Premier Inn Lancaster Hotel
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Premier Inn Lancaster Hotel

Traveller (105)
Premier Inn bedroom
Room & Suite (57)
Premier Inn Lancaster hotel
Videos (1)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

£61
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.0
#3 of 6 hotels in Lancaster
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
In a super spot for your stay near the red rose city, the Premier Inn Hotel Lancaster makes it easy to shoot straight into the city or branch out to the coast and country. You'll have a huge variety of sights to see from the impressive Lancaster Castle and Ashton Memorial, to the seaside delights of Morecambe and the rugged beauty of the Lake District. And, if it's the right time of year, head for the famous Isle of Man TT races via the nearby ferry. Then after a busy day, rest up in our tasty on-site restaurant and drift off in our extra-comfy beds.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Restaurant
Highchairs available
24-hour security
Baggage storage
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Parking
Wifi
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Kids' meals
Non-smoking hotel
First aid kit
Room features
Blackout curtains
Desk
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Clothes rack
Private bathrooms
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Family
Languages Spoken
English
1,444Review18Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 682
  • 469
  • 169
  • 66
  • 58
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Robert I wrote a review Sept 2020
38 contributions4 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The hand sanitisers empty at reception. Fire doors wedged open. Creaking sagging bed. Awful toilet paper. Only one hand towel between two. Needed more hand sanitiser stations near the many door's that we passed through where handles were grabbed. Six doors between reception and room but no sanitiser stations
Food was quite average End result, could do better.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
David0ff82 wrote a review Jan 2020
Liverpool, United Kingdom1,337 contribution382 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Myself and my partner spent the night in Lancaster February 2019 after a couple of nights in Blackpool and before heading to Barley in Pendle to do the witches trail and wanted to come see Lancaster castle were the trial happened. As my partner was driving we chose this hotel which is just off the motor way as apposed to the centre as it included car parking! We arrived before check in but we were allowed to park the car and we spoke with a woman on the front desk who I had previously spoken to on the phone she was warm and welcoming and advised us what busses we could get to the centre, however we opted for a cab so as not to waste time and she phoned a cab for us. We didn’t wait long and in no time at all we arrived as near to the castle as we could get. After spending the day in town we arrived back at the hotel and checked in again greeted by warm welcoming staff and we got a room on the top floor as requested. Room was the usual good standard of Premier Inn with comfy bed and en-suite, clean and comfortable and we had a good nights sleep but not before we headed over to the Brewers Fayre pub across the way for a drink and bite to eat which was nice. Breakfast is served there of a morning but we decided to get breakfast from the McDonalds just down the road. Check out was easy and before leaving Lancaster we went to see the Aqueduct which is also just down the road. Would recommend this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2019
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
AJP444222 wrote a review Sept 2020
Walsall, United Kingdom83 contributions68 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed previously Good location with free parking Rooms are fairly basic but good enough. We were impressed to note that pillows, duvets and shower curtains removed between stays. Masks worn in public areas. Our room was quiet and warm , our daughters room was less quiet and quite cold, but overall, pretty good in the current climate.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Janice A wrote a review Feb 2020
London, United Kingdom74 contributions59 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Our room - 302- was super quiet . Perfect for us. Good sized bathroom with bath and shower ...water was lovely and hot.
Free parking but just a bit too far out of town to walk in when it’s raining ! Handy for the motorway.
We booked the breakfast and evening meal deal but found the evening meal service very slow on both nights. Breakfasts were fine.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Room 302 was really quiet.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
JediLofty1973 wrote a review Oct 2021
Paddock Wood, United Kingdom1 contribution1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
There was nobody on reception when we wanted to check in; took ages for someone to arrive, despite pressing the buzzer. I'd booked an accessible room for my elderly mother, who has COPD - the room was on the other side of the hotel, meaning a long walk... hardly "accessible"! The key cards kept failing, requiring reprogramming at least once per day. We were also told on check in that the rooms would not be cleaned while we were staying, yet we were not offered any reduction in the room rate. We'd stayed in this particular Premier Inn a couple of years before and had a very good experience - it's amazing how quickly things can go downhill!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: October 2021
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Whitbread Hotels and Restaurants, Other at Premier Inn Lancaster Hotel
Responded 7 Oct 2021
Hi, Thank you for your review. We’re very sorry that you had a disappointing stay with us recently due to your mother’s room location, the slow check-in and failing key cards, and the lack of room servicing throughout your stay. We can imagine this left you feeling let down and we do apologise for any upset this may have caused. We'd like to assure you we'll raise this with the Hotel Manager to see what improvements can be made going forward. We wouldn't want your experience to happen again so any necessary retraining will be implemented with the team. Thank you for taking the time to contact us and we hope we can welcome you for a more enjoyable stay in the future. Emma
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
MivUK wrote a review Feb 2020
Melbourn, United Kingdom53 contributions17 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We had a good sleep in a comfortable, clean en-suite room. It helped that the location was just off the motorway and that parking was free. The town centre was 5 minutes away by car and there was parking available. We parked for free. Breakfast was good value for money although they had run out of coffee beans...
Read more
Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Compass27874192595 wrote a review Jan 2021
Cumbria, United Kingdom2 contributions1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed here for one night ( would have been more but I moved hotels due to not feeling safe) due to work and never seen anything so bad . No rules followed by other guests , no masks , no social distance . From what I understand this hotel is ment to be open for key workers like myself and on my single stay i can safely say not one other guest appeared to b a worker just people looking to party and clearly on drink, drugs and travellers but no workers . It makes you wonder how they are getting away with flaunting the rules like this in an obvious desperate bid to stay open .

Now let's get to the poor staff who I feel have been made to risk their lives for this bid to stay open . In a single stay I saw some wonderful staff that were clearly scared of being there with such a lack of rules , they tried to explain about the rules to other guests such as wearing masks and social distance only to be hurled abuse or basically laughed at . I asked one lady if she was OK as she clearly was upset with the situation and she almost broke down in tears !! Theres no manager and from what I can gather hasn't been for some time , probably hiding nice and safe somewhere while the staff risk infection and abuse or worse for them and I can only offer my upmost sympathy for them .
In my opinion the company should be fined for basically helping people get round the lockdown rules in such a brazen manner and the staff should find jobs where they and there safety are actually cared about . I will not be returning here and definitely would not recommend . I did enjoy staying in premier inns but it has shown to me it puts making money before everything including the law and its own staff .
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Whitbread Hotels and Restaurants, Other at Premier Inn Lancaster Hotel
Responded 25 Jan 2021
Hello there, thanks for taking the time to share your review. Whilst we're happy you stayed with us, we're sorry to hear some of the guests weren't following the rules. We can imagine this left you feeling concerned and this certainly isn't how we want our guests to feel. We'd like to assure you we're closely following government advice and for the time being, we can only offer accommodation for those who need to stay for work, education and other legally permitted reasons. Whilst we can't control the actions of our guests, we're happy to hear the team member asked the guests in question to wear masks and maintain distancing. Just so you know, we've now passed your comments to the hotel management team to see what improvements can be made going forward. We wouldn't want standards like these to continue so this will be raised with the team to ensure any necessary retraining is arranged and the best service is being provided. We hope this doesn't make you think twice about returning so please have confidence this isn't our usual standard and your comments will be picked up. Thanks again for getting in touch and we hope to see you again soon. Ricky
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Alan wrote a review Sept 2021
London, United Kingdom80 contributions37 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
In many ways a typical Premier Inn. We stayed in one of the standard rooms (so not Premier plus). Whilst it hasn't got as many facilities as other hotels, what it does have works and is clean. We did find the tea tray a bit mean, with only a couple of tea bags and milk pots, but reception were happy to gives us more when asked.

Its a little bit out of town (probably about 45 mins into the centre walking), but during the day theres a quite nice path that runs parallel to the river and passes the Lune aqueduct.

We thought the Brewers Fayre was fairly decent, both for the meal we had when we arrived and the two breakfasts we had there.

OK, so the reason why it only gets 2/5 is the temperature of the rooms. We stayed mid Sept and whilst it was mild for the time of year it wasn't by any stretch hot. Yet the rooms themselves were stifling. By putting the fan on full blast and opening the windows as far as the restricted opening would allow (all of 3 inches) we just about, by the end of two days, got it to a comfortable but still on the warm side temperature. Even then we slept on top of the duvet both nights. I dread to think what it would be like in the middle of summer.

I really think Premier Inns need to give more consideration to the design of their hotels, as I always find their rooms to be on the warm if not hot side. Having many rooms running off every corridor with no windows in the corridor and windows only opening a few inches in the room itself means ventilation is very poor and pretty much guarantees a a stifling, airless room.

After this last experience we will no longer consider using a non air condtioned Premier Inn (which is most of them) from April to September.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Whitbread Hotels and Restaurants, Other at Premier Inn Lancaster Hotel
Responded 28 Sept 2021
Hi, Thank you for your review. We’re very sorry that you had a disappointing stay with us recently due to the hot temperature of your room which caused an uncomfortable sleep. This certainly isn't the experience we would expect for you. Sadly, not all of our hotels include air conditioning. In hotels which don't, our teams do try to make rooms more comfortable by providing fans and thinner sheets. We apologise if this did not help during your stay. If air conditioning is important when staying with us, we would suggest looking out for air conditioning as a listed facility on the hotel's page on our website before booking. We’ve ensured this feedback has been logged to the Hotel Management team so that they can look into these issues with the team to try and prevent this experience from being repeated again in the future. Thank you for taking the time to contact us and we hope we can welcome you for a more enjoyable stay in the future. Kind regards, James
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
travellingman2150 wrote a review Feb 2023
South Shields, United Kingdom85 contributions107 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at the Lancaster Premier Inn on our way to join a cruise from Liverpool. We had a comfortable night's sleep in a quiet room next to a busy main road but the soundproofing was outstanding it was only when we opened the window in the morning we realised how good it was.All the staff were friendly and efficient and resolved a problem with the heating in minutes. We also took the meal deal for dinner and breakfast at the attached Brewers Fayre and it exceeded all expectations and staff were outstanding.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Michael023 wrote a review Jan 2023
Northumberland, United Kingdom18 contributions21 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Great hotel, dreadful restaurant
As a regular user of Premier Inns, we knew what we should expect, and as on this occasion we had to travel for a family necessity, we selected a Premier Inn, approximately mid way on our journey. We chose a Premier plus room, which was excellent, and, as many times before, a meal deal, evening meal and breakfast.
Arriving at the restaurant we were shown to a table and after reading the menu, and choosing our courses, I went to the bar to order the food and inclusive drink. One of the starters was unavailable, but, that can happen, so an alternative was selected.
Returned to the table and overheard neighbouring tables commenting and complaining about delays and incorrect orders.
Expecting the worst, we were pleasantly surprised when our starters arrived quite quickly. It was then that we realised that we still didn't have our drinks, and, returning to the bar it was obvious these had been forgotten. The starters were pretty bland, no attempt at even the slightest bit of presentation, but were just about acceptable.
Having finished, the empty plates sat for over 15 minutes on the table. Staff came and went to adjacent tables multiple times and some couldn't possibly have not seen the plates, but not one made any effort to take our plates, even when clearing other tables.
Finally, the mains came, and only then were the empty starter plates taken by the server.
Then came the repeat performance, as the empty mains plates sat for probably 20 minutes, with the same staff passing multiple times and completely ignoring them.
The food quality was as expected, and we decided to have desserts, which could be added on the meal deal for a nominal sum.
Having by now spent almost 2 hours in the restaurant, we were keen to leave and went to the bar to settle up for the extras.
The bill was wrong, and we had to point this out.
During the evening, at various times, we had seen some of the staff congregating around one of the restaurant tables, clearly on their break. We understand that staff are entitled to breaks, my wife works in hospitality, but having a noisy break in a public area, whilst customers are waiting to be served, does not really present good customer service
On leaving the restaurant we looked across at the other areas and realised that the restaurant wasn't actually that busy, so the delays were really a bit of a mystery. It's possible that there were reasons for the poor service, but no effort was made to explain that to us, or apologise, and there wasn't even the usual bland "Is everything alright with your meals" question to relieve the boredom.
I would guess, given the location, that many of guests are transit, unlikely to make regular return visits, so perhaps the staff feel there's no need to encourage return visits.
We're unlikely to come back, this is probably the worst service we have had in a restaurant for many years.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: If you're in a hurry, don't eat here
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Answer from John H
5 contributions
There is more than adequate parking for over 300 vehicles
Lynn G asked a question May 2021
Washington, United Kingdom244 contributions82 helpful votes
Gluten free food available?
SvS asked a question Aug 2020
Dubai, United Arab Emirates6 contributions
I will be travelling to UK from UAE. Will I be able to self isolate at your hotel?
Answer from nottinghampaul
nottingham136 contributions101 helpful votes
Yes. That was no problem for me. Be sure to bring a face mask.
WBAhorn asked a question Jan 2020
United Kingdom37 contributions14 helpful votes
Is there a bus from hotel into Lancaster Town? Thanks
Answer from ianTenerife
Grantham, United Kingdom311 contributions172 helpful votes
Better still walk along canal, very nice stroll and get a taxi, in your own time, back to hotel. Cost very reasonable..
DottyDurham wrote a tip 19 May
Durham43 contributions11 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Only Brewers Fayre for breakfast"
Read full review
Tallamou wrote a tip 9 May
8 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"EV charging at BP pulse, about a 5 min drive away but you can’t stay longer than an hour, so no option to charge overnight.."
Read full review
Hamish42 wrote a tip Mar 2024
London, United Kingdom518 contributions322 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Do not eat in the nearby Brewers Fayre."
Read full review
Amy F wrote a tip Feb 2024
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Check out the castle!"
Read full review
glenis booth wrote a tip Jan 2024
York, United Kingdom1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Bus stop just outside"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Lancaster area.
PRICE RANGE
£63 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
premier inn lancaster hotel lancaster, lancaster premier inn
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandLancashireLancaster DistrictLancaster
NUMBER OF ROOMS
85
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

PREMIER INN LANCASTER HOTEL - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about Premier Inn Lancaster Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Premier Inn Lancaster Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Black Axe Throwing Co Lancaster (1.6 miles), Lancaster Castle (1.8 miles), and Eric Morecambe Statue (3.7 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Premier Inn Lancaster Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an on-site restaurant, free parking, and breakfast buffet.
Which room amenities are available at Premier Inn Lancaster Hotel?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, blackout curtains, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Premier Inn Lancaster Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, breakfast, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at Premier Inn Lancaster Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Premier Inn Lancaster Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include All Hopes No Promises, Quite Simply French, and The Brasserie.
Are there any historical sites close to Premier Inn Lancaster Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Lancaster Castle (1.8 miles), Lancaster Town Hall (1.8 miles), and Roman Bath House and Wery Wall Remains (1.7 miles).
Is Premier Inn Lancaster Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Lancaster HotelsLancaster Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in LancasterHotels near Premier Inn Lancaster Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire