We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Mitre Hotel

Booking.comUS$51*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Mitre Hotel
Mitre Hotel
Panoramas (17)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

872 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Mitre Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 835: English reviews
Wigan, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 December 2014

stayed for 1 night recently in this great little hotel, centrally located and recently refurbished very quirky and old fashioned. very friendly staff, lovely room overlooking Cathedral, only downside plenty of stairs, not good for the elderly or disabled people. Would recommend this hotel good value for money.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Paul W
MitreReservations, Manager at Mitre Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. We would have to agree that our location is perfect for shopping, nights out or even going to gigs/events at the Phones4u Arena. We hope to see you on your next visit to Manchester. Kind Regards Management

lancaster
Reviewed 22 December 2014 via mobile

We have stayed here twice In the last month Great value for money First time we stayed in room 1- huge and very nice Then the second visit room 29 - very small and needs a lot of work doing Clean but bathroom very bad Breakfast very nice thank you Friendly reception and helpful

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank clairelorobbo
MitreReservations, Manager at Mitre Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank your for your review. We hope to see you again in the near future. Kind Regards Management

nelson
Reviewed 21 December 2014

I stayed for one night at this hotel. Staff where very warm and friendly, special thanks to Ben on reception, very helpful and pleasant guy. I'm disabled and tend to forget to mention this, if you can't do stairs you will be in trouble. No lift and reception is on upper level. When Ben realised I had walking issues he...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank trishcalve
MitreReservations, Manager at Mitre Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your wonderful review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and your lovely comments have been passed to Ben and other staff. Our hotel can be quite difficult for persons with mobility issues, however we are able provide a 1st floor room upon request and we always have staff who...

Sowerby Bridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 December 2014

I got room 30 for £29 last minute. The staff seemed friendly, although I didn't speak to them much as I was in a rush most of the time. The room was nice and warm, the bed very comfortable, and things were generally clean (there was a little bit of mould on the tiles just below the shower). The upper...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kevin M
MitreReservations, Manager at Mitre Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. We are making every effort to carry out necessary maintenance throughout the hotel however being a listed building some tasks are harder to carry out than others. We hope that this will encourage you to stay with us in the future. Kind Regards Management

Reviewed 16 December 2014 via mobile

we called in at the Mitre whilst christmas shopping. it is a while since i have been there. this has been refurbished and well decorated. the food was excellent and well priced. enjoyable lunchtime visit

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Alyson G
Reviewed 13 December 2014

Really awful hotel. Fine if they are charging less than £40 for a night but at £109 I would expect cleanliness at least. I stayed in room 12. There was no bin in either the bathroom or bedroom, no desk or dressing table, no bedside table, just three mid matched beds and a huge wardrobe. The room was freezing with...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Belter1234
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 December 2014 via mobile

If you're looking for the soulless sterility of a Travel lodge, you'll hate this place. Also if you travel with huge heavy cases full of stuff you'll never use, there are stairs everywhere. If you prefer a nice comfy room with a bit of character and friendly, personal service then this place is great. I met three different receptionists all...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HarveyNobum
MitreReservations, Manager at Mitre Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your lovely review. We are so glad you received a high level of customer service and that you enjoyed your stay with us. We can't wait to see you again. Kind Regards Management

Reviewed 9 December 2014 via mobile

I was initially put in room 17, but I complained about it and was moved to 16. The lady on reception was more than helpful, and the new room was fine. Room 17's window does not lock, you can secure it with the lever and ledge but that wedges it slightly open, not ideal. The bathroom was clean but in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank The_Coffee_Wench
MitreReservations, Manager at Mitre Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. You will happy to know that we take all the issues you have raised in your review seriously and will endeavor to rectify those issues where possible. We are in the process of a full refurbishment which is neither disruptive or intrusive for our guests. Unfortunately, however, this is not an easy project...

bolton lancs uk
Reviewed 3 December 2014 via mobile

Brilliant location Good reception Ok room to sleep in No luxuries bed basic could do with an upgrade Room clean and tidy You know you pay more for town centre would be lucky to get a 1/3 rd their room rate for night only anywere else Yea probably same all over c c manchester but I feel to expensive

 Report
Helpful?
Thank woodcock
Reviewed 3 December 2014

Stayed here for a night to attend the Enrique Iglesias concert at manchester phones 4 u arena. Nice hotel for the night. Staff were very friendly. The room was a decent size for us 3. The bed was so comfy, definitely got a good nights sleep. Allowed food in so we brought home a McDonald's. (which was fab) We would...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Laura H
Mitre13, Manager at Mitre Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. Its great to know you liked your stay at our hotel and we can't wait to see you again hopefully in the near future. Kind Regards Management

499 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (368)
Viewed
Room/Suite (96)
Viewed
Bathroom (45)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (42)
Viewed
View from Room (25)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (159)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (78)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Standard Room (19)
Viewed
Superior Room (20)
Viewed
The Hotel (15)
Viewed
Twin Room (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (53)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
Other (1)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Arena/Printworks) Hotel
0.5 mi away
Gardens Hotel
Gardens Hotel
#67 of 117 in Manchester
1,081 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Suites
Premier Suites
#41 of 117 in Manchester
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel
1.0 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre Arena
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Mitre Hotel is one of the oldest and most loved hotels in Manchester city centre.Located on Cathedral Gates, it is perfect for business, families, romantic trysts or nights out with friends. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mitre Hotel

Address: 1-3 Cathedral Gates, Manchester M3 1SW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Price Range: £33 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mitre Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Mitre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mitre Hotel Manchester
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mitre Hotel staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Mitre Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“avoid shared bathroom. full of sick the last time we stayed”
Dillon3388, 18 May 2017 | Read review
“Last resort?”
393joea, 14 May 2017 | Read review
“not good if u are disabled or difficulty walking the floors uneven and no lift and i had to climb 3 flights of stairs after a night out”
JulieG529, 30 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Don't stay here”
JoyJoyA2017, 23 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Do not stay there”
tinawhite12, 3 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$51* /night
View Deal
PricelineUS$51
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates