We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Royal Hotel and Bar

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Royal Hotel and Bar
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

39 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Royal Hotel and Bar
See the most recent reviews
Showing 39: English reviews
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 December 2016 via mobile

I went here recently with friends , in fact been in here three times since the re fit and it is such a nice place to chill out in. The staff are really nice and a very good choice of drinks. I haven't eaten here yet but when food is brought out it always looks lovely. Will eat here soon.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank slocker1
KimmyFitzRobinson, Owner at The Royal Hotel and Bar, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review, it's great to hear you enjoyed yourself and have been back several times, nice to have a regular! We look forward to welcoming you again.

Lake District
Reviewed 4 December 2016 via mobile

We were out xmas shopping and found ourselves at the top of town! It has been thoroughly renovated since I was last in and it's been done out really nice. Quite cool but just opened really. Food, as in platters, was really nice and you can pick and choose and share, which I like. Presented really nicely and good value...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Helvellyn2009
KimmyFitzRobinson, Owner at The Royal Hotel and Bar, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive comments. We are pleased you enjoyed your food, our bar and hospitality. Sorry about the cold WC, however we are happy to tell you that we are in the process of rectifying this and hopefully in the next week a radiator will be in place ready for your next visit. Take Care Kim and The...

Reviewed 29 November 2016 via mobile

First time I have visited since new owners took over- much improved decor, friendly staff & atmosphere and excellent food. The platter menu is a great idea, we chose a few items to share (we ordered far too much!) it came served beautifully and tasted great. (Duck pate/ red pepper hummus/ chips/ salad/ Wensleydale & cranberries/ roast ham with bread...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GayleGledhill
KimmyFitzRobinson, Owner at The Royal Hotel and Bar, responded to this review

Great review thank you Gayle, we look forward to welcoming you again. We are now serving pre-ordered Christmas party platters also.

Lancaster, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 November 2016

Daughter and I went here today as neither wanted much to eat and new management have taken over. Platters with extensive choice of items from about £2:50 - £6:50, bread, crackers, pitta breads, cheeses, pate, vegetables, sea food, and a fairly good selection of hot items - we didn't have anything hot other than chips. The mixed salad was in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Liz L
KimmyFitzRobinson, Owner at The Royal Hotel and Bar, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the trouble to review your visit to our bar. We are please that you found your visit positive and will do all we can to improve the speed of our service. Please visit again soon. Take Care Kim and the Robinson Family

Lancaster, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 November 2016

Fantastic, enthusiastic staff who served Tapas style food. Great quality grub at a decent price! Not a bad glass of wine either! Fairly quiet but it was early evening. New decor is clean and modern. Very close to centre of town.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jayho2016
KimmyFitzRobinson, Owner at The Royal Hotel and Bar, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we appreciate all comments and the time taken to do this. We hope to welcome you here again in the near future. Take Care The Robinson Family

Shildon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 November 2016 via mobile

The photos of the bedrooms and food are not up to date. The rooms have been refurbished very tastefully and the bar no longer serves tapas; instead, a variety of sharing platters which are very filling and beautifully presented. The staff are very friendly and accommodating. The hotel was very clean and tidy but still welcoming and homely. I understand...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Alison F
KimmyFitzRobinson, Owner at The Royal Hotel and Bar, responded to this review

Thank you for comments, we are so please you enjoyed our hotel and enjoyed your stay. Our family bought the hotel in August and after a massive refurbishment opened up in October. Unfortunately we have inherited many bad comments from the previous Tapas business but Tripadviser will not allow us to have them removed nor will they remove the old...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 October 2016 via mobile

Stayed two nights visiting my daughter at Uni. Just been fully renovated. Beautiful room. They do a continental breakfast now too not advertised and there is parking at £5 a night. Very central location. Quite a few stairs so not for the less mobile.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Debra C
KimmyFitzRobinson, Owner at The Royal Hotel and Bar, responded to this review

Thank you for your review it is much appreciated. We are now providing continental breakfast daily or a breakfast box to go, which we will be advertising after reading your comments. Again Thank you Regards The Robinson Family

Kenilworth, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 September 2016

We stayed here due to another hotel not honouring our booking.com booking. The hotel is under new management and has been totally redecorated. The bar area was still being refurbushed when we stayed but I believe it is due to be complete by end of September. Kim and colleagues checked us in and showed us to our room (number 6)....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jayne J
KimmyFitzRobinson, Owner at The Royal Hotel and Bar, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. Our refurbishment is now complete, the scaffolding down and we have now reopened. Next on our list will be the courtyard outside and the out building once the weather improves. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future. Take care Kim and The Robinson Family

torbay devon
Reviewed 18 August 2016

My wife and i booked a stay there last weekend. Turned up to find the bar and restaurant were closed for refurbishment!not told of this, prior to booking. New owners seem nice enough, but the rooms was very tired and not very clean.like to see the hotel after refurbishment

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bertybhoy
KimmyFitzRobinson, Owner at The Royal Hotel and Bar, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, and please except our apologies for the lack of information regarding our refurbishment. Our family bought the place in August and after initially honouring previous Latinos bookings, closed for a few weeks and reopened fully refurbished in October, no longer Latinos but The Royal Hotel and Bar. If you are ever visiting again and would...

28 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lancaster hotels
0.1 mi away
Toll House Inn
Toll House Inn
#3 of 7 in Lancaster
483 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal Kings Arms
Royal Kings Arms
#7 of 7 in Lancaster
305 reviews
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Lancaster
Holiday Inn Lancaster
#4 of 7 in Lancaster
970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Lancaster House
Lancaster House
#1 of 7 in Lancaster
1,263 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crows Hotel Lancaster
Crows Hotel Lancaster
#9 of 24 in Lancaster
104 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Borough Hotel
The Borough Hotel
#7 of 24 in Lancaster
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A very warm welcome to Lancaster's newly renovated 'Royal Hotel and Bar', a family run establishment in a great location at the heart of historic Lancaster, offering all the convenience of the city on your doorstep while enjoying the luxury of premium quality, cosy, comfortable rooms. Built before the turn of the previous century and stocked with only the finest selection of wines, spirits, beers and ales, as well as hosting regular music and events, this historical setting provides a touch of class with a modern take on a traditional bar. Travelling on business, visiting family, touring, or here for a night out, whatever your reason for visiting Lancaster The Royal Hotel & Bar is perfectly placed. Visit the castle and take in the sights, stroll along the canal enjoying the scenery, explore the many restaurants and bars or take in the vibrant night life .... whatever your choice at the Royal Hotel our guest only access allows you to come and go as you please. Book your stay now and meet the Robinson Family, let us know what you are all about and we will endeavour to help in any way we can. We always appreciate any feedback and will work hard to deliver the best service we can ... with a smile. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Royal Hotel and Bar

Address: Thurnham Street, Lancaster LA1 1YD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Lancaster
Price Range: £60 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Hotel and Bar 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your The Royal Hotel and Bar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Royal Hotel and Bar staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Bude, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Royal Hotel and Bar staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The larger slightly more expensive rooms are huge”
 of 5 bubbles WolvesinUSA, 15 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Whilst on a main road, we were not kept awake by any noise.”
 of 5 bubbles R9590DJlisas, 27 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Room 1, amazing room, best bed we have ever slept on!!!”
 of 5 bubbles 959natashas, 12 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask at hotel to reserve parking before paying to park elsewhere.”
 of 5 bubbles 961robc, 28 Dec 2016 | Read review
“we didn't use the hotel, only bar area, may be noisy as on busy central road”
 of 5 bubbles 591lizl, 25 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5