenance issue and to contact booking.com for a refund. Booking.com confirmed the Lawrance had overbooked and that was the reason for the cancellation. Yes, we’ll get a refund but it’s now too late to book another hotel without having to pay over double the price as pretty much everywhere is fully booked. It’s bad enough when hotels are greedy and overbook but when they do this, I’d appreciate being told the truth when they cancel my booking. This was a birthday present that we’ve now had to cancel. We come to Harrogate fairly regularly but I certainly wouldn’t consider the Lawrance again.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from The Lawrance, General Manager at The Lawrance
Responded 8 Dec 2023
Dear Stefn81 , Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are highly confused as to why you have chosen to leave a review like this on a public platform. As mentioned on the email we sent you, we can only apologise profusely, whilst we can understand it is highly inconvenient having your booking cancelled, however, a major maintenance issue prior to any arrival is something no-one could foresee. This was not a question of an overbooking; we are too small to have overbookings, and we certainly did not mention it as an overbooking to Booking.com at the time, so we will be investigating this with them further. We were made aware Monday morning of water leakage throughout the apartment; engineer informed us that it’s a big job and therefore would need ample time to rectify the issue. As we didn’t want to risk having to cancel your booking at the very last minute, we decided it’d be best to cancel your booking. You were made aware on Monday afternoon, and your booking was for Saturday, 5 days in advance gave you plenty of time to search for another accommodation, and looking at the availability in Harrogate, there were plenty hotels available to choose from for Saturday night. We also processed an immediate full refund of your booking. Again, apologies that you feel you were unfairly dealt with in this instance. We do go above and beyond for our guests and thankfully we do have a very high occupancy of wonderful and happy guests returning to us year on year. We wish you good luck in all of your endeavours and future travel experiences. Kindest regards, The Lawrance
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
suzylakes wrote a review Dec 2023
east yorkshire25 contributions14 helpful votes
Absolutely 1st class apartments, 2nd time we have stayed there. Spotlessly clean. Kitchen, glasses etc teas/ coffee , biscuits all provided. Lovley friendly staff. Ideal for city centre shopping. Love staying there. Home from home.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from The Lawrance, General Manager at The Lawrance
Responded 5 Dec 2023
Dear suzylakes, Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review. We are glad that you enjoyed your high-standard beautifully appointed apartment, ideally located in central Harrogate. We are thrilled to read these fantastic scores and the overall description of the apartment and your experience with us We hope to see you soon! Kindest Regards, The Lawrance Harrogate
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Voyage781712 wrote a review Dec 2023
1 contribution
Beautiful apartment in a lovely location. Only issue was the heating. Electrical fault kept making the heating trip so had to resort to portable heater. Unfortunately no one from the out of hours team answered the phone.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
carolinecJ1527LH wrote a review Nov 2023
Suffolk, United Kingdom4 contributions
Beautiful spacious apartment very well equipped. There was even a washing machine. Great bed with good quality bed linen. The bathroom was excellent with a lovely heated floor. The Lawrance is directly opposite the Convention Centre which was very convenient. Pikolinos restaurant nearby was very good with a lovely atmosphere. We will definitely be trying the York apartments. Much nicer than staying in an hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from The Lawrance, General Manager at The Lawrance
Responded 19 Nov 2023
Dear carolinecJ1527LH, Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review. We are glad that you enjoyed your high standard beautifully appointed apartment, ideally located in central Harrogate. We are thrilled to read these fantastic scores and the overall description of the apartment and your experience with us We hope to see you soon! Kindest Regards, The Lawrance Harrogate
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Andrew C wrote a review Nov 2023
1 contribution
Absolutely beautiful. Like new. Large shower and a bath. Brilliant location with restaurants just round the corner and conference centre across the road. Should have stayed longer. Free parking option worth having. All this and still £20 cheaper than a sole less Premier Inn
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from The Lawrance, General Manager at The Lawrance
Responded 4 Nov 2023
Dear andrewR2578QD, Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review. We are glad that you enjoyed your high standard beautifully appointed apartment, ideally located in central Harrogate. We are thrilled to read these fantastic scores and the overall description of the apartment and your experience with us We hope to see you soon! Kindest Regards, The Lawrance Harrogate
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
tjspikejambo wrote a review Oct 2023
Nottingham, United Kingdom70 contributions23 helpful votes
We would definitely recommend and will return. Fantastic apartment, perfect for a long or short stay. Very clean and well equipped. (Even egg cups!) Friendly and helpful staff on checking in. Only criticisms we have regarding our apartment - No 4, the bath needs replacing as it is very badly chipped on the bottom and there is a hole where the taps are. Also the sofa is very uncomfortable, more suitable for a waiting room. You definitely can’t sit and watch the television in comfort. Overall a very enjoyable stay.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from The Lawrance, General Manager at The Lawrance
Responded 4 Nov 2023
Dear tjspikejambo, Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review. We are glad that you enjoyed your high standard beautifully appointed apartment, ideally located in central Harrogate. We are thrilled to read these fantastic scores and the overall description of the apartment and your experience with us. Thank you for your feedback re the sofa and bath, this has been passed on to management. We hope to see you soon! Kindest Regards, The Lawrance Harrogate
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Mistress B wrote a review Oct 2023
Leeds, United Kingdom5 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
Very impressive apartment. Extremely spacious, great ambiance with lighting and fire. Big bath and shower. Perfect location. Lovely spotless apartment. Brilliant time. Would recommend and Would return.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from The Lawrance, General Manager at The Lawrance
Responded 4 Nov 2023
Dear lizley78, Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review. We are glad that you enjoyed your high standard beautifully appointed apartment, ideally located in central Harrogate. We are thrilled to read these fantastic scores and the overall description of the apartment and your experience with us We hope to see you soon! Kindest Regards, The Lawrance Harrogate
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Tom S wrote a review Oct 2023
8 contributions
Fantastic accommodation, very stylish and very comfy beds. Great value for money. Would definitely be back if in the area. Living area is a great size to have a drink before going out. Bathrooms are very clean and modern. Parking on site makes it very easy
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from The Lawrance, General Manager at The Lawrance
Responded 4 Nov 2023
Dear G5192BUtoms, Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review. We are glad that you enjoyed your high standard beautifully appointed apartment, ideally located in central Harrogate. We are thrilled to read these fantastic scores and the overall description of the apartment and your experience with us We hope to see you soon! Kindest Regards, The Lawrance Harrogate
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Harrogate area.
PRICE RANGE
£75 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the lawrance hotel harrogate
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandYorkshireNorth YorkshireHarrogate
NUMBER OF ROOMS
19
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE LAWRANCE - Updated 2024 Prices, Reviews (Harrogate)

Frequently Asked Questions about The Lawrance
Which popular attractions are close to The Lawrance?
Nearby attractions include Spirit of Harrogate Ltd (0.2 miles), The Little Ale House (0.3 miles), and Valley Gardens (0.08 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Lawrance?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and conference facilities.
Which room amenities are available at The Lawrance?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at The Lawrance?
Guests can enjoy complimentary tea and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at The Lawrance?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Lawrance?
Conveniently located restaurants include Tilly Peppers, Vivido Bar & Restaurant, and Essenza Bar & Tapas.
Is The Lawrance located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.5 miles away from the centre of Harrogate.
Are there any historical sites close to The Lawrance?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Mother Shipton's Cave (3.1 miles) and Saint Wilfrid's Church (0.2 miles).