We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Derby Conference Centre

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Derby Conference Centre
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

224 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 220: English reviews
Start your review of The Derby Conference Centre
 Click to rate
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel has clearly spent lots of money on a recent renovation. The rooms despite being on the smaller size are pleasant to stay in due to the appealing decor and comfort of the furniture. The hotel looks old from the outside but this is not the case inside. The hotel serves an excellent breakfast of a buffet style. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MaxAlexander186338
DerbyConfCentre, Guest Relations Manager at The Derby Conference Centre, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review with regards to your recent stay with us. We appreciate your kind comments and we are pleased to read that you seemed to have enjoyed your stay. Due to being a Grade II listed building we are unable to alter the size of our bedrooms but we do try to...

Sheffield
Reviewed 1 week ago

Decent, clean rooms, good breakfast, friendly staff. Have stayed here twice recently, and can't fault it. Definitely good value for money. A very large building that used to be part of Derby's links with the railway industry, but has been converted to a conference centre with accommodation. Some of the rooms are suitable for disabled guests, but if you have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pete_Sheffield_UK
DerbyConfCentre, Guest Relations Manager at The Derby Conference Centre, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review regarding your most recent stay with us here at The Derby Conference Centre. It is great to see guests returning & we appreciate your kind comments which we will be sure to share with the rest of the team. Constructive feedback such as yours can be a great help, not...

Ipswich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This is the second time I have used the Derby conference centre when visiting my son at uni and family that are local ! The first occasion I had a single room which was comfy and clean, on this occasion however I chose to stay in one of the premier rooms ! Decorated nicely "sea side " room and spotlessly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joanne R
DerbyConfCentre, Guest Relations Manager at The Derby Conference Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for your review regarding your most recent stay with us. It is always pleasing to see guests returning and we are glad that you chose to stay in one of our Premier Rooms on this visit. Once again, thank you for the feedback & we look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future. Best regards,...

Reviewed 1 week ago

I booked a last minute room here not knowing the area at all.We were at an event at Donnington which was about a ten minute drive away.On arrival the staff were friendly and helpful and our room was much nicer than I had anticipated considering how much I paid (less than £50).The bathroom was large with a good size shower...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jill W
DerbyConfCentre, Guest Relations Manager at The Derby Conference Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us. We appreciate your kind comments and we will be sure to share them with the rest of the team here. Once again thank you for your feedback & we look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future. Best regards, The Derby...

Gateshead, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed at the conference centre recently when in Derby on a business trip; we were working at the Pride Park Business Complex so found the accommodation well located for us.   The only interaction I had with staff was on check in and they were friendly and efficient. The rooms were of a good standard, with comfortable beds and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nick_J55
DerbyConfCentre, Guest Relations Manager at The Derby Conference Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us at The Derby Conference Centre. We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay & we appreciate your kind comments. Once again, thank you for the feedback & we look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future. Best Regards,...

Margate, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 January 2017

This is a convenient place to stay for a short time if visiting family or friends for a few days. Hotel is on a main road to city centre, but not too noisy from traffic. Have stayed here on more than one occasion and although some double beds are on the small size we did get a move to a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kentexplorers2
DerbyConfCentre, Guest Relations Manager at The Derby Conference Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your most recent stay with us. Constructive feedback such as yours is a great tool to use when assessing our service 7 standards. Once again, thank you for the comments and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Best regards, The Derby Conference

Taunton, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 January 2017 via mobile

Ok so the room was small, massive bathroom yet tiny shower, but it was very clean, the staff were friendly and welcoming, and when comparing to the corporate blocks of inns and lodges you could be staying in around the country, it offers a nice change. Value and a bit different for a stopover.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank James A
DerbyConfCentre, Guest Relations Manager at The Derby Conference Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us at The Derby Conference Centre. Constructive feedback such as yours is a great tool for us to use when reviewing our service & standards. Once again, thank you for the feedback & we hope to welcome you back again soon. Best regards, The Derby...

Falkirk, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 January 2017 via mobile

This is worth skipping if ever in need of accommodation in Derby. Looks fairly grand and impressive as you drive in but very soon you realise the rooms are almost a secondary business. Very cheap to stay but you are staying in a student accommodation style room that is seriously outdated. Wifi is very poor and doesn't work well in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dave S
DerbyConfCentre, Guest Relations Manager at The Derby Conference Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. We are very disappointed to read your review as we don't feel it truly reflects what we are capable of offering. Needless to say your feedback we be reviewed by our team and appropriate action will be taken. Best regards, The Derby Conference Centre

Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 December 2016

We stayed at the Derby Conference Centre on Saturday evening and whilst it was very convenient for the event we were attending locally, getting into the building proved a little more difficult! My wife has MS and is in a wheelchair and although the disabled parking is right outside the main entrance you have to navigate 3 steps as there...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steve A
DerbyConfCentre, Guest Relations Manager at The Derby Conference Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay with us at the Derby Conference Centre. Although we do not have a permanent wheelchair ramp at the main entrance we do have mobile ramps available which can be put up very quickly. unfortunately we cannot alter the doors as they are part of the Listed...

Atworth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 December 2016

Lovely friendly staff and comfy beds, although the bathroom was huge but the shower was tiny, which didn't seem to make any sense. Everyone was kind and helpful, but I was disappointed that there were no gluten/dairy free alternatives for breakfast and the pipes were very noisy at 5am. Good for an overnight, practical stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hannah T
DerbyConfCentre, Guest Relations Manager at The Derby Conference Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit to The Derby Conference Centre. We welcome your comments and we will review and action them accordingly. Best regards, The Derby Conference Centre

71 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (51)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Derby hotels
0.6 mi away
pentahotel Derby
pentahotel Derby
#3 of 29 in Derby
1,420 reviews
1.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Derby
Jurys Inn Derby
#4 of 29 in Derby
1,572 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Derby Pride Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Derby Midland
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Derby Riverlights
4.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Derby Mickleover Court
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located just 10 minutes from Derby's city centre, this grade II listed Art Deco building offers comfortable rooms and hearty full English breakfasts. It has a bar, free parking and free Wi-Fi. All of the refurbished rooms at the Derby Conference Centre feature a private en suite shower room, Freeview TV, and tea/coffee-making facilities. The venue has been awarded the AA's 4-star Guest Accommodation standard. There are 8 conference rooms at the Art Deco-themed conference centre, all suitable for business or hospitality events. The conference centre is easy to access with Derby Train Station only 5 minutes' drive away and East Midlands Airport a 15-minute drive away. The M1 motorway can be reached in 10 minutes by car. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Derby Conference Centre

Address: London Road, Derby DE24 8UX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Derby
Price Range: £52 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Derby Conference Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your The Derby Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Derby Conference Centre Hotel Derby
The Derby Conference Centre Derbyshire
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Derby Conference Centre staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Normanton, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Derby Conference Centre staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for good size bed”
 of 5 bubbles kentexplorers2, 20 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Request a ground floor room if your a disabled guest as no lift - can recommend room 4.”
 of 5 bubbles steveaT6717SO, 18 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Front rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles cliderNorfolk, 26 Nov 2016 | Read review
“If you want space go for a premier room - standard rooms are very small.”
  • THe bathroom
  • The standard bedroom
  • Small dounble room
 of 5 bubbles calwynh, 20 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Allocated on arrival”
 of 5 bubbles waldodw, 30 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5