We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

BEST WESTERN The Stuart Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN The Stuart Hotel
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,033 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,024: English reviews
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This was not best experience of a hotel stay. The rooms were not very big and the furniture was worn and stained. It felt like it had not been cleaned properly with dust and dirt around the place. Breakfast was good however it is hard to get served as the staffing levels are poor. One morning we didn't get served...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gary C
Ellesmere Port, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Fabulous. Clean comfortable rooms staff friendly and bent over backwards and food and bar was great. A lovely relaxing atmosphere. We met some lovely people also staying at the hotel who we are still in touch with. We recommend The Stuart Hotel 100%,

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christine R
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Had a meal here . All of the food was out of the freezer or a bottle.How can you call someone a "chef"?, who cooks like this? Prawn sauce is so easy cream, ketchup, paprika and pepper then mix and taste .

 Report
Helpful?
Thank alilon56
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed 6th & 7th Jan. Check in was ok and receptionist friendly. Walking to our room and the beading around the glass on fire door was hanging off and caught my finger on nail. Rooms small, bathroom even smaller. The hot bath tap could be moved around and mouldy around the bath. Food was lovely and staff lovely ate in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michelle C
StuartHotel, Manager at BEST WESTERN The Stuart Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Michelle, thank you for your feedback on your recent stay and I am so sorry to hear that there were a few issues whilst you were here with us. I can assure you that all the points you raised will be investigated and addressed. I am so pleased to hear that you would possibly give the hotel another chance...

Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

we stayed here on new years eve, upon entering the room it was way too hot, on our booking it said the room was air conditioned but in reality this meant turning the radiator down and opening a window, the room was nothing special for this price bracket and the tv is in the wrong place, also there was no...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gary w
StuartHotel, Manager at BEST WESTERN The Stuart Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Gary, I am so sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay with us. I have looked into your booking and if you would like to forward a copy of your booking confirmation to me I will speak with the online booking agent you used as the booking we have for you was for a standard room which...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We visited The Stuart on NYE 2016 to use as a place to sleep on a night out in Derby. We found the hotel to be clean and modern however we did not enjoy the stay as it was very difficult to get a good night's sleep. Firstly the whole hotel is far too warm (think hospitals plus some). There...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dave S
StuartHotel, Manager at BEST WESTERN The Stuart Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback and I am so sorry to hear that you didn't have a good nights sleep. We have purposefully turned all the bathroom radiators off due to the rooms being so well insulated we have found the rooms are warm enough without, so I am sorry to hear that this one was on. I have instructed...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I was delighted to see a Best Western available on New Year's Eve at a reasonable price. Best Western is a brand I've always trusted and has always given me great service. On this occasion however the trust was well and truly broken. As it was New Year's Eve I wouldn't be spending too much time at the hotel but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank xeclectron
StuartHotel, Manager at BEST WESTERN The Stuart Hotel, responded to this review

I am pleased that you had an enjoyable stay with us and I am sorry that there was an error on your account. The registration form that you signed on check in has a paragraph clearly showing stating that in the event that you leave the hotel without settling all charges then the hotel has permission to deduct these charges...

Harrogate, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We decided last minute to travel to Derby. We wanted a hotel with car parking, close to the city centre, a good sized room, a menu with variety all delivered with a smile. And that is exactly what we got. The furniture in the bedrooms is a bit dated but the room was immaculately clean. Thank you for a great...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tony Q
StuartHotel, Manager at BEST WESTERN The Stuart Hotel, responded to this review

Happy New Year! thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us and I am so pleased to hear that you had a great stay and I have passed your comments to all the staff involved. Just to let you know we are just going through the process of refurbishing all the bedroom...

English Riviera, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Check inn was easy and friendly rooms r clean and modern hotel is a short 10min walk to town centre stayed on the ground floor but was quite during the night,air can in room with all the bits and bobs u would expect to find would deff stay and recommend this hotel again MW .

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Whip69
StuartHotel, Manager at BEST WESTERN The Stuart Hotel, responded to this review

Happy New Year! i am so pleased you had a good night and a pleasant stay with us. Your review means alot to us and I will certainly pass your comments onto all the staff. Hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel is ideally located for the city center and a free car park is included in the price. The service at the hotel was good but the rooms are in need of improvement; rooms were dated, items were broken and the remains of a previous flood were left on the walls and ceilings.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Aaron S
StuartHotel, Manager at BEST WESTERN The Stuart Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. I am glad that you were pleased with the location of the hotel and the complimentary car parking we have available. I am pleased that you were happy with the service in the hotel however it is disappointing to read that you felt the rooms needed improvement. We pride ourselves on being a modern city...

193 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (183)
Viewed
Bathroom (23)
Viewed
Room/Suite (69)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (67)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Derby hotels
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Derby
Jurys Inn Derby
#5 of 30 in Derby
1,546 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aston Court Hotel
Aston Court Hotel
#13 of 30 in Derby
446 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hallmark Inn
Hallmark Inn
#20 of 30 in Derby
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Derby Midland
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Derby City Centre (Riverlights)
0.4 mi away
pentahotel Derby
pentahotel Derby
#4 of 30 in Derby
1,379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
BEST WESTERN The Stuart Hotel is in the heart of Derby city centre close to many restaurants and bars with easy access from the motorways and the peak district. The hotel has 100 bedrooms, stylish restaurant, hip bar, conference and banqueting facilities, free car parking and free internet access throughout the hotel. We have excellent food and beverage options for you from our cocktails and nibblets menus to our a la carte menus and 24 hour room service menus. We look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN The Stuart Hotel

Address: 119 London Road, Derby DE1 2QR, England (Formerly The Stuart Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Derby
Price Range: £46 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN The Stuart Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN The Stuart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stuart Hotel Derby
BEST WESTERN The Stuart Hotel Derby, Derbyshire
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from BEST WESTERN The Stuart Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from BEST WESTERN The Stuart Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“pick a ground floor room as there are no lifts”
 of 5 bubbles 53garyw, 6 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Hope for the best when booking”
 of 5 bubbles 478jeffb, 15 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Get in early Parking can be tricky”
 of 5 bubbles rpt1968, 11 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Avoid this hotel”
 of 5 bubbles Apollokeith, 24 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Close to large indoor shopping centre”
 of 5 bubbles 550IanH550, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay