Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Holiday Inn Doncaster A1 (M), JCT.36, an IHG Hotel

Traveller (139)
Room & Suite (73)
Dining (24)

View prices for your travel dates

Save more with IHG One Rewards
£67
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.0
#13 of 23 hotels in Doncaster
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
A modern hotel with open lobby and 300-year-old manor house in landscaped gardens in the quiet village of Warmsworth, three miles from Doncaster centre. The Holiday Inn® Doncaster A1 (M) Jct.36 hotel is close to the A1 (M) and M18 motorways and has ample free parking. It's a 10-minute drive to Doncaster Train Station. Doncaster Racecourse and the Yorkshire Wildlife Park are both close by. The 300-year-old manor house in the landscaped garden is a grand venue for meetings. Host conferences and banqueting events for up to 280 guests. In the hotel's modern meeting rooms Wi-Fi is free and audiovisual equipment and catering options are available. Lunch and dinner options are available in the open lobby. The hotel's 102 bedrooms all feature free Wi-Fi and workspaces so you can surf the Internet or catch up on work, relax and watch TV. A pillow menu all help to make this Doncaster hotel a Yorkshire home from home.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Baggage storage
Parking
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Sun terrace
First aid kit
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Desk
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Room service
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Family
Languages Spoken
English, French, Ukrainian
Hotel links
Special Offer:Book Direct & Save with IHG One Rewards

Location

High Road Warmsworth, Doncaster DN4 9UX England
831Reviews14Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 355
  • 250
  • 141
  • 50
  • 35
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Emsandsuz wrote a review Jun 2023
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom56 contributions15 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
Stayed at this hotel for one night on a Caledonian trip, the room was very clean and the food was very good buffet for evening meal
and breakfast

The staff were friendly and very helpful and nothing was too much trouble would definitely return here again and recommend
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
phil S wrote a review Jan 2020
Leeds, United Kingdom232 contributions119 helpful votes
+1
most aspects of the hotel are good but don't quite reach the very good standards. the staff are the key asset, found all of them to be polite, friendly & helpful. we had some lunch over our meeting & it was fine - simple sandwiches, which were nicely presented & quite tasty. there is a gym, short walk towards the annex area, smallish, with 2 or 3 bits of each equipment type. the main issue was one of general condition of the fixtures & fittings...they are all generally in need of a refresh. slightly worn at the edges & need of some TLC or replacing. this was reflected in the lobby bar area but mainly in the bedroom - which was a v good size & bright & airy but the bathroom was one of those old molded plastic basins types (a 'beigey' pink colour), the shower was also a dated style & mechanism . the bedroom furniture was dated & of an older style, there was one plug socket on the desk...so either have the light on or plug in your laptop but not both! there is nothing fundamentally bad here just that other HInn's have upped their game & this one is getting left behind !!!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from IHGService, General Manager at Holiday Inn Doncaster A1 (M), JCT.36, an IHG Hotel
Responded 17 Jan 2020
Hello phil S, Welcome back. Thank you for your loyalty and taking the time to share your insights. It is great to know that you found the property very convenient for your stay and the staff to be welcoming and efficiently helped you during your stay. We appreciate your honest feedback about the condition of the property and its need for maintenance and an upgrade. Hotel Management and our maintenance team has been notified of your concerns and are working diligently to ensure that we provide an elevated stay experience once you do come back. We are determined to deliver a combined sense of comfort and happiness with touches of real wonder and delight in your next stay. At the end of the day, it is the smile that we see in our guests and the joy that you share of your stay that we always look forward to. Looking forward to your visit in the future. Hector P Case Manager IHGService
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Gina S wrote a review Jul 2020
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom38 contributions30 helpful votes
Had a 2 night stay here and have really enjoyed it. Shame that all meals were served to the room due to coronavirus. As we didn’t want to spend the whole of our stay cooped up in our room we opted to eat out. The room 207 was well equipped and clean. Tea and coffee making facilities provided. There was no fridge in the room but as I had medication which had to be kept cool the staff kindly had a fridge brought up right away. I can’t praise the staff enough and they all went out of their way to make us welcome and comfortable. There is an indoor pool but unfortunately this, along with the other communal facilities were not available during our stay. The grounds are beautiful and very quiet and peaceful. I would recommend this hotel and would definitely stay there again. Thank you to Alex and the other staff.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
Value
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ade wrote a review Aug 2022
Ipswich, United Kingdom411 contributions85 helpful votes
First time to Doncaster and, as a long standing Priority Club member, was looking forward to notching up a stay at another IHG-branded hotel. I rang a couple of days beforehand to ensure everything was okay with the booking and told room would be guaranteed to be ready by 2pm. I was kindly also provided with an upgrade.

Friendly welcome by the receptionist and upgrade confirmed. Unfortunately the room was not ready and my wife and I had to wait in reception for 20+ minutes, although were provided with coffees, which was greatly appreciated. During that time we watched a wedding party going backwards and forwards past us to have photos taken, get more drink etc.

When the room was ready, we were advised that it was in the annexe, which was much quieter there. With bags in hand we went to the annexe. As soon as we walked into the underwhelming entrance we were greeted by stenchy and dirty looking carpets that lined the way and the staircases to our right. We opened our room door on the ground floor hoping to escape the smell, only to be greeted by a more pungent one. Tried opening the window to let the room breathe, but for H&S reasons this only allowed a few inches of fresh air to come in. The room had clearly been cleaned in a hurry, with one glass in the bathroom being face down (as expected) and the other still face up - the toothpaste dripping down the side wasn't the best sight.

Having a function elsewhere we left the hotel by 3pm, returning at about 10pm. A party was still in full swing somewhere close by and my wife was kept awake until after 2am by people shouting and a full-blown fight right outside our window.

We checked out at 11am the following morning and were greeted by lots of empty beer and wine bottles, as well as glasses in the annexe foyer, outside in its courtyard and all along the road/grass leading to the car park. To make matters worse, the car park had even more bottles and lots of glass, where the party obviously got a bit too raucous. Given it was 11am and the party was clearly held at the Holiday Inn, it could have been something that was predicted and sorted by a member of staff early on the Sunday, perhaps?

All in all, sorry to say not the best experience ever at an IHG hotel. I am happy to discuss with management if they would like to reach out to help improve future customer experiences.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn Doncaster A1 (M), JCT.36, an IHG Hotel
Responded 27 Aug 2022
Hello ade2174, Thanks for sharing feedback about your stay with us. We're committed to providing you with the best overall experience. However, I am sorry for what happened during your stay. Your review was made known to the team, and I'm confident improvements will be made to deliver complete guest satisfaction. Despite the setbacks mentioned in your review, I hope you find your way back to us should your travels bring you again to the area for a chance to make your stay better than the last. Best, Ronald R. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Chris D wrote a review Oct 2021
32 contributions53 helpful votes
On arrival the reception staff were great, very friendly and welcoming, I just wish this translated into the restaurant staff who do not even acknowledge guests.

They are also dressed in normal clothes so I initially assumed they are another hotel guest. Jeans and tops with big brands on, not exactly what you would expect. Equally just stood around gossiping very loudly.

The room was clean but very poorly maintained, door handles falling off, windows inaccessible and broken, light bulbs not working, air conditioning module with error codes. A free standing fridge just unplugged and dumped in the room.

The worst part of my stay was the fact they have flood lights outside my room and the curtains that do not block the light, meaning trying to sleep in near daylight.

I've stayed in dozens of holiday Inn hotels over the years, this one is now on my list of one's to avoid and definitely not keeping up with the holiday Inn brand.

Please train your staff and sort your maintenance out.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Alex Stegaru, Other at Holiday Inn Doncaster A1 (M), JCT.36, an IHG Hotel
Responded 16 Oct 2021
Dear chrisdW9168IP, Thank you for your recent visit and for sharing your feed back. Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience experienced. We take feed back very serious and are continuously working on improving all of our services through out the hotel. We do hope we will have the chance to serve you again in the future. Alex Stegaru Operations Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Pink wrote a review Sept 2022
Doncaster, United Kingdom731 contributions589 helpful votes
+1
Husband and I returned after we married in the adjacent Warmsworth Hall 15 years ago. This place will always be special to us.

We'd hoped for a little spa break but unfortunately we were advised the pool and health club is currently closed for an unforeseen amount of time at the last minute which was rather disappointing. There was no notification of this on the IHG website and we may have reconsidered had I known at the time of booking as we'd hoped for a relaxed afternoon of swimming, sauna and steaming.

Still, we proceeded anyway as it was late notice for us and we glad to have been allocated a room in the annexe (we emailed beforehand to request this) as this is a little quieter - a pre emptive measure we always take here just in case there's an event in the main hotel.

The rooms have thankfully been given a long overdue refurbishment and now display a rather featureless white, grey and green colour scheme which looks more refreshed at least. The bathrooms are newly fitted and tiled and our room on the second floor had a large walk in shower.
The lift in the annexe was out of order.

We did book breakfast on arrival which was £10 & a bit of a bargain considering what's on offer. There were pastries, breads, cereals, fruit, yogurt, cheese, meats, traditional cooked English breakfast items, juices & tea and coffee on offer. Definitely filled us up for the day & everything tasted fresh and was well cooked.

On checkout the receptionist kindly acknowledged it was our wedding anniversary and gave us breakfast on the house which was a lovely gesture.

Overall a lovely stay only hindered by the closure of the leisure facilities.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Annexe rooms are quieter if there's an event in the main hotel. May be a little noisier of...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
steven C wrote a review Aug 2021
2 contributions
+1
(I would have given a zero rating but 1 is as low as possible) I was booked into this hotel as part of. group booking from work, to say the staff were unhelpful would be an understatement. a double room was booked but I was put into what they call a 'comfy double' which I was told (by the receptionist) was used for single occupancy only in my opinion that makes it a single, if the staff know that only 1 person fits in the room its a single no mater what semantics they try using. the bathroom was small but adequate. however my biggest complaint was the cleanliness of the room or lack thereof, as we are currently in a pandemic where cleanliness is of utmost importance I would expect the rooms to be extra clean on arrival, the room I was given was anything but. there was dust on the light switch, plug sockets, table lamp, mirrors, etc only the tv didn't have dust on it. at a time when a persons breath could kill i would expect a lot higher standard of cleanliness.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: do not stay here, book a different hotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn Doncaster A1 (M), JCT.36, an IHG Hotel
Responded 23 Nov 2021
Dear I794AQstevec, I appreciate you for sharing your review about your recent stay. I am very sorry that you did not experience an exemplary hotel stay because of the level of service you have received. On behalf of our hotel, I apologize for the cleanliness and comfort of our room. This is not what we want any of our guests to experience. I have sent you a private message to reaffirm my apologies. I very much hope that you will grant us the opportunity to prove ourselves again. Best Regards, Ben W. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
BexM82 wrote a review May 2022
5 contributions1 helpful vote
Whilst the team here are pleasant and helpful, I am sure they spend a great deal of time fielding constructive feedback!
On a positive note, we weren’t pleased with the location of our first allocated room (right next to the entrance lobby and reception desk), but we were moved quickly and politely on request.
The hotel itself looks very dated on the outside, and on approach we were quite concerned.
The reception lobby is nice and spacious, with good decor so that eased our minds a little! We got a nice welcome and check in was quick.
When we got to our second room, we noted that the furniture was very dated, and the bathroom facilities were not the most welcoming.
We could tell that great effort had been put in to keeping the room clean (kudos to the housekeeping team!) but the atmosphere of the room in general didn’t feel very welcoming.
One particular area of concern was the shower curtain. It was badly stained and clearly very old (didn’t look like it could be easily washed, either) so it made for a very uncomfortable shower…
The hotel needs desperate investment - it could be much nicer with some commitment from the owner/management company.
The building certainly does not live up to Holiday Inn standards, unfortunately.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn Doncaster A1 (M), JCT.36, an IHG Hotel
Responded 15 Jun 2022
Hi BexM82, Thank you for your patronage and visit to Holiday Inn Doncaster A1. Our hotel provides a place to relax in an environment for all the family. I read your message and am sorry for the issues during your stay. I understand your concerns about this matter. I shared your review with our local area managers, and took the necessary measures to avoid this from happening. I invited you to visit us on your next trip so you can enjoy a quality stay. Regards, Oscar C. Case Manager IHG Service
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
europtraveller wrote a review Jan 2020
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom160 contributions94 helpful votes
We stopped here overnight to break a journey from London to our home in the north-east. The hotel is just off the A1 but well sheltered and surprisingly quiet. The room is well appointed with all mod cons, and, other than the absence of a lift (we were offered a ground floor room if it would be a problem) we could not see why it was only 3* - we have stayed in worse 4* hotels. Breakfast was excellent, car parking is convenient and just outside the hotel, and staff were helpful and efficient. We didn’t use the restaurant but Doncaster town centre is only 10 minutes’ drive away.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: If stairs a problem ask for a ground floor room
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
SMS wrote a review Feb 2020
2 contributions
Booked in to stay on Friday 21 Feb with my girlfriend. Room 221 was tiny! The furniture (Bessie cabinet) was old and broken. Telephone was old and not plugged in - I had to crawl on the floor to find the cable and plug it it. The bed (allegedly astandard double) was so small it looked like a single. Bed was right against the wall and the whole thing was just claustrophobic and awful.
Restaurant was not available due to renovation. I had been made aware of this prior to arriving. No rooms available to move us into. Asked for a refund and the receptionist agreed which was the only good thing about that visit. Moved to the nearby Holiday inn express where standard double rooms are large and half the price I paid for the junction 36 holiday inn.
I will not be booking Holiday inn junction 36 again. It is a real shame as the hotel looks lovely with large green areas and a health club but inside it is very dated and rooms are extremely small. Not worth the money they charge. Avoid disappointment and book elsewhere.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from HI_Doncaster_Jct36, Operations Manager at Holiday Inn Doncaster A1 (M), JCT.36, an IHG Hotel
Responded 25 Feb 2020
Dear Simon M, First of all, let me take this opportunity to thank you for your feed-back and to apologize for the inconveniences experienced. I will personally look into the issues that you have kindly brought to our attention and take all necessary steps to avoid such comments. I am happy to see that you have mentioned that our refurbishment is on going and our staff is doing everything they can to keep all of our guests informed and happy. Once completed, our hotel will have a lovely and new modern feel. I am also happy that the reception team made it right for you and I do hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future. Best Regards, Alex Stegaru Operations Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Stuart N asked a question Oct 2022
March, United Kingdom8 contributions
Is there a gym that I can use whilst staying at the hotel?
Answer from Emma W
Hi, the hotel doesn't have a gym at present.
Show all answers
Amy O asked a question Aug 2022
Ashton in Makerfield, United Kingdom2 contributions
Hi, I have been told the swimming pool is no longer in use, do you know if this is likely to reopen this year?
Answer from Emma W
Hi, the swimming pool remains closed with no plans to re-open.
Answer from Emma W
Hi, the swimming pool remains closed with no plans to re-open.
marknewson asked a question Feb 2020
Doncaster38 contributions65 helpful votes
When will the refurbished bar and restaurant be open
Answer from MK13AL
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom269 contributions166 helpful votes
Not sure. When we were there two weeks ago it looked at an early stage.
luxurythekey asked a question Aug 2017
Lincoln, United Kingdom101 contributions61 helpful votes
what is earliest check in on a sunday please
Answer from Emma W
Hi, check in is from 2pm
Lynne B wrote a tip Jan 2024
3 contributions1 helpful vote
"It's a total chill out. To go out taxi's needed to get to pubs"
Read full review
Lynne B wrote a tip Jul 2023
3 contributions1 helpful vote
"Only found there was no lift availanle.Luck has it we were on low floor."
Read full review
ACammyB wrote a tip Jul 2023
Selkirk, United Kingdom170 contributions93 helpful votes
"Avoid the prison cell that is 121"
Read full review
Belinda L wrote a tip Jul 2023
8 contributions
"Ask for a room with a bedside light."
Read full review
Peter H wrote a tip Jun 2023
9 contributions2 helpful votes
"A very pleasant one night stay"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Doncaster area.
PRICE RANGE
£63 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
holiday inn doncaster a1(m), jct. 36 hotel doncaster, doncaster holiday inn
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandYorkshireSouth YorkshireDoncaster
NUMBER OF ROOMS
102
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HOLIDAY INN DONCASTER A1 (M), JCT.36, AN IHG HOTEL - Updated 2024

Frequently Asked Questions about Holiday Inn Doncaster A1 (M), JCT.36, an IHG Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Holiday Inn Doncaster A1 (M), JCT.36, an IHG Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Warmsworth War Memorial (0.5 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Holiday Inn Doncaster A1 (M), JCT.36, an IHG Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Holiday Inn Doncaster A1 (M), JCT.36, an IHG Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Holiday Inn Doncaster A1 (M), JCT.36, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Holiday Inn Doncaster A1 (M), JCT.36, an IHG Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Lotus, Holiday Inn Doncaster Restaurant, and Tara Lounge.
Are any cleaning services offered at Holiday Inn Doncaster A1 (M), JCT.36, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Holiday Inn Doncaster A1 (M), JCT.36, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Holiday Inn Doncaster A1 (M), JCT.36, an IHG Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Holiday Inn Doncaster A1 (M), JCT.36, an IHG Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, and Ukrainian.
Are there any historical sites close to Holiday Inn Doncaster A1 (M), JCT.36, an IHG Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Brodsworth Hall and Gardens (4.7 miles), Cusworth Hall (2.0 miles), and Minster Church of Saint George, Doncaster (2.5 miles).
Is Holiday Inn Doncaster A1 (M), JCT.36, an IHG Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.