We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Holiday Inn Derby - Riverlights, an IHG Hotel

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (195)
Room & Suite (97)
Videos (1)

View prices for your travel dates

Hotel direct offer!Book Direct & Save with IHG One Rewards
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#11 of 31 hotels in Derby
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Welcome to the Holiday Inn hotel in the heart of Derby city center, where comfort meets convenience for both business and leisure travelers. Our en suite bedrooms, bar & restaurant, mini-gym, and versatile meeting rooms have got you covered for all your needs. Discounted parking's available locally at Derbion's Basement Car Park and we're just 15-minute's drive from the M1, with access to East Midlands Airport. Derby train station is in easy walking distance, and the bus station is on our doorstep so travel is a breeze. You'll feel right at home at our central Derby hotel - there's room service, free WiFi and our conference rooms are ideal from everything from interviews to family celebrations. Enjoy cityscape views, a full dinner menu, our famous breakfast buffet, a full bar and Kids Eat Free* in the restaurant. Staying at our Derby hotel means there's plenty to see and do nearby.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Kids stay free
Highchairs available
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Parking
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Kids' meals
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Desk
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Room service
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Hair dryer
Safe
Iron
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, Hindi and 1 more
Hotel links
Special Offer:Book Direct & Save with IHG One Rewards
756Reviews10Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 350
  • 252
  • 73
  • 45
  • 37
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
moira r wrote a review 17 Apr
17 contributions
Comfortable nights stay. The room was roomy, comfortable bed and pillows and the shower was good. Breakfast was as expected, and the staff lovely. The hotel bar is ope... Date of stay: April 2024
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
julies59 wrote a review May 2023
uk19 contributions7 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
Had a lovely stay at the holiday inn,the manager Omar was a excellant host he certainly looked after me and my friend ,the only problem was we didnt realise it was so high up and i dont like heights but Omar found us a booth away the view and kept checking that we were okay,the room and food was great and there was plenty of selection at breakfast, would definatly go back again.Thank you to Omar and all the staff.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: pleanty to choose from at breakfast
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Omar Mahroof , Other at Holiday Inn Derby - Riverlights, an IHG Hotel
Responded 10 Jun 2023
Dear julies59, Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback regarding your recent stay here, I am very pleased to read you had an enjoyable stay. We strive for our staff to go above and beyond for our guests, and I'm glad to hear that was the case from the room to the quality of our breakfast. I will be delighted to pass on your lovely comments to Omar. I hope we can welcome you back again in the near future. Kind Regards, Guest Service Assistant
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
BritTraveller68 wrote a review 2 Apr
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom299 contributions199 helpful votes
+1
I stayed here over the Easter weekend and I had a very comfortable stay, but there were a few things that took the shine off it. Firstly, having been checked in by two friendly and personable staff, upon entering my Premium room (309), I immediately noticed that there no pods to use in the Nespresso machine. And housekeeping had not emptied the machine of the previous guest’s pods. I stopped by the reception on my way out and asked if some could be found, and would prefer just decaf ones. The receptionist popped over to the bar, but was unable to find any. Later on that afternoon, two were found, one of which was decaf. After the room was first cleaned, the one decaf pod was replaced, but none were replaced on the other two days. I ended up buying some from the local Tesco’s. The machine was never emptied. Secondly, the shower screen failed to stop the water flowing down the side of the bath, partially flooding the floor. I would have thought the housekeepers would have noticed how I’d used the bath mat to mop up the water and reported it. They also never lifted the rubber bath mat during each clean. Thirdly, I was allocated a room overlooking an inner courtyard. This meant it was certainly quiet. But as a Diamond Elite customer, I wondered if I had been given the best Premium room, especially since the hotel was very unoccupied. Many of the rooms do have views over the River Derwent. It’s usual for rooms with a view to be Premium rooms, unless that’s not the case here. Finally - and while this is not the hotel’s fault, it was still annoying - my car registration wasn’t recognised by the terminal at reception that’s linked to the hotel’s affiliated car park at the shopping centre over the road, so I couldn’t be immediately offered the £8 per night discounted rate. I was directed to contact the operator at the pay machine. It then transpired that they could not find my car either on their system, and then that one pay machine froze when trying to take the payment. In the end, I was told to drive direct to the exit barrier, where the operator re-processed my discounted fee and was able to take the payment. It was also tricky to get to the car park, as my in-car sat nav stubbornly tried to take me down the road by the hotel that is now only for taxis and buses. The hotel has posters that announce a forthcoming refurbishment programme, which looks very attractive, though compared to many Holiday Inns, this one is still in very good shape. With its great staff - and the lovely two meals I had in their restaurant - I hope that they can focus a bit more on these small points that would have made a good stay an excellent one.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Do your own research when it comes to locating the affiliated car park. The hotel gives a...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sarah Kenny, Owner at Holiday Inn Derby - Riverlights, an IHG Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear BritTraveller68 Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your recent stay here at the Holiday Inn Derby Riverlights, and your lovely comments about the team here, I will ensure these are passed onto them. I am very sorry there were no coffee pods available for your coffee machine in your bedroom, unfortunately we have had some supply issues, I have addressed this with the team to ensure we have plenty of spare stock in the future. I have asked my maintenance manager to look at the shower screen in the bathroom, I would like to apologise for the inconvenience this caused you. Whilst the car park is not an affiliation with the hotel, the situation you encountered is rare, I am sorry this marred your stay. I am pleased to read you enjoyed your meals here, and we hope to welcome you back again in the future. Kind regards Sarah Kenny General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Kieran Linyard wrote a review Mar 2024
Derbyshire, United Kingdom7 contributions2 helpful votes
A minimalistic style hotel with well furnished room and excellent breakfast dining facilities included in the room price. Views from some of the rooms were unappealing, including some that mostly overlooked flat roof buildings. Breakfast included a wide variety of continental foods in a spacious, clean dining lounge.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn Derby - Riverlights, an IHG Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Hi MidnightFeline, Thank you for letting us know about your experience during your stay at Holiday Inn Derby Riverlights. Here on our property, we strive to provide a quality stay where you can rest and relax in a family-friendly environment. I read your remarks and am sorry your stay was not great and not what we expect our guests to experience. I understand your sentiments, and to this end, I shared your comments with our managers. We reviewed what happened and created a plan to better our services and offers. I invited you to visit us on your next trip so we can change your mind about us. Thank you again, Oscar C. Case Manager IHG Hotel & Resorts Services
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
tetley1 wrote a review Feb 2024
blackpool101 contributions33 helpful votes
Stayed for one night. Greeted by a lovely receptionist who seemed very happy in her job. Check in was quick and easy. First impression of the hotel was very good. Spotlessly clean. Room on 3rd floor was a good size. Plenty of storage, iron in room. Bed very comfortable. Powerful shower with plenty of hot water. Bar was reasonably priced and the service from the barmen was spot on. Breakfast was fantastic and on weekends it is provided until 11am. I cannot fault anything about the hotel or the staff. Will definitely choose this hotel again when visiting the area.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sarah Kenny, Owner at Holiday Inn Derby - Riverlights, an IHG Hotel
Responded 5 Feb 2024
Dear tetley1 Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your recent stay here at the Holiday Inn Derby Riverlights, I am really pleased to read you enjoyed your stay with us. I will ensure your lovely comments are communicated to all the team members, it is always great to share positive feedback and success. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind regards Sarah Kenny General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Caroline W wrote a review Jan 2024
30 contributions25 helpful votes
A modern clean hotel. Rooms spacious and well appointed. Spotlessly clean and a lovely comfortable bed with choice of pillows. A Great central Location. Such a great price. What made this stay even better was the friendly and helpful staff. Friendly check in and out. We only ate in the restaurant once but the young lady in the restaurant was very efficient, friendly and also helpful with local knowledge.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sarah Kenny, Owner at Holiday Inn Derby - Riverlights, an IHG Hotel
Responded 17 Jan 2024
Dear Caroline W Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your recent stay here at the Holiday Inn Derby Riverlights, I am really pleased to read you had a great stay. I will pass your compliments onto the team, it is always great to share such positive feedback. I hope we can welcome you back again in the near future. Kind regards Sarah Kenny General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
humphrey wrote a review Dec 2023
Galashiels, United Kingdom11 contributions4 helpful votes
Terrible customer service! Arrived at reception and no one was there to check us in. Went to the bar and they said the receptionist had gone to do room service as it was really busy. There were two people in the restaurant. When the receptionist came back 15 mins later he was rude, passive aggressive and dismissive. I told him so and he dismissed me. I told him he shouldn’t argue with the customer, I had been travelling for a long time and wasn’t expecting to have to wait so long to check in, especially at a 4 star hotel. Eventually he apologised but my whole experience had been ruined. The following morning, different staff, better experience. The night time receptionist was awful, rude, unprofessional and dismissive. Not what you expect from a holiday inn. I also found the rooms outdated and black mould in the corner of the bath
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Don’t arrive in the evening!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sarah Kenny, Owner at Holiday Inn Derby - Riverlights, an IHG Hotel
Responded 11 Dec 2023
Dear Getaway18578074384 Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your recent stay here at the Holiday Inn Derby Riverlights, I am disappointed to learn your stay was less than satisfactory, for this please accept my sincere apologies. I have reviewed your feedback with the team, I am sorry you were not greeted when you first checked arrived and had to wait for the receptionist on duty to come and meet you, we have put in a corrective plan to ensure tis does not happen again in the future. I am pleased to read you had a better experience at breakfast. Once again, please accept my apologies for the inconvenience caused to you. Yours sincerely Sarah Kenny General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Devonhoteling wrote a review Nov 2023
Devon26 contributions18 helpful votes
Had a great stay, stayed for 2 nights while using their conference facilities for interviews, all staff were very friendly and the place and room were always clean would highly recommend especially the reception staff and waiting staff
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sarah Kenny, Owner at Holiday Inn Derby - Riverlights, an IHG Hotel
Responded 13 Nov 2023
Dear Devonhoteling Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your recent stay here at the Holiday Inn Derby, I am really pleased to read you enjoyed your stay with us. I will pass your lovely feedback onto the team, it is great to read such positive comments. I hope we can welcome you back again in the near future. Kind regards Sarah Kenny General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Jamila A wrote a review Oct 2023
1 contribution
I stayed two weeks with my mum the customer service from all the staff was outstanding consistently thoughout our stay! Service was always with a smile which was lovely.We were made to feel welcome by all the staff. The rooms were brilliantly clean and serviced every day of our stay!It was always nice to come back in the afternoon to a clean room :) Breakfast was included in our stay which was always fresh hot and delicious! It Included lots of options.I Looked forward to the latte every morning😋 Overall we had such a pleasant experience we definitely will be staying here again. Just want to stay thank you to all the lovely staff for making our stay so comfortable and wonderful :)
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sarah Kenny, Owner at Holiday Inn Derby - Riverlights, an IHG Hotel
Responded 27 Oct 2023
Dear jamilaa427 Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your recent stay here at the Holiday Inn Derby, I am really pleased to read you enjoyed your stay with us. It is always lovely to share such positive feedback with the team, I will make sure they are all aware of your fabulous comments. I do hope we can welcome you back again in the future. Kind regards Sarah Kenny General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
L S wrote a review Oct 2023
1 contribution
Seemed OK at first, but we were not told that breakfast is NOT included in price. We still had to pay for it even though no one told us. Also the lasagna gave me an upset stomach. Impossible to contact anyone to make a complaint as none of their numbers work. I'd rather spend a night on the street rather than with these idiots.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sarah Kenny, Owner at Holiday Inn Derby - Riverlights, an IHG Hotel
Responded 27 Oct 2023
Dear Z9159VWIs Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your recent stay here at the Holiday Inn Derby, I am most disappointed to learn that your stay was less than satisfying, for this please accept my sincere apologies. We have many rates on offer, some of which do include breakfast and some are room only, we do advise on check-in that if you are not inclusive, we do a special discount of £10 per person if purchased at check-in, I am sorry if this was not the case. We take any food complaints very seriously, if you would like to contact me, the hotel phone number is 01332 412644. Once again, please accept my apologies for any inconvenience caused to you. Kind regards Sarah Kenny General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Derby area.
PRICE RANGE
£70 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
holiday inn derby riverlights hotel derby
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandDerbyshireDerby
NUMBER OF ROOMS
105
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HOLIDAY INN DERBY - RIVERLIGHTS, AN IHG HOTEL - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about Holiday Inn Derby - Riverlights, an IHG Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Holiday Inn Derby - Riverlights, an IHG Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Make Your Escape (0.2 miles), Hatchet Harrys Derby (0.1 miles), and The Escape Room Guys (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Holiday Inn Derby - Riverlights, an IHG Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Holiday Inn Derby - Riverlights, an IHG Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Holiday Inn Derby - Riverlights, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, paid public parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Holiday Inn Derby - Riverlights, an IHG Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Slug & Lettuce, Turtle Bay Derby, and Revolucion de Cuba.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Holiday Inn Derby - Riverlights, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Is Holiday Inn Derby - Riverlights, an IHG Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.2 miles away from the centre of Derby.
Are any cleaning services offered at Holiday Inn Derby - Riverlights, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Holiday Inn Derby - Riverlights, an IHG Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Holiday Inn Derby - Riverlights, an IHG Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, Hindi, and Polish.
Are there any historical sites close to Holiday Inn Derby - Riverlights, an IHG Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Kedleston Hall (3.7 miles), Derby Gaol (0.7 miles), and The Door On Sadler Gate (0.3 miles).