We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Leeds Castle - Maidens Tower B&B

Leeds Castle, Maidstone ME17 1PL England
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (126)
Room & Suite (26)
Dining (1)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#2 of 15 B&Bs in Maidstone
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The 16th century Maiden’s Tower at Leeds Castle, offers five stunning bedrooms with breath-taking views and en-suite bathrooms, all beautifully decorated in period style with a contemporary twist. Your overnight stay will include a full English or continental breakfast, made with fresh local produce, served in the 17th Century oak-beamed Castle View Restaurant the following morning. We are extremely proud that the Maiden's Tower has been awarded the title of AA Unique Bed and Breakfast of the Year 2017.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Golf course
Non-smoking hotel
Picnic area
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Historic Hotel
Romantic
75Reviews1Q+A26Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 53
  • 13
  • 4
  • 2
  • 3
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
bd00lisa wrote a review Dec 2023
Cambridge, United Kingdom264 contributions57 helpful votes
+1
We came here for my husband Christmas party and we stayed there In Margaret of France room in the Maiden’s Tower and it was bloody amazing and we had sit down meal which was very tasty apart from the cauliflower pan cotta starter it was like you was eating baby food. But rest was very yummy. After very late night we had very nice breakfast and it was too high standard. And than we went to look round the castle very pretty with all the Christmas decorations and for Nadia themed. We got driven by lovely gentleman and clearly loves his job and told as more information was lovely to hear and he is a credit to the castle. Hopefully we will be back next year
Read more
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Widlydidly wrote a review Oct 2023
United Kingdom306 contributions4411 helpful votes
+1
This stay was worth every penny/cent/euro. Such a lovely castle with a huge history. Staying in the Maidens Tower actually inside the castle gates is a wonderful experience. Large well furnished room with a great view of the castle. If you stay here you are almost alone in the castle when the day trippers go home. Amazing
Read more
Date of stay: May 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: If you book here you get almost unlimited access to the whole castle and the grounds
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
7 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Brenda L wrote a review Aug 2023
Hertfordshire144 contributions43 helpful votes
What a treat; my husband and I were in the area for a family party and decided to stay at the castle as we had not been before. We paid extra for a room in the Maidens Tower, an iconic situation. Room was well serviced and comfortable, a good breakfast was included plus a tour of the castle and access to the grounds. Won’t forget this two night break for a long time, really perfect.
Read more
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Bobfalconer wrote a review Aug 2023
Bexley, United Kingdom28 contributions12 helpful votes
We had a one night stay in the Maiden's Tower in the castle. The room was superb with excellent views and every member of staff that we interacted with was exceptionally friendly and helpful. However, guests are not treated well. We had to register in a building that was next to the Culpepper Gardens and carry our luggage a very long way to the castle. When we asked if transport could be laid on as my wife does not walk well, we were informed that there were no porterage facilities. After arrival, we then had to walk all the way back again to the Castle View Restaurant. We were lucky that the weather was fair. On our walk, we were passed by numerous extended golf buggies. Why one of these could not be made available to guests staying in the castle, I do not know. The restaurant itself is essentially a cafe. The tables were smartened up for the evening with black tablecloths and the staff were exceptionally friendly. However, they hadn't been trained to a level appropriate to a high-level restaurant. The prices were reasonable but the food was mediocre with no flair in the presentation. At breakfast the following morning, I was served my eggs benedict whilst I was still eating my cereal. The bacon was hard and the brioche was tough. It was almost as if it had been made early and had been sitting on a hot plate. Because all staff were so nice and friendly, we had an enjoyable stay but we did feel that we had been treated badly and we won't be returning.
Read more
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Isabelle B wrote a review Aug 2023
Horsham, United Kingdom7 contributions5 helpful votes
+1
We stayed at Leeds Castle in the Maiden’s Tower. Room was good and the small luxurious touches were welcome ( luxury toiletries and tea/ coffee facilities). Bathroom was large size with a good size bath and shower. What made the stay was the view from the room out to the castle and the grounds. It was amazing to be able to walk the grounds once it was shut to the general public. Bird display was well worth a visit. Breakfast was lovely. Continental or Full English available. We sat at a table overlooking the castle. Stayed as a treat for a special birthday and well worth it. All staff were very welcoming and helpful and knowledgeable about the castle’s history. We eat dinner at local pub The Park Gate Inn. Only a 2 minute drive away. Fabulous food and staff great.
Read more
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
PJMorgan wrote a review Jun 2023
Northampton, United Kingdom28 contributions22 helpful votes
+1
The most amazing tranquil place to stay with fabulous staff that go above and beyond to look after you. From the moment we booked, to our departure, the staff at Leeds Castle couldn’t have looked after us any better. This was very important on this trip as I was with my 90 year old Mother. We stayed in the Maiden’s Tower which is right next to the Castle in a twin room overlooking the moat. A very spacious, spotlessly clean room with high quality linen. The room we stayed in had an equally large modern bathroom. Our only regret was that there wasn’t a separate shower in the bathroom which would have been useful. Food was great with a nice choice for dinner. Breakfast was also a very high standard, especially considering the staff were cooking in the middle of a very heavy thunderstorm. A special thank you to the Reception Manager who went out of her way to accommodate a change I needed to make due to illness and for helping us to travel in style to our accommodation - thank you! Would love to return but next time will stay longer.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: It’s worth paying extra to stay in the Maiden’s Tower if you can simply for the location.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Bee wrote a review Jun 2023
29 contributions3 helpful votes
+1
This was a huge bucket list tick off for me, to stay in an actual castle! We arrived early and spent the day exploring the Castle and Grounds. There was so much to see and do and although our trip was couples, there was lots for kids and big kids! We played crazy golf, cracked the maze and found the grotto, we watched the falconry and had an ice cream next to the beach by a huge playground. We didn't go on the train or boat.. maybe next time. We ate lunch, dinner and breakfast at the onsite restaurant. Lunch was a Sunday chicken roast, dinner was sirloin beef followed by chocolate indulgence for me and toffee pudding for hubby. Our waiter was Will who gave outstanding customer service and made us feel really special. The breakfast was great too with traditional and continental options to savour. The team of staff across all aspects of the castle were impeccable, they seemed to have customer service and satisfaction ingrained in their DNA. The tower lived up to all my expectations, the bed was soft, the compliments were exemplary, the bath was bigger than my car and the view took my breath away, that and the fact I was surrounded by a moat! It was all my dreams come to life. I will 100% be back as I felt like a Queen for a day...... and a Knight!! Haha! An unforgettable experience. Thank you so much.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Everything was such a great experience
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
DeniseChelmsford wrote a review Oct 2022
Chelmsford, United Kingdom38 contributions32 helpful votes
My husband & I wanted this to be a special occasion for,our 30th Wedding anniversary and quite frankly it was very disappointing. We have regularly visited Leeds castle and thought what could be better than spending our special occasion in the outstanding grounds and views of your castle. As I,wanted nothing to go,wrong I emailed several times before our stay and left phone messages. Only one basic email reply was received and in know way answered my question. I asked about the rooms in the Maiden Tower as to what they were like and the views. On arrival to reception it was awful there was a large group talking very loudly, blocking the entrance and I could not hear a thing while checking in. Apparently they were waiting for transport. They should of been waiting outside. As in you instructions we,could not check in until 3pm but when we got back at 2:50pm you had already started,to,let people check in. I find,it hard to believe when we arrived at 2:30pm our room was not,ready. The Maiden tower is quite a walk,from reception and as a disabled person there,was no offer of help with luggage so my husband did two trips. On arrival at our room we were allocated the Margaret of France room. It was drab and dark and this room is not reflected in any of your pictures on your website. You have obviously put the best room on the website and mislead people into thinking that is the standard of all of the rooms. Had I known this I would have booked the four poster room in the stables. Dinner was average, service was slow. Breakfast was better. We can not have our anniversary again and you are selling the romantic dream on your website. I feel misled and let down because of the lack of communication and the pettiness of check in. This is not how I wanted to spend my special anniversary. Just very upsetting how things turned out. No you are not a hotel but don't pretend to be something you are not. I thought I was getting a memorable anniversary. I will remember it but not for good reasons.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Nick wrote a review Aug 2022
7 contributions1 helpful vote
This was sold and is bed and Breakfast accommodation in what is a very prestigious setting. While nothing could be faulted with the accommodation they same can’t be said of the breakfast. Quite simply it was the worse breakfast i have ever been served on my travels. it was real shock given the venue and the chef(s) who prepared it should be ashamed. it spoiled an otherwise great visit on checkout i asked to speak with the catering manager and she was good enough to give a full refund for the cost of breakfast but it’s not somewhere i would look to stay again given the experience.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: fingers crossed you don’t get the same breakfast chefs as i did
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Leeds Castle, Other at Leeds Castle - Maidens Tower B&B
Responded 1 Sept 2022
We are pleased that you enjoyed the Maiden’s Tower accommodation and the stunning grounds here at Leeds Castle. However, we are extremely sorry that the breakfast did not meet your expectations, and equally ours. The Restaurant Manager will be aware of your disappointment as she met with you and refunded the cost of your breakfast but we will still pass on your comments on to her. Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. All feedback is very important to us and enables us to address and rectify any possible issues.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
bexina2017 wrote a review Aug 2022
Portsmouth, United Kingdom15 contributions5 helpful votes
Lovely room nice and comfortable, nice soap etc in the rooms , the view from our room had a lovely view of the moat and the castle . Only thing was I wish we had been offered a golf cart ride to the room with our luggage had to carry them over to the room but this should have been offered automatically . But otherwise everything was great.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Maidstone area.
PRICE RANGE
£264 - £295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandKentMaidstone
NUMBER OF ROOMS
5
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

LEEDS CASTLE - MAIDENS TOWER B&B - Updated 2024 Prices (Maidstone)

Frequently Asked Questions about Leeds Castle - Maidens Tower B&B
Which popular attractions are close to Leeds Castle - Maidens Tower B&B?
Nearby attractions include The Extraction Room (4.8 miles), Buttercups Sanctuary for Goats (3.9 miles), and Mote Park (3.7 miles).
What are some restaurants close to Leeds Castle - Maidens Tower B&B?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Ringlestone Inn, The Potting Shed, and The King's Head.
Are there any historical sites close to Leeds Castle - Maidens Tower B&B?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Leeds Castle (0.01 miles), Stoneacre (2.3 miles), and English Heritage Sutton Valence Castle (3.2 miles).