We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

The Grafton

1-3 Franklin Mount, Harrogate HG1 5EJ England
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (180)
Dining (19)
Room & Suite (15)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#11 of 39 B&Bs in Harrogate
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
The Grafton is one of Harrogate's most elegant guesthouses. Our chic townhouse setting is just a few minutes' walk from the town centre - close to Harrogate International Centre, restaurants and shops, but far enough away to offer peace and tranquility to our guests. With recently modernised rooms and a warm, friendly atmosphere, we provide the perfect blend of style and intimacy. Enjoy luxurious decor, flat-screen television and complimentary high speed wi-fi access - features designed to enhance your stay.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Street parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Private check-in / check-out
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Special diet menus
Non-smoking hotel
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Blackout curtains
Desk
Telephone
Bottled water
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Iron
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Residential Neighbourhood
Modern
Languages Spoken
English, Romanian
792Reviews5Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 620
  • 134
  • 24
  • 11
  • 3
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Nick wrote a review Dec 2023
London, United Kingdom1 contribution
This is a gem , Stunningly decorated bedroom. Tea, coffee, water and biscuits provided My wife got to use the beautiful lounge this morning on her own to make a work call which was very convenient. Closely located to the station and the centre of town . Thank you to Marc, who was very helpful and accommodating.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mark Addison, Owner at The Grafton
Responded 6 Dec 2023
Thank you for taking the time to review the Grafton. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay & hope to see you again soon. For best room rates please remember to book direct on the Grafton website.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Pam D wrote a review Sept 2023
Hessle, United Kingdom1 contribution
Perfect location for the town centre. Attractive hotel from the outside. Positioned on a quiet residential road. Free parking on the road at weekends, permit given during the week. A very warm welcome on arrival. Nothing to much trouble, twin room was perfect. Spacious very clean, bathroom had fab shower. welcome tray had everything we needed. Fab stay wouldn't hesitate to recommend to friends n family.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: You will not regret staying at the Grafton Hotel Harrogate
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mark Addison, Owner at The Grafton
Responded 25 Sept 2023
Thank you for taking the time to review the Grafton. It's fanfastic to hear you enjoyed your stay & hope you find time to visit us again soon. For best room rates please remember to book direct on the Grafton website.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
garyravo wrote a review Aug 2023
Benalmadena, Spain67 contributions17 helpful votes
Lovely boutique B&B, very clean and so quiet. The room was decorated nicely and very spacious with all you would need. Parking wasn’t an issue as plenty of spaces outside and was supplied a parking permit when needed. It was only a short walk into the centre of Harrogate with all the shops and restaurants. Definitely one to recommend
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mark Addison, Owner at The Grafton
Responded 30 Aug 2023
Thank you for taking the time to review the Grafton. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay & hope to see you again soon. For best room rates please remember to book direct on the Grafton website.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
lincoln-rocky wrote a review Aug 2023
lincoln22 contributions11 helpful votes
Beautiful place , spotlessly clean and very close to town. Friendly and very helpful owners. We had a great stay with everything within easy walking distance yet still in a nice quiet area with parking on the road outside. Will definitely go back and stay again
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mark Addison, Owner at The Grafton
Responded 30 Aug 2023
Thank you for taking the time to review the Grafton. It's fantastic to hear you enjoyed your stay & hope to see you again soon. For best room rates please remember to book direct on the Grafton website.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Mcthew M wrote a review Aug 2023
4 contributions1 helpful vote
Friendly, clean, unique and comfortable stay, all within 20mins walk from all Harrogate has to offer. Definitely worth a stay for a night or few. There were no faults with the room, which was tastefully decorated and the rates were good. Would stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mark Addison, Owner at The Grafton
Responded 22 Aug 2023
Thank you for taking the time to review the Grafton. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay & hope to see your again soon. For best room rates please remember to book direct on the Grafton website.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Jonathan B wrote a review Jun 2023
2 contributions1 helpful vote
Great experience from the off. Very impressed! Greeted by Monica who was more than welcoming. Clean and modern reception. We stayed in room 2 it was really nice, stylish, comfortable and extremely clean . Small fresh orange, tea, coffee and the fact you get more than two milks was a bonus. Will definitely stay again thank you.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mark Addison, Owner at The Grafton
Responded 4 Aug 2023
Thank you for taking the time to review the Grafton. We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay & look forward to seeing you again. For best room rates please remember to book direct on the Grafton website.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
andysmiff25 wrote a review Jun 2023
Durham, United Kingdom29 contributions37 helpful votes
Really noisy tried to contact the hotel about the noise of other Guests but no answer don't come if you want a quiet stay .Not worth the pricey £168 for 1 night with no breakfast just poor all round and we are not fussy but expected a lot more for the money
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Don't come if you want peace and quiet
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mark Addison, Owner at The Grafton
Responded 20 Jun 2023
Thank you for taking the time to review the Grafton. We are sorry to hear you were disturbed by noisey guests. It's a pity you didn't contact us, we were available all the time you stayed. We're not sure you were aware we provide room only when you booked. There are many nice options nearby. Much cheaper room rates are available if you book direct on the Grafton website.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
88RobG wrote a review Apr 2023
Olney, United Kingdom33 contributions11 helpful votes
Clearly we did book knowing there was no breakfast but having now stayed there it all seems a little odd It’s not a hotel or a B&B it has no restaurant but does have a bar Room was small again we knew this but at £146 a night I think not great value just a bit soulless really It was clean and bright and bed very comfortable but my mark is more on the value and feel element
Read more
Date of stay: April 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mark Addison, Owner at The Grafton
Responded 24 Apr 2023
Thank you for taking the time to review the Grafton. We are pleased to hear you found the Grafton clean, bright & comfortable. For best room rates please remember to book direct on the Grafton website.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Katherine S wrote a review Apr 2023
Leicestershire, United Kingdom56 contributions14 helpful votes
Stayed at The Grafton on a Saturday night. We arrived earlier than the check in time and we’re able to access our room early, which was great. The room itself was spacious, well decorated and clean. Parking is on the street, but we had no issues getting a spot and at weekends there is no need for a permit. The hotel is within easy walking distance of the town centre (less than 20 minutes).
Read more
Date of stay: April 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mark Addison, Owner at The Grafton
Responded 17 Apr 2023
Thank you for taking the time to review the Grafton. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay & hope to see you again soon. For best room rates please remember to book direct on the Grafton website.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Steve53 wrote a review Mar 2023
North East England, United Kingdom19 contributions14 helpful votes
We stayed here on Friday as it was our anniversary, easy to find, easy to park and were given a permit to park right outside for free.The Grafton is immaculate, I was very impressed, very nice staff also, our room was very clean, had everything we needed, very comfortable and a pleasure to stay in, next time we will stay for 2 nights as I cannot fault it at all, ive stayed in quite a few places in Harrogate and this is the best in my opinion!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mark Addison, Owner at The Grafton
Responded 27 Mar 2023
Thank you for taking the time review the Grafton. It's great to hear you enjoyed your stay & hope to see you again soon. For best room rates please book direct on the Grafton website.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Harrogate area.
PRICE RANGE
£74 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the grafton hotel harrogate
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandYorkshireNorth YorkshireHarrogate
NUMBER OF ROOMS
13
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE GRAFTON - Updated 2024 Prices, Reviews (Harrogate)

Frequently Asked Questions about The Grafton
Which popular attractions are close to The Grafton?
Nearby attractions include Christies Bar Harrogate (0.3 miles), Commercial Street (0.3 miles), and Rafi's Spicebox (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Grafton?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a lounge, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at The Grafton?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, blackout curtains, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at The Grafton?
Guests can enjoy a lounge, complimentary tea, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at The Grafton?
Yes, free parking and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Grafton?
Conveniently located restaurants include Oliveta, Konak Meze Turkish Restaurant (HARROGATE), and Mykonos Bar & Grill.
Is The Grafton located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.2 miles away from the centre of Harrogate.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Grafton?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Portuguese, and Romanian.
Are there any historical sites close to The Grafton?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Mother Shipton's Cave (2.7 miles) and Saint Wilfrid's Church (0.6 miles).