Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Stone House Guest House

Stone House Shifnal Road Priorslee, Telford TF2 9NN England
Traveller (39)
Vue d'une des chambres extérieures - Terrasse et Bassin
Room & Suite (15)
Dining (1)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

5.0
#1 of 8 guest houses in Telford
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Location
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Service
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Value
We are a family run guest house near to the centre of Telford on a quiet road and next to a small family friendly pub. As such we are ideally placed for both business and leisure guests. There is plenty of free parking and we offer secure cycle storage for the more energetic. Carol and Dave have run Stone House since 2004. All our rooms are en suite and we try hard to offer outstanding hospitality at very competetive prices. We provide the personal touch that you don't get with the chain hotels and have extensive knowledge of Telford and the surrounding areas having lived here since 1990.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Free breakfast
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Non-smoking hotel
Room features
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Quaint
182Reviews0Q+A18Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 178
  • 4
  • 0
  • 0
  • 0
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Joanne Cotton wrote a review Jan 2020
2 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed here for 4 days whilst on a training course.
Check in was at 2pm and Dave the owner allowed me to check in earlier as I’d come from a distance away.
Clean room, bathroom stunning, bath and a shower cubicle ( bit spoilt for choice) they provide their own bubble bath and shower products aswell as shampoo and conditioner. Milk and water gets replaced daily or just ask for milk as it’s no problem.
A choice of breakfasts from porridge to cooked breakfast, but the poached eggs are out of this world.
Carol is a lovely lady and very chatty, in-fact they both are. You are certainly made to feel welcome. Would definitely stay here again. 10/10.
The Lion Inn next door has amazing food! I ate in here every night and tried different
foods, can’t fault any of it- spectacular every time. The hospitality is fantastic and Andy always remembers what drink you ordered the previous day, which again is great.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Best sleep I’ve had whilst staying here
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from caroltaylordczm, Owner at Stone House Guest House
Responded 13 Jan 2020
Wow...thank you so much Jo for your fantastic review. We always appreciate our guests views and are pleased that you also enjoyed the hospitality of our wonderful neighbours. We would be delighted to welcome you to Stone House again should you have another course to go on - or maybe just to enjoy the beautiful Shropshire scenery.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Karen W wrote a review Jul 2020
1 contribution1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Unfortunately my family and I had to stay to attend a funeral, with the covid restrictions going on Dave and Carol were amazing. Firstly checking legally ok to stay then letting us turn up early and adhering to strict distancing guidelines. Our rooms we’re immaculate and comfortable and when we sat outside with a drink to celebrate our Fathers life Carol came out with nice glasses and nibbles, nothing was too much trouble. Dave cooked a smashing breakfast too.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Carol Taylor, Owner at Stone House Guest House
Responded 12 Jul 2020
Thank you for your review Karen. It was lovely to meet you all, although obviously we would have preferred it to be under different circumstances. We hope you are all well and look forward to welcoming you back to Stone House sometime in the future when things are a little bit more normal. Until then stay safe and take care. x
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Will D wrote a review Jul 2020
Stourbridge, United Kingdom43 contributions37 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Absolutely brilliant B&B, we only stayed for one night while visiting friends who live nearby but we were made to feel properly at home. A lovely warm welcome from Carol and Dave, who made breakfast arrangements and everything else to suit us and showed us to our room. Room was great, comfortable, spotlessly clean and a lot of really nice touches (mini fridge, teas, coffees, loads of other hot drinks, biscuits, chilled water in the fridge). We were in one of the rooms opening directly onto the garden and this was perfect for us as we could come and go as we pleased, even late at night, without disturbing anyone else. In the morning we had a fantastic cooked breakfast sitting outside in the garden. Excellent in every regard and exceptional value for money. We will definitely use the Stone House as our base when visiting in future and can't wait to return - thanks Carol and Dave for making us feel so welcome! Oh, and the Lion pub next door is great too! :)
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Carol Taylor, Owner at Stone House Guest House
Responded 21 Jul 2020
Thank you for your wonderful review Will. It was a pleasure to meet you both and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Stone House. We look forward to welcoming you again sometime in the future, take care.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dean T wrote a review Jul 2020
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at the Stone House as my Father in Law passed away during lock down. The owners couldn’t do enough for us - they were fantastic. The rooms were immaculate, the dining room was very spacious, the breakfast was tasty and you could pretty much order what you liked.

The beds were comfortable, there was tea, coffee, biscuits, water and fresh milk in the room. TV was great and wifi complimentary. We were in the front room, near the main road and we couldn’t hear a thing. The road isn’t very busy anyway but we heard nothing. We had a great nights sleep.

The outdoor courtyard was lovely to sit in during the evening, it’s covered and we sat out there in the rain!

We genuinely felt looked after and cared for at the Guest House, no request was too much. The owners really take pride in their work and it shows.

If you’re looking for a family run, personal experience - stay here. We’d much prefer this experience than staying in a larger, more corporate place.

Thanks so much.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Carol Taylor, Owner at Stone House Guest House
Responded 21 Jul 2020
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. It was lovely to meet you all despite the sad circumstances surrounding your stay.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Maria S wrote a review Aug 2023
England, United Kingdom13 contributions5 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I honestly don’t know where to start with this review because there is so many positive things I could say about Stone house , Carol & Dave ! I booked the stone house during covid for my wedding however due to covid it got delayed , delayed and delayed but Carol and Dave kept moving dates , letting him come and take a look, putting up with my messages every couple of weeks and kept trying to keep me calm.

Firstly the guest house is absolutely stunning, the garden is well kept , beautiful flowers , lovely pond and amazing outside eating/ drinking area. I stayed in the Haven which is an outside bungalow which is the only way I can describe it with a living area, kitchen , double bedroom, enquire , conservatory. It was really clean, all electrics worked, they supplied me with juices , milk, coffee, tea, hot chocolate , herbal teas , shower gels , shampoo everything you could possibly need. My bridal party stayed in rooms through the house and all their rooms were clean, fresh and again were supplied with water and hot drinks.

Nothing is too much for Carol and Dave anything we needed or wanted they were ready to help, they kept checking in with me on my wedding morning to check if anyone needed anymore breakfast…. Then Carol took some beautiful pictures and videos without me even asking and sent me them later on.

I absolutely love this place and I can’t thank them both enough!!! Such amazing value for money and an amazing place to stay

Thank you so so so much
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Carol Taylor, Owner at Stone House Guest House
Responded 23 Aug 2023
Thank you for your lovely review Maria. ❤️ We are so pleased that you and your guests enjoyed your stay and that you chose us to look after you. It was a wonderful day and you were the most beautiful bride. Congratulations and best wishes to you and Ben. We wish you a very long and happy life together. xx
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Phil K wrote a review Jan 2020
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I’ve been staying at 2 or 3 times a month (3 nights at a time) for the last 10 months, while working in Telford as a consultant. The rooms have always been spotlessly clean with a warm welcome. The Stone House was always my first option for accommodation when in Telford and was disappointed when I had to stay in the main stream hotels. Nothing has been too much trouble even when I needed to arrive late in the evening.
The breakfast is superb and fleshly cooked with fresh fruit and cereal available if you prefer.
Both David and Carol are good company and always looking to go that extra mile to make your stay as comfortable as possible. Unfortunately my contract has come to an end, but if I’m in the area again they will be my first choice for accommodation.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from caroltaylordczm, Owner at Stone House Guest House
Responded 27 Jan 2020
Thanks for your great review Phil and for your custom over the last twelve months. We are pleased that you have enjoyed staying at Stone House and hope to see you again sometime if ever you are in the Telford area. Best of luck to you for the future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
nealelunn wrote a review Oct 2021
Burscough, United Kingdom5 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
On arrival I found my room for the stay to be very clean and well ventilated. Hand sanitiser in the room for use. Shower room was spotless .
A great range of choice for breakfast to fill up on which is well presented and cooked.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Carol Taylor, Owner at Stone House Guest House
Responded 26 Nov 2021
Thanks for your great review Neale. As usual - always a pleasure to see you at Stone House.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sandra C wrote a review Mar 2020
2 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed here for 4 nights in February and was very impressed. The place was immaculately clean and the breakfasts were excellent. However, the best part of my stay was the welcome from the owners, they were both welcoming and friendly and made our stay extremely pleasant. They could not do enough for us. I would definitely recommend this Guest House as it was a real home from home.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from caroltaylordczm, Owner at Stone House Guest House
Responded 5 Mar 2020
Thank you for your lovely review Sandra. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope that your job is going well.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lesley wrote a review Sept 2020
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed at The Stone House last night with friends. Made to feel welcome as soon as we got there. Filled in our details for track & trace. Rooms were spotless and well kitted out with everything you need. Plenty of options for breakfast - cereals, fruit, toast, tea, coffee & juice and of course a full english. All covid safety measures in place. Well worth the 2 hour journey from Manchester -we will be back hopefully for longer. Thank you Carol and Dave 😊xx
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Carol Taylor, Owner at Stone House Guest House
Responded 12 Oct 2020
Thank you very much for your lovely review. We are both pleased that you were happy with our Covid safety measures and that you enjoyed your stay. It was a pleasure hosting you at Stone House and we hope to see you again sometime soon - maybe next time for two nights? Stay safe and take care.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Coastal41120938934 wrote a review Aug 2023
1 contribution
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I can't say enough wonderful things about my stay at the Stone House Guest House! Dave and Carol are amazing, gracious hosts! My room was so comfortable, spotless clean and fresh! (The sheets smelled wonderful!) The cook to order breakfast was delicious, ask for Dave's "cheesy eggs"! In the land of instant coffee, the french press option was beyond appreciated! If I could give them 6 stars I would! I look forward to returning! Beyond the fence is a lovely garden and gazebo! Next door is a town favorite pub too. Thanks again Dave and Carol!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Book it! Not too many rooms so don't hesitate or you might be too late. Incredible value!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Carol Taylor, Owner at Stone House Guest House
Responded 1 Sept 2023
Thank you for your wonderful review. We hope the rest of your visit to the UK went well and that the weather was kind for you. We would be delighted to host you again should you find yourself in this area. Best wishes to you and the family. Xx
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
No results found.Try changing or clearing your search to read questions and answers.
Coastal41120938934 wrote a tip Aug 2023
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Book it! Not too many rooms so don't hesitate or you might be too late. Incredible value!"
Read full review
Joanne Cotton wrote a tip Jan 2020
2 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Best sleep I’ve had whilst staying here"
Read full review
Deborah K wrote a tip Jul 2019
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom15 contributions7 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"If stairs are a challenge ask for one of the garden rooms."
Read full review
Mike W wrote a tip Feb 2019
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom5 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Twin bedded rooms are in the house, double bedded rooms in the garden suites."
Read full review
Steve W wrote a tip Aug 2018
1 contribution1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The annex with 2 private rooms are ideal for the less able as the main house has quite steep stairs."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Telford area.
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandShropshireTelford
NUMBER OF ROOMS
5
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

STONE HOUSE GUEST HOUSE - Updated 2024 Reviews (Telford)

Frequently Asked Questions about Stone House Guest House
Which popular attractions are close to Stone House Guest House?
Nearby attractions include XscapeNow (2.4 miles), Exotic Zoo Wildlife Park (1.2 miles), and Hoo Zoo and Dinosaur World (3.6 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Stone House Guest House?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and free parking.
What food & drink options are available at Stone House Guest House?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Stone House Guest House?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Stone House Guest House?
Conveniently located restaurants include Mishu, Latimer's of Shifnal, and Sofia's.
Are there any historical sites close to Stone House Guest House?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Sunnycroft (3.8 miles), The Darby Houses (3.9 miles), and Lilleshall Monument (4.0 miles).
Is Stone House Guest House accessible?
Yes, it offers reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Telford HotelsTelford Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in TelfordHotels near Stone House Guest House
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire