We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

The Inn at Cheltenham Parade

26-30 Cheltenham Parade, Harrogate HG1 1DB England
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (298)
Room & Suite (66)
Dining (39)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#3 of 5 inns in Harrogate
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
For fabulous food, friendly yet attentive service and a relaxed overnight stay, The Inn is the perfect choice. We’re housed in a beautifully renovated 19th Century town house right in the centre of the famous spa town of Harrogate. A perfect base for exploring Yorkshire, being close to the city of Ripon, the market towns of Thirsk and Knaresborough, and within easy striking distance of historic York.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Street parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Special diet menus
Show more
Room features
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Quirky Hotels
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English
873Reviews7Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 493
  • 238
  • 73
  • 41
  • 28
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
tonguewizard wrote a review Mar 2024
Skegness, United Kingdom65 contributions58 helpful votes
This place is just fabulous!!! Brought parents for a couple of days time out and a treat ….. From the minute we walked in it felt right. Happy smily staff who in our whole stay here didn’t put a foot wrong. The drinks , the food , the service , the attention to customer needs …. Second to none. Location , couldn’t have got it more right. The rooms are spotless, huge , and airy. . We had requests , requests were met , no fuss. I couldn’t fault this place …. I/we will be back. Thanks to all , you made it special
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
suebell262 wrote a review Mar 2024
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom284 contributions112 helpful votes
We had a lovely evening meal here last week and thoroughly enjoyed the beef shin pie (pastry was lovely and beef so tender) with mash and buttered broccoli. We both had Timothy Tailor ales which were lovely and the welcome and service throughout was excellent. Would deffo recommend and consider staying in hotel if we return to Harrogate in the future.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
stuart h wrote a review Mar 2024
yorkshire29 contributions8 helpful votes
Although there are rooms within the main building, we stayed in what I would describe as the annex, which is out on the back road separate to the main building. This comprised of a space just big enough for a double bed and a bathroom. It was clean and well kept. With this being a small space it was easy to keep warm. I wouldn’t want to stay in the annex again. It was noisy all night. There was a constant noise which I could only imagine was a generator, heat source pump, or something of that nature. It was a really restless night. The breakfast was good and there was a reasonable choice on the menu. Although the site states there is parking, this is limited and although check in isn’t until 3pm, the car park was full by 10.00am according to the staff. There is a multi storey across the road which will cost you £14 for 24 hours. One tip I would give to the staff is, when a customer’s debit card doesn’t work first time, please do not lick your thumb and then wipe your saliva across the chip, yes I laughed too.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
David H wrote a review Mar 2024
1 contribution
Having stayed at the Inn on Cheltenham Parade on two previous occasions we had no reservations in booking again for an overnight in Harrogate. We were aware we booked the last room available, room 12. Directed to our room through the pub to a door leading to a staircase we immediately smelt damp. After ascending two flights of stairs upon opening the room door we were hit by the smell of damp and the cold of the room. I felt the radiator which was tepid, the carpet was dirty, the walls stained, the mattress springs noticeable to the touch. The room was disgusting, it reminded me of the hostels I stayed in as a student. We left appalled by the state of this room and booked into the Yorkshire Hotel in Harrogate which was fantastic. If they try to put you in room 12 my advice do the same
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Steve C wrote a review Mar 2024
4 contributions
After arriving at The Inn, we we're greeted by the friendly hotel manager who kindly offered us his parking spot if there were no spaces left in the car park. What a true gentleman! We upgraded our room and stayed in room 10, which was a beautiful room right at the top with a balcony.. You could live in that room it had everything you could wish for. Friendly, helpful staff and decent selection of beers made this truly one of the best hotels I've ever stayed in. I'll definitely be back. It was worth every penny.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Limited parking so get there early x
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Si1889 wrote a review Mar 2024
4 contributions3 helpful votes
Just spent a night at the Inn, A small car park but we managed to get a space which was good. A warm welcome upon arrival, arrived a little early our room wasn’t ready but not a problem we had a drink in the nicely stocked bar and went for a walk around the town. Arrived back our room was ready nice and spacious. Nicely decorated and a nice sized bathroom. Lots of tea/coffee in the room. We popped down stairs had a few drinks in the happy hour which was great. The young lady behind the bar was very friendly. Had a great nights sleep. The breakfast was very good we had the full Yorkshire. Would definitely stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Arrive a little earlier to get a parking space
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Zoe J wrote a review Feb 2024
3 contributions1 helpful vote
We stayed in room 2. Arrived at 1.30pm but check in wasn't until 3pm. The room wasn't ready but we were allowed to leave the car in the car park. The car park is at the back of the pub, its tight put it that way but FREE which is excellent. First come first served basis apparently. We loved the room. I had hoped it would be one of the nicer rooms. We paid £100 for 1 night B&B. The only downside of the room was the window, no blinds just curtains but its very exposed. People across the road in buildings/offices looking in. The toilet was very big. Roll top bath & shower. The hot tap was loose and it really needs fixing/tightening. We stayed on a Friday night in February and ate out locally. Highly recommended The Orchid Restaurant. Breakfast was OK. The older chap/ grey haired gentleman serving breakfast was a bit long in the tooth. Meaning he wasn't very warm or welcoming. At check out it was busy in a tight hallway everyone seemed to leave at the same time. Pleasant enough staff. The £5 off when you download the app via the QR code felt like a bit of a let down. We thought we'd use it against our drinks round. We followed all the instructions on setting up the app with the barman. I asked if the £5 had been applied to our drinks order, he said yes. Turns out when we sat down and looked at the drinks menu our drinks totally £10 which is what we'd paid. Gorgeous pub downstairs. Great selection of beers & ciders. I'd love that as my local. Busy and nice atmosphere. We'd definitely return. It's located perfectly.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Get there early to get a parking space at the back of the hotel
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
GST wrote a review Feb 2024
2 contributions2 helpful votes
Had Sunday lunch here. The staff recommended the roast lamb. It was very disappointing; 90% fat and what meat there was was stringy. I left most of it. A shame because the staff and ambiance were good. It may have been a one-off, but not a good impression - I wouldn't recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from The Inn Reception Team, Guest Services / Front Office at The Inn at Cheltenham Parade
Responded 14 Feb 2024
Hi there, We are sorry to hear that your Sunday lunch wasn't what you had expected! The lamb was a one off special for this day and our servers were encouraged to get feedback on this from diners with it all coming back positive - however it is possible that we may not have gotten it wrong on this one with it being a first for us! Was your server made aware and were you given any compensation for this? If not we would be happy for you to get in contact and we could sort some form of refund or voucher for a future visit to show you exactly what we can do with our food or to see how good our usual sunday roasts are! Please feel free to contact us on: 01423 505041 ! Kind regards, The team at the Inn at Cheltenham Parade
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
angela d wrote a review Jan 2024
Huddersfield, United Kingdom67 contributions8 helpful votes
I arrived at the hotel early but all parking spaces were gone When I went to check in I was shown where my room was OMG! I expected it to be connected to the back of the hotel but it was down some narrow slippy steps, through a car park and over a road with bins here and there The room or garage building was right next to the road Went in and it smelt awful, damp, had no privacy at all unless you closed the curtains fully, mould in corners, felt dirty and I was not happy at all I thought about it, got upset and thought that I did not feel safe staying here on my own ( I had asked this question twice on booking.com but did not get a reply I went to the main building and relayed my concerns to the duty manager She thankfully said she would call a few hotels to see if I could move I was tired after walking around the conference all day so when she suggested looking at a room under the kitchen I thought it was worth a look, big mistake By the way, this lady was very helpful and she is not being criticized in any way The new room was down a set of wet stone steps, it was pitch black, she had no torch, I went flying to the floor, as I missed and could not see the last step. Strained my foot, hand and hit my elbow and butt in the tumble. This was an awful experience, my night did not get any better I moved my stuff over in agony. Happy to leave the garage room. The new room although spacious was so noisy, kitchen staff were walking about until 9.30 (she did say it would be noisy) but then all the guests were using the stairs too. Pipes, drains, boiler all making noise. I got about 4 hours sleep. I just wanted to go home tbh Breakfast was cold with slow service from the elderly man. Tea was good and much needed. No extra charge for a ‘bigger’ room but no reduction either for my accident No one asked if I was okay in the morning 😞 My warning to you is ‘do not book the annex rooms’ there are two of them They should not be used for paying guests, not comfortable, not nice at all Wish I had booked somewhere else as this is not a hotel! It’s a noisy pub with rooms
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Avoid booking the annex rooms please
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from The Inn Reception Team, Guest Services / Front Office at The Inn at Cheltenham Parade
Responded 14 Feb 2024
Hi Angela, We are sorry to hear about your experience with us. It does state however that: "This room is located in the outside annex of the building close by to the main hotel." on the particular rooms description that you had booked on the booking.coms site. We were more than happy to, even with this, find you a different hotel if what you had booked wasn't what you had expected and offered to take your stuff for you also. Our manager also stayed well over an hour after their shift had ended to show you another room with the prewarning that it was not often used (as nice as the room is - it is very noisy) and escorted you to the room with the warning of the stairs at the time, which you seemed happier to do at the time rather than accept another place to stay. You ended up with a £50 discount on the price of the new room which we wouldn't have minded you not staying in if you did not want to - as as was stated at the time - your comfort is of the upmost importance to us - hence extensively searching for alternative accommodation else where and a wipe of any fee's altogether even though you had received the room that you had booked which stated it was external. The manager who helped you on the day also called you after the fact to check in with you about your ankle etc when they were back on shift to check in and make sure you were all okay. We have had plenty of recurring guests request these rooms on multiple occasions so we apologise if they were not to your taste, however we can't help but feel that this review is an unfair reflection of our establishment, an 'inn - a restaurant/pub providing accommodation'. Once again, very sorry to hear that your experience was not to the standard that others have enjoyed and we have taken on board your feedback.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Steve53 wrote a review Jan 2024
North East England, United Kingdom22 contributions15 helpful votes
We stayed here on January 1st for 1 night, managed to get free parking at the rear, room was nice & comfortable, bar area is very nice, we've been in for drinks a few times previously but first time we've stayed here, hotel is in a prime location, all the staff were very pleasant, had a great night sleep, breakfast choice is very good, I had The Full English and it was just that! Very Nice and well cooked and presented, we checked out and both agreed we'd definitely stay here again, and we will !
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Harrogate area.
PRICE RANGE
£88 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
The Harrogate Brasserie Hotel
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandYorkshireNorth YorkshireHarrogate
NUMBER OF ROOMS
14
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE INN AT CHELTENHAM PARADE - Updated 2024 (Harrogate)

Frequently Asked Questions about The Inn at Cheltenham Parade
Which popular attractions are close to The Inn at Cheltenham Parade?
Nearby attractions include Clue HQ - Harrogate (0.1 miles), Spirit of Harrogate Ltd (0.2 miles), and The Little Ale House (0.03 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Inn at Cheltenham Parade?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at The Inn at Cheltenham Parade?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Inn at Cheltenham Parade?
Yes, free parking and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Inn at Cheltenham Parade?
Conveniently located restaurants include Essenza Bar & Tapas, Vivido Bar & Restaurant, and Oliveta.
Is The Inn at Cheltenham Parade located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.2 miles away from the centre of Harrogate.
Are pets allowed at The Inn at Cheltenham Parade?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to The Inn at Cheltenham Parade?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Mother Shipton's Cave (2.9 miles) and Saint Wilfrid's Church (0.5 miles).