Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Premier Inn Milton Keynes South Hotel

Lakeside Grove The Caldecotte Pub and Grill, Milton Keynes MK7 8HP England
Traveller (242)
Premier Inn bedroom
Room & Suite (64)
Premier Inn Milton Keynes South hotel
Videos (1)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.0
#7 of 36 hotels in Milton Keynes
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Value
Set in the beautiful grounds of Caldecotte Lake with its historic windmill, Milton Keynes South is just minutes away from the fascinating history of Bletchley Park. We're handy for the MK Dons stadium, Woburn Golf course and Woburn Safari Park too. Drive past the giraffes at the safari park. Or drive down the fairway on the golf course. Watch the terns on the lake, or take your turn cracking the codes at Bletchley. Our hotel puts you just a short journey from all that Milton Keynes has to offer, with comfy beds in every spacious room and an onsite restaurant too.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Highchairs available
Taxi service
24-hour security
Baggage storage
24-hour check-in
Parking
Wifi
Paid internet
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Kid-friendly buffet
Kids' meals
Non-smoking hotel
First aid kit
24-hour front desk
Room features
Blackout curtains
Desk
Housekeeping
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Clothes rack
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Private bathrooms
Electric kettle
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Family
Languages Spoken
English
1,183Review9Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 553
  • 368
  • 137
  • 64
  • 62
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
P8875LXpaulb wrote a review Feb 2024
King's Lynn, United Kingdom28 contributions7 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked this hotel as we were doing a tour of Bletchley Park, and it was really close by. We thought we would try the restaurant, but didn't bother to book it. When we got there it was packed, but we walked right in and got a table. Excellent service all evening and the location of the hotel was stunning.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
wheelchairmike wrote a review Sept 2020
Bristol, United Kingdom279 contributions59 helpful votes
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked this hotel to visit Bletchley Park Museum and the location is excellent, it takes less than 15 mins by car to reach it. I am a wheelchair user and need an accessible room with 2 beds and a wet room with shower. Central booking say this is impossible as they only have double beds at this Premier Inn but if you ring the hotel there is one accessible room 22 where they are able to split the beds. We booked on line, cheaper, and then rang back to book the room.

We arrived to find plenty of parking and a good covid secure booking in process. Room 22 is massive with a large wet room. Although there seems to be air conditioning built in it does not work. It was very hot for the time of year and we managed to keep the room temperature OK as the window does open. A fan was also provided. They are serving breakfasts again at the pub next door. Evening meals were also available and as a lot of the tables are upstairs which gives great views we booked ahead to ensure we had one on the ground floor there being no lift.

On the second evening there was a real fire alarm and we had to evacuate. Although room 22 is at the far end of the hotel we went out via reception. On further investigation we were glad we had as all the other escape routes involved steps! We had received no fire evacuation briefing on arrival. The Pub staff were really good at keeping us all entertained until the fire brigade arrived.

A good cheap hotel with helpful staff. It is next to a great Pub and is on the edge of Caldicotte Lake which is lovely. It is a very quite location so a good nights sleep is guaranteed.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: On the ground floor odd numbered rooms have a view of the lake
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
tracywiskin8 wrote a review Jun 2021
London, United Kingdom2 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I went to Milton Keynes for a family celebration. This hotel was in the perfect location for where I needed to be. The reception staff were extremely helpful and friendly, the room was spotless but very warm as it was a boiling hot weekend and I could not open the window. The adjoining pub/restaurant was just a few steps away and staff in there were also very friendly and helpful. I would have no hesitation in staying here again. The view of the lake from my window was just glorious. I struggled to climb to the second floor with my luggage as there was no lift, but the view was worth it.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: June 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
jame207 wrote a review Feb 2020
King's Lynn, United Kingdom1 contribution8 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel is in a lovely location, close to a lake and within minutes of everywhere we wanted to visit. The rooms are a good size and we had a patio door to a balcony that overlooked the lake. However, the hotel is in need of updating and a good clean. Our room was not cleaned to the standard of other premier inns we have stayed in, we found someone else’s slippers and dirty socks behind the curtains and there were hairs left in the shower - yuk!
We used the adjoining pub for dinner and breakfast. Dinner was average and as you expect, pub classics, food was average but pricey. Breakfast was awful, the toasters need cleaning and the breakfast buffet area was dirty and grubby. The cooked breakfast was also poor. We found three hairs in our breakfasts and this put us off eating anymore.
My advice would be book if the price is very low but do not expect the normal premier inn standards and avoid eating there at all costs as you can get better food at the same price at nearby restaurants, minus the hairs and dirt!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com
Date of stay: February 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Susan A wrote a review Jun 2021
The Royal Town of Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom2 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed in the Milton Keynes premier inn for 2 nights for a family break, the room was excellent value for money. It was clean and had all facilities you could want. The staff on the front desk were very helpful and friendly. We had a slight issue with a soap dispenser in our room and it was sorted immediately without any hesitation. We felt safe in the hotel. The adjoined restaurant was also very good a high standard of food at good prices
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: May 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
tandabruce27 wrote a review Feb 2022
1 contribution
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Clean room and particularly bathroom thoroughly - we checked in at 5.30pm but after briefly dropping off luggage left to visit our son and didn't return until after midnight.
We then discovered a dirty toilet inside and out, make up residue on the washbasin, hair stuck to the tiles and a dirty and sticky bedside table.
The following morning we realised there were only two decaff coffee sachets and no tea or milk. The room clearly had not been cleaned and serviced properly for our stay and the rim of the toilet bowl had clearly not been cleaned properly for some considerable time.
We have stayed in Premier Inns across the country many times but this was a very poor experience and would make us think twice about booking again. particularly in light of coronavirus when cleanliness should be at the heart of everything you do.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2022
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
gerlex wrote a review Nov 2021
Coatbridge, United Kingdom3 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at this hotel for 2nights when we visited the Red Bull Racing factory. The reception staff were first class and the bar/grill saff run by Caroline were exelent, we were looked after on our first night by a waiter called Jack who was very welcoming and funny, a proper guy that most bars and hospitality areas are lacking.
Room was spotless and being next to the reception area was still very quiet. Both day and night reception staff were very helpful with extra pillows and tea/coffee when we needed them.
Thanks again for for a lovely break.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Richard L wrote a review Apr 2022
5 contributions3 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Such a disappointment. Booked 2 rooms for 1 night with my partner and our children, included the breakfast option so we knew the kids would be fed. On the journey to the hotel we received a phone call advising us that the restaurant was closed and wouldn't be available for our stay. This meant no evening meal for us on arrival, or breakfast the following day. On enquiry we discovered that the hotel had known of the restaurant issue for at least 24 hours before informing us.
One of our children wasn't well, so did not want to venture out to find food for the evening. In the end we just ordered a pizza and ate it at the hotel.
The rooms weren't well heated. The heating system didn't seem to work at all. My partner complained about this and she was given 2 electric heaters for her room, but didn't feel safe leaving these on all night with her two children there.
The rooms were dated, and there was mould on the bathroom walls. Everything looked like it was tired and in need of a make-over.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: April 2022
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Whitbread Hotels and Restaurants, Other at Premier Inn Milton Keynes South Hotel
Responded 22 Apr 2022
Hi, Thank you for your review. We’re very sorry that you had a disappointing stay with us recently due to not being able to dine with us as the restaurant was closed. We're also sorry that your room was so cold and there was mould in the bathroom. This certainly isn't the experience we would expect for you. We’ve ensured this feedback has been logged to the Hotel Management team so that they can look into these issues with the team to prevent this experience from being repeated again in the future. Thank you for taking the time to contact us and we hope we can welcome you for a more enjoyable stay in the future. Kind regards, James
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Pierre S wrote a review Feb 2020
Cambridge, United Kingdom513 contributions172 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
The location is nice, the reception staff were really nice and there it ends. Clearly the room I was allotted should not have been available, late for a dinner meeting, I dumped my bags and left only to return much later to a freezing room, where the A/C or room thermostat was missing most of its components & clearly broken, when I switched on the bathroom light, the sink was full of debris from the hole in the ceiling where, I assume, the extractor fan would have been, but for the large hole. The floor too was littered with dust and debris which I decided to shower off, sadly more power in a 5 year old's plastic watering can although it was almost warm. The halls and stairwells look like they were used for an action movie, full of scrapes, torn wall paper, grotty carpet and endless damage all of which I would have accepted had I not had to pay up front, GBP 114.00. The following week I stayed in a 4 star Novotel in Poland, parked a hire car, had dinner and breakfast in a pleasant setting for GBP 102.00. 1st and last ever time in a Premier Inn.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from WhitbreadHotels, Guest Relations at Premier Inn Milton Keynes South Hotel
Responded 21 Feb 2020
Good afternoon, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We're so sorry to hear that your room was so cold and was tired and dirty. This certainly isn't the welcome we want for any of our guests and we will be passing on your feedback to the hotel management team to make sure this is looked into and improved. Please accept our sincere apologies again for any inconvenience that has been caused and we do hope that you can give us another chance in the future. Kind regards, James
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Stevo1215 wrote a review Jun 2021
29 contributions5 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I can not speak highly enough of the hotel. It’s location is fantastic both in terms of ease of access and surrounding area. The cleanliness and decor were also very good and the staff were very polite and professional. The only issue we had with our room was that there is no air conditioning and the room did get uncomfortably hot at times. We were provided with a fan but this was not enough to keep the room cool.
Our biggest issue was the connecting restaurant. During breakfast, service was slow, food was cold and we felt awkward asking for anything, as if we were a burden to the staff. Cups were unclean, side plates were sticky and cutlery was mismatched and in poor condition. During dinner, food took over 50mins to arrive (we were told that there was a delay on arrival though), service was very slow and we had to ask for our order to be taken. The availability of menu items was ridiculous, and was the worst part of our visit. There were 4 of us and we all ordered different meals and none of our meals were available! We then tried ordering alternative options and again most of these were unavailable too. We eventually managed to actually place an order but when the food arrived, 50mins later, it was not enjoyable. Gammon was overcooked, greasy and very fatty. Scampi was cold. Burger buns were burnt and chips were cold.
Overall, would recommend the hotel but would avoid the restaurant.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: June 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Discover25076961540 asked a question Jul 2021
Can you pay via cash
Answer from Debsw40
Preston, United Kingdom26 contributions33 helpful votes
I’ve no idea sorry. You usually pay online when you book a room.
Answer from tracywiskin8
London, United Kingdom2 contributions1 helpful vote
I am sorry, no idea
LIncolnToots asked a question Jul 2021
Lincoln, United Kingdom174 contributions68 helpful votes
Hi is there a meal deal available at this hotel please. Thank you
Answer from Silvertravellers60
Alton, United Kingdom31 contributions9 helpful votes
I think there is for breakfast, but not sure about dinner.
bruce B asked a question Jul 2021
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Do any of the rooms have opening windows please. Thank you
Answer from Teresa C
Southampton, United Kingdom25 contributions6 helpful votes
They open slightly but not very much as hotel is on one level. They did have a fan in the room that was quite good. Hope that helps
Sorcha B asked a question Apr 2018
Gloucester, United Kingdom
I was just wondering whether dogs were allowed to stay or not?
Answer from Gordon F
Stockport, United Kingdom43 contributions8 helpful votes
I'm not sure you will have to check with the Hotel.
Maria N wrote a tip Feb 2024
Barnet, United Kingdom8 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Nice quiet place to rest. Saturday night busy in the car park. On dry Sunday afternoons, the miniature railway runs from 1pm."
Read full review
Sightsee32032021059 wrote a tip Jan 2024
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Lovely quiet hotel in a beautiful location. "
Read full review
Kimberley M wrote a tip Sept 2023
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Child friendly, very welcoming, and made to feel at home."
Read full review
Julie P wrote a tip Sept 2023
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Fantastic location, great service, fantastic breakfast. "
Read full review
Matthew S wrote a tip Aug 2023
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Unless there is a major change, then avoid this hotel. Lower your expectations to a 1 out of 10 for breakfasts. "
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Milton Keynes area.
PRICE RANGE
£36 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
premier inn milton keynes south hotel milton keynes
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandBuckinghamshireMilton Keynes
NUMBER OF ROOMS
61
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

PREMIER INN MILTON KEYNES SOUTH HOTEL - Updated 2024

Frequently Asked Questions about Premier Inn Milton Keynes South Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Premier Inn Milton Keynes South Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Alders Air Gun Range (4.1 miles), Blackout Escape Rooms (2.0 miles), and Formula Fast Karting (0.5 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Premier Inn Milton Keynes South Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Premier Inn Milton Keynes South Hotel?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, blackout curtains, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Premier Inn Milton Keynes South Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Premier Inn Milton Keynes South Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Premier Inn Milton Keynes South Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Bistro Live MK, Ottoman Kitchen, and A Pizza This.
Are there any historical sites close to Premier Inn Milton Keynes South Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Bletchley Park (1.6 miles), Victorian Brick Kilns (2.9 miles), and Bradwell Abbey (4.6 miles).
Does Premier Inn Milton Keynes South Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the park view available here.
Is Premier Inn Milton Keynes South Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Milton Keynes HotelsMilton Keynes Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Milton KeynesHotels near Premier Inn Milton Keynes South Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire