We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,500 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,292: English reviews
Reviewed 13 October 2014

Thankfully only stayed for one night! Didn't expect much from a budget hotel but even so it disappointed. Firstly we were served cold food in the bar that should've been hot, practically frozen cheesecake that could've bent the spoon when you tried to cut it. I went to have a shower before bed and the towel in the bathroom had...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Megatron1987
IbisManchester3142, General Manager at Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit. I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your experience of the hotel. I treat all feedback with the utmost seriousness and I have already investigated the matters and addressed your comments with the Team concerned. I am sorry to notice that the cleanliness...

Scotland
Reviewed 13 October 2014

Stayed in Ibis Manchester in October for two nights. Room was a bit tired (worksurfaces stained and panelling in bathroom was chipped). Noisy upstairs neighbours on first night - nothing much the hotel can do about this. Staff were helpful and breakfast is good.

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank whatulookinat
IbisManchester3142, General Manager at Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. I’m glad you had a good stay with us. Please note that the hotel will undergo rooms and corridors refurbishment at the beginning of 2015. I am sorry that you got disturbed by other inconsiderate noisy guests. Should you encountered any issues during your stay, do not hesitate to contact Reception. We are open 24 hours...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 October 2014

Ignore all the negative comments below- some people are never happy even though they are paying for one of the cheapest hotels in Manchester- what do you expect? I was a bit worried after reading that it was meant to be dirty, noisy and the staff were rude?? Well I experienced completely the opposite. The beds were lovely and comfortable...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank lucylouise4
IbisManchester3142, General Manager at Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street, responded to this review

Thank you very much for all your kind comments and compliments. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Kind regards, Frederic Dumont General Manager

St Albans, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 October 2014

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tony K
IbisManchester3142, General Manager at Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street, responded to this review

Douglas, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 October 2014

normally stay at Novotel next door. They were full. Booked two double rooms. Confirmation stated double with queen size beds. Both were twins. Complained. Told only had twins. That is not true. I shall be complaining. Air con did not work in one room. Noisy overlooking Portland Street. Even noisier revellers at 3am running along corridor.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank John W
IbisManchester3142, General Manager at Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street, responded to this review

Many thanks for letting us know your thoughts about your recent stay at the Hotel. I’m so sorry to hear that you were disappointed by your experience and that we failed to live up to your expectations. We take all comments very seriously and rest assured that I will look personally into those matters and take appropriate actions. Firstly, I...

Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 October 2014

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank GHMShrewsbury
IbisManchester3142, General Manager at Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street, responded to this review

Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 September 2014

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Stevie W
IbisManchester3142, General Manager at Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street, responded to this review

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 September 2014

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ADawn2014
IbisManchester3142, Guest Relations Manager at Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street, responded to this review

Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 September 2014 via mobile

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sbelfast13
IbisManchester3142, Guest Relations Manager at Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street, responded to this review

Northern Ireland
Reviewed 28 September 2014

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GemmaNorthernIreland
IbisManchester3142, Guest Relations Manager at Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street, responded to this review

212 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (179)
Viewed
Bathroom (31)
Viewed
Room/Suite (49)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (76)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (33)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.3 mi away
ibis Manchester Centre Princess Street Hotel
0.3 mi away
Ibis Styles Manchester Portland Street
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#7 of 115 in Manchester
1,287 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street
0.0 mi away
Novotel Manchester Centre
Novotel Manchester Centre
#38 of 115 in Manchester
1,501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Show More
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street staff and other travellers.
28 questions
Ask a question
7 months ago
uk
over a year ago
Limerick, Ireland
3 days ago
16 days ago

See all questions (28)

Questions? Get answers from Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms at the rear will avoid the street noise.”
  • stylish new decor, but still a bit smelly
  • Very handy multi plug/USb charger unit
  • The funky, but pointless LED showered
  • different I suppose
  • It's still an Ibis room, not sure the decor makes that much difference
 of 5 bubbles NeilRBBath, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“back of hotel rooms more quiter”
 of 5 bubbles V7501PQdianaf, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“End corridor rooms are very quiet despite main road”
 of 5 bubbles 393joea, 13 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room at the back of the hotel, its quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles 764saffrons, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
“ask for a quiet room if you're a light sleeperf”
 of 5 bubbles amcs1983, 24 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5