The Judges Lodgings
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

The Judges Lodgings

Daylight around a fire door, that can't be good!!
Traveller (32)
Room & Suite (62)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.5
#2 of 2 limited service properties in Gloucester
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Location
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Historic regency house in the Spa quarter of Gloucester dating from 1840s and the former home to circuit court Judges. Set up as luxury self catering apartments and near the fashionable docks area. All apartments have parking
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Paid private parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Patio
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Clothes dryer
Washing machine
Car park
Room features
Desk
Dining area
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Sofa bed
Bath / shower
Seating area
Separate dining area
Separate living room
Sofa
Clothes rack
Iron
Private bathrooms
Kitchenette
Dishwasher
Microwave
Oven
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Electric kettle
Kitchenware
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
City view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
Languages Spoken
English

Location

29 Spa Road Judges Lodgings, Gloucester GL1 1AE England
77Reviews0Q+A7Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 67
  • 2
  • 3
  • 3
  • 2
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Ian D wrote a review Jul 2023
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This was such a good location within easy walking distance of the docks, city centre and cathedral. We stayed a week and didn’t use the car once - it was safely parked nearby in a free space provided by the owner. The flat itself was clean, comfortable and well equipped. The owner was very responsive to all our queries which were addressed completely to our satisfaction.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kelboy80 wrote a review Feb 2023
London
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Myself and Wife (and toddler) have stayed in the Judges Lodgings on three separate occasions. We always opt for apartment 14 or 15 on the top floor as there is a good amount of room for our toddler to potter about and have her toys everywhere! The apartments are always clean and well stocked with towels, toiletries etc.

The kitchen is fully fitted with washing machine, dishwasher, fridge freezer etc.

We just love the decoration and quirkyness of the apartments. Location is excellent and there is free parking on site.

We plan to go back for a fourth time in May 2023
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Will F wrote a review Jan 2022
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Beautiful regency building with gorgeous rooms, really felt at home while staying there. I would recommend this to anyone, a brilliant location so close to the Gloucester Quays and our room had a lovely view as well.
Having accidentally left some belongings behind after our stay, the staff members were more helpful than imaginable, really making an effort to satisfy us and help us. I honestly couldn't recommend this place enough!
Thank you The Judges Lodgings!!!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Room 15 is top floor but has some amazing views!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Catherine Connolly wrote a review Oct 2022
1.0 of 5 bubbles
While the apartment is very quirky and interesting we didn’t enjoy our stay sadly. Having negotiated the 4 locks needed to reach the apartment we arrived at about 6pm, hungry, wet and cold and put a pizza in the oven, turned up the heating and stuck on the TV. We couldn’t get a signal on the TV and the heating wasn’t coming on. After 10 mins the oven went off. I went to check the fuse box but nothing looked tripped. After trying to get the TV, oven and heating to work for another 10 mins I finally called Charlie as suggested in the booklet. I introduced myself as staying in Appt 16 and that I had a few issues. I described the oven situation and he said, rather abruptly had I checked the fuse box and I said yes. Then he said what did I expect him to do about the issues at 6:30 on a Friday night. He was rude and abrupt. When I told him I wasn’t happy with his response he took even more offence. He then said if I dropped the unhappy attitude he’d ask housekeeping to call me. I felt quite intimidated.

Housekeeping were fine. They agreed to send someone over. While I was waiting I turned off the mains in the fuse box and back on and the TV and oven came on. After 10 mins it all went off again so I tripped the main switch again. It happened again but fortunately my pizza was cooked after that.

The chap came over and I said the heating wasn’t working. He fiddled with the boiler and said it should be ok. It wasn’t. After waiting 30 mins I went to the boiler, got the instructions and managed to get the heating to work. He apologised for Charlie’s attitude.

The next morning I wanted to cook bacon and eggs but there was no gas to the hob. I decided not to call anyone and had cereal.

The cooker was very dirty (see picture) and we couldn’t hang any clothes in the wardrobe as it was being used for bedding etc

Very disappointed. You can tell a lot about a company when things go wrong.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Andy S wrote a review May 2024
3.0 of 5 bubbles
This place has great potential but feels neglected. It seems that money has been invested in artwork rather than maintenance. The kitchens and bathrooms in the apartments that we stayed in are in desperate need of attention. The en-suite that we had, had a poorly fitted paper thin, cheap sticky back plastic type flooring through which sharp carpet gripper protruded. The kitchens (we had two) both had broken sections and generally felt very tatty.

I also noticed fire doors that are so poorly fitted that daylight can be seen around them and the sash windows are terrifying when open and you have younger guests with you.

The space as a whole is great and the potential of this place is huge, it strikes me however that it is run to squeeze every last penny out of it, which is a shame.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2024
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
roy h wrote a review Jan 2022
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We were told that the 2 apartments rented together accomadated 14 people. It said 4 Double and 6 single beds. We rented it on this understanding. When we arrived we found 4 Double beds, one with single in also. There were 2 small beds in passage ways which is not acceptable and then we were told if we needed anymore we would have to use folding beds at a cost of £15 per week. At the price we paid we are not at all happy with the place and can only say if we had taken 14 of us we would have had a big problem.. We all think we should have some sort of refund as it was not as advertised and caused us some problems with the beds.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Charles Perkins, Owner at The Judges Lodgings
Responded 18 Feb 2022
It is exactly as advertised. At the price you paid the apartment is amazing value
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Midjan1 wrote a review Jul 2023
Zug, Switzerland
5.0 of 5 bubbles
What a wonderful quirky place to stay. Great decor and enormous apartments. We had 10 and 11, which joined together to make one huge place with 4 bedrooms.
Few small things could improve the overall experience:
Window didn't open in our bedroom, I did wonder if it was just locked, but when I asked was just told ' it should do' ! It was pretty warm in the room and it would have been nice to have someone come and check!
Kitchen equipment is very random - we were moving between both apartments to find different things. eg. Coffee machine only in 11 and we were in all eating in 10 and 2 forks in one and many in the other....
Shower in one room did not stay up and already had elastic bands on it.
A general look at the small things and an update would make a huge difference.
Communication from booking to arrival was great and we had no problems finding it and getting in.
Location is fabulous, 3 minute walk to the keys and the availability of a car park is wonderful.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Michael B wrote a review Mar 2023
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Fantastic apartment in Central Gloucester. Perfect for our trip to Cheltenham races. Very spacious and well furnished. The double sofa bed was very comfortable. Secured parking was hassle free and the location was great near some great cafe and pubs.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
harriet wrote a review Apr 2023
Sidmouth, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Amazing location, fabulous accommodation. So spacious and had everything we needed. Parking was ideal and we had very clear instructions for check in/ check out
The owner was fantastic from start to finish and we are so glad we booked thank you.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tom H wrote a review Oct 2023
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Really enjoyed our stay at Judges Lodgings, everything we needed and more was there. Charlie and the housekeeper were very attentive to our needs and followed up our communications swiftly and positively, nothing was too much trouble. The apartment is just a few minutes walk to Gloucester Quays where a wide range of shops, eateries and pubs are located. The park opposite the Lodgings is excellent for dog walking and was a useful, nearby, additional facility for our dogs. The apartment was clean and tidy and served the three of us and our dogs well. Would definitely consider staying there again, all instructions for access to the secure parking and apartment were accurate and easy to follow, just remember to have your phone handy for reference purposes.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
No results found.Try changing or clearing your search to read questions and answers.
Sam M wrote a tip Sept 2023
5 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The supermarket is within a 15 min easy walk. Hairdryers are not provided so will need to pack one. The fans in the unit were perfect!"
Read full review
Saxonfields wrote a tip Aug 2023
Syracuse, New York4 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Lovely outdoor garden space."
Read full review
Adyward wrote a tip Aug 2023
London, United Kingdom34 contributions10 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Parking is available "
Read full review
Donny H wrote a tip Aug 2023
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"A very beautiful 😍 apartment can’t say more than that "
Read full review
Lizzi U wrote a tip Apr 2023
Aveton Gifford, United Kingdom11 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Great place "
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Gloucester area.
PRICE RANGE
£95 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandCotswoldsGloucester
NUMBER OF ROOMS
16
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE JUDGES LODGINGS - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about The Judges Lodgings
Which popular attractions are close to The Judges Lodgings?
Nearby attractions include VRXPERIENCE (0.3 miles), Soldiers of Gloucestershire Museum (0.3 miles), and Gloucester Docks (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Judges Lodgings?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and a clothes dryer.
Which room amenities are available at The Judges Lodgings?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
Is parking available at The Judges Lodgings?
Yes, free parking, a parking garage, and paid private parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Judges Lodgings?
Conveniently located restaurants include Brewhouse & Kitchen - Gloucester Quays, The Barge Restaurant, and Trattoria Settebello.
Is The Judges Lodgings located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.3 miles away from the centre of Gloucester.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Judges Lodgings?
Yes, a clothes dryer and a washing machine are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at The Judges Lodgings?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to The Judges Lodgings?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Blackfriars (0.3 miles), Llanthony Secunda Priory (0.4 miles), and Eastgate Viewing Chamber (0.4 miles).
Does The Judges Lodgings have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the city view available here.
All Gloucester HotelsGloucester Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in GloucesterHotels near The Judges Lodgings
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire