We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Doubletree by Hilton Harrogate Majestic Hotel and Spa

Save
Share
Ripon Road, Harrogate HG1 2HU England
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
ZenHotels.com
US$104
View deal
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
View all 16 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (176)
Room & Suite (71)
Dining (18)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Contactless check-out
Updated 28/10/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Doubletree by Hilton Harrogate Majestic Hotel and Spa
Updated 28/10/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#23 of 24 hotels in Harrogate
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
A family-run business, we have recently become apart of the DoubleTree by Hilton collection. Built in 1900, the hotel is surrounded by acres of beautifully landscaped gardens that overlook the town. With 14 function rooms, a fully equipped Spa and Health Club, and parking, our hotel is the perfect destination for both business and pleasure. A Victorian landmark, the four-star hotel has 184 bedrooms and sits in the heart of the spa town of Harrogate. Just a mile from the train station and 10 minutes walk from the famous Betty’s Tea Rooms, it’s the perfect location to enjoy Harrogate’s quaint shops and spas; you can also easily venture into the beautiful landscape of the Yorkshire Dales. The Harrogate Spa will be opening 1st November 2019, boasting a heated indoor pool, rasul, spa pool, sauna room and steam room with a built-in Hymalian salt wall and 6 treatment rooms, 2 of which are Doubles. We have everything you need to relax.
Read more
Property amenities
Paid public parking on-site
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Parking
Wifi
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary instant cofffee
Complimentary tea
Outdoor dining area
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Head massage
Manicure
Massage
Neck massage
Pedicure
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Desk
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Iron
Private bathrooms
Show more
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Historic Hotel
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English
290Reviews14Q+A62Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 70
  • 40
  • 49
  • 46
  • 86
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sandra S wrote a review Yesterday
9 contributions1 helpful vote
The Majestic Doubletree Hilton could be a lovely hotel in a convenient location however beware if you are staying there in the winter. It is like an icebox. Bedrooms, bar area, dining room are all the same. Guests are sitting in the dining room and public areas in their coats in an effort to keep warm! We stayed with a party of 21 guests, all spread out from 1st to 4th floor. Everyone suffered the same fate. The hotel was giving out portable heaters for bedrooms which helped a little. However due to the high ceilings and drafty windows in the public areas, these had very little effect. Blankets were being left in the bar by the hotel in an effort to keep guests warm! The toilets in the bar area have windows that don't close so needless to say there was no respite from the bitter cold there either! Instead of socialising in the bar with our fellow travellers in the evening, we were forced into our bedrooms to watch TV under the duvet for warmth. The cold over rides the beautiful surroundings. It is a total disgrace to the Hilton name. PS this is not an exaggeration!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Steven R wrote a review 23 Nov
1 contribution
Staff very welcoming. First enjoyed a swim in the pool, steam room and Jacuzzi. All facilities including changing rooms very nice and clean. Later the same day had a wonderful relaxing massage by Joanne. First was offered a choice of oils before treatment began. Was fantastic, much better than expected and probably one of the best massages I have had. Would recommend and return when back in Harrogate.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
ewanarm wrote a review 23 Nov
Sheffield, United Kingdom26 contributions9 helpful votes
We stayed here for two nights whilst visiting Harrogate. I booked as a Hilton Honors member expecting the usual quality and comfort of a Hilton Hotel but we were disappointed. I had made the booking through the Hilton Honors app so was able to check in before arrival. I chose a room on the second floor thinking that it would be quieter but when we checked in at the hotel we were given a room on the 5th floor!!! We had booked a King Size Superior Room and paid a bit extra. This room was certainly not superior!! It was in the roof although I had specifically asked not be in the roof. On opening the door, it would not open fully as it banged against the large wardrobe which was directly behind the door. The bed was large but firm and the pillows were useless. It had not been properly hoovered and there were crumbs on the floor and a dead wasp!! Also in one of the drawers there was a wrapper from a dental kit. We should have had bathrobes and slippers. There were no slippers due to a supply issue. The room was also insufferably hot and there was no way of controlling the temperature in the room other than opening the windows and I was told this was because we were on the 5th floor. Positives – location is excellent, 5 minutes walk from town. Bathroom clean and good shower. Breakfast was good. Negatives – Room not up to standard, parking charge excessive at £10 per night, poor attitude of reception staff to our concerns about the room. Poor cleanliness.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Majestic Hotel, Guest Services / Front Office at Doubletree by Hilton Harrogate Majestic Hotel and Spa
Responded 5 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to share feedback on your recent stay with us. I am so sorry to see you were disappointed with your stay and did not receive the high quality customer service you have come to expect from us. I would like to apologize for the issues you encountered in your room and for the overall service. I want to thank you for bringing your observations to our attention so we can continue to work on areas where we may have opportunity. Again, thank you for staying with us and for being one of our valuable Hilton Honors members. Should your travels bring you back to the area, please contact us so we can ensure that we meet your expectations. ~ Raj Bhatia, The Hotel Manager
Read more
Vikkilou82 wrote a review 21 Nov
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom67 contributions93 helpful votes
Check in to check out - terrible. Billed and charged incorrectly. Emailed in to complain, never received the courtesy of a reply! Won't stay again. Piad for meals packaged, was charged for food ontop of the stay, given the wrong room. Just very poor overall service, and nobody within the hotel actually cares.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Majestic Hotel, Guest Services / Front Office at Doubletree by Hilton Harrogate Majestic Hotel and Spa
Responded 5 days ago
We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with a review of your recent stay. I am very sorry to hear that several things throughout your stay did not meet your expectations. Please note that we highly value your feedback. Our Guest Relations Team will be more than happy to assist you with the issues you faced, you can raise your grievances with them at guestrelations@doubletree-harrogate.co.uk. We hope to see you again. ~ Raj Bhatia, The Hotel Manager
Read more
Harry B wrote a review 20 Nov
2 contributions2 helpful votes
Arrived 5pm. Room not ready. Given complementary drinks voucher for a ' house wine or standard beer'. Gee thanks. Just want our room we paid for, rather than offer of a cheap option drink whilst we wait. Poor
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Majestic Hotel, Guest Services / Front Office at Doubletree by Hilton Harrogate Majestic Hotel and Spa
Responded 5 days ago
Thank you for your candid feedback. I am sorry to hear that you weren't able to checkin to your room on time. Rest assured your feedback will be addressed and comments will be passed on to managers. We hope you choose to stay with us again. ~Raj Bhatia, The Hotel Manager
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$88 - US$188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
barcelo harrogate, majestic hotel harrogate
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandYorkshireNorth YorkshireHarrogate
NUMBER OF ROOMS
184
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Doubletree by Hilton Harrogate Majestic Hotel and Spa
Which popular attractions are close to Doubletree by Hilton Harrogate Majestic Hotel and Spa?
Nearby attractions include The Little Ale House (0.2 miles), Valley Gardens (0.3 miles), and Royal Hall Theatre (0.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Doubletree by Hilton Harrogate Majestic Hotel and Spa?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Doubletree by Hilton Harrogate Majestic Hotel and Spa?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Doubletree by Hilton Harrogate Majestic Hotel and Spa?
Yes, paid public parking on-site is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Doubletree by Hilton Harrogate Majestic Hotel and Spa?
Conveniently located restaurants include Spice Culture, Vivido Bar & Restaurant, and Essenza Bar & Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Doubletree by Hilton Harrogate Majestic Hotel and Spa?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Is Doubletree by Hilton Harrogate Majestic Hotel and Spa located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.3 miles away from the centre of Harrogate.
Are any cleaning services offered at Doubletree by Hilton Harrogate Majestic Hotel and Spa?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Doubletree by Hilton Harrogate Majestic Hotel and Spa?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Doubletree by Hilton Harrogate Majestic Hotel and Spa offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Doubletree by Hilton Harrogate Majestic Hotel and Spa?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Mother Shipton's Cave (2.9 miles) and Saint Wilfrid's Church (0.4 miles).