We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,282 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,271: English reviews
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

Booked a 5 night stay here, upon arrival was given a room where the bed was not done and the room was not cleaned, had to leave the hotel after 3 hours due to a fam emergency, spoke to the reception named Sanjeev I presume and he advised that a refund can be offered if I was to contact the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sheharyar K
Devon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

Marvellous find as a place to leave car while away and have a good nights sleep at a good price. Rooms very comfortable with the usual toiletries provided together with tea and coffee. The bed was extremely comfortable which is something I usually dread in hotels. Restaurant serves great food and breakfast before we left was plentiful.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lew512
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Last minute booking for an overnight stay before flying out of gatwick for a short break. We selected this hotel on price and location to airport - it is nice and quiet but only a short drive to airport in the morning. We didn't have a meal at the hotel but we were very pleased with the room . We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank goldwinger2016
Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

Myself my husband and a couple go our friends stayed here before a long haul flight we found the hotel sufficient to our needs, the sports bar in the basement was the better place to eat as they had the same meals as the restaurant plus a few other bits had a pool table and table foot ball also so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tracey W
Rustington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

There are only two people at reception at any one time which made the check in process rather lengthy as the hotel was running an event in the conference centre at the same time. The lady that finally checked me in was helpful and efficient and managed to allocate a suitable room to me. However, the process was delayed in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank htur61
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Check in fine Room mmmmmm dark dingy and dated Had to get an engineer as heating not working Bed comfy Duvet warm Went for a swim Ooops swimming pool drained Asked about this to be matter of factly told Been like that for months Ŕeally hmm no mention on website Most dissapointed Went to bar Gave up waiting to be...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Garythack
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed for an overnight stop before a full day in the hotel for a business event. The experience as a whole was disappointing from the moment of arriving through to leaving the following evening. The most unprofessional and biggest disappointment was the service received whilst sitting down for a meal in the evening. A table had been pre- booked for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ndbarry13
Witham, Essex, UK
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Tatty room that felt dirty. Bed small and uncomfortable, service ok. Food was awful and overpriced. Car was filthy when collected as been parked under a tree. They also support fox hunting, so am compelled to leave my review. If you appreciate animals and our local wildlife please avoid as they are hosting an event for a hunt that are...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Tamasine
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Not sure where to start really after reading some reviews, I'd probably start by stating, rating it 1 star because you have to pay £5 for wifi is pretty lame. More often than not we've had to pay for wifi at hotels and has been charged at much more than £5 (get a grip!) Anyway...... we booked a package with...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank holidaylover1711
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We were so pleased to read how much you enjoyed your stay. We really appreciate your honest and genuine comments. We are aware our property is in need of some modernisation and updating, however, while these updates are ongoing we believe in our staff, the...

South Wales
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The location is good, 15 mins from Gatwick Airport and £11 by taxi if you don't use the hotel shuttle which I believe is £9. The hotel organised our taxi which arrived on time. Parking was plentiful and easy. Rooms are tired but spacious, very warm, water was boiling - beware!! We had paid for a 3 course evening meal...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gricey61
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review. We were glad to read you enjoyed your stay and that all went well with your parking and airport transfers. We were also happy to learn you enjoyed your dinner and found the accommodation comfortable. We look forward to welcoming you back next time. With best wishes Guest Relations Manager

288 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (248)
Viewed
Bathroom (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (52)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (36)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (123)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (40)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crawley
1.5 mi away
Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick
2.0 mi away
Regency Hotel Gatwick
Regency Hotel Gatwick
#24 of 28 in Crawley
143 reviews
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn London Gatwick Worth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley
3.4 mi away
Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel
2.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Felbridge
Crowne Plaza Felbridge
#2 of 4 in East Grinstead
1,175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Golf course
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick

Address: West Park Road | Copthorne, Crawley RH10 3EU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley
Price Range: £48 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel Crawley
Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick Crawley, West Sussex
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Crawley
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick staff and other travellers.
15 questions
Ask a question
Bridgend, United Kingdom
7 months ago
Verona, Italy
Kent, United Kingdom
3 months ago
West Malling, United Kingdom
3 months ago
4 months ago

See all questions (15)

Questions? Get answers from Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a room with a balcony.”
 of 5 bubbles htur61, 10 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Our room was on the third floor facing the golf course and had a nice view. .”
 of 5 bubbles NZbiggestfan, 3 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Don't forget to pack your own booze.”
 of 5 bubbles Diamondal, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Not sure if they do have any good rooms, over the years I have stopped in a few at this hotel and none are as good as Premier Inn rooms”
 of 5 bubbles RihardG, 23 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Not sure as such a short stay”
 of 5 bubbles mardek2016, 13 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5