Holiday Inn Express Doncaster, an IHG Hotel
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Holiday Inn Express Doncaster, an IHG Hotel

First Point Business Park Bullrush Grove Balby, Doncaster DN4 8SJ England
Tell travellers more about your photo
Traveller (52)
Includes shower gel / shampoo
Room & Suite (17)
The Great Room/Bar area
Dining (14)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.0
#9 of 24 hotels in Doncaster
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Value
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Business
Languages Spoken
English
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Parking
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Kids' meals
Vending machine
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
Shared lounge / TV area
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Safe
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Hotel links
Special Offer:Summer Sale

Location

First Point Business Park Bullrush Grove Balby, Doncaster DN4 8SJ England
Getting there
Car recommended
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 40 out of 100
40
Doncaster Sheffield Airport
Humberside Airport
32.3 mi
See all flights
582Reviews16Q+A92Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 263
  • 196
  • 93
  • 16
  • 14
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Wes C wrote a review Jun 2023
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Hotel's Favourite
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We’ve stayed here a couple of times when travelling up the A1 as it’s only a few minutes from that road. It’s in an industrial and retail area but is reasonably peaceful. The rooms are well equipped, well maintained, comfortable and clean.
Breakfast is good, and included in the room rate. There is a slightly limited range of choices but the cooked food is hot and good.
There is plenty of parking onsite.
All the staff we met were friendly and helpful. .
We’ve stayed at the nearby Holiday Inn in the past but much prefer this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Ask at reception about the busy times for breakfast if you want a more relaxed meal.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Joanne Cutt, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Doncaster, an IHG Hotel
Responded 12 Jun 2023
WOW thank you for such a lovely review, I am happy to read you prefer our hotel when visiting Doncaster.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
H4mmy wrote a review Feb 2020
Livingston, United Kingdom
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I’ve stayed at this hotel several times over the years. It’s handy being just of the M18 and close to the M1 making it a great location to cover that part of the country from.

Staff have always been friendly and the hotel always clean and well presented.
The rooms are exactly what you would expect from HI Express and again are always clean.

The hotel has a bar and offers a limited evening meal menu. Anytime I’ve eaten the food has always been of a good standard and reasonably priced. Breakfast is included and is a range of hot and cold buffet. There is a restaurant next door if you fancy a wider choice of meals.

The hotel is within walking distance of the football stadium and shopping outlet centre - although it’s a good walk.

Overall - ideal if you are looking to stop in this area.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Joanne Cutt, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Doncaster, an IHG Hotel
Responded 7 Sept 2020
Thank you for a lovely review - we hope to see you again soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Paul Y wrote a review Apr 2021
Southport, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
First impressions are important! When I walked into the hotel Shannon in reception was helpful and efficient. Daryl even offered to get some bread in for breakfast the next morning of the type I liked. Room was spotlessly clean although the bed was a little softer than I normally like, but that did not stop getting a good night's sleep throughout my stay. Food menu was somewhat limited owing to the pandemic and has to be consumed in the room, but my order arrived swiftly, chips were nice and crispy and food was hot. I could not have expected any more, well done to all the pleasant staff at this hotel!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Joanne Cutt, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Doncaster, an IHG Hotel
Responded 6 Jul 2021
Thank you for such a lovely review. We hope to see you again soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
John S wrote a review Aug 2020
Bispham, United Kingdom
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed for 3 nights from the 6th Aug and it is the most disappointing visit I have ever had at a Holiday Inn express. I know we are in difficult times but there is no excuse for lack of service and being ignored and as for the breakfast currently being served I think is an absolute disgrace. The room cost ££194 for three nights for two people and the breakfast choice was hot or cold Grab & Go we both selected the hot choice and to call that a breakfast is a joke. You get a stale barm cake with two half warm sausages not exactly what I was wanting having worked all night and about to go to bed. Was still hungry so then had to go out to find somewhere I could get proper food. I feel that Convid 19 is an excuse for poor service
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: book elsewhere while convid 19 is still around
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Joanne Cutt, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Doncaster, an IHG Hotel
Responded 10 Aug 2020
I am sorry to read you had a disappointing stay with us. You are right there is no excuse for lack of service and I would like to understand more around this if you could please e-mail more details to gm@hiexdoncaster.co.uk. Our current Grab & Go breakfast is instead of our buffet service which unfortunately we are not able to offer. We don't just have the hot sausage or bacon rolls available, there is a bag you can grab and pop in there a selection of what you would like. Croissants, breakfast biscuits, juice, yogurts, cheese, porridge and hot beverages are all available to takeaway or eat at one of our tables. All our bread rolls are fresh on the day and if not consumed are disposed of after breakfast to ensure freshness. There is no doubt the way we are now operating is very different due to Covid, however customer experience remains our priority and I am sorry you feel we failed. I hope if you are in the Doncaster area you could give us another chance to redeem ourselves and show you what a great hotel we are!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mark Taylor wrote a review Sept 2021
Cheshire, United Kingdom
3.0 of 5 bubbles
You can’t offer a breakfast service with no eggs. Food & Beverage Manager for the group needs to address this urgently as the poor staff must be sick to death explaining every morning that the reason why they don’t serve eggs is because they receive too many complaints when they do so.

Whilst your investigating whether you should introduce eggs please also consider grilled tomato and mushrooms to your breakfast offering. Fresh juice is also quite common.

Finally mass produced frozen hash browns and frozen cheap catering sausages are best left for the road side cafes and not in an International Hotel Group.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Louise Reid, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Doncaster, an IHG Hotel
Responded 4 Oct 2021
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, I am sorry to read you were not happy with our breakfast. As I am sure you are aware of the food supply issues that are happening across the country we have not been able to purchase any eggs from our supplier. It isn't a case of 'whether' to put them on or not we simply cannot purchase them! We are unable to consider tomato and mushrooms on our breakfast as we are bound to the standards set our by IHG Hotels which states we are able to offer a continental breakfast with 3 hot items. Fresh orange juice and apple is available from the machine in the breakfast room, we are not able to offer freshly squeezed juice. We regularly review the products, displays and processes around breakfast and i hope you will give us another chance if you are in Doncaster.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nicola B wrote a review Aug 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
£37 per night for the room, including free WiFi and a hot or cold 'grab and go' breakfast. We had a sausage bap, juice, fruit and unlimited tea and coffee.

Friendly and efficient staff with rooms that are clean and full of facilities including iron, ironing board, full length mirror, hairdryer and hair/body wash in the shower.

The other Doncaster Holiday Inn which is just 10 minutes away quoted £67 for the night with a breakfast surcharge of £14.99 PER PERSON. Thank God we didn't pay the extra £59.98.

No hesitations in recommending this hotel. Thank you for a lovely stay. It was great value and we will definitely stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Joanne Cutt, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Doncaster, an IHG Hotel
Responded 10 Aug 2020
Thank you for your review, I am pleased you had a lovely stay and we hope welcome you back again soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
montyBerkshire wrote a review Feb 2022
Berkshire, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed at the hotel to attend a family funeral, several of us stayed there and the hotel provided a delicious afternoon tea and snacks after the funeral.
The staff were very helpful especially Orla who was looking after the whole event.
Olivia was on duty too and was really helpful too.
We had a family dinner in the private room just off the dining room for just over 20 people in the event.
The operation was overseen by Steve.
The food was delicious and ordered in advance it was hot and served fairly quickly.
Breakfast was delicious with eggs cooked to order, very helpful serving staff.

I’ve stayed there before when visiting family several times and have never been disappointed.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Good access to motorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Louise Reid, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Doncaster, an IHG Hotel
Responded 1 Mar 2022
Thank you for your 5 star review.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
daltonblue wrote a review Mar 2020
Dalton-in-Furness, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We came for the races and had to arrive early due to the timings. We went into reception and the staff were very friendly and polite and took the details of our car.
On our return we were again checked in politely and quickly and the staff at the bar were friendly and engaging.
The room was ideal and comfortable.
The complimentary breakfast is always a welcome for the morning after the night before and although it was busy it was kept well stocked.
We wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Joanne Cutt, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Doncaster, an IHG Hotel
Responded 7 Sept 2020
Thank your for a great review and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
parabvishal wrote a review Apr 2022
London, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Wonderful hotel, convenient location, friendly staff, clean room and delicious breakfast.
We enjoyed our stay at this hotel.
Only one thing to mention about one female member of staff on the morning of Saturday at the breakfast, who instructed us to clear our breakfast plates from the table. It was really didn't bother us until she told my disabled and elderly father to take the cups off from the table. Do you ask the hotel guests to clear the breakfast tables? From when? (We saw her only on Saturday morning, she was not there the next two mornings)
Only that experience was the negative one, but it didn't stop us to give five stars for the overall experience.
Apart from the above, every staff we came across was warm and friendly.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Parking was free.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Louise Reid, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Doncaster, an IHG Hotel
Responded 28 Apr 2022
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. I am happy to read you had a lovely stay. There is a tray trolley for any guests who wish to clear their own tables but on the whole we do not expect guests to clear it themselves. I will ensure your feedback is given to the breakfast team. We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Valerie G wrote a review Feb 2024
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Overnight stay. We were warmly welcomed on arrival. Room was spacious and clean. Appreciated the plug beside the large mirror although a hairdryer was supplied, also the door closed in front of the toilet allowing use of the shower at the same time. Breakfast offered a wide variety of hot and cold food.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Joanne Cutt, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Doncaster, an IHG Hotel
Responded 28 Feb 2024
Thank you for your 5 Star review! There is nothing worse than a large mirror and no plug beside it! We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from montyBerkshire
Berkshire, United Kingdom138 contributions88 helpful votes
To be honest I live 200 miles away so not sure about buses. However this is an area that is heavily used by buses. It’s only a few, miles away from the racecourse, worth asking hotel, they are very helpful
Lucy C asked a question Sept 2020
Worksop, United Kingdom11 contributions
Do the rooms have air con?
empty2015 asked a question Jul 2018
Brierley Hill, United Kingdom5 contributions9 helpful votes
What time is breakfast available Monday to Friday?
Answer from DAN J
West Yorkshire, United Kingdom105 contributions18 helpful votes
I think it is from 7am but you can request an early breakfast which will be a continental selection
riedefine asked a question Feb 2018
Salt Lake City, Utah69 contributions8 helpful votes
Is the hotel near a bus stop?
Answer from Eddie M
St. Albans, United Kingdom738 contributions398 helpful votes
Yes, there is a park and ride scheme less than 2 minutes away. This will allow you to catch several different busses.
Elvis123 wrote a tip Feb 2024
Smethwick250 contributions134 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"A room NOT directly above the reception area as noise can be heard during the night."
Read full review
LMS wrote a tip Oct 2023
10 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Good size of car park and next to a ‘park and ride’ facility"
Read full review
Hobbitsdaddy wrote a tip Jun 2023
Daventry, United Kingdom50 contributions39 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Unlike some hotels you don’t get ripped off to park by one the outsourced bandit parking companies."
Read full review
Wes C wrote a tip Jun 2023
Ipswich, United Kingdom19 contributions6 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ask at reception about the busy times for breakfast if you want a more relaxed meal."
Read full review
lgad wrote a tip May 2023
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom33 contributions44 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Make sure you don’t have twin room as they have inter locking doors (unless you require it) as they can be extremely noisy"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Doncaster area.
PRICE RANGE
£55 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
holiday inn express doncaster hotel doncaster, holiday inn doncaster
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandYorkshireSouth YorkshireDoncaster
NUMBER OF ROOMS
94
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HOLIDAY INN EXPRESS DONCASTER, AN IHG HOTEL - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about Holiday Inn Express Doncaster, an IHG Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Holiday Inn Express Doncaster, an IHG Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Potteric Carr Nature Reserve (0.4 miles) and Lakeside Village Outlet (0.7 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Holiday Inn Express Doncaster, an IHG Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Holiday Inn Express Doncaster, an IHG Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Holiday Inn Express Doncaster, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Holiday Inn Express Doncaster, an IHG Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Woodfield Farm - Farmhouse Inns, The Lakeside Beefeater, and Highfield Coffee Social.
Are any cleaning services offered at Holiday Inn Express Doncaster, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Holiday Inn Express Doncaster, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Holiday Inn Express Doncaster, an IHG Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to Holiday Inn Express Doncaster, an IHG Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Cusworth Hall and Park (3.2 miles), Minster Church of Saint George, Doncaster (2.0 miles), and Flourish Walled Garden at St Catherine's (1.0 miles).
Is Holiday Inn Express Doncaster, an IHG Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Doncaster HotelsDoncaster Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in DoncasterHotels near Holiday Inn Express Doncaster, an IHG Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire