Premier Inn Derby City Centre Riverlights Hotel
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Premier Inn Derby City Centre Riverlights Hotel

Traveller (157)
Premier Inn bedroom
Room & Suite (98)
Thyme restaurant
Dining (6)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

£41
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.0
#10 of 30 hotels in Derby
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Discover Derby from this brilliant new spot - our Premier Inn Derby City Centre (Riverlights) hotel puts you right in the city centre and moments from Derby River Gardens. It's a five-minute stroll to Derby's theatre and Intu shopping centre, and a tad further to the Cathedral Quarter, Silk Mill and Derby Museum and Art Gallery. If it's thrills you're after, head a couple of miles out of town for some nail biting footy at iPro Stadium or the high ropes at Markeaton Park. We're just half a mile from the station and a 20-minute drive to East Midlands Airport. You'll be impressed by our spacious new-generation bedrooms which each feature a 40" flat screen TV and luxuriously comfy kingsize bed. There's great food to tempt you too, with our delicious breakfast served on-site as well as our hearty dinners served at our Thyme restaurant.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Free internet
Bar / lounge
Highchairs available
Taxi service
Meeting rooms
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Kids' meals
Non-smoking hotel
First aid kit
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Clothes rack
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Private bathrooms
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Green
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English

Location

Morledge, Derby DE1 2BB England
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 97 out of 100
97
East Midlands Airport
Nottingham Airport
16.4 mi
See all flights
990Reviews20Q+A62Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 514
  • 245
  • 110
  • 53
  • 68
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Nicole H wrote a review Jan 2020
1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Very pleasantly suprised. Large rooms, large bathrooms (why the see through doors though?! I mean they are glazed so they aren't completely see through but you can still see the shape of the person sitting on the toilet. Not ideal). Was only there for 1 night so wasn't too much of an issue for us. Rooms were clean and beds crisp. There were even extra pillows, we didn't have to request them! (who only sleeps with one pillow?) City Centre location, noisy outside (it was a Friday night) the pub over the road was very busy with live music and lots of noise outside and the hotel is next to the bus station. You could not hear this inside the hotel though it was very peaceful and quiet inside. It's very spacious and family friendly with large stairwells and bannisters. Took us a while to work out we needed to scan the key card for the lifts! Breakfast was reasonable, always good value for money especially with kids eating free, freshly cooked hot food and an array of cereals, toast, pastries and Costa coffee as well as juices and milk. The restaurant staff were very friendly and attentive although, we were the only ones in there at the time so you would hope so. Views of the river ruined by works going on and can't get anywhere near it as it's all fenced off. Obviously not Premier Inn's fault but just a note to anyone like me who books the one (there's another one close by) closest to the river to be near the river. Overall, I was pleased, budget friendly, clean, quiet, central. I would stay here again.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com
Date of stay: January 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lauren R wrote a review Aug 2021
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom105 contributions43 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Check in process was quick and easy and the staff member Lauren was lovely and friendly.
Parking is available across the road for a discounted rate if you are staying in the hotel. Which was a good price for 2 nights.
On first impression the room looked lovely and modern.
There was a desk and chair in the room which was great as I had a work meeting to attend whilst I was away. Reasonable space for storing clothes etc.
Bathroom was nice and modern although the shower had poor water pressure and we had to ask for toilet roll.
There were a couple of issues with the room:
The shelves inside the bedside table were very dusty
The TV remote was visably dirty
The light switch to the bathroom was pushed into the socket and had to put your finger inside to turn it on/off - we reported this to the hotel staff and they did leave us a note in the room saying it had been reported to maintenance but it wasn't resolved during our 2 night stay.
The cupboards under the TV opened and inside was exposed wiring which could be a safety issue if you had small children with you.
The air con was good and the bed/pillows were very comfy with extra pillows already available in the room.
The location of the hotel is nearby lots of shops and leisure activities and a 40min drive from alton towers.
Overall the hotel was great value for money although needs some extra attention to detail but we would stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: To get your parking discount At the end of your parking go to the payment machine and press the...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
C W wrote a review Oct 2021
2 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Breakfast OK bit dry or over cooked, evening meals great tasty selection, staff excellent hence rating being 3 stars not lower. Nice view over lake despite the main road location and bird mess over the windows. Staff make this place they are welcoming, helpful and friendly. There is a club or something nearby which can be heard ALOT from the 4th floor of the hotel. Room clean except bath which when run for the first time had black yucky bits floating in it and bed is so rock solid to the point where it didn't even move, not even slightly, when sat on, hardly a comfortable night's sleep for the time I was here woke with a horrible back ache every morning. Couldn't get to sleep due to the music from the club, not just the base of the music but could hear some songs word for word, kids running up and down corridors screaming late at night and with the rock hard mattress to top it off I was glad to go home to my own bed. Lots if kids ganging around on the streets late qt night in large groups. Heating in room turns itself off so most mornings woke freezing cold. Had the bed been usable for sleep and the noise from neighbouring businesses been less intrusive the rating would easily be 5 stars so its a shame these bits let the place down.
As an FYI unlike other hotels there are no irons in the rooms here also bring ear plugs!!
Cleaners could do with wiping down walls as most walls in my room had spill marks down them of god knows what. Bit of sugar soap on them wouldn't go a miss to tidy the walls up and not leave them dirty.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kath and Joe O’Malley wrote a review Jun 2021
1 contribution
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We arrived after the advertised check in time of 2pm to find that our room wasn’t ready. After complaining we were given a number to call to request a refund and were told that they would probably reimburse us for 1 night (we were staying for 2 nights) to our dismay when we called the number they were closed. After speaking to the manager he said they had switched the number off because the issue was happening in Premier inns all around the country and there was nothing he can do but to keep trying the number. I didn’t get through on the number until 3rd June and we stayed end of May bank holiday weekend. I was extremely angry when I finally got through and was told that they could only reimburse 15 pound. The total cost of our stay was 67.50. On top of this breakfast was fully booked and they didn’t even give us the option to get a take away. They didn’t have enough cleaners and only had 1 chef. We didn’t get in our room until about 4.30pm on 29th May. Also we asked for an iron and ironing board and we’re told that someone would bring one up but it never arrived so we gave up on that. We frequently stay at the Premier Inn and are very disappointed at the service we received. If they reimbursed us for the 1st night we would have been happy with this.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Don’t expect to be able to check in at time advertised
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Curiosity45301905400 wrote a review Sept 2020
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
From the friendly and informative check in to the cheery goodbye our stay at Derby city centre (Riverlights) hotel was great. The room was clean and bathroom had recently been returned. We were told the room wouldn't be serviced during our stay due to covid safety measures, unless we requested it. This wasn't a problem for us and any extra tea/coffee/pillows etc could be requested from reception.
We had breakfast both mornings and can honestly say it was the best breakfast we've had in any premier inn, well cooked and hot. Instead of a buffet you ordered what you wanted and it was served to your table.
Although there was no parking at the hotel it was available at the Intu shopping centre a 5 minute walk away for £8 a night, we thought for a city centre this was very reasonable .
All in all a great couple of days away and if we return to Derby will not hesitate to stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
umairabdulrehman wrote a review Feb 2020
Reading, United Kingdom1 contribution
3.0 of 5 bubbles
I was on the business trip and most of my work was on internet. Hotel wifi is such like it even not opening google page and certain site was blocked then ultimately i have to pay them for wifi to upgrade the service this is the way they are earning money from customers by putting restriction on basic facilities. Most of tv channels was block or out of service
Read more
Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com
Date of stay: February 2020
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mark K. wrote a review Aug 2021
3 contributions2 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Hotel is nicely situated by the river, sadly even though we were staying for 5 days we got an internal view over looking a grotty looking courtyard. Due to this you have to keep the curtains closed for privacy as all the rooms that overlook the same courtyard, and there's a lot, can see into your room.

Despite asking for the room to be cleaned, they only made the bed and changed the towels and emptied the bin. Didn't wash anything down or vacuum.

We would have like an evening meal but we're told that there was hardly any choice due to the covid situation.
This should have been communicated before our arrival and not afterwards. Fortunately there are other eateries nearby.

It's not a quiet hotel, though you cannot hear traffic, you can hear other rooms and people in the corridor of walking above and below. Walls seems very hollow.

Girl on reception was not going to allow my wife's meds to be stored in the fridge, again due to covid, fortunately the manager overruled that decision.

Not what I expected from Premier Inn, but thd location is excellent.

Quick note about car parking, although the hotel doesn't offer this facility you can park in the Riverside car park. However they no longer have a ticket based system for the hotel to verify that your staying there. You have to go to the pay machine and state your staying there via intercom. However if the phone doesn't get answered you're going to have to pay the full rate.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
WiganChris1968 wrote a review Aug 2020
Wigan362 contributions116 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed for 3 nights, as usual value for money with a good night's sleep.
Centrally located on the Riverside next to the bus station
Near the main shopping centre
15 mins walk to the railway station or 6 pound in a taxi.
Friendly staff plenty near by, I would stay again
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Gemma H wrote a review Jul 2021
1 contribution
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Booked the hotel in advance , arrived at hotel for check in. No staff at reception, machine for online check in not working, waited for 5/10 minutes. Was told the room wasn’t ready, it’s now 3pm when check in is at 2pm, said they only had one cleaner when this hotel has 400+ rooms!! Said she was on the floor of my room so shouldn’t be long. Three hours later I come back at 6pm, considering I had to lug my luggage around with me all day the room still wasn’t ready!! So had to leave and come back few hours later I finally had my key. Room was nice, I had everything in the room, family in another room didn’t get any tea or coffee and only one towel for a family room.
Couldn’t use the shower, no power just come out in piles of water, no way to remove shower head to get under other than hugging the wall.
Woken up by the Fire alarm on Sunday morning, communal hallways all smelled of cigarette smoke.
On check out again no staff, lady was rude and said ‘just leave the key on the desk’ like I’m supposed to know this with no signage! Don’t want to be charged extra cause someone misplaces it!
Complained about the service and room, was told to phone the premier inn relations team to get a full refund, was on hold for 30mins and not getting through so a little disgruntled with the overall experience. Wouldn’t recommend this hotel, obviously don’t have enough staff to give appropriate service, and current staff are over worked so rude to guests.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: July 2021
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Whitbread Hotels and Restaurants, Other at Premier Inn Derby City Centre Riverlights Hotel
Responded 3 Aug 2021
Hi, Thank you for your review. We’re very sorry that you had a disappointing stay with us recently due to a number of issues during your time with us. This certainly isn't the experience we would expect for you and we can appreciate this would have left you feeling let down. We’ve ensured this feedback has been logged to the Hotel Management team so that they can look into these issues with the team to prevent this experience from being repeated again in the future. In future, our Reception team are on hand 24/7 and so we would advise speaking with the team as soon as any issues arise to help resolve this whilst you're still in-house. Thank you for taking the time to contact us and we hope we can welcome you for a more enjoyable stay in the future. Kind regards, Kayleigh
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Carole wrote a review Aug 2020
1 contribution1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My husband, daughter and I just spent 2 nights at Riverlights Premiere Inn, Derby. It was spotlessly clean and very coordinated and organised with social distancing in place and hand sanitizer and signs re masks easy to find. The staff were lovely and friendly. A member of staff named Daniel was very helpful and accommodating during our stay, especially breakfast time and when helping us check out. Would definitely recommend staying here.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jwarren65 asked a question Apr 2023
Birmingham, United Kingdom82 contributions8 helpful votes
Can anyone recommend any restaraunts nearby or is it worth dining in the hotel
Answer from jillianpearce
Liverpool, United Kingdom11 contributions2 helpful votes
Food at premier lodge very tasty
Answer from Kevin M
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom324 contributions106 helpful votes
Yes you do need a key card for the lifts and to get through the door to access the lifts, so I would recommend a second card, just ask at the reception.
Jwarren65 asked a question Jan 2023
Birmingham, United Kingdom82 contributions8 helpful votes
How close is this hotel to city centre and train station as will be travelling from Birmingham
Answer from Barnsleybill_11
Barnsley, United Kingdom12 contributions30 helpful votes
Riverlights is in the city centre. Its about a 20 minutes walk from the train station.
Kellie B wrote a tip 4 May
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Perfect in every way."
Read full review
shed35 wrote a tip Feb 2024
Nottingham, United Kingdom28 contributions14 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Hotel is on top of Derby Bus Station so convenient if you need to travel on."
Read full review
Dream602816 wrote a tip Jan 2024
5 contributions5 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Avoid Abbie and Rylan!! Only joking they’re great!!! 🥰"
Read full review
waterbabe65 wrote a tip Nov 2023
Leicester, United Kingdom99 contributions35 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don’t stay above the bus station or book room 224 "
Read full review
FrankPatient wrote a tip Oct 2023
Huddersfield, United Kingdom379 contributions111 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Rooms are high up and not near a road - all okay ."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Derby area.
PRICE RANGE
£40 - £57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandDerbyshireDerby
NUMBER OF ROOMS
138
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

PREMIER INN DERBY CITY CENTRE RIVERLIGHTS HOTEL - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about Premier Inn Derby City Centre Riverlights Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Premier Inn Derby City Centre Riverlights Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Make Your Escape (0.2 miles), Hatchet Harrys Derby (0.08 miles), and The Escape Room Guys (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Premier Inn Derby City Centre Riverlights Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast buffet.
Which room amenities are available at Premier Inn Derby City Centre Riverlights Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and blackout curtains.
What food & drink options are available at Premier Inn Derby City Centre Riverlights Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Premier Inn Derby City Centre Riverlights Hotel?
Yes, paid public parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Premier Inn Derby City Centre Riverlights Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Slug & Lettuce, Turtle Bay Derby, and Revolucion de Cuba.
Is Premier Inn Derby City Centre Riverlights Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.2 miles away from the centre of Derby.
Are there any historical sites close to Premier Inn Derby City Centre Riverlights Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Kedleston Hall (3.7 miles), Derby Gaol (0.6 miles), and The Door On Sadler Gate (0.2 miles).
Is Premier Inn Derby City Centre Riverlights Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Derby HotelsDerby Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in DerbyHotels near Premier Inn Derby City Centre Riverlights Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire