Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Holiday Inn Express Swindon West, an IHG Hotel

Frankland Road Blagrove, Swindon SN5 8UD England
Traveller (135)
Dining (21)
Videos (1)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Fully refundable before Fri, 1 Mar
Breakfast included
No prepayment needed
£54
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.0
#4 of 27 hotels in Swindon
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice

Holiday Inn Express Swindon - West is just off the M4 motorway, with easy access to the Cotswolds. On-site parking is free for guests. Bristol Airport is an hour's drive and Swindon train station is 10 minutes away.

Pick up bargains at Swindon Designer Outlet, with over 90 high-end brands to choose from. Catch live music and shows at the nearby Wyvern Theatre & Arts Centre. Explore the picturesque villages and natural beauty of the Cotswolds or head to Lydiard Park, a 5-minute drive away, for parkland walks and events.

Spot over 120 species of animals by car, foot, train, bus and boat at Longleat Safari Park, a great day out for all ages. Tour the hedge maze, adventure castle and have fun on the rides. Get up close to iconic locomotives at STEAM - Museum of the Great Western Railway, four miles away.

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Kids stay free
Highchairs available
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Meeting rooms
Parking
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Telephone
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Iron
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Quiet
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Offer:Book Direct & Save with IHG One Rewards
989Reviews12Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 394
  • 375
  • 150
  • 45
  • 25
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Robin S wrote a review Jun 2023
31 contributions11 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
The staff were excellent, we had a couple of small issues with the room but they were quickly put right and the staff could not have been more helpful and caring. The bed was excellent, the reception quick and efficient. The breakfast staff a joy to meet. All in all highly recommended
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Sit back be pampered and enjoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from General Manager, Marketing at Holiday Inn Express Swindon West, an IHG Hotel
Responded 26 Jun 2023
Thanks for the kind review, Robins. We're pleased to hear our team made your stay pleasant. We'll let them know how much of an impact they had on your stay. A comfortable bed is the main ingredient for a good night's sleep so glad to see you enjoyed it! Hoping to see you again soon. All the best, Marleen - Hotel Operations Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
dzfm1271 wrote a review Aug 2020
Barnstaple, United Kingdom31 contributions9 helpful votes
Stayed here several times before COVID 19 and the hotel was good, staff friendly and helpful. I know it’s strange times now with COVID the hotel has everything in place sanitizers and the tables in the restaurant spaced out and even chairs taken away from tables so you can’t sit. All I can say about the breakfast is a joke, it was a pick up and go, you pick up a bag with cutlery in all there was were croissants jam a dried up cold bacon bap orange juice tea coffee which you can take back to your room or leave hotel. We always stay here because of the usually lovely cooked breakfast this was very disappointing.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Holiday Inn Express Swindon West, Guest Services / Front Office at Holiday Inn Express Swindon West, an IHG Hotel
Responded 15 Aug 2020
Dear dzfm1271, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your stay with us. I am happy you found the hotel to be clean and tidy, and the team to be polite and helpful. I will be sure to share your comments with the team. I am sorry to see you were disappointed with the Grab and Go breakfast currently on offer. Unfortunately we are currently unable to offer our usual breakfast buffet with toast, scrambled eggs, beans etc due to social distancing guidelines, but we have try to offer a good alternative with continental items such as croissants, yogurts, cereals, fresh fruit and a sausage or bacon bap. We hope our breakfast will be up to par next time. Once again, thank you for your review, we take all feedback on board. I hope you will give us another chance by staying with us in the near future. Charmaine Team Leader
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
BooMikey wrote a review Jan 2020
2 contributions1 helpful vote
We stayed for one night to explore Swindon. Very clean room with thick walls and I couldn't hear any noises with the motorway so nearby as being a light sleeper. I'm really pleased the room even had a hair dryer which most hotels don't provide. Breakfast was included in the price which was good, although the food could have been warmer. My husband thought the breakfast toaster was the best ever! The hotel stay was value for money. We will definately stay here again :)
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from SwindonWestManager, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Swindon West, an IHG Hotel
Responded 9 Feb 2020
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. I will pass on your comments to our team. I hope we will be able to make your next stay with us more enjoyable. Kind Regards, GSM Charmaine
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Hektor wrote a review Feb 2020
3 contributions1 helpful vote
Staying here for 5 nights as part of a business commitment, after only 2 nights i can safely say the rooms are fit for purpose, comfy, quiet and well equipped. If this review was based on staff, the rooms and facilities i would give it 5 stars, but the ‘restaurant’ has seemly dragged the standards down a gravel path by its face.
The food is not up to standard for any star hotel. If i was actually paying for the food i would have asked for a refund.
The quality of food is disappointing, the dish will come out at different temperatures depending on how long it has been microwaved for, most of the meat dishes are tough and almost inedible and could only be chewed through by a land mammal. I can see the food being an easy option for those staying one night but given the variety of hotels i have stayed in over the years including other Holiday Inn’s the food here has almost made me want to stop using Holiday Inn altogether.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Swindon West, an IHG Hotel
Responded 3 Mar 2020
Hello hektorbigz, Thank you for leaving candid feedback on your stay at the Holiday Inn Express Swindon West M4, Jct 16. It's a delight to learn how pleased you are with hour room and facility. I am glad you had a comfortable stay. We aim to offer everything guests need, and provide more where it matters most, but I guess you felt otherwise. I read the food options at the restaurant did not fit into your liking. I am sorry for the letdown. IHG sincerely cares about your experience, and what you described certainly isn’t what we want for any guest. I communicated your concern with the hotel management, who responded with genuine concern about the impact this had on your stay. I am positive they will adjust accordingly to ensure the quality of our guests' experience and satisfaction. We hope this matter will not deter you from making us your preferred choice on your future travels. Yours in hospitality, Jeraldine R. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
rowly999 wrote a review Feb 2020
Earl Shilton, United Kingdom144 contributions93 helpful votes
I paid £35 for a night and that’s about all it’s worth. I liked it came with a free buffet breakfast, I’d have liked it more if it weren’t cold. I booked a double room and got a twin. There was muddy boot prints up the side of the bed, not sure how you even get a foot print on the side of a bed but someone managed it and weren’t cleaned off.
Checkout is 12 but you’ll have a large grumpy polish cleaner banging your door every half an hour from 9:30
Left feeling drained and won’t be staying again.
I did like they have an ice machine in reception. It didn’t work during my visit though, but the bar did give me a glass of ice.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Swindon West, an IHG Hotel
Responded 3 Mar 2020
Hello rowly999, Your feedback is important to us in our continued efforts to become better at what we do. Thank you for your stay and for taking the time to write a review. I am sorry to learn about the level of cleanliness of the bed. Along with what you shared about the level of service received, I have alerted the hotel management about your comments. I trust that the actions taken will improve your next visits with us. I hope to welcome you back! Best regards, Clayton G. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Satpal C wrote a review Nov 2020
London, United Kingdom21 contributions15 helpful votes
I was really impressed with this hotel and it's staff. I was based there for some mountain biking in the Cotswolds. The staff work very hard during a difficult time in this pandemic. I had booked my 3 night stay in advance, before the lockdown announcement and the manager Marleen was able to move my dates forward in order to avoid the lockdown and honoured the same price I paid earlier, even though it was more costly for my new dates. There is plenty of car parking and the main foyer has plenty of room to ensure there is social distancing. Breakfast during this covid pandemic is perfectly fine, you can eat in the restaurant or take it upstairs to your room. The asian lady who works in the restaurant is very hospitable and always welcomes you in the morning as if you were one of her own. My only issue and it has nothing to do with this hotel or its staff but more to do with the interior designers for Holiday Inn. The new designed room with the dark blue carpet and wall paint makes the room look very cold and uninviting, they need to brighten up the designs of the room although the rooms have everything you can desire. My room was really big and was easily able to store my bike in there without it becoming a nuisance even though the staff stated I could keep my bike in the Storage Room if required. My only other gripe would be a plug near the bed for those like me who like to use their technological gadgets lying on their lovely large beds.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Holiday Inn Express Swindon West, Guest Services / Front Office at Holiday Inn Express Swindon West, an IHG Hotel
Responded 8 Nov 2020
Dear Satpalc2016, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at Holiday Inn Express SWINDON - WEST M4, JCT 16. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. I will pass on your comments to our team. Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us. We use feedback, such as yours, to continuously make changes to our brand to improve the guest experience. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future. Kind Regards, Charmaine Team Leader
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dilly4472 wrote a review Jun 2022
Spilsby, United Kingdom866 contributions370 helpful votes
Often stay here when we visit family locally and usually rooms are very good. If you can get one of their deals then it provides excellent value with a good breakfast included. There’s not a vast selection at the buffet breakfast but it’s perfectly satisfactory and if you avoid the busy times then it’s a pleasant experience, however it can sometimes be noisy and chaotic when lots of children are around!! Our room was well furnished, nicely decorated and comfortable and the 3rd floor at the front is quiet despite the proximity of the motorway which makes the hotel very convenient. Staff are friendly. Our only complaint is not with the hotel, but with the selfish guests who return to rooms at 1, 2 or even 3am, talking loudly, laughing or chatting on their phone!! It is quite unbelievable how inconsiderate some people are these days.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Izaskun Olarreaga, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Swindon West, an IHG Hotel
Responded 28 Jun 2022
Dilly4472, you're the best! Thank you for sharing such a positive experience! It means the world to us! We're over the moon to see you had a fab stay! We're happy to see you enjoyed the inclusive breakfast. We're committed to delivering a great experience to our guests and happy to see you were impressed by the service you received. Here for you anytime! Best wishes, Izaskun
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
MrsBWooster wrote a review Feb 2020
Ringwood, United Kingdom387 contributions156 helpful votes
This hotel is in a good location in that it’s just off the M4 on the West side of Swindon. However, it’s on an industrial estate, next to the M4 (and the lovely feature of an electricity pylon in the car park!) with no amenities around it at all. If you have not arrived here by car, there is nowhere for you to walk to easily. The staff were very welcoming and efficient. The hotel rooms are tired, but clean. I was on a high floor away from the road but could hear the traffic quite clearly. The best feature is the breakfast which is included with a good range of choices.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from SwindonWestManager, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Swindon West, an IHG Hotel
Responded 9 Feb 2020
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your review. I am sorry to read that your experience was not as pleasant as it should have been. Hopefully we can make your next stay with us more enjoyable. Regards, GSM Charmaine O
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Fishy The Fish wrote a review Oct 2020
4 contributions8 helpful votes
Stayed here for one night. Room fine, staff pleasant. But then came breakfast. A grab and go option apparently. People lined up in groups with little social distancing and were allowed in a group at a time. No staff supervision led to a nightmare in terms of Covid safety. People picking up things and putting them back, not using tongs to pick things up and everyone getting drinks from the same machine which meant everybody touching the same buttons. Some not even wearing masks. Not sure this was even legal when everyone is supposed to be having table service. Sorry. Not good enough!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Holiday Inn Express Swindon West, Guest Services / Front Office at Holiday Inn Express Swindon West, an IHG Hotel
Responded 31 Oct 2020
Dear Guest, Thank you for your comments and feedback on your stay with us. I do apologise about the issues that occurred during your stay with us. I hope that on a different occasion we can provide a higher quality of care. Alex.K Team Leader
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ldscoller wrote a review Feb 2020
Hounslow, United Kingdom218 contributions64 helpful votes
Stayed here one night in three rooms, six of us during a Christmas shopping stopover. We chose here because it was convenient for swindon outlet and Bicester the next day.
Check in was quick with three people and we had two cars. This I think caused a bit of confusion as they thought both cars were registered and they were not so one of us ended up getting a parking ticket after. So word of advice make sure you check it’s registered. This has stopped me giving it a 5 star rating.
Other than that the rooms were clean and we were located in a triangle after requesting to be near to each other. This worked well and they were not far from the lifts either also as requested. Plenty of storage space in the rooms if you were staying for longer than one night.
We were going to eat at a local restaurant but they had only late time slots left so we decided we would eat in the cafe/restaurant at the hotel. I was actually impressed by it. Really good prices for a hotel (I think £15 for burger, chips and onion rings.) it also tasted good. Also had drinks at the bar. One thing though they do not do classic Pepsi only max or diet. I cannot drink either of these good job I wasn’t a driver... One of the group ordered dessert and it came with custard which was not advertised on the menu. They have a dairy allergy. They did bring a new one out without the custard but may be something to note. The ice cream is overpriced as well.
Breakfast was good and well replenished. I would say it exceeded my expectations.
We booked here because it was cheap (about £55 per room inc breakfast.) I was not disappointed.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nannanorfolk asked a question Nov 2021
Norfolk, United Kingdom224 contributions79 helpful votes
Will evening meals be available 27.11.21 plse if so until what time
LondonBarneybear asked a question Feb 2020
london20 contributions6 helpful votes
What time does the bar close at night ???
Answer from Marleen E
swindon
1 am for guests and 11 pm for hotel visitors.
Loukev asked a question Dec 2018
Trowbridge, wiltshire9 contributions
Does this hotel have interconnecting rooms?
Answer from TerryParad
Stroud, United Kingdom1,072 contribution314 helpful votes
No way to know but if you call the hotel on the telphone they will be able to help
Show all answers
Al2209 asked a question Oct 2017
Falkirk, United Kingdom59 contributions39 helpful votes
Hi, do you have iron/iron board in the rooms?
Answer from jim l
Cambridge, United Kingdom38 contributions48 helpful votes
Sorry but I can't remember. A phone call to the hotel should get you the answer,
Show all answers
julesdWales asked a question Aug 2017
wales3 contributions
Hi do you accept dogs please
Answer from Nade007
Leicester, United Kingdom74 contributions37 helpful votes
They only accept guide dogs, no pets of any kind are permitted.
Show all answers
P0tsy wrote a tip 3 Feb
Northampton, United Kingdom189 contributions28 helpful votes
"Complimentary parking."
Read full review
parabvishal wrote a tip Dec 2023
London, United Kingdom41 contributions3 helpful votes
"Request a room next to the elevators."
Read full review
Aldogti wrote a tip Sept 2023
Glasgow, United Kingdom41 contributions46 helpful votes
"Parking can be busy"
Read full review
Ann O wrote a tip Aug 2023
2 contributions
"Reception staff have to serve drinks & coffees as well as book in guests, might need to be patient if they are busy"
Read full review
thedukeofderwenfawr wrote a tip Jul 2023
12 contributions7 helpful votes
"Arrive early for the best parking spaces."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Swindon area.
PRICE RANGE
£54 - £77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
holiday inn express swindon west m4, jct 16 hotel swindon, holiday inn swindon, swindon holiday inn
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandWiltshireSwindon
NUMBER OF ROOMS
121
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HOLIDAY INN EXPRESS SWINDON WEST, AN IHG HOTEL - Updated 2024

Frequently Asked Questions about Holiday Inn Express Swindon West, an IHG Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Holiday Inn Express Swindon West, an IHG Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Co-Decode Live Escape Games (2.7 miles), Cryptology Swindon (Incarcerated) (3.2 miles), and Clue HQ - The Live Escape Game (1.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Holiday Inn Express Swindon West, an IHG Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Holiday Inn Express Swindon West, an IHG Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and blackout curtains.
What food & drink options are available at Holiday Inn Express Swindon West, an IHG Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Holiday Inn Express Swindon West, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Holiday Inn Express Swindon West, an IHG Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Ruchi, China Chef, and Mario's Restaurant.
Are any cleaning services offered at Holiday Inn Express Swindon West, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Holiday Inn Express Swindon West, an IHG Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and conference facilities during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to Holiday Inn Express Swindon West, an IHG Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting STEAM - Museum of the Great Western Railway (2.7 miles), Lydiard Park (2.9 miles), and Royal Wootton Bassett Old Town Hall (2.4 miles).
Is Holiday Inn Express Swindon West, an IHG Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.