Premier Inn Doncaster Central
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Premier Inn Doncaster Central

Traveller (246)
Room & Suite (148)
Barley Twist Restaurant And Bar at the Premier Inn Doncaster Central (High Fishergate) Hotel
Dining (34)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.5
#4 of 24 hotels in Doncaster
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Whether you're seeing live events at The Dome, watching the races at Doncaster Racecourse or bargain-hunting down at Doncaster Market, our Premier Inn Doncaster Central (High Fishergate) hotel is the perfect base for days out in Doncaster. Short breaks in Yorkshire wouldn't be complete without exploring the beautiful countryside, so why not visit picturesque spots like Cusworth Hall Museum & Park and Yorkshire Wildlife Park? In the evenings, head back to our Table Table restaurant for a tasty meal with us before relaxing on a super-comfy bed.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Taxi service
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Parking
Wifi
Paid internet
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Room features
Blackout curtains
Desk
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Modern
Languages Spoken
English

Location

High Fishergate, Doncaster DN1 1QZ England
1,336Review25Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 818
  • 312
  • 123
  • 37
  • 46
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
mumtaz1143 wrote a review Sept 2022
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom3 contributions1 helpful vote
Hotel's Favourite
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Best service ever great team keep extending my stay as I don’t want to leave I’m really happy to stay here Cheryl made the stay great helping with issues great clean rooms thank you to all the team I don’t want to leave i please miss Cheryl great friend to talk to
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
David H wrote a review Jul 2021
Wirral, United Kingdom4 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I’ve recently stayed at the Doncaster Central High Fishergate Premier Inn for the second time and I’d definitely return again. The location is ideal for the centre with it’s many pubs, bars and restaurants also the Frenchgate Shopping Centre. It’s also just around the corner from the bus and train stations.
If you’re visiting by car as I did, it’s within easy access of the main roads and motorway. There is no on site parking, but there is a car park just a few minutes walk away in Grey Friars Road and it’s priced at a reasonable £4 for 24 hours.
On the ground floor of The Premier Inn, there is a receptions where we were greeted by a friendly face and check-in was hassle free.
There’s also Table Table restaurant which can be accessed via the reception or from the other side of the building.
We ate at Table Table for both of the nights we stayed, the meals were fantastic, the staff were friendly and provided us with great service. The drinks were a little expensive in comparison to some of the surrounding pubs (as you’d expect) but we only had one or two with our meals so it didn’t make much of a difference. I would definitely recommend to anyone!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
william6607 wrote a review Feb 2020
Maryport, United Kingdom131 contributions63 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
One night visit, room very nice 3rd floor with almost full wall window, flat screen tv, bathroom with bath and shower, very clean, restaurant on ground floor, food was good with friendly staff. Hotel is very handy for town.
Car parking is on a pay and display car park very close to the hotel and if you park after 14:00 it cost £5:20 overnight until 08:00 the next day.

Would stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: go high, great view.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Barry C wrote a review Sept 2022
Perth2 contributions1 helpful vote
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We were at this hotel for 15 nights. Staff were great however the poor ergonomic design of the rooms meant that there was not enough storage space. Following our stay we ten moved on to the Hub Premier Inn Kings Cross great service and the ergonomic design of the room outshone the Premier Inn brand name hotel. Lots of draw space, well thought out wardrobe for long dresses and an higher rail for shirts and jackets. Also other features made this one night stay so much more than the Premier Inn branded hotel, for example shower and face wash dispenser better, TV easier to use and navigate, lighting controls from a central point.
We have now just arrived at Premier Inn Kingston upon Thames in a premium room where we will stay for three nights for a wedding. Once again storage space facilities are poor. The room has lots of space that is either poorly utilised or filled with items that are more like eye candy than ergonomic use of space. It was great to have a fridge in the premium room but it was damaged so we were unable to use the door shelving space as things kept falling off when you open the door. After making a complaint the best we got is a note has been made and maintained everything will look at it tomorrow. Not good enough, this would have been reported before or noted by staff when checking rooms and as such should have been repaired.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Not sure I can
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
natf148 wrote a review Jul 2023
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom240 contributions90 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We recently stayed at High Fishergate after going to a gig in Leeds, as even with train travel from Doncaster to Leeds it was a lot cheaper than staying in Leeds.

We arrived here at around 13:00hrs, check in is available from 15:00 but if you would like to pay £10 you can get an early check in or they are happy for you to leave your bags if you don't need a room straight away. We opted for this as we happy enough to head straight to Leeds. This was an easy process and you are given a ticket for you bags to claim them when you do check in.

The hotel is a short walk from the station so it makes an ideal base if you are wanting to travel.

We finally arrived back to check in at just after midnight and the man working on reception was very friendly and helpful.

The room was nothing remarkable but it was clean, with plenty of plug sockets. The bed was very comfy and as usual with Premier Inn there was a choice of soft or firm pillows.

Again the bathroom was clean and not a bad size, we had a bath which came with a shower curtain but as the bath is quite narrow it ended up sticking to you as you tried to shower. The shower was also very temperamental and would not keep pressure or stay at a consistent temperature.

The hotel we found to be in a fairly quiet location, but there did seem to be a lot of banging doors in the corridor we were in.

We parked at the Frenchgate multistorey which can be used by Premier Inn visitors for a discounted rate. If you let reception know you have parked here they will give you instructions on to get this.

All the staff we came across on reception were really nice and had a fab attitude.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ibleedred wrote a review Sept 2020
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom21 contributions19 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Clean, modern hotel with helpful, friendly staff.
The gorgeous moment when I got into bed with cool, crisp, fresh sheets was worth the price alone. Excellent central location. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
LK_MBE wrote a review Mar 2020
Colchester, United Kingdom1,266 contribution228 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I have stayed in a lot of Premier Inns lately and I don't think any of them can match this one for freindlyness. From Reception to Restaurant, they were all really lovely people and made me feel very welcome. A special mention to the restaurant staff who were super friendly and helpful.
The food was very well cooked and lots of choice
My room 423 was spotlessly clean, extra care had been taken, I was particularly impressed with the gleaming chrome and mirrors in the bathroom.
The road was noisy, but this was only up until 11pm and I bought a set of earplugs, to solve the problem, but to be fair, I was warned, but I needed a walk-in shower. Bed very comfortable.
Thank you very much Doncaster Premier Inn.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Don Castelow wrote a review Sept 2021
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom11 contributions5 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I booked a twin room well in advance but when we arrived and booked in we were informed that the room was a double. But the receptionist who was working on her own assured us that when she finished on the desk she wold make up the extra bed. Later on as we returned to our room not only was the extra bed not made up but no extra bedding was left either. My former army colleague had to sleep with minimal bedding and request it again for the next nights stay.

I requested a disabled room on booking but never got one, I also requested a room at the rear of the hotel as the traffic noise is disturbing throughout the night. We got a rear of the hotel but next to the lift. Everytime the lift was used we were woken up.
On our return to the hotel on Saturday evening one of our colleagues was sat in the hotel foyer because the receptionist wouldn't let him in because his name was different from the booking name. I had to walk 10 minutes each wat to inform the other chap. I'm flipping disabled and it was dark and I was in unfamiliar surroundings. It would of only took a phone call to that booking number.

ABYSMAL
ABYSMAL
ABYSMAL
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Whitbread Hotels and Restaurants, Other at Premier Inn Doncaster Central
Responded 1 Oct 2021
Hi, Thank you for your review. We’re very sorry that you had a disappointing stay with us recently due to issues with your room not being set up correctly. This certainly isn't the experience we would expect for you. We’ve ensured this feedback has been logged to the Hotel Management team so that they can look into these issues with the team to prevent this experience from being repeated again in the future. Thank you for taking the time to contact us and we hope we can welcome you for a more enjoyable stay in the future. Kind regards, James
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Callum P wrote a review Jan 2023
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom36 contributions2 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here to celebrate a friend's birthday party that was being held in the city centre. We arrived just after 3pm and checked ourselves in on the self-service machine and was given room 329. An attentive and enthusiastic receptionist greeted us and asked if we needed any assistance also. We headed up to the room and despite this particular Premier Inn not benefitting from their current refurbishment programme with upgraded rooms and decor etc, it was very well maintained and clean and tidy. Room 329 was large, with high ceilings but admittedly needed better lighting as the one fluorescent light in the middle of the room, coupled with two downlighters above the bed and chair, a desk lamp and two lights by the vanity mirror were not sufficient enough to brighten the room on a dull day. Despite that, the room was clean and tidy, well maintained and was acceptable. However, the room was positioned at the front of the hotel and despite being double glazed, let loads of noise from the dual carriageway in and from the minster bells too. We also found that the curtains when closed couldn't be opened again as one side become stuck on the rail, leading to one curtain closed and the other open! With this in mind, we decided to ask for a room change as I am a light sleeper and the small issue with the curtains.

I went down to reception and asked if we could be moved and the receptionist was able to move us to room 528, overlooking an interior courtyard at the back of the hotel. This was much better and a lot quieter, and benefitted from a sofa bed to put our bags on which the other room hadn't. Although the window still un-benefitted from the same curtain problem, to the point the curtain rail fell down (this was managed to be clipped back into place)! We slept incredibly well, the bed was so comfortable and we was able to have the heat on the aircon all night which kept the room at a good temperature.

Next morning we went down to the restaurant and had breakfast. A lovely Scottish lady greeted us and told us we could sit anywhere. We ate really well and everything was replenished quickly. The only downside was that the breakfast area was absolutely freezing! The staff definitely know this is a problem, as there was many oil filled radiators around us which we moved next to our table to try and keep us warm. This needs seeing to as soon as possible as what has been put in place is not sufficient enough to heat such a large room! This did not have a huge impact on breakfast but was noticed.

All in all, we would stay again, but request a room that does not overlook the road and minster to get a good nights sleep!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: For a better nights sleep, request a room that does not overlook the dual carriageway and Minster!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Laura B wrote a review Oct 2022
Birmingham, United Kingdom3 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My extended family and I (two families with three children us three older relatives) had a stopover at this hotel on the way home from a holiday in Northumberland. Cheryl on reception was brilliant and really helpful (even offering our tired kids glow sticks and other treats, which they loved). The rooms were spotless, breakfast was delicious and we had brilliant service from Bernie and Tiff, constantly replenishing everything with a big smile. Fantastic stay and lovely location right next to the Cathedral and Wool Market with brilliant Street food and entertainment. Couldn't have asked for more!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Answer from Business-traveller
6 contributions1 helpful vote
No laundry facilities at the hotel, possibly an ironing board on request. There is said to be a laundrette just half a mile away, a two minute drive.
Safari39875081826 asked a question Jan 2022
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Does it have car parking facilities
Answer from Angela N
8 contributions
If you park in high Fishergate you will get discounted parking from the hotel
Gregg S asked a question Nov 2021
Haxby, United Kingdom7 contributions
What time is brakfast from / till on Sunday's? please!
Answer from Andy C
3 contributions1 helpful vote
We didn't eat at the hotel so can't help I'm afraid. Better contact them direct.
David E wrote a tip Mar 2024
Bridlington, United Kingdom16 contributions9 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Pay and Display Car park opposite hotel and bang in the town centre."
Read full review
Stephen O'Neill wrote a tip Feb 2024
19 contributions5 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"If you arrive by train, go through the town, not the bus station."
Read full review
Stanley Spanner wrote a tip Jan 2024
Northampton, United Kingdom4 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Lots of cheap parking just across front the hotel - free from 1800 - 0800. I parked from 1700 to 0900 for an additional £3."
Read full review
Robert P wrote a tip Nov 2023
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom8 contributions18 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Avoid at all cost"
Read full review
Richard S wrote a tip Jul 2023
Sunderland, United Kingdom94 contributions26 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Better checking in. Better attitude and more staff at meal times but I do understand staff are harder to come by at the moment in the hospitality sector."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Doncaster area.
PRICE RANGE
£42 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
premier inn doncaster central (high fishergate) hotel doncaster
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandYorkshireSouth YorkshireDoncaster
NUMBER OF ROOMS
138
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

PREMIER INN DONCASTER CENTRAL - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about Premier Inn Doncaster Central
Which popular attractions are close to Premier Inn Doncaster Central?
Nearby attractions include Reptile Rendezvous & Furry Friends (0.2 miles), Doncaster Brewery & Tap (0.3 miles), and Bake Battle and Roll (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Premier Inn Doncaster Central?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Premier Inn Doncaster Central?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, blackout curtains, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Premier Inn Doncaster Central?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Premier Inn Doncaster Central?
Yes, paid public parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Premier Inn Doncaster Central?
Conveniently located restaurants include La Boca Steakhouse, La Rustica Restaurant, and Hoi Choi.
Is Premier Inn Doncaster Central located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.3 miles away from the centre of Doncaster.
Are there any historical sites close to Premier Inn Doncaster Central?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Brodsworth Hall and Gardens (4.8 miles), Cusworth Hall and Park (2.0 miles), and Minster Church of Saint George, Doncaster (0.08 miles).
Is Premier Inn Doncaster Central accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Doncaster HotelsDoncaster Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in DoncasterHotels near Premier Inn Doncaster Central
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire