We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

The City Warehouse Apartment Hotel

6-14 Great Ancoats Street, Manchester M4 5AZ England
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (164)
360
Panoramas (43)
Room & Suite (207)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#4 of 44 apartments in Manchester
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Formed to ensure that visitors to Manchester have the choice they deserve, The City Warehouse Apartment Hotel offers an alternative to standard city centre hotel rooms. We have a selection of 1 and 2 bedroom apartments and penthouses, furnished and kitted out with all the mod cons and appliances that you would expect from a hotel. We want you to enjoy yourself, and think you will with us!
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
24-hour security
Baggage storage
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Washing machine
Wifi
Non-smoking hotel
Express check-in / check-out
Show more
Room features
Seating area
Separate dining area
Sofa
Iron
Coffee / tea maker
Kitchenette
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Microwave
Refrigerator
Kitchenware
iPod docking station
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Family
Languages Spoken
English

Location

6-14 Great Ancoats Street, Manchester M4 5AZ England
The City Warehouse Apartment Hotel
676Reviews19Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 421
  • 170
  • 50
  • 16
  • 19
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Emma wrote a review May 2023
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom13 contributions
We arrived at the property to be told it no longer exists (us along with many others who also arrived around the same time) this hotel went bust last year apparently and has been taken over by a different company. Still took money from everyone via major booking websites with NO contact regarding the fact it is actually closed. Unable to source any accommodation in the city as this was the night of the Coldplay concert. Please if you read reviews prior to booking DO NOT book this property IT DOES NOT EXIST.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2023Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Do not book
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Isabel L wrote a review Apr 2023
1 contribution
Stayed here for one night 8-9th april. apartment in general decent damage in bathroom. However the sofa bed is unusable. There was 4 of us and two of us were on the sofa bed and it is definitely not a double bed. It is slightly larger than a single bed absolutely not fit for two people. It was the most uncomfortable bed i’ve ever slept on, the thinnest mattress and you could feel every spring and even feel the metal underneath the mattress.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Chua wrote a review Feb 2023
6 contributions6 helpful votes
Decently sized apartment, great value for money, room heater and water heater works well. One of the windows in room 401 is slightly, it gets jammed open if you open too much, so do becareful. Good amenities overall. Do be aware of the spoilt lifts, it has been spoilt for months (and they don't seem like they will fix it anytime soon as there are many objects in front of the lift door at every floor), so it can be cumbersome if you are staying on higher floors with heavy luggages as the stairs are abit narrow. Staff is very responsive in email and replied quickly. Staff is willing to help us collect our luggage delivered by the courier (British Airways lost one of our luggages). There was only 1 bath towel given even tho our stay was for 3 guests, but the staff was happy to give us additional towels upon request. Overall good stay
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Lqts wrote a review Feb 2023
72 contributions62 helpful votes
Absolutely awful establishment. Rude staff, my prepaid booking was stuffed up and they demanded double payment on arrival. Someone poked around my room whilst I wasn’t there and overall this place is one to absolutely avoid. Lois great online but not comfortable or a safe place to be.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
PamelaMul wrote a review Oct 2022
Manchester3 contributions8 helpful votes
I dont know if they are booked out by different people but a group of 4 of us booked through Expedia and paid upfront. Check in 15.00 - turned up at 15.30 and was met by 'Alison' who said the room wasn't ready, didn't know when it would be, no other rooms to stay in and cant help us. She was ignorant, unhelpful and had no solution. Kept wandering off, returning and saying 'oh your still here?' Absolutely mad as a box of frogs this woman, big fur coat and pretty sozzled! We're pretty easy going and thought it was funny at first, even offered to clean the room or if there was a cupboard we could get changed and just book in after we've had tea! And that was also a no. All of the hotels in Manchester were full by then so had nowhere to stay for the night and had to stay in the car. Still trying to get a refund now, shoddy business.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Ian Michael, Owner at The City Warehouse Apartment Hotel
Responded 29 Nov 2022
Hi Pamela. Firstly, we absolutely hold our hands up and we must apologise. The apartment wasn't ready when you arrived to check in at the hotel. I believe this was explained to you when you arrived, and you were told it would be another 45 minutes from that point. Having checked our CCTV, which also records audio, I can confirm that this is correct. I can also confirm, having listened to the audio, that Alison didn't deal with it in quite the way you described in your review. Describing a member of our staff in the way you have is insulting and defamatory. You asked if we had anywhere for you to get changed, which unfortunately we don't. We don't have the kind of public areas that some hotels have. Your decision was then to go to the TravelLodge, which is next door to us, where you asked if they had any vacancies. They advised you that they didn't, but that their Piccadilly hotel did. Between you and the two other guests you arrived with, you decided that you would prefer to stay there, as it allowed you time to get ready for the event you were going to. We agreed with you that we would cancel your reservation free of charge, which we have done. I believe that is now with Expedia to issue you a refund, as you paid them directly. It doesn't make sense that you had to spend the night in your car, because you had an apartment with us that would have been ready 45 minutes after you made the decision to stay at the Travel Lodge. If, for whatever reason you turned up at the Travel Lodge and they didn't have any availability, you could have contacted us and returned to check in here. We would certainly have done something to make amends for the inconvenience we caused by not having the apartment ready when you arrived. Unfortunately, things don't always go exactly to plan, but they can usually be sorted out amicably and without the need to embelish a story. Regards The City Warehouse Management Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Darren F wrote a review Oct 2022
2 contributions
Stayed here this past weekend (3 nights) with a few friends (5 in total). Check in was smooth, the person who greeted us was nice and also very accommodating in allowing us to leave our bags in the hotel prior to check in. We were advised that there were some ‘minor maintenance issues’ with the rooms when checking and that they were not up to the usual standard. We expected a few minor problems however once we got to the apartment it was obvious that the issues there were not ‘minor’. Both sofa beds were ripped, falling apart and could not be slept on. The springs on the sofa beds were loose and one of the sofa beds did not even pull out into a bed. The wood on the cupboards was falling off, the mugs were chipped, the bath was cracked, there were holes in the chairs at the table and the washing machine was broken at the bottom. We went back down to reception and were given a different room. The next room we went to had all of the same problems as the first room, nothing was better. There were no other rooms available so we had no other option but to stay in the first room as we had already left our bags there. We were advised that due to the unsatisfactory standards of both rooms that we would be given a refund for our first night stay. When checking out we asked when this would be refunded to which the staff member on shift advised “I know nothing about that” and that we would have to speak to the manager. We were advised that the manager did not have a contact number and the number for the reception does not work. We are unfortunately left with no further information on our refund. The photos of the apartments are misleading. The lift is also out of order (after checking some reviews we seen that they have been out of order for quite some time so don’t expect them to be fixed anytime soon). Other than the above, the apartment is in a good location with a lot of bars/shops/restaurants nearby.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Daddy_Mac_Adams wrote a review Jul 2022
Barcelona, Spain14 contributions8 helpful votes
I have stayed in numerous places in Manchester over the last 15 or so years, and this place was the best by far....just wish I had found it earlier! Superb value for money all round. The location is fantastic (surrounded by great amenities including numerous bars and restaurants) and central, with great transport links for if you want to venture outside the city centre (such as to the Trafford Centre etc) or to explore other parts of the north west (in easy reach of Manchester Victoria and Piccadilly train stations). The apartment itself was more than spacious with an extremely comfy bed and a completely quiet room - an excellent combination for a good nights sleep. The bathroom and kitchen were excellent too, with more than enough utensils in the kitchen for cooking throughout my stay. The staff were also extremely friendly, and helped create a family vibe which was a nice touch.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ian Kelly, General Manager at The City Warehouse Apartment Hotel
Responded 19 Aug 2022
Thanks so much for your review, Rob. It was great having you with us. Really pleased you enjoyed your stay. Hopefully we'll see you again when you're next back in Manchester. Best wishes from all at The City Warehouse.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Georgia A wrote a review Jun 2022
10 contributions3 helpful votes
Visited with a large group for a hen do, staff were very accommodating with room change requests and couldn’t do enough to offer local advice. All rooms perfectly clean with towels provided, all basic items that you may need in the kitchen and loads of living space with comfy sofas. The lift was out of order so may not currently be accessible for those who can’t use stairs easily but that seems to be a problem applicable to the whole of Manchester.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ian Kelly, General Manager at The City Warehouse Apartment Hotel
Responded 9 Jun 2022
Hi Georgia Thanks so much for taking the time to leave us your lovely review. It's great to hear you all had such a nice time on the hen do. It was lovely to have you all with us. Our lift is now back working again, but I hope it wasn't a problem for any of you while you were with us. Hope to see you again soon. Best wishes from all at The City Warehouse :)
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
or111 wrote a review Apr 2022
17 contributions6 helpful votes
We stayed in 2 penthouse apartments here for a hen do and it was fab, had everything that we needed, very accommodating and easy to get to places in the city, the lady on reception was so friendly and welcoming, also felt very safe and secure, would recommend
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Best to park across the road
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ian Kelly, General Manager at The City Warehouse Apartment Hotel
Responded 22 Apr 2022
Hi Abb. Thanks so much for your review and for your kind words about Alison. I've passed those on to her. Really pleased you had a great time with us, and hopefully we'll see you back again in the near future. Best wishes from all at The City Warehouse.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
frank_the_tank21 wrote a review Apr 2022
Loughborough8 contributions
We had 3 apartments for our hen do and it was perfect. Rooms were clean and the helpful Lauren came to make sure all was ok with the rooms and she set up the sofa beds for us. The staff on reception couldn’t be more friendly or helpful and the 24 hour security made us all feel really safe. Would recommend:)
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ian Kelly, General Manager at The City Warehouse Apartment Hotel
Responded 22 Apr 2022
Hi there. So pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. It was lovely to have you all here, and thank you for taking the time to leave us your review. Hope to see you back with us when you're next back in Manchester :)
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Manchester area.
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandGreater ManchesterManchester
NUMBER OF ROOMS
28
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE CITY WAREHOUSE APARTMENT HOTEL - Reviews (Manchester)

Frequently Asked Questions about The City Warehouse Apartment Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The City Warehouse Apartment Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Virtual Hideout Manchester (0.2 miles), The Washhouse (0.3 miles), and Lucardo (0.01 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The City Warehouse Apartment Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, laundry service, and baggage storage.
Which room amenities are available at The City Warehouse Apartment Hotel?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
Is parking available at The City Warehouse Apartment Hotel?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The City Warehouse Apartment Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Street Urchin, The Hip Hop Chip Shop, and High Street Tavern.
Is The City Warehouse Apartment Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.8 miles away from the centre of Manchester.
Are any cleaning services offered at The City Warehouse Apartment Hotel?
Yes, laundry service and a washing machine are offered to guests.
Are there any historical sites close to The City Warehouse Apartment Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Ordsall Hall (2.1 miles), Granada Studios (1.0 miles), and Victoria Baths (1.8 miles).
Is The City Warehouse Apartment Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.