We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Midland

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Midland
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

4,730 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Midland
See the most recent reviews
Showing 4,642: English reviews
manchester
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Beautiful hotel, very helpful and welcoming staff - nothing was too much trouble. Great location for shopping, nightlife and landmarks. The hotel is very grand with some beautiful function rooms and reception. Our room was located on the 5th floor, facing inward so no view unforunately - but I think this is the case with many of the rooms here....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mauritianbride
Thomas S, Guest Relations Manager at The Midland, responded to this review

Dear mauritianbride, Your compliments and constructive comments are much appreciated by our team and I’ll be sure you share your suggestions with the relevant departments which I’m sure will aid them in making the continuous improvements which are so important to us. We do indeed have both internal and external facing rooms – I’ll be happy to personally ensure you...

North Wales
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This was our 4th time at the Midland, and it just keeps getting better, the rooms are large and the beds are comfortable, the staff are well trained and helpful. The new restaurant Mr Cooper's is lovely for breakfast. I can't recommend the Midland enough!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jopwales
Thomas S, Guest Relations Manager at The Midland, responded to this review

Dear jopwales, What a wonderful review of your fourth stay at The Midland and thank you ever so much for your recommendation – it means a huge amount to the whole team here. We hope to welcome you back for another visit very soon. Kind regards, Thomas Smith Guest Relations Manager

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 August 2014

My husband and I returned to the Midland Hotel to celebrate our 10th wedding anniversary.We stayed at the Midland on our wedding night too.The hotel is such a beautiful place to be from the moment you walk up the steps to the very welcoming reception staff and the divine rooms.The hotel holds very special memories and it still has that...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Liz H
Thomas S, Guest Relations Manager at The Midland, responded to this review

Dear Liz H, What a pleasure to be part of the celebrations for your tenth anniversary, particularly given the history you have with the hotel. Your wonderful review means so much to each and every member of the team here – please don’t wait another ten years to return! Best wishes, Thomas Smith Guest Relations Manager

Leek, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 August 2014

My wife and I stayed for one night on a bed and continental breakfast basis whilst attending the nearby Bridgewater Hall to see Bert Bacharach and his band. We arrived very early but fortunately a room was available and a request for a quiet room was granted. The room was ideal with two double beds and everything that you would...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Clive S
Thomas S, Guest Relations Manager at The Midland, responded to this review

Dear Clive S, Thank you for taking the time to write another detailed review of The Midland – I’m so pleased that we have re-gained your faith in the hotel and that you feel we have made positive changes particularly to the breakfast arrangements. I look forward to welcoming you back to Manchester very soon so that you can experience...

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

Recently stayed in the Midland while on a business trip to Manchester. Staff were so helpful and accommodating. Arrived very early not expecting to be able to check in but my room was ready as soon as I arrived. Breakfast was very good and really quick service. Room was very nice, can't fault this hotel and would happily stay here...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Lola_Rose83
Thomas S, Guest Relations Manager at The Midland, responded to this review

Dear Lola_Rose83, We were so pleased that your business brought you to Manchester and - more importantly; to The Midland. It’s fantastic to read how impressed you were with all aspects of your trip especially that we were able to accommodate your early arrival. I hope to welcome you back to the hotel very soon and wish you safe travels...

Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed at this amazing hotel whilst visiting Coronation Street (approx 5 minute walk away). The hotel is beautiful and the staff are very friendly & helpful. We stayed in a king room which was spacious, clean, comfortable and quiet. Evenings at the bar downstairs are so relaxing with a pianist playing soft music. Continental breakfast was included in the price...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Matthew T
Thomas S, Guest Relations Manager at The Midland, responded to this review

Dear Matthew T, I'm so pleased to read how impressed you were by your visit to The Midland; I hope you had a wonderful time exploring the Coronation Street tour. Your fantastic comments will mean so much to our team – I know they will join me in looking forward to welcoming you back to Manchester soon. Kind regards, Thomas...

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Overall this is a very beautiful hotel: - really nice, comfortable and spacious lobby areas (bar/ cafe/ lobby). This is particularly helpful when you need to do some work too or have work-related meetings. - very clean rooms and bathroom, very well presented and very spacious (at least the standard room i stayed in). - excellent staff; always very polite...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank nat k
Thomas S, Guest Relations Manager at The Midland, responded to this review

Dear nat k, Your lovely review means a lot to the team here, so thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on TripAdvisor. We will take your constructive points on board and I have already passed your suggestions onto the relevant departments for review. I hope to welcome you back to The Midland in the near future....

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 August 2014

stayed here may 2014 all staff were helpful and polite but one in particular that stays in mind was Adam (security) he was polite and extremely helpful he made our stay comfortable by making sure we were happy with the service we were receiving, our room was spacious and comfortable and was impressed with breakfast service over all fantastic stay.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Vicky A
Thomas S, Guest Relations Manager at The Midland, responded to this review

Dear Vicky A, Your kind compliments regarding how helpful and polite our team is here are much appreciated and I will be sure to pass your particular thanks onto Adam, who I’m sure will join me in hoping to welcome you back to The Midland very soon. Thank you for sharing your thoughts on TripAdvisor and helping other travellers to...

Market Bosworth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Stayed here for a couple of nights and would not really rush back if I am honest. My room although it had everything you needed was really small with huge high windows that you could not open to get fresh air and the air con did not want to cool the room down much. The bed was comfortable though and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emma_N68
Thomas S, Guest Relations Manager at The Midland, responded to this review

Dear Emma_N68, Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with TripAdvisor. I’m sorry to read that you were disappointed with the prices at the hotel – I can assure you these prices are standard across similar establishments in the city. I will pass your compliments to our housekeeping team regarding the bed which you found so comfortable,...

Reviewed 1 August 2014

An impressive hotel. Good position in centre of the city. Check in was relatively easy. Friendly welcome. The room was a good size and well appointed. The bed and bedding were especially good. The bathroom was spacious and of good quality. The shower was very powerful and the water hot. The towels were thick, soft and plentiful. Breakfast however was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nigel P
Thomas S, Guest Relations Manager at The Midland, responded to this review

Dear Nigel P, It’s fantastic to read how impressed you were with your experience in general, particularly your guest room and the excellent facilities provided – I will be sure to convey your compliments to our Housekeeping team who I know will be thrilled that you were so pleased. I’m sorry to read that you were disappointed by your breakfast,...

1,454 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (987)
Viewed
Room/Suite (283)
Viewed
Dining (71)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (97)
Viewed
Bathroom (43)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (10)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (6)
Viewed
View from Room (25)
Viewed
Other (452)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (448)
Viewed
Amenities (40)
Viewed
Classic Master Suite (51)
Viewed
Junior Suite (33)
Viewed
King Superior Room (35)
Viewed
Modern Master Suite (64)
Viewed
Pool (6)
Viewed
Dining (43)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (33)
Viewed
Standard King Room (42)
Viewed
Standard Twin Room (32)
Viewed
The Hotel (34)
Viewed
Twin Superior Room (35)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Show More
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Midland staff and other travellers.
54 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (54)

Questions? Get answers from The Midland staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Didn't stay we just used the restaurant and bars. Everything excellent”
mgudgeon2, 23 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Avoid rooms that overlook the tram tracks. The trams are frequently sounding their horns.”
rotaryclive, 17 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Breakfast is busy but very good”
James186403, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
“All rooms will be good I'm sure”
747lynetter, 9 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Remember to ask where the ice machine is, very handy to know as the rooms tend to have an ice bucket, King rooms have a fridge”
juliemL2414JC, 30 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5