King's Highway by Marston's Inns
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

King's Highway by Marston's Inns

Traveller (56)
Dining (9)
Room & Suite (8)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.0
#16 of 31 hotels in Derby
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Value
We're looking forward to welcoming you to The King's Highway in Derby. A real family-friendly pub serving pub classics and a traditional carvery every day of the week, this is a great place to eat, meet, and relax. The kids will love our play areas: there's an outdoor play zone for sunny days, and an indoor toy corner too. So when they've finished playing with the games, you can treat them to something from our children's menu which is full of favourite. Bring the whole family, and don't forget to sample our brilliant range of beers, cask ales, and wines.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Children's television networks
Highchairs available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
Electric vehicle charging station
Parking
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Outdoor furniture
Room features
Desk
Seating area
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Hair dryer
Iron
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Family
Languages Spoken
English

Location

Rowditch, Derby DE22 3NH England
Getting there
Car recommended
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 46 out of 100
46
East Midlands Airport
Nottingham Airport
17.8 mi
See all flights
302Reviews2Q+A63Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 145
  • 104
  • 27
  • 13
  • 13
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Christine W wrote a review Aug 2020
Derby, England, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Myself my husband and daughter went last evening 22nd August for a meal, when we got there the social distancing was fully carried out we felt safe. We had hand sanitiser on arrival and a freshly printed out menu so no one else had used it. We ore booked so we were allocated a table which was acceptably away from other people. We were called up by table and the chef put the meal together for us so we did not have to touch anything. The food was very good much better than the last we went at Christmas and that was also good. We had exceptional service and left feeling that we had a lovely treat that evening. Highly recommend a meal her excellent.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Safe happy place to have a family meal
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Tara Kimberly GK, General Manager at King's Highway by Marston's Inns
Responded 28 Aug 2020
Hi Christine Thank you for your lovely review we will pass your comments onto the team who would be thrilled to hear your feedback after working so hard during these uncertain times. We hope to see you again soon! And maybe at Christmas :) Kind regards Management
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Peter B wrote a review Sept 2021
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here for two nights with a group of 7 whilst attending a Wedding near by. Having read some of the reviews prior to arrival we were unsure of the choice We had absolutely no need to be concerned , from check in to check out all the staff were Fantastic the rooms were as you would expect , the beds were amazing the best 2 nights sleep we have had in Hotel rooms for a long time . Four of us had a meal on the Friday evening Good Pub Food and again Great service . Saturday & Sunday all 7 of us had cooked Breakfast and there was no problem with requests for leaving items off , and unlimited Coffee all served with a smile , and clean plates returned. We all said we would return if necessary and definitely recommend it to anyone Thank you to all staff for adding to our very enjoyable weekend
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Rikki Hampton, Revenue Management at King's Highway by Marston's Inns
Responded 28 Oct 2021
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, I will pass on your thanks to our team. Thanks The Kings Highway Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Chris wrote a review Jan 2020
Derby, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My family and I were sadly bereaved of a relative who died after an illness at the Royal Derby Hospital. After paying respects at his bedside, we decided we would like a Sunday lunch to get together, talk and remember him. We didn’t have high hopes of getting in anywhere on a Sunday lunchtime without reservation. We went to the nearby Kings Highway. Sure enough, the restaurant was full and people were queuing to sit down for their reservations. The waitress at the door was very busy. I felt guilty showing up without reservation and asking for a table of five. But after explaining our situation the waitress went above and beyond to find us a table, and she did. We were very apologetic and also very grateful, and the waitress was at pains to stress that all was well. We all had the cavery and it was very delicious. We were well looked after by the staff. After finishing we left promptly to allow the lady who got us the table to seat others. She noticed this and thanked us. This isn’t my first visit here as I live nearby, and each time I cannot fault the place at all. Thank you ever so much for accommodating us at no notice.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from GeneralManager20191, Manager at King's Highway by Marston's Inns
Responded 6 Jan 2020
Thank you so much for your review. I will pass your thanks on to Amy who was our greater on the day you visited. We like to treat all of our customers both old and new as family and look afetr them the way we would like to be looked after. we look forward to seeing you agin soon under happier circumstances. It was our pleasure to serve you and your family.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
lynseyjamie wrote a review Aug 2021
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here for 2 nights , the room was lovely and clean and I would definitely stay here again and the evening meal in the resultant was lovely and Emily is fantastic, however, breakfast really let this place down and made us leave on a sour note. If we came back we would go elsewhere for breakfast so please avoid in the morning,

We arrived for breakfast at 9.30 and there were only around 4 tables taken so not busy. We waited 20 mins before our order was taken and then had to wait a further 20 mins for our hot drinks, my coffee was stone cold and the tea did not arrive, this was chased and after a further 10 mins it was still nowhere to be seen and never did arrived.

1 hour and 15 mis after ordering our breakfast arrived, one of the orders was wrong and the food was stone cold with over cooked sausages to the point you could not eat them. I did speak with the waitress when making payment but she just shrugged and did not really care and £8 for cold overcooked breakfasts per person is disgusting.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Rikki Hampton, Revenue Management at King's Highway by Marston's Inns
Responded 28 Oct 2021
Thank you for taking the time to give us some feedback, I’m sorry we missed the mark this time and I will definitely pass on your comments onto our team.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Catherine C wrote a review Sept 2020
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Very disappointed with the whole experience, we booked a table for 7.30pm on arrival we were told the table was not ready and could we sit outside this was completely inappropriate as it was cold outside and we had a 73 and 81 year olds in the party. We refused to sit outside and the table issue was soon resolved, then on placing the food order we were told that there was a 45 minute wait and that if we ordered a carvery it may have run out of certain items, some of the party chose to risk it and have a carvery but the meat was of poor quality and very little was left also there was no mashed potato left and a lot of the vegetables looked dried up but the pub continued to take orders for the carvery. Three of our party had fish and chips which was very overcooked. Then to add to the poor experience on visiting the toilets they were found to be dirty with one cubicle having no toilet seat and the roll of toilet paper left on the rim of the toilet. Overall very poor.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Tara Kimberly GK, General Manager at King's Highway by Marston's Inns
Responded 6 Sept 2020
Hi Catherine We are really sorry you where disappointed in your visit. As you arrived early our host did his best to accommodate you as fast as he could however tables are allocated time slots. Our staff table was offered and we apologise this wasn’t suitable for you. Due to it being very busy we apologise some items where out of stock towards the end of service. The issues in the toilets have now been fixed, apologies again this cubicle should have been locked. If you would like to discuss any further please feel free to contact us. Kind regards Management
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
anncowperthwaite wrote a review Oct 2022
Hexham, United Kingdom
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed for 2 nights while visiting Donnington Park was about a twenty minute journey
Room was very similar to a premier Inn clean and tidy. Tea and coffee and kettle provided check in was at King's Highway pub next door bar staff and their new manger very friendly
We ate dinner both nights in the pub. Menu standard pub grub worth the price paid had a carvery, which is served till 8 pm, regular plate £8 75 we enjoyed this option. Bottle of wine £15
Can't comment on breakfast as we were room only. Would definatley stay again
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Plenty parking be aware hotel on a roundabout post code takes you past entrance. Take left turn...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Izumi wrote a review Apr 2024
+1
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Room was really dirty. I usually stay at Premier Inn but wanted to give somewhere else a try. I understand this is a cheaper hotel but seriously the cleaners must just change the bedding and towels and put some bleach down the toilet.
There were long dead spiders all over, the bathroom floor hadn’t even been brushed, shower head clearly hadn’t been cleaned in a long time and there were visible cobwebs in every corner. Worst part was as I was about to get into bed it looked like there was something inside my pillow case so I took it off and the pillow had dried blood on it.
Won’t be staying again. It’s a shame as the member of staff who checked me in was friendly and the rooms are decent enough. I didn’t eat there so can’t comment on that. I would recommend that the cleaners are given more training and that managers check the rooms regularly.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
JulieEO wrote a review Feb 2020
Duffield, United Kingdom
4.0 of 5 bubbles
All well cooked, good size portions, very good value for weekday lunch. However the vegetables were only lukewarm, permanently out in serving dishes, although staff said if we had asked they could have reheated our plates in a microwave. Young man carving the meat lacked skill/experience, although asked to cut thin slices for a customer with difficulty swallowing due to a medical condition, the slices were only marginally thinner than those cut for others. However overall a very nice meal, we will return
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from General Manager, General Manager at King's Highway by Marston's Inns
Responded 27 Feb 2020
Hi Julie, Thank You for your review. All your comments have been passed onto our kitchen team to try and correct the issues that you had. We will also be having extra training sessions for our carvery chefs. That being said we are pleased that you enjoyed your meals and we look forward to your next visit. Kind Regards,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sally wrote a review Aug 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Visited the pub without a booking and wasn’t sure if we would be able to get in, but the member off staff at the door was able to find us a table. Cannot fault the carvery, beef was delicious and vegetables were cooked well. We were able to have takeaway desserts, red velvet cheesecake was brilliant. All social distancing guide lines were adhered to, I will definitely be visiting again.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Tara Kimberly GK, General Manager at King's Highway by Marston's Inns
Responded 28 Aug 2020
Hi Sally Thank you for the fab review. We hope to see you again soon! Kind regards Management
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Laura wrote a review Jul 2021
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Went for cavery £29 for two adults and small child ..expensive and what a disgusting pile of tripe could of cooked better blindfolded nothing on the plate was right instant mash roasted carrot disks? Flat Yorkshire uncooked stuffing runny cauliflower cheese the gammon was inedible the beef tasted off and the turkey was salty and chewy even the peas was hard who messes up peas? Nothing was even okish..our child tried abit of everything and didn't eat any more I can't blame her I think a starving dog would of turned its nose up never again ! Used to be nice not sure what gone wrong
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Rikki Hampton, Revenue Management at King's Highway by Marston's Inns
Responded 28 Oct 2021
We’re sorry we couldn’t meet your expectations on this occasion, we appreciate you taking the time to give us some feedback and I will ensure it gets passed onto the team.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jess M wrote a tip Apr 2024
United Kingdom4 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Nothing to improve, highly recommend, check in is in the pub"
Read full review
Matt wrote a tip Mar 2024
35 contributions10 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Go for the carvery"
Read full review
Ian R wrote a tip Feb 2024
Derby, United Kingdom27 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Book early as it can be full on Sundays"
Read full review
cathandrichard12 wrote a tip Jan 2024
Falkirk, United Kingdom145 contributions60 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"We were visiting a sick relative in Royal Derby Hospital. It is an easy walk on good paths including an underpass opposite the hospital"
Read full review
padja1 wrote a tip Oct 2023
Derby, United Kingdom17 contributions22 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"There is currently roadworks outside so give yourself a little more time to arrive. Always book a table on a sunday"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Derby area.
PRICE RANGE
£43 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandDerbyshireDerby
NUMBER OF ROOMS
35
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

KING'S HIGHWAY BY MARSTON'S INNS - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about King's Highway by Marston's Inns
Which popular attractions are close to King's Highway by Marston's Inns?
Nearby attractions include Clip 'n Climb Derby (0.3 miles), Bedford Arms (0.5 miles), and The Crescent Inn (0.5 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at King's Highway by Marston's Inns?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at King's Highway by Marston's Inns?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, a desk, and a seating area.
What food & drink options are available at King's Highway by Marston's Inns?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at King's Highway by Marston's Inns?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to King's Highway by Marston's Inns?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Mallard Beefeater, The Argosy, and King's Highway.
Are pets allowed at King's Highway by Marston's Inns?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to King's Highway by Marston's Inns?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Kedleston Hall (3.0 miles), Derby Gaol (0.9 miles), and The Door On Sadler Gate (1.3 miles).
Is King's Highway by Marston's Inns accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Derby HotelsDerby Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in DerbyHotels near King's Highway by Marston's Inns
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire