Doubletree By Hilton Harrogate Majestic Hotel And Spa
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Doubletree By Hilton Harrogate Majestic Hotel And Spa

Nail polish on the bed side drawers
Traveller (959)
Deluxe King bedroom
Room & Suite (110)
Dining (40)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.0
#9 of 23 hotels in Harrogate
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Built in 1900, the hotel is surrounded by acres of beautifully landscaped gardens that overlook the town. With 14 function rooms, a fully equipped Spa and Health Club, and parking, our hotel is the perfect destination for both business and pleasure. A Victorian landmark, the four-star hotel has 184 bedrooms and sits in the heart of the spa town of Harrogate. Just a mile from the train station and 10 minutes walk from the famous Betty’s Tea Rooms, it’s the perfect location to enjoy Harrogate’s quaint shops and spas; you can also easily venture into the beautiful landscape of the Yorkshire Dales. The Harrogate Spa will be opening 1st November 2019, boasting a heated indoor pool, rasul, spa pool, sauna room and steam room with a built-in Hymalian salt wall and 6 treatment rooms, 2 of which are Doubles. We have everything you need to relax.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid public parking on-site
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Car park
Wifi
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Happy hour
Outdoor dining area
Wine / champagne
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Manicure
Massage
Neck massage
Pedicure
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Sun terrace
First aid kit
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Desk
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Hair dryer
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Iron
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Historic Hotel
Residential Neighbourhood
Languages Spoken
English

Location

Ripon Road, Harrogate HG1 2HU England
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 96 out of 100
96
Leeds-Bradford Airport
10.2 mi
See all flights
Durham Tees Valley Airport
36.3 mi
See all flights
1,576Review17Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 863
  • 248
  • 143
  • 127
  • 196
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Phillipos L wrote a review Jun 2021
3.0 of 5 bubbles
My Girlfriend and I stayed here for a long weekend and enjoyed being in Harrogate for the first time. The best part about the hotel is the location - everything in Harrogate is basically within a 10 minute walk but the hotel still feels quite secluded, which is nice.

The rooms are clean and the hotel decor is quite opulent. The blackout curtains are very effective, the bed was very comfy and it was quiet at night.

Another big positive was the continental breakfast, which included a great selection of hot and cold breakfast items.

However, there were a few negatives as well.

Firstly, our main issue is the fact although the hotel is called “The Majestic Hotel and Spa”, the spa is actually a separate business and so access to it is not included in the price of the room. This is extremely misleading as the hotel website lists the pool and spa as amenities and I can honestly find no mention of the £10 per person, per hour charge on the hotel website. It seems very sneaky to advertise a spa as a main aspect of the hotel when it’s not even included. In the end, the spa was fully booked so we didn’t get to use it at all which is very disappointing. We’ve emailed the operation manager about this issue and have received no reply.

There were a couple of issues with the room as well. Firstly, the bathroom had two small bottles of conditioner but no shampoo or shower gel which was a surprise. The “king sized bed” was actually two single beds pushed together with one sheet over the top. Again this is a little bit misleading.

All of the staff were very friendly and overall we did have a good weekend. However I don’t really feel that the hotel or staff try and go above and beyond to make it an extra special stay for guests. The handling of the spa issue specifically has been really disappointing, as no one seems to care or offer any kind of solution.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Majestic Hotel, Guest Services / Front Office at Doubletree By Hilton Harrogate Majestic Hotel And Spa
Responded 15 Jun 2021
Thank you for your review, we are pleased to see you had a nice weekend but sorry you could not access the Spa on this occasion, the Spa is very popular and we are keeping to government Covid guidelines to ensure everyone is in a safe environment. we do hope to welcome you back in the future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mary F wrote a review Aug 2021
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Having read several terrible reviews, I regretted booking the Majestic and considered cancelling, but am so glad we didn’t.
The bad comments are grossly over exaggerated. True to say that we have never stayed at a Hilton before, and it is possible that this hotel did not match the standard, but we found our room to be very clean and comfortable. The bed linen was pristine clean and of a good quality and the towels were soft & fluffy. The bed & pillows were good quality, good size tv and fan & well connected WiFi, and the bathroom was clean with an excellent shower. We stayed 4 nights and our towels were changed after the second day, and our room was refreshed daily with tea, milk etc. The corridors were not filthy as one reviewer stated, and yes there was sometimes trolleys in the corridors, essential I would say, to enable the housekeeping staff to service the rooms.
There was a great selection for breakfast each day, with fresh fruit, yogurts, cereals, croissants, pastries, toast, and full hot fresh cooked breakfast. Evening meals were hot and tasty, from a good menu, and fairly priced to match local restaurants. All the staff in the restaurant and bar were helpful, polite, professional and friendly. During our stay, two large weddings were held. This did not disturb our stay at all, and bar staff managed the weddings guests and hotel guests very well and served us quickly. The noise from the parties did not disturb our sleep and we were on the first floor. In fact we slept very peacefully as there was no traffic noise or other external noise.
We did have to queue at reception when we arrived just before 4pm. There are only two reception desks available and for a large hotel this does not seem adequate, and could be improved upon, but we only waited for 20 minutes and the receptionist was very friendly and helpful. We did not use the spa and was disappointed at a charge of £30 for 2 hours use. It is advertised as a hotel & spa so expected the pool at least to be included in the room price, and even the sauna & hot tub, as in other hotels we have stayed in.
Some of the reviewers nit picked about the decor and small defects like spots on the curtain or peeling paint. There was paint peeling from our bathroom door. Did this spoil our stay here? Of course it didn’t! I do understand however that it is not cheap to stay here and customers expect a high standard, especially for a Hilton. I felt the grandness of the hotel, the decor in the bar and dining room , the comfort & cleanliness of the rooms, good quality bed, bedding, towels, bathroom, tv, WiFi, excellent polite, accommodating staff give it a high standard. And so that makes it a good quality hotel. Would we stay here again? Definitely. Would we recommend it to friends? Definitely.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Andrew Glover, General Manager at Doubletree By Hilton Harrogate Majestic Hotel And Spa
Responded 16 Jun 2022
Good evening, Thank you for taking the tie to leave feedback. I am so glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. Since your stay with us we have hired a new team solely to focus on guest experience, as we wish for every guest to feel cared for. Hopefully we will be welcoming you back again soon! Warmest regards Raj Bhatia The Hotel Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
carolehall69 wrote a review Oct 2020
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
3.0 of 5 bubbles
My husband and I decided to go to Harrogate for a couple of days recently, our stay at the Hilton Doubletree was mixed . Check quick and easy although £20 for 2 nights parking was expensive especially as the room cost was over £230 . No information given at check in except to say breakfast was included . Now to the problem we turned up for breakfast to be told we weren’t booked in but we could have breakfast for £15 per person per night really overpriced .They did honour the breakfast on the first morning after my husband went to reception, definitely not worth it . The towels weren’t changed and the tea and coffee wasn’t topped up , we weren’t told we had to ask for the towels to be changed or the tea and coffee to be replenished when we checked in which I would have thought was key information. We did use the bar, the table wasn’t cleaned when we sat down and while we were having a drink the bartender was very abrupt and rude to a lady telling to sit down and they would take her order . Repeatedly said I’m busy making drinks .
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Majestic Hotel, Guest Services / Front Office at Doubletree By Hilton Harrogate Majestic Hotel And Spa
Responded 30 Oct 2020
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us, Apologies we did not exceed your expectations on this occasion. All of our rates are advertised on our website and 3rd party sites i will feed this back to make it clearer. If you book a room only rate breakfast is an additional cost unfortunately. Due to the current restrictions we are limited to how we can service stayovers which is why we ask you to request any additional items you require, i hope you understand. This should have been stated on our welcome letter so apologies if this was not the case. I will also feed your comments back to our bar team to investigate this further. I hope you will consider staying at the hotel in the future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sam G wrote a review May 2021
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Not sure where to start so I will list my bullet points from my draft letter to the manager!

Small single duvet in king size cover

Bottom sheet not tucked in just place on mattress

Tea and coffee in room not not refreshed at all
Two teabags to last two people three days. Four cartons of milk to last 3 days.

No extra duvet or blanket in room

Two waitress and one bar man to deal with the whole of Frederick bar. 25 mins to place order and then a further 45 mins for order to arrive

One receptionist to deal with all of arrivals. No information given on breakfast, newspaper request, nothing. No information for use of spa. No information folder in room.

Room stuffy, when open window overwhelmed by fumes and noise from kitchen fans.

Bathroom double window no blind, at night the lights from Carpark is like day light coming in.

Carpark...where to start. Additional £10 per night charge. Then no where to park. Over used over charged more cars than spaces

Room was a bland boring experience grey and white

Staff overstretched...hotel for bank holiday was full to capacity every room full but not fully staff Not once in three days stay did I see chamber maids or cleaning carts.

Sunday of our stay there was a wedding hosted at the hotel, restaurant was closed to other guest of hotel. When I asked in the bar what food was available today nibbles “nachos and hummus”. Couldn’t even answer the waiting staff. Humiliated for them. I was paying almost £200 a night and this was the service is was getting for it!

Finally the major elephant in the room...COVID-19 global pandemic! Uk coming out of 3rd national lockdown. Not once in the four days we were at this hotel did I see any member of staff do a “Covid clean” or antibact high risk contact surfaces like door handles, lifts control panels, banisters or even tables in bar, terrace or waiting areas. They didn’t even wipe the tables in bar when one set of guests left and another took the table. Maybe the Majestic is immune to COVID-19

I wasted best part of £600 for this three night stay, would have been better off at the Premier Inn across the park.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Andrew Glover, General Manager at Doubletree By Hilton Harrogate Majestic Hotel And Spa
Responded 16 Jun 2022
Good evening, Thank you for taking the tie to leave feedback. I would like to apologise that your stay with us was not to the standard we usually provide. Since your stay with us we have hired a new team solely to focus on guest experience, as we wish for every guest to feel cared for. Hopefully we will be welcoming you back again soon, so that we may restore your faith in us! Warmest regards Raj Bhatia The Hotel Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
CaztonYorkshire wrote a review Oct 2020
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed a quite a few Hilton hotels, in the UK and abroad but this wasn’t the greatest. Stayed at this hotel for 2 nights. On arrival we were firstly told on check in that we hadn’t paid for breakfast and had to prove that we had. We were asked to pay £10 per night to park our car and that the hotel pool not currently in working order and could not be used. Due to coVid we were told that once inside our room there would be No housekeeping and should we require anything then this would be arranged and left outside. Ok not a problem. We asked for some coffee and 2 extra pillows at 12.30pm. We asked a further 3 times until at 9.00pm this was received, 9 hours later.
The room was clean and roomy and had no complaints apart from the light in the bathroom we could not turn off and the bathroom door did not close as it was hung incorrectly.
The breakfast was table service due to coVid however only 2 options continental or full English. No fruit or cereal was offered. On the second morning of our stay we had to wait for 20 mins for our breakfast however during our wait we was not offered any more coffee or juice whilst waiting. We had to ask a member of waiting staff and once the breakfast finally arrived the order was incorrect.
We went to the hotel bar for a drink however there were no tables and was told that until a table was available then we would have to wait or come back. A quick drink before going out for the evening was out if the question.
A nice wet weekend in Harrogate with no facilities in the hotel that could be used. Location brilliant a short stroll into the town.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Majestic Hotel, Guest Services / Front Office at Doubletree By Hilton Harrogate Majestic Hotel And Spa
Responded 8 Oct 2020
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience about your recent stay at our hotel. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and we deeply apologies we did not exceed your expectations. Your comments will help us as we continually work to improve our guest experience. At DoubleTree by Hilton. We hope you will consider staying with us in the future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ryan wrote a review Jul 2021
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We visited the Hilton over the weekend and we've never known service like it. There was manager after manager walking around with their hands in their pockets whilst being severely understaffed and clearly behind on room cleaning.

The bar staff were excellent we must add, but it ends there.

We checked in at 3pm (an hour early and was told to return at 4pm to collect the keys). We returned at 4pm to collect but was told the room was still being cleaned and would be ready in roughly 20 minutes. The lady behind the desk said to grab a drink with an £8 voucher and they'd bring the keys through when ready.

an hour and a half later... still no keys.

We popped back to the desk thinking they'd forgotten about us but still, the room wasn't ready.

We were first told that a refund wasn't possible which i found bizarre in itself given that rooms were supposed to be ready at 4pm.

We had to insist on the room being cancelled and a refund being issued after an argument with staff.

We are still chasing a confirmation for the refund and after numerous calls to the hotel, the phone is put down on every occasion.

We've had to get the bank involved who have since refunded us and are investigating.

a serious overhaul of customer services is needed.

We will not be returning and would advise others to stay away until the management has been retrained/replaced.

We aren't the type of people to leave bad reviews at all as we know first hand how stressful a customer facing business is to run, but the lack of help from the managers put a nail in the coffin for us as to how that hotel is run.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Andrew Glover, General Manager at Doubletree By Hilton Harrogate Majestic Hotel And Spa
Responded 16 Jun 2022
Good evening, Thank you for taking the tie to leave feedback. I would like to apologise that your stay with us was not to the standard we usually provide. Since your stay with us we have hired a new team solely to focus on guest experience, as we wish for every guest to feel cared for. Hopefully we will be welcoming you back again soon, so that we may restore your faith in us! Warmest regards Raj Bhatia The Hotel Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
John S wrote a review Aug 2021
Bracknell, United Kingdom
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Upon arrival reception said my partners card had been declined even though we had a receipt from booking .com. They insisted that we gave them another card, so to avoid further delaying the large queue behind us I gave them another card. The receptionist passed me the room card without even telling us our room number and no explanation of breakfast times, hotel layout or where to find the lifts. I checked next day and I had been charged the full amount of our stay. I went down and spoke to the duty manager who said she would fix it. The amount charged had gone next day and replaced by a spurious amount of £1060. My partner complained to the reception and the issue was sorted with a credit on the day we left (5 nights) after two more visits to reception. One day after returning from breakfast we found our room open and no-one even in the same corridor. We assumed opened by a cleaner for a colleague but shocked by the lack of security. Not happy about paying 12.5% on the bar bill if you are charging top money for drinks this is out of order. Another guest advised us to ask the bar staff to remove this charge so on our next few days this is what we did. Still in the bar yuk, the carpet around the bar is filthy and smells. The carpets throughout the public areas are patterned to hide spills etc and this seems to have been taken as the carpets do not require cleaning. I have stayed in several DT hotels and expected much better. If you cannot clean a hotel and service the rooms should you be charging £160 room for two people B&B. This place needs a real sorting out it is not a Hilton and should close down before any further damage is done to the name. I will not be using this hotel again and will be very wary of any others in the chain.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Ask the bar staff to remove the ''discretional'' service charge in the bar the...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Andrew Glover, General Manager at Doubletree By Hilton Harrogate Majestic Hotel And Spa
Responded 16 Jun 2022
Good evening, Thank you for taking the tie to leave feedback. I would like to apologise that your stay with us was not to the standard we usually provide. Since your stay with us we have hired a new team solely to focus on guest experience, as we wish for every guest to feel cared for. Hopefully we will be welcoming you back again soon, so that we may restore your faith in us! Warmest regards Raj Bhatia The Hotel Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lee wrote a review Dec 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Beautifully grand hotel sitting proud a place in Harrogate. I was staying here and working from the hotel while my house was being built.
Check in was really quick and the staff were very polite and friendly.
The room was covid-safe prepared which gave me loads of confidence in the professional manner in which the hotel was taking current restrictions.
Really spacious room and was just perfect for what i needed.
Breakfast was provided outside the room every morning which i thought was a nice touch.
Fredericks bar is very grand and i can imagine it's buzzing with excitement usually.
All in all a great Hotel, perfect location and amazing staff.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Majestic Hotel, Guest Services / Front Office at Doubletree By Hilton Harrogate Majestic Hotel And Spa
Responded 24 Jan 2021
Thank you very much for your Five star review, we are pleased to read you enjoyed your stay with us and really liked Fredricks and the team service , we look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel in the future. Best regards for 2021
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Stewartaldersley wrote a review Aug 2021
London, United Kingdom
+1
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Where do I begin?

I’ve stayed in a variety of Hilton hotels around the world, but this experience was the worst.

Chewing gum on the window sill. Mould at the bottom of the shower screen. Shower tray grubby. No glasses for cold drinks. No air conditioning or air cooling. One oscillating fan, but no where near the bed to plug it in safely. Kettle not near a socket had to move furniture to plug it in safely. Someone playing music in the corridor & shouting late at night. Light pollution in the room from external spot lights. Refreshment tray unclean, 1 teaspoon, 2 sachets of white sugar, 2 cups of differing sizes. No in room service guide eventually found it via the hotel’s Instagram site. Wasp problem in the bathroom which required the closing of windows on a very humid night. Iron provided, but no ironing board
High & low level dust, dirty mirrors, lots of scuff and stain marks around the room, a plastic sheet under the wardrobe, not sure why? Heavy duvet in the middle of summer, different sized pillows on the bed.

We’d booked for 2 nights on different bookings but they refused to merge the two bookings so we had to check out and then check in, housekeeping knocked on the door to find out why we hadn’t checked out, they were then heard in the corridor talking about us. We’re given complimentary continental breakfast as an apology for the confusion, but the voucher was addressed to Mr & Mrs, we are a Mr & Mr! Difficult to get through to reception on the telephone. Guests are charged £30 per person to use the swimming pool for 2 hours. £10 per night car parking. Breakfast - very poor selection of the cheapest level of food items and luke warm tea served, added hot water myself from the coffee machine. General maintenance required across the entire hotel, litter & cigarette butts everywhere in the common outside areas.

Clean and stay stickers everywhere - which is farcical as it’s clearly not being followed or checked by hotel management.

Housekeeping knocking on the door before checkout time asking when we’d be checking out, erm at checkout time!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: If you’re a guest you have to pay to use the swimming pool. Car park is £10 per day. Suspect...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Andrew Glover, General Manager at Doubletree By Hilton Harrogate Majestic Hotel And Spa
Responded 16 Jun 2022
Good evening, Thank you for taking the tie to leave feedback. I would like to apologise that your stay with us was not to the standard we usually provide. Since your stay with us we have hired a new team solely to focus on guest experience, as we wish for every guest to feel cared for. Hopefully we will be welcoming you back again soon, so that we may restore your faith in us! Warmest regards Raj Bhatia The Hotel Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Martin wrote a review Oct 2020
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed 13-15/10/2020, original room was changed whilst checking in, we was advised it had not been serviced. New room was larger. However, behind the elevator, lots of banging and you could hear it moving up and down. Nice views from the 5th floor though.

Cleanliness of the room had long hair everywhere, but looked clean otherwise.

Beware of the charging policy, we agreed to an open tab, they took £50.00 per day and charged us to use the pool, receptionist in the hotel or spa did not advise over charging. We did get a refund for use of the pool and had to make several trips to reception regarding charging issues/reimbursements and being charged again.

Poor level of service, whilst checking in, the receptionist decided to support her colleague who had a couple making a compliant over the cleanliness of their room in a non aggressive way half way through our check in, we had to wait, not a personal service.

Receptionist not knowledgeable regarding the spa and they could not book a time slot, excused was no access to their system, when ask for them to call them on our behalf was advised I have to call them directly, only wanted to access the spa areas.

Bar staff took 20 minutes to bring our drinks over (bar had an other four people in), only gave them a prompt that our drinks have not arrived, when our order arrived it was wrong, did get to keep the wrong drink though and they did go and fetch the correct drink straight away.

Spa staff was friendly and gave an overview of the spa areas, no steam /sauna and spa pool open, just the pool, this was not advised when checking into the spa.

Have had better service at other Hilton group hotels, refurbishment was at a good standard, just was let down by the service issues.

2/5 due to poor service.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Ask not to be near the elevators
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Majestic Hotel, Guest Services / Front Office at Doubletree By Hilton Harrogate Majestic Hotel And Spa
Responded 22 Oct 2020
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience about your recent stay at our hotel. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and we deeply apologies we did not exceed your expectation, your comments have been passed onto our housekeeping team. Your comments will help us as we continually work to improve our guest experience. At DoubleTree by Hilton, we endeavour to do whatever it takes to ensure you are satisfied and hope you will consider staying with us in the future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
jay asked a question Dec 2023
United Kingdom
Is there any nearby restaurants ? Around this hotel ? X
Answer from Shane S
4 contributions5 helpful votes
Yes. There’s a restaurant called Lucia’s directly beside it which was delicious. There’s a restaurant inside the hotel which was not bad either but expensive. And many restaurants within walking distance but make note of closing times. The city seems to shut down pretty early and not everything will be available.
Answer from Robert M
1 contribution
We did not use the spa facilities at the hotel. But we chatted to others who were very disappointed with facilities. I booked two rooms at the hotel and was disgusted by the conditions in these rooms. Despite complaints to reception , hotel management and HILTON customer services we were totally dismissed and ignored. We will never stop with Hilton again. There are many other nice hotels in Harrogate . Please r Think carefully before booking the Majestic
some o asked a question Sept 2023
Bradford, United Kingdom81 contributions34 helpful votes
Are same sex female couples welcome for afternoon tea?
Answer from Helga905notts
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom50 contributions39 helpful votes
I’m sure it would be fine. No question very welcoming to all.
Mand B asked a question Sept 2021
Do your rooms have balcony.
Answer from tdsjp
Bromyard, United Kingdom603 contributions199 helpful votes
no
Joan M asked a question Sept 2021
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Do they have an executive lounge
Answer from Sue, Leicester
6 contributions3 helpful votes
I didn’t see one but then I didn’t ask either. The hotel had a wedding on the night I was there so it was really busy.
Lisa X wrote a tip 22 Jun
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The parking isn’t very good "
Read full review
Tracy B wrote a tip 15 Jun
12 contributions4 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Sadly only get 1 hours in spa each day"
Read full review
Sam B wrote a tip 13 Jun
1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Drinks need more attention to detail"
Read full review
OzBritEmptyNest wrote a tip 9 Jun
141 contributions76 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Parking is 15 pounds per day."
Read full review
Jessica K wrote a tip 9 Jun
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Reception to be more welcoming and offer drinks "
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Harrogate area.
PRICE RANGE
£85 - £170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
barcelo harrogate, majestic hotel harrogate
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandYorkshireNorth YorkshireHarrogate
NUMBER OF ROOMS
184
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

DOUBLETREE BY HILTON HARROGATE MAJESTIC HOTEL AND SPA - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about Doubletree By Hilton Harrogate Majestic Hotel And Spa
Which popular attractions are close to Doubletree By Hilton Harrogate Majestic Hotel And Spa?
Nearby attractions include The Little Ale House (0.2 miles), Harrogate Royal Hall (0.1 miles), and Harrogate Theatre (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Doubletree By Hilton Harrogate Majestic Hotel And Spa?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Doubletree By Hilton Harrogate Majestic Hotel And Spa?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Doubletree By Hilton Harrogate Majestic Hotel And Spa?
Yes, a parking garage and paid public parking on-site are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Doubletree By Hilton Harrogate Majestic Hotel And Spa?
Conveniently located restaurants include Oliveta, Efes Bar and Grill, and Essenza Bar & Tapas.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Doubletree By Hilton Harrogate Majestic Hotel And Spa?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Is Doubletree By Hilton Harrogate Majestic Hotel And Spa located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.3 miles away from the centre of Harrogate.
Are any cleaning services offered at Doubletree By Hilton Harrogate Majestic Hotel And Spa?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Doubletree By Hilton Harrogate Majestic Hotel And Spa?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Doubletree By Hilton Harrogate Majestic Hotel And Spa offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to Doubletree By Hilton Harrogate Majestic Hotel And Spa?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Mother Shipton's Cave (2.9 miles) and Saint Wilfrid's Church (0.4 miles).
All Harrogate HotelsHarrogate Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in HarrogateHotels near Doubletree By Hilton Harrogate Majestic Hotel And Spa
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire