Holiday Inn Express London - Watford Junction, an IHG Hotel
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Holiday Inn Express London - Watford Junction, an IHG Hotel

Traveller (148)
The kids will love the new pull-out sofabeds at our hotel
Room & Suite (51)
Yummy! Breakfast is included
Dining (22)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.0
#3 of 14 hotels in Watford
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Value
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Family
Languages Spoken
English, Chinese, Lithuanian, Norwegian and 4 more
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Baggage storage
Parking
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Vending machine
Meeting rooms
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Hotel links
Special Offer:Summer Sale

Location

19 Bridle Path, Watford WD17 1UE England
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 68 out of 100
68
Heathrow Airport
13.7 mi
See all flights
Luton Airport
14.7 mi
See all flights
Watford High St
19 minOverground
995Reviews32Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 346
  • 412
  • 150
  • 49
  • 38
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Ruth B wrote a review Jun 2023
East Midlands, United Kingdom
Hotel's Favourite
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Excellent location and easy transport to central London/Wembley. The hotel was Hol Inn standard. Breakfast was plentiful and everything was kept restocked by a lovely lady (sorry didn’t get name). Air con could be cooler but didn’t stop me getting a good, uninterrupted 8 hours. The best part was the friendly staff. I rarely find unfriendly staff in IHG but they were even more friendly. Big shout to Sam at the bar and Saied. Another new lady on duty with Sam, think it was Anaya. You made it even better. I will definitely stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Tap onto trains into London
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Susanna H, Guest Services / Front Office at Holiday Inn Express London - Watford Junction, an IHG Hotel
Responded 10 Jul 2023
Dear rootatoot, Thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay, and for your great review. I am glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay at our hotel, and you were happy with the service of our staff members. We hope to see you again in the future. Best Regards, Susanna Guest Service Manager Holiday Inn Express London, Watford Junction
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
weeminthumbug wrote a review Jan 2020
glasgow
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here for 3 nights Thursday to Sunday while visiting the Harry Potter studios, we drove down and managed to get a car parking space in the disabled bays at the back of the hotel, there was also empty spaces in there car park which they charge £7 a night for.
.The train station were you get the Harry Potter bus was a few minutes walk down the lane next to the hotel.
We had a family room which had a double bed and a sofa bed plenty enough room for 3 of us , the room was bright and spacious and very warm and cosy as it was January this was great but the air con didn’t work so I don’t know how hot it would get in the summer months , the window opened if we needed to let a little fresh air in, we were looking onto the station and I can honestly say we hardly heard the trains and it never interrupted our sleep.
The bathroom was a walk in shower and it was very bright and clean
The staff were very helpful and always greeted us with a smile
I would stay in this hotel again and recommend it to anyone.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Roy O wrote a review Feb 2020
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My partner stayed here for 2 nights 31/1 & 1/2. Check in was quick and the staff were welcoming and helpful. Room was 102 on first floor, double bed and a sofa bed, coffee /tea facilities, iron & ironing board, hairdryer, flat screen TV on wall, plenty of room to hang clothes etc., bathroom was large shower (hair/shower gel Inc), nice towels & hand-wash. Breakfast was bacon, sausage, scrambled eggs & beans, buns or sliced brown or white bread, toasting machine, marmalade, jam, Nutella, honey, butter, cereals, porridge, croissants, mini muffins, compote, yogurt, apples, satsumas and bananas. Fruit juice and a coffee machine, various tea choices. Was all very good and included in the booking price. Hotel is right next to Watford Junction Station just a short walk up a path to the back of the hotel then just walk through to the front. Definitely would stay there again.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from HIEXPRESS_WATFORD, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express London - Watford Junction, an IHG Hotel
Responded 9 Mar 2020
Dear Royo, Thank you for your detailed feedback. We are glad you have had a pleasant experience and appreciate you sharing your thoughts publicly. Regards, Teodor Ganea
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Simplydivine05 wrote a review Feb 2020
Halifax, United Kingdom
2.0 of 5 bubbles
I really wished I had read the reviews for this place before booking. Never again will we stay here.
The good points:
It was clean. The breakfast was ok although the hot stuff wasn't even warm.
The restaurant and bar were ok in an evening and we had some chips there with a couple of drinks one evening.
It's very convenient for Watford Junction station and catching the Harry Potter shuttle bus.
The bad points:
The bed, oh gosh that bed. If you want to sleep in the middle of it then great, but I don't think anyone sharing a bed with another adult wants to do that. The duvet was too small and you ended up with a draught.
The trains. They do run all night and believe me, that triple glazing is beyond useless. A freight train passing makes the building vibrate and they like to honk their horns at all hours.
The air con/heating system is either on constantly, or on and off every few minutes, those are your only options. If you want it completely off you have to ask reception to turn it off at the main switch outside your room and then you just have to hope you don't freeze or melt. They did offer us a heater for the room but I declined. They clearly have A LOT of complaints about this, but do nothing about it.
The WiFi doesn't work properly in the rooms, it just cuts out constantly and then asks you to sign in with your passcode again.
The second bed is a sofa bed and there is barely enough room for it. The rooms are really only designed for two people. If your child is taller than 150cm, they're going to struggle with that sofa bed as only the top two thirds are designed for lying on.
Don't forget to register your car reg for car parking. They don't mention it when you check in and it is easy to get caught out. It is also worth mentioning that you can book a parking space and pay in advance for it, but if you dare take your car out, you lose your space that you have paid £7 for and it is tough luck.
I could have coped with one night here but we stayed three and by the end I was so tired and ratty it ruined our holiday completely. We weren't even asked of everything was ok with our stay upon check out by the man. The only conversation was "have you paid for parking" and that was the end of that. Not even a thank you or a goodbye. We had already complained about the train noise and air-conditioning on the first night, and while the woman I spoke to attempted to be sympathetic, there wasn't much she could do.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from HIEXPRESS_WATFORD, Manager at Holiday Inn Express London - Watford Junction, an IHG Hotel
Responded 26 Feb 2020
Dear Simplydivine05, Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about your stay. First and foremost I am very sorry about all the issues you experienced during your stay. It is regrettable that we did not meet your expectations. Your comments are very important to us, as they help us to improve the quality of the hotel as well as the services we provide. I can assure you that we take seriously all the comments we receive. We are in the process of upgrading the WIFI service and please note that the car parking cannot be reserved in advance. However, there are alternative parking options near the hotel. Once again please accept my sincere apologies for all the inconvenience caused. Best regards, Gaby
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
sunny8437 wrote a review Aug 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We spent our bank holiday weekend here, travelling from up North. At check in we were warmly greeted by Suzi, rooms are immaculate and Covid restrictions were being adhered to a 'T'. The room was already made after breakfast, and after a tiring day in central London my wife was offered a complimentary hot chocolate at reception. We have stayed here a few times now as it is walking distance to station and perfect for us to avoid M25 rush when travelling down from Merseyside. We will definitely be staying again, I highly recommend the hotel, its staff, the price and the location.

Thanks

Syed and Nadia
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lynnie1978 wrote a review Jan 2020
Blackwood, United Kingdom
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed here for an overnight stay as visiting Harry Potter studio tour and had an early slot.

Overall it's a nice hotel and the room was lovely. But there are a couple of reasons for my 3 star rating.

We arrived and parking wasnt obvious. On enquiring, I was told the car park was full and I'd need to drive to the long stay car park down the road. I was given directions. But it was quite a walk back to the hotel in an unfamiliar area, in the dark with my son. I feel 20 parking spaces for a 7 storey hotel is insufficient and had I known I would have stayed elsewhere.

Once in the hotel, the room was lovely and looked recently refurbished. However, we could hear the trains from the station thats really close by.

We had a delicious evening meal in the dining area. A decent sized meal and very tasty. My son declared that the chef should have his own restaurant. It was certainly freshly cooked to order.

There was only 1 lift working. This became an issue when checking out as every time the lift came to our floor it was full. We ended up lugging our luggage down 4 flights of stairs.

We had an early slot at Harry Potter and with having a fair walk to the car park we had to be out by 8am. The fact that breakfast was at a later time of 7.30 on weekends wasnt helpful. We felt we were rushing breakfast. On the plus side, breakfast was delicious and replenished quickly. And we did seem to miss the rush.

This is a really good location for the harry potter tour. But I wouldn't stay here again, simply due to the lack of parking. If this doesn't bother you, then I'd recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express London - Watford Junction, an IHG Hotel
Responded 26 Jan 2020
Hello Lynnie1978, Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at Holiday Inn Express London - Watford Junction, UK. We offer brilliant basics and a little more where it matters most. I’m sorry we missed the mark this time. On behalf of the hotel, I'm sorry we fell below your expectation regarding the parking arrangement, sound proofing and the elevator Not the experience we wanted you to have. We will address these concerns. I have shared your comment to the hotel's management and ownership for review and service improvement. I hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is. Sincerely, Orlando Case Manager IHGService
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
kev wrote a review Jun 2021
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed at your hotel Sunday evening and checked out Monday morning.
I’m sure I’ll get some feedback questionnaire at some point but wanted to say Thank you and well done personally.
From the helpful chap who checked me in late Sunday, to the the two ladies who helped with my IT support, arranged my late check out, gave me a delicious breakfast even though I was beyond deadline and sent me on my way with smiling eyes above their mask.
I thought the planning and protection in the hotel was amazing with individually wrapped cutlery, individually bagged bread slices and a personalised bacon butty bag from the kitchen.

You really have done a great job and I felt privileged that you went so far to make my brief stay so smooth and enjoyable.
Thank you also to the support staff in the kitchen and the corridors and the bedroom staff - all did great. I salute you.

Kevin Ramsay
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: 1) Hotel is so near to station but don’t park at station 2) bridle path is not well lit at night,...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Susanna H, Other at Holiday Inn Express London - Watford Junction, an IHG Hotel
Responded 8 Jun 2021
Dear Kevin, Thank you very much for your lovely compliments, we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Holiday Inn Express - London, Watford Junction. I will pass your review to all the team members who made your stay smooth and enjoyable. We hope to see you again soon. Best Regards, Susanna
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
jhayward10 wrote a review Aug 2021
Stonnall, United Kingdom
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here as part of our son's birthday. We wanted somewhere we could easliy get to Warner Bros Studio's and London. This really was ideal because it is next to Watford Junction. It only took about 10-15 minutes to get back from Warner Bros which was an excellent experience.
The journey to London Euston was quick and easy (25 mins) and reasonably priced (£37 return including tube passes). The station is literally next door. There is some noise in room from trains going past but nothing major, thats keeps you awake at night or wakes you up.
Price wise I think its a bargain. £85 for a family room including breakfast was excellent value. Breakfast was decent with a variety of cold options and whilst hot was more limited did include bacon, sausage, eggs and beans.Drinks weren't too expensive either with a pint being £4.40 max.
Overall I would say this hotel is an excellent alternative to staying at a more expensive but more budget experience in a London hotel. Parking is an additional charge but only £7 per 24 hours and plenty of parking (another car park is directly next to the hotel at the same cost).
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Susanna H, Guest Services / Front Office at Holiday Inn Express London - Watford Junction, an IHG Hotel
Responded 14 Sept 2021
Dear jhayward10, Thank you for staying at the Holiday Inn Express London, Watford Junction and for your lovely review. I am glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again in the future. Best Regards, Susanna
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Babycatcher7 wrote a review Feb 2023
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Booking online simple.
Check - straight forward but no hello or friendly welcome.
Room very basic but clean. Bathroom shower gel and hand wash no shampoo/conditioner etc..
There was the same rubbish in the floor of the lift for 3 days.
Beds ok, nowhere near as comfortable as premier inn.
USB ports by the beds handy.
Breakfast basic but adequate but small area for so many people so difficult for guests ans staff to move around the breakfast area.
Location perfect for Harry Potter studios, watford junction 2 mins walk away, and easy fast train into Euston about 15 mins.
Some parking around the hotel but minimal.
Probably wouldnt use a holiday inn again but did the job for half term break.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Susanna H, Guest Services / Front Office at Holiday Inn Express London - Watford Junction, an IHG Hotel
Responded 5 Mar 2023
Dear Babycatcher7, Thank you for staying at the Holiday Inn Express London, Watford junction and for your review. I would like to apologize for all the inconveniences encountered during your stay, it is regrettable that we have felt below your expectation. I will pass all your comments to the relevant head of departments and take the necessary steps to improve our service in the future. Once again, I sincerely apologize for the inconveniences. Best Regards, Susanna
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mike E wrote a review Jul 2021
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We arrived (1630) after a 5 hour drive to find our comfortable wasn’t ready-you’ve guessed it “because of Covid” the stuff simply shrugged their shoulders very unprofessional!!

The room was ok, very poor settee bed, not very comfortable, the air con didn’t cool and was also the noisiest air con I’ve ever heard, you simply couldn’t keep it o it sounded like a train . Parking is an absolute joke. We paid nearly £20 for two nights parking only to find the car park was full, therefore had to drive round for 30mins. The breakfast is in my opinion dangerous, the bacon was raw, not lightly cooked raw, as were the sausages, beans were cold if they was any there! Plenty of baked goods, sachets of Nutella etc. But everything else was shockingly bad. Coffee was also disgusting.

It is however close to the station to get into London and the Harry Potter studio is only 10min drive.

Avoid this place with families very disappointing.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Susanna H, Other at Holiday Inn Express London - Watford Junction, an IHG Hotel
Responded 30 Jul 2021
Dear Mikee, Thank you for staying at the Holiday Inn Express London, Watford Junction, and for taking a time to write a review. First and foremost, I would like to apologize for all the inconvenience that you have faced during your stay regarding the breakfast and the car parking. All guest comments are extremely important to us, as it is only through constructive feedback that we are able to assess and continuously improve the service standards that we strive to achieve. I was therefore disappointed to learn that you were unhappy with our breakfast service. Please accept my sincere apologies. If you wish to discuss your concerns further, please do not hesitate to contact me directly. Best regards, Susanna Guest Service Manager Holiday Inn Express London – Watford Junction | 19 Bridle Path, Watford, WD17 1UE Phone: +44 (0) 1923 288 600 | Fax: +44 (0) 1923 889 157 E-Mail: gsm@express-watford.com
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
petet45 wrote a tip 16 Jul
Hove, United Kingdom163 contributions49 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don’t stay here unless you enjoy noise."
Read full review
Lottie4071 wrote a tip 9 Jul
Preston, United Kingdom310 contributions112 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ask for side away from train line"
Read full review
Jonathan W wrote a tip May 2024
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Pay a little more elsewhere if you can afford it ,we skimped as we just needed a simple room for the night, and the place was a shambles. "
Read full review
Neil H wrote a tip May 2024
Wrexham, United Kingdom7 contributions12 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Have a meal in the restaurant"
Read full review
Mcmcg13 wrote a tip Nov 2023
North Lanarkshire, United Kingdom17 contributions17 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Upper floor rooms very quiet "
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Watford area.
PRICE RANGE
£70 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
holiday inn express london-watford junction hotel watford, holiday inn express watford
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandHertfordshireWatford
NUMBER OF ROOMS
98
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HOLIDAY INN EXPRESS LONDON - WATFORD JUNCTION, AN IHG HOTEL - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about Holiday Inn Express London - Watford Junction, an IHG Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Holiday Inn Express London - Watford Junction, an IHG Hotel?
Nearby attractions include The White Lion (0.1 miles), Wellington Arms (0.3 miles), and B X Tailor & Alteration (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Holiday Inn Express London - Watford Junction, an IHG Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Holiday Inn Express London - Watford Junction, an IHG Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Holiday Inn Express London - Watford Junction, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, paid public parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Holiday Inn Express London - Watford Junction, an IHG Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Nana's, The Prince George, and Derwish Restaurant.
Is Holiday Inn Express London - Watford Junction, an IHG Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.9 miles away from the centre of Watford.
Are any cleaning services offered at Holiday Inn Express London - Watford Junction, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Holiday Inn Express London - Watford Junction, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Holiday Inn Express London - Watford Junction, an IHG Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Holiday Inn Express London - Watford Junction, an IHG Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Chinese, Polish, Romanian, Swedish, Norwegian, and Slovak.
Are there any historical sites close to Holiday Inn Express London - Watford Junction, an IHG Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting The Forties Experience (0.9 miles) and St James the Apostle Church (1.9 miles).
All Watford HotelsWatford Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in WatfordHotels near Holiday Inn Express London - Watford Junction, an IHG Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire