The Swan Hotel
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

The Swan Hotel

Fenney Stratford 36 Watling Street Fenny Stratford, Milton Keynes MK2 2BL England

View prices for your travel dates

Fully refundable before Fri, 31 May
Breakfast included
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
£70
£68
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

3.5
#5 of 6 small hotels in Milton Keynes
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.6 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Value
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Property amenities
Parking
Wifi
Free breakfast
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Non-smoking hotel
Room types
Non-smoking rooms

Location

Fenney Stratford 36 Watling Street Fenny Stratford, Milton Keynes MK2 2BL England
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 58 out of 100
58
Heathrow Airport
38.2 mi
See all flights
Luton Airport
16.9 mi
See all flights
27Reviews0Q+A1Room tip

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 11
  • 6
  • 4
  • 0
  • 6
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
T0ne63 wrote a review Dec 2016
Southampton, United Kingdom34 contributions58 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed here whilst working in MK. Everything a contractor needs, relatively cheap beer, sport on multiple tellys around the bar, cheap rooms (All very clean), good choice of evening meals at fair prices,spot on breakfast in the morning to set you up for the day, lots of parking spaces for vans and cars.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2016
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: We had twins and triples, and couldnt fault them.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Peter wrote a review Feb 2016
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom21 contributions17 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed in hotel whilst working away, its basic in need of refurbishment, however was cheap and the food is very good, bar prices are average as well and rooms are clean ,its a bit noisy as on main road , the landlord is a bit miserable does not say much .
Read more
Date of stay: May 2015Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
julie m wrote a review Nov 2022
sowerby bridge30 contributions39 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed for 2nights and was told for one night we would be charged £50, as we decided to stay the 2nights, but only booked for one, on check out we was charged £65, emailed the hotel and got no response, so customer service is not top of there priority
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
kateemma wrote a review Feb 2020
Redhill, United Kingdom21 contributions12 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Worst hotel room 201. Minute bathroom with no room for a sink which is in the bedroom. Electric heater not put on prior to arrival so room freezing. Cheap not cheerful. Breakfast was ok for what we paid but miserable service. I advised my daughter not staying at hotel was joining for breakfast. Absolutely rude receptionist. We were told on arrival it cost £8.50 she argued £10.50. In the end slapping change in my wife’s hand. Never again
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from dave lockwood, Owner at The Swan Hotel
Responded 14 Nov 2022
Hi Kateemma I think you have the wrong hotel as we do not have a room number 201 and also we do not have electric heating or sinks in the bedrooms Many Thanks Liiam
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lee B wrote a review May 2022
2 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Because this hotel was not clear on their check in policy my 18 year old daughter and my niece where stranded in Milton Keynes after a concert. There is no one at the hotel to take calls after 10pm. I was in London frantically trying to get through to them, to no avail.
The hotel knew there was a concert tonight. Even if it finished on time, they would not have been able to get into the hotel.
My daughter wasn’t told about the 10pm cut off when she booked, which is absolutely disgusting.
If she had known, she wouldn’t have booked it.
The doubletree by Hilton came to their rescue, giving them a £200+ room at a huge discount.
They said that they could not see two young girls on the streets. Shame the swan doesn’t share that opinion.
I would never stay at this hotel. I would sooner sleep in the gutter.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from dave lockwood, Owner at The Swan Hotel
Responded 26 May 2022
Hi Lee I am sorry that you have had a bad experience but I am not sure you have the right hotel? On the three nights of the concert all rooms were occupied except one single room on one of the nights. On all three nights there were concerts I was personally checking people in and taking phone calls until 11:30. If it was Saturday I was here until much later. You are correct the concert created a number of late check ins. Your concern about not leaving people stranded is shared and on one of the three concert nights, once I had finished my duties at The Swan Hotel I drove to the Swan Revived which is 8 miles away to drop off two customers who had arrived at the wrong hotel and could not get another taxi as they were all busy. The usual 10.00 pm cut off for checking in is because we are a small hotel with 11 bedrooms. It is not financially viable to keep a member of staff up all night, but there is a large notice with a telephone number to call on the outside of the premises, both front and rear, if a customer arrives late. This reads like a genuine error was made. If your daughter and your niece arrived at our premises with a booking there would have been no problem. If they had made an error and were booked elsewhere we would have assisted.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
AuroraM wrote a review Jul 2023
London, United Kingdom86 contributions27 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My husband and I stayed overnight on a Saturday. We were immediately very pleased with how well presented the garden was and how clean inside the pub was. The staff were very friendly and welcoming throughout. The rooms are basic but very clean and just what you need for a very reasonable price. Breakfast was again very friendly was served quickly also very tasty. Will definitely stay again! Thank you
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Steve T wrote a review Jun 2022
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Had 2 nights at the hotel. Was down for the play off final at Wembley. Handy location for return train travel (£28 return to Wembley) . Stopped before. As always ,a great experience.
Fantastic staff, great bar ( especially for sport). Room ensuite and spotlessly clean. Plus a really great fresh cooked breakfast. Wouldn't stop anywhere else in mk.
Dave, partner and staff couldn't be more helpful.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Irina-Woodford wrote a review Aug 2022
Flackwell Heath, United Kingdom86 contributions10 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Basic but very clean, friendly staff, great value for money. Couldn’t ask for more at the price we paid. Definitely exceeded our expectations. Very efficient taxi calling service.
Very good breakfast, cooked to order, great choices available.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
SW-NW wrote a review May 2014
Liverpool, United Kingdom79 contributions30 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Warm, helpful welcome from Jean, lovely standard of accommodation and bathroom, delicious cooked breakfast. Would stay here again if in the area. Busy pub environment, was advised they had a large private party in to celebrate a 40th - music was turned down at midnight and off by 12.15, perfectly acceptable.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2014
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Victoria C wrote a review Jun 2018
1 contribution2 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We popped into this pub to see if they served food and if they allowed dogs. Had my small dog in my arms in case he's not allowed in. Firstly I was ignored, then when I asked do you surve food I was literally shoooed out by a lady mumbeling na dags, na dags! Rude horrid and stank of stale beer. WOULD NOT RECOMMEND!!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2018Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
No results found.Try changing or clearing your search to read questions and answers.
T0ne63 wrote a tip Dec 2016
Southampton, United Kingdom34 contributions58 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"We had twins and triples, and couldnt fault them."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Milton Keynes area.
PRICE RANGE
£57 - £66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandBuckinghamshireMilton Keynes
NUMBER OF ROOMS
11
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE SWAN HOTEL - Updated 2024 Prices, Reviews, and Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about The Swan Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The Swan Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Pink Punters (0.2 miles) and St Martin's, Fenny Stratford (0.04 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Swan Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at The Swan Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Swan Hotel?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Swan Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Dinajpur, The Greedy Italian, and Ganges Lounge.
Are there any historical sites close to The Swan Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Bletchley Park (1.0 miles), Victorian Brick Kilns (3.7 miles), and Bradwell Abbey (4.8 miles).
All Milton Keynes HotelsMilton Keynes Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Milton KeynesHotels near The Swan Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire