Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

The Carpenters Arms

Old Vicarage Lane South Marston, Swindon SN3 4ST England
Traveller (59)
Local Information
Dining (17)
room 9
Room & Suite (10)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.0
#1 of 1 motel in Swindon
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Value
The Carpenters Arms Motel Swindon, is on the Wiltshire/Oxfordshire border and provides you with quality rooms at guest house prices. In the country but just minutes from Swindon, Shrivenham, Wanborough, Blunsdon RMCS, Honda as well many other towns.Our reputation for quality accommodation, food and Arkells Real Ales has grown to reach the number one for accommodation in Swindon, on the biggest review site in the world, TripAdvisor. If you wish to stay Monday to Thursday you need to book early as we have long term satisfied guests who stay weekly. Why choose the rest when you can choose the best. The Carpenters provides an ideal haven for the business traveller or tourist seeking peace and tranquility. The Carpenters Arms lies approximately 3 miles north of Swindon and is ideally placed for visits to Bath, Cheltenham, Stratford-upon-Avon and a host of Cotswold beauty spots. If you are looking for a boisterous, noisy, over the top establishment, The Carpenters is not for you.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Non-smoking hotel
Room features
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
162Reviews0Q+A22Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 87
  • 49
  • 6
  • 10
  • 10
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
David Peele wrote a review Jul 2020
4 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Booked a table for the grand re-opening walked through the sensible in door to be greeted by the happy smiling face of ang our usual server she explained the rules clearly led us to our table no silly plastic screens just sensible space between each table. A limited menu but more than enough chose with the promise of more as the regulars return. Ordered liver mash onion gravy ( must remember to have light bite next time) & ham egg chips for missus, absolutely blooming lovely unfortunatly didn't leave enough room for pudding but will be returning for seconds. Thanks very much to all the staff.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from CLARE SHOESMITH, General Manager at The Carpenters Arms
Responded 20 Jul 2020
Thank you for your feedback, it was lovely to see you and we look forward to your next visit!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dariusdave wrote a review Sept 2020
Wiltshire, United Kingdom791 contributions308 helpful votes
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The Carpenters Arms South Marston

How wonderful it has been that the over 70’s have been released from 5 months house arrest. Even better the Chancellor of the Exchequer has sort of apologised to Oldies by giving a state subsidy to those of us brave enough to venture out Monday to Wednesday.
Monday 21 August I ventured to The Carpenters Arms South Marston having booked a table for one at 18.00.
First many thanks Claire and Clare and all the staff for a warm welcome, your staff seemed as keen to welcome me, as I was returning to an old haunt.

Great printed menu plus a few specials chalked on a board. There was a time before Covid when this traditional English Pub had one of the largest special’s boards in the Swindon Area. But we must now be realistic and rejoice that we are now allowed out.

The printed menu had so many old favourites totally spoilt for choices after much thought I choose: - liver, onions, bacon, rich gravy, mash, garden peas. Absolute delight, liver had soft texture that combined perfectly with generous bacon portion, plenty of onions and mountain of creamy mash that accompanied peas from plate. Portions were very generous meal delicious no way as a solo widower could I have cooked this in my kitchen.

An old-fashioned black board appeared, chalk letters large enough for Dariusdave to read easily. Again, a plethora of traditional delights to choose from. Couldn’t resist Sticky Toffee and Date with custard. Texture perfect, portion size generous, custard rich yellow, all with a subtle hint of ginger. Dariusdave has appreciated the virtues of ginger ever since visiting Sri Lanka.

Across the “Covid corridor “from my table was a traditional noisy real coffee machine. Dariusdave has enjoyed fresh coffee visiting Costa Rica, Jamaica, Cuba and Kenya. This was delightful coffee hot, tasty with rich aroma, that concluded a very pleasant evening out. Will I visit again? Depending on other activities yes, I will with so many favourites to be tested.

I have also enjoyed a Saturday evening meal Gammon from special board great.
I felt Covid safe both visits, very good protection and well trained staff, they even smiled through their masks!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
DelHall wrote a review Mar 2022
Swindon, United Kingdom86 contributions44 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Probably the best GF menu in Swindon.

Everytime we go to the Carpenters the vegetarian, vegan and GF menu gets better and it's why we keep going back, they even have GF beer.

The staff always accommodate our requests as we even have an awkward friend that is allergic to garlic as he's a vampire, but is never a problem for the excellent chef and staff
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Plenty of parking
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kate P wrote a review Jul 2022
Swindon, United Kingdom47 contributions27 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
So.... been here before, and when we saw that a barn dance was advertised, we thought it might be great fun to pop along. Silly move. There was no barn dance. There was a Country and Western duo, who by the way, were excellent, but that was it, no actual barn dance.
Bought a single flavoured gin and two Carlings, and the price was nearly £13.00, and then the gin was served in a tiny tumbler. The sort used for soft drinks! When this was questioned, the reply was, " Can't give you a gin glass because they get broken more easily, so you'll have to have this one". Normally I'm not too picky about my glass until...... I saw several (obviously) regulars with proper gin glasses! Added to this, this place is not a free house, but is owned by Arkells brewery and so glasses are provided by the brewery anyway.
Would also like to add that whilst waiting to be served, and very obviously waiting, we were ignored in favour of what again was very obviously regular punters, who were greeted like old friends whilst we stood there like muppets for several minutes waiting.
As I said at the top, we have visited here before, but it was a few years back and last night's experience reminded me why we'd waited so long to return: on our last visit, we had to wait for 45 minutes for a Sunday lunch to be brought to the table as there were regular customers whose meals were clearly so much more important than ours. Complained that time to the landlady who gave assurances that this wouldn't happen again. Seems like she told fibs.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
josephine c wrote a review Nov 2023
1 contribution
2.0 of 5 bubbles
my boyfriend and i decided to go to the carpenters on the 28th november as they had advertised a black friday deal, we had two drinks each and a meal each and this cost £55 and we only had the ham egg and chips which is £11.95! the starters took 45 minutes to come out and our main food took an hour after that to arrive, by this point we were already disappointed in the place and decided we just wanted to eat and then go! this is an awful place since the owners have changed, it was amazing when it was in other hands now it has gone to the lady it has definitely gone very downhill. some of the staff are rude and not friendly. we also found multiple hairs in our food which we ignored and pulled out as we had complained in the past for this reason and we were told we had lied. i wouldn’t recommend at all.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from CLARE SHOESMITH, General Manager at The Carpenters Arms
Responded 29 Nov 2023
We are deeply saddened by your negative review and apologise that you feel you had a bad experience with us here at The Carpenters Arms. We have investigated all your raised issues. Our “Black Friday” offer was as follows: Tables booked on or before 23/11/2023 would be intitled to a free starter or dessert with any full priced meals on Black Friday, which was 24/11/2023. You stated your visit was 28/11/2023, therefor the offer would not apply to you. We apologise if any of our social media posts referring to this deal mis-lead you in any way. We are lucky enough to have a full back-office system that stores all our till information/sales and CCTV in all areas inside & outside of the pub. We have looked back to the date you visited (28/11/2023) and on this day we did not actually sell any Ham & Eggs or have any bills on/around £55.00. So, we thought maybe you got the dates wrong, so decided to look back at Black Friday (24/11/2023) and on this day we only sold one Ham & Eggs and again had no bills on/around £55.00. With regards to the hair in your food, I can assure you that all our kitchen team wear hair nets all the time, and even beard nets if required. We can see no CCTV evidence on both 24/11/2023 and 28/11/2023 of any of our customers taking hair out of food. Our CCTV footage does not show any of the food waiting times that you have claimed. I believe that all the staff here at The Carpenters Arms try their absolute best to be professional, courteous and try to provide the best possible customer service, if you feel your service was poor, we can only apologise. We can only assume this is a libellous attempt to tarnish our reputation. If you would like to discuss this matter further, please feel free to contact me via email at thecarpentersarms1@gmail.com.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Louise M wrote a review Jan 2022
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Worst meal out my family have ever had. Visited The Carpenter Arms this evening for my dad’s birthday. 10 of us in total. Booked via email but on arrival they were unaware of the booking. Found out shortly after arriving that only a small selection of the food items was available.
After receiving our drinks and ordering food, we was then told they had no chips available ‘we can’t find them’… half of us had ordered with chips!! Alternative was rice and new potatoes. They then came back again to inform us they were out of salad as well!!!
Food was bland, the alternative (rice) was stodgy and soggy.
A number of items on the menu had a GF next to them for Gluten Free. This included the Chocolate Fudge Cake. Luckily we had asked if this was actually gluten free, then was told it wasn’t?!! Even though the menu states it is!.. Would not recommend and be cautious if you are gluten free/coeliac.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Steve W wrote a review Jan 2024
Swindon, United Kingdom22 contributions2 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
What a great place to eat. Myself, my wife and both sets of parents had lunch at the Carpenters with our dog. Very dog friendly. Between us we had the Liver and onions, Steal and ale pie, one cod and chips and one Wiltshire ham egg and chips. All cooked freshly and what a joy. Everything was piping hot and cooked to perfection. Great service from the staff who made us very welcome. Friendly, caring and smiling from the beginning, what more can you ask for. The pub /restaurant is well presented and clean. Great parking as well. If you want a great meal at a sensible price this is the place to go. We will be back on numerous occasions I think. Thanks to everyone at the Carpenters for making all of us feel special.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: No worries about parking there is a massive car park. Breakfast is available from 9.30.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from CLARE SHOESMITH, General Manager at The Carpenters Arms
Responded 11 Jan 2024
Thank you for your lovely feedback. We are so happy you enjoyed your visit to us. ☺️
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Traveller 53 Wiltshire wrote a review Jun 2022
Wiltshire247 contributions330 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We've started using this pub on a Tuesday night. The staff service is excellent and the food is of a good standard. A good selection of beers available and a large garden at the rear to enjoy a drink or two in the summer if we ever have one!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Elaine P wrote a review Dec 2022
27 contributions11 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We visited this restaurant with family on 20th December - a Tuesday evening. Our table was next to a large noisy party of about 12 which spoilt our conversation. Happy that people are enjoying themselves but we could have been put in a quieter part of the pub. A couple of things on the menu weren't available - my chicken breast was replaced with thighs. As they hadn't been cooked in the sauce were very bland. No choice of vegetables unless you paid extra. The only deserts available were on the Christmas menu and the one thing I chose wasn't available. The service was very slow. I would be reluctant to eat there again and wouldn't recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Benno U wrote a review Jan 2023
Oxford, United Kingdom22 contributions13 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Poor service as took ages to get seated and then the same again to get a drink..We then ordered and added a side that took half way through the meal to arrive.. ! When we spoke to the very young waiter he explained that they were busy but with only 4 tables going !!!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
No results found.Try changing or clearing your search to read questions and answers.
Steve W wrote a tip Jan 2024
Swindon, United Kingdom22 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"No worries about parking there is a massive car park. Breakfast is available from 9.30."
Read full review
mrs b wrote a tip Nov 2023
3 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Make sure you try this fantastic place even the breakfast is cooked to a high standard"
Read full review
DelHall wrote a tip Mar 2022
Swindon, United Kingdom86 contributions44 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Plenty of parking"
Read full review
rrumakanthan wrote a tip Jun 2019
Chennai130 contributions78 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Only one small apartment (with 2 bed rooms and a hall ) which is above this pub"
Read full review
Dariusdave wrote a tip Aug 2018
Wiltshire, United Kingdom791 contributions308 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ask landlord when booking"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Swindon area.
PRICE RANGE
£70 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the carpenters arms hotel
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandWiltshireSwindon
NUMBER OF ROOMS
9
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE CARPENTERS ARMS - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about The Carpenters Arms
Which popular attractions are close to The Carpenters Arms?
Nearby attractions include Co-Decode Live Escape Games (4.2 miles), Cryptology Swindon (Incarcerated) (3.5 miles), and STEAM - Museum of the Great Western Railway (3.9 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Carpenters Arms?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at The Carpenters Arms?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Carpenters Arms?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Carpenters Arms?
Conveniently located restaurants include Ruchi, The Jewel In The Crown, and Mario's Restaurant.
Are there any historical sites close to The Carpenters Arms?
Many travellers enjoy visiting STEAM - Museum of the Great Western Railway (3.9 miles), Curly Wurly Bridge (3.7 miles), and Walkinshaw House (4.4 miles).
Is The Carpenters Arms accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Swindon HotelsSwindon Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in SwindonHotels near The Carpenters Arms
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire