Novotel Manchester Centre
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Novotel Manchester Centre

Breakfast Buffet
Traveller (608)
Room & Suite (140)
eXchange food & drink lounge
Dining (82)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.0
#49 of 126 hotels in Manchester
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
The Novotel Manchester Centre is an AA 4 star hotel in an ideal location for business travellers, just 3 minutes walk from the Conference Quarter and the Central Business Core of Manchester. Take a break at the Novotel and explore the surrounding Chinatown area, visit Old Trafford (the home of Manchester United FC) and discover designer shops, nightlife and local attractions. eXchange Food and Drink Lounge is the place to kick back relax and unwind after a busy day. 24 hour room service, gym, sauna, steam room and seven meeting rooms for up to 90 people.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Kids stay free
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Wifi
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Kid-friendly buffet
Kids club
Conference facilities
Meeting rooms
Spa
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Accor Hotels.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English

Location

21 Dickinson Street, Manchester M1 4LX England
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 100 out of 100
100
Manchester Intl Airport
Liverpool John Lennon Airport
27.5 mi
See all flights
St Peter's Square
3 minManchester Metrolink
2,295Reviews25Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 899
  • 930
  • 301
  • 108
  • 57
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Jack wrote a review Aug 2020
Morley, United Kingdom
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Starting off on the positives, the hotel was very modern and well looked after. I was pleasantly surprised to be in a normal room that contained a Nespresso machine and even a mini-speaker. It made for a pleasant stay. The room was clean, the TV well sized and the bathroom very modern.

The reception team were happy to assist with any issues. We had an issue with the shower not draining properly and this was fixed immediately.

I would have rated this hotel 5/5 instead of 4, if it hadn’t have been lacking basic essentials though. The first being the parking. This wasn’t well communicated in terms of the location and the price. I parked in the Qpark unaware if this was the right place. When at the reception I asked if it was the right one, the lady there said it was. When I asked about tariffs and how much it would be for my 2 nights, all she could tell me was that I’d get 25% off the final total. Usually whenever I’ve stopped in a Mercure/Novotel/Ibis, I’ve been given a set rate, sometimes free or usually between £9 - £12 (on average) a day and added to my final bill. But in the end I ended up paying £39 which I felt was a bit excessive.

And then finally, with the current Covid Pandemic, the hotel had made some changes, stayed in a letter upon arrival. This involved changes to room cleaning, bar/restaurant opening times and breakfast.

I was very disappointed to have paid in advance for breakfast, to arrive and be told they were only offering fruit and cereals. For the price I paid I was hoping for a Full English at least. This also expanded to rooms being cleaned once every 3 days, which then meant we were lacking in clean towels, shampoo/shower gels and also tea/coffee facilities. The reception were happy to provide more of these if asked, but I personally just felt like we shouldn’t have to in such a hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
HT-Birmingham wrote a review Mar 2022
Birmingham, United Kingdom
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Booked a two night stay in a junior suite on a dinner, and breakfast rate.

Chose this hotel as its centrally located. Although it doesn’t have its own car park, it does offer a 25% discount at the Q-Park car park next door (came to approx £40 for 2 full days).

Check in was slow. My ALL membership was recognised and kindly received a free drink voucher. I had to ask about the dinner included in the rate and was told I could take dinner in the bar area.

Dinner service the first night was pretty poor. We had arrived late and had 10 minutes to order. I asked the waitress what was included in the dinner rate but she was asking me what was included? The rate was sold as ‘dinner?’ Then she just wanted to rush me to order. Eventually she did goto ask Reception what could be ordered. Surely the restaurant/bar should be able to check or at least have a list of what rooms have what rate?!?!

Food came quite quickly and was quite impressed with the portion size and quality.

I then went up to the room. It was missing lots of things and didn’t feel upgraded in anyway, other than the size of the room. It had the same standard toiletries as a standard room but with no shower gel. No extras. The tea tray had the same standard tea bags and Nescafé sachets and was given one of each just like a standard room. It did have a Nespresso coffee machine but just a random selection of pods. The fridge had a bottle of water but nothing else such as soft drinks. It was just rather underwhelming to be honest. The room did have some good features like a rainfall shower which was nice and bed was comfy. Room was clean. But I have stayed here before and didn’t feel much upgraded from a standard room.

Breakfasts were great and of a very good standard. Staff were friendly and helpful and found a table quickly.

Check out, there was confusion again with the dinner rate. Eventually got it sorted. The car park ticket was quickly validated for the discount.

Overall I would stay here again but would not bother with an upgraded room or including a dinner rate.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Wouldn’t get hopes up for upgraded features in a junior suite. Wouldn’t bother including a...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
SVJLCO wrote a review Sept 2021
London, United Kingdom
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Good Central location Hotel for business meetings in the City Centre.
Was informed the Wi-Fi is not working on arrival with no compensation or anything... not even a "sorry"! Disappointing as I am staying for business.
Hotel rooms themselves are good, but definitely designed for Chinese guests. The shower/bath & sink are in one room behind a bamboo door, and the toilet is in a separate TINY booth. Very unhygienic that there is no sink to wash hands after going to the toilet - this means anyone using the toilet touches the handle to open the door without washing hands. The toilet cubicle is very small and not pleasant if you dislike small spaces with no windows.
Parking is 20m away from reception at the Q Car Park - be aware it is £27 for 24hrs.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Parking is £27 for 24hrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rob D wrote a review Sept 2021
Brighton, United Kingdom
+1
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Looking at some of the other reviews I echo a lot of those complaints. I only booked this hotel because a friend had also booked it so wouldn't necessarily have chosen it and will not choose it again in future. On checking in, the staff seemed to be very confused and unsure of things, and it look a long time just to find my booking. They then confirmed it was for 1 night when it was actually for 4. The rooms and communal areas were very run down, holes in the door where previously locking mechanisms had been removed, old looking doors, bad paint jobs and as other have said, a tiny toilet in a cupboard.

The biggest complaint I have which I see others have also made is the lack of room service. This is not advised anywhere on the site or at time of booking and in fact the hotel states that there are increased hygiene measures in place. I think to pay full price and not receive room service for most of the trip is absolutely terrible. When I complained about this I was just asked what I needed for my room and given extra coffee and towels. Not OK.

Again, information on the gym was not accurate. The website said it was closed but staff said it was open and opening times advised were different to the ones on notices. The gym and sauna facilities were actually really nice which is a plus and the bed was comfy. Food in the restaurant was also good though a little pricey.

All in all, really not impressed with the service here and will definitely be switching back to staying at the Holiday in going forwards. I actually paid a lower price and received a much better service there.

Also to add that I made an additional complaint following my stay about the lack of room service but have not received any response in several weeks.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mark B wrote a review Sept 2020
Prestwich, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Our recent stay at Novotel Manchester was very much to be recommended. We were celebrating my son’s 10th birthday; due to lockdown, he couldn’t have a party, so we went to Manchester for a nice meal. In the hotel room, the hotel kindly gave him balloons, games, a card and some lovely chocolates. He was very touched! The room was very clean, with a very comfortable king sized bed, with a sofa bed for our son.
We felt safe and secure at the hotel; their Covid 19 precautions were very thorough. You are asked to wear masks in communal areas (no big deal); and tea and coffee was available in a sealed bag. Breakfast had the staff asking what you wanted, and then bringing out freshly cooked food (rather than a breakfast buffet). A full English breakfast was excellent, and the continental option looked very nice too. Overnight parking at the attached Q park was £19 per night including hotel discount; very reasonable for the very centre of Manchester! Thank you Novotel; we shall return.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
gles t wrote a review Sept 2020
Bristol, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked a junior suite for not much more than a normal double. It may be because there were not many people staying in the hotel but the value was excellent. Two TV's so no arguing over what to watch. The suite was otherwise basic. The shower was powerful. We didn't eat in as we wanted to taste food from nearby eateries. Due to the times we are in at the moment the room was not serviced daily. However, when we needed extra coffee pods reception organised them. The hotel is a short walk to Canal Street and a little further to the main shopping centre and there wasn't any noise from external sources, or indeed from within the hotel.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Date of stay: September 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MC_UK_2022 wrote a review Apr 2022
2.0 of 5 bubbles
The situation of this hotel is perfect, but this is the only positive point.

The room was dirty compared to what we are expecting from this kind of hotel and price : carpet was full of stains (prefer not to know what has caused that), bathroom was dirty (hair on the floor...), and we could see that many things were never cleaned (light switches, taps...)

The service was bad and slow at the bar and during the breakfast : no one could answer simple questions on the menu, we needed to wait a lot before having breakfast, and the food was tasteless.

And last of all, there was a bug in their software and several hundreds pounds were debited by mistake from our account in addition to the real amount of the room. They will fix that but this is not normal.

To finish on a more positive note, the person at the reception desk felt sincerely sorry about all that and tried to help us as he could. But in my opinion, there is a global management problem in this hotel.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Date of stay: April 2022
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Extensive-Traveller wrote a review Aug 2021
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Room was clean, Bathroom door kept sticking and took a while to force lock, scary FIRE HAZZARD (Rm 418). Long queues at Breakfast (20 min wait), then bottleneck for Toast, Eggs, Beans etc etc. When I mentioned to staff on check-out, very dismissive about it ! As someone who spends apx 100 nights a year in hotels, this was just poor, total lack of management. Suggest one goes to Witherspoon 1 min walk on corner for Brekkie - no long queues or ignorant staff!

Location excellent, very central for China Town (1 min), Gay Village (2 min walk), Piccadilly Train Station (apx 8-10 min walk), Oxford Rd Station (4 min walk), Curry mile 5 min Taxi (1 mile away), Deansgate 15 min walk). St Peter Street night life 4 min walk. Great curry house next door (Sangam), up market feel, buffet lunch & Sunday, separate Shisha smoke section area to rear.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Upgrade to exec rooms, tried both standard and exec - marked difference.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ewenbradley wrote a review Jul 2021
Aughnacloy, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
In Manchester for the night and stayed at the Novotel. Check out was friendly and efficient. The room was spotless and very comfortable. The hotel reception and bar areas had plenty of sanitizers etc so I felt completely safe during my visit. Great location for restaurants etc. I would certainly recommend.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Date of stay: July 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
abcd144 wrote a review Feb 2023
Paris, France
+1
1.0 of 5 bubbles
What a horrible experience!!! Very used to the Novotel brand, I'm owning a gold membership as well as an All-Visa Ultimate credit card.
We arrived lately so had the worse room of the hotel (according to what the staff told us). The room met exactly the opposite of the criteria we required upon booking.
The bathroom was in very poor condition, and the mini shower gel bottle was half empty. The mini fridge did not produce any cold and the light was flashing all the night long (not very lovely as the door is made of glass). We spoke with the hotel representative who said the mini fridges of this hotel (which are exactly the same in any Novotel of western Europe) are designed to keep content at ambient temperature (I personnaly call that a cupboard though).

We've been changed of room on DAY 2, to a more satisfying place.
Of course, the "special attention" to welcome us (mandatory in the contract) were not provided. We had to request it. They failed to pick up the plate until we request them to do so.
After breakfast, which was correct, we returned to our room, were the cleaner was working, listening to some loud music, and washing cups just leaving them under the opened tap without any detergent, in the wash basin used to wash our hands... We invited him to come back later, to enable us to have some time before going and explore Manchester.
When going back to the hotel, the room were still not cleaned, and we had to request twice for a cleaner to come and clean again the room. That was a very nice lady, who by the way did not understand she also needed to vaccum the floor. I had to explain it in Spanish (that I'm not speaking except a few words) as she was not English speaker.
Some hotel workers we spoke with admitted they were unhappy with the concept of working with a third part company in charge of the cleaning, but also of this company in itself.

On DAY 3, we wanted to order a in-room breakfast. Our request has been refused while we however ordered on time. We had to strongly insist to finally get a breakfast which was however below the standards.

After 2 emails to the hotel's General Manager, we've been refunded 2 nights (1/3 and 3/3).

It is almost impossible to be able to be online with a receptionnist just calling them, as they prefer to be reached out via whats'app., which allows them to reply...when they want and if they want.

Something that seems to be a toilet brush has been found in one of the guests lift.

Most major employees were friendly, but did not solve our problems nor offered suitable solutions at anytime.

Special mention however to a very nice receptionist blond lady who made our experience a bit happier.

I'm planning to go back to Manchester and of course will avoid this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Mathieu Batut, Other at Novotel Manchester Centre
Responded 1 Mar 2023
Dear abcd144, Thank you for posting a review about your stay in our hotel last year, in May 2022. I am sorry that you had such a disappointing experience on that particular occasion and that we had to offer you a partial refund to compensate for the disappointment. We have been working ever so hard to ensure that we deliver on the expectations of our guests and continue developing our level of service and I hope that we will have another opportunity to welcome you in the near future. Should you wish to contact me directly regarding your last stay or future stay, please do get in contact and I will be happy to assist. Kind regards, Mathieu Batut General Manager h3145-gm@accor.com
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Stephanie P asked a question Jul 2021
2 contributions4 helpful votes
Do you have luggage storage for the day I check in?
Answer from Ian M
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom330 contributions126 helpful votes
I don’t know I would check with hotel. I shouldn’t think hotel will be full so your room may be available whenever you arrive
Dolly6273 asked a question Dec 2019
Northern Ireland1,210 contribution77 helpful votes
What is the hotel email address for the front desk?
Answer from carlosG1716RO
Dubai, United Arab Emirates13 contributions28 helpful votes
Good Day, I can share the hotel number here: el: 44 (161) 2352200, hoping is helpful.
Julie S wrote a tip Mar 2024
5 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The one comment I would recommend is : to start breakfast at 06:00am instead of 07:00am - We had early start but not able to have breakfast."
Read full review
Compass53420096632 wrote a tip Mar 2024
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Just enjoy your stay"
Read full review
Bala wrote a tip Feb 2024
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia116 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"All good as it a hotel, everything is ready when you get in"
Read full review
Tufty59 wrote a tip Dec 2023
Wiltshire317 contributions217 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Pick somewhere else to stay. Not up to Novotels usual standard. Location was great."
Read full review
Vicky J wrote a tip Nov 2023
Anglesey, United Kingdom18 contributions16 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"If travelling with kids pack some snacks and drinks for the room."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Manchester area.
PRICE RANGE
£73 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
novotel manchester centre hotel manchester, accor manchester centre, manchester novotel
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandGreater ManchesterManchester
NUMBER OF ROOMS
164
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

NOVOTEL MANCHESTER CENTRE - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about Novotel Manchester Centre
Which popular attractions are close to Novotel Manchester Centre?
Nearby attractions include Alcotraz Manchester: Cell Block Three-Four (0.3 miles), Manchester Central Library (0.2 miles), and The Bridgewater Hall (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Novotel Manchester Centre?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Novotel Manchester Centre?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Novotel Manchester Centre?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Novotel Manchester Centre?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Novotel Manchester Centre?
Conveniently located restaurants include Manchester Sora Restaurant, Teppanyaki Chinatown, and Sigdi Indian Restaurant & Bar.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Novotel Manchester Centre?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre, a sauna, and locker rooms available in the fitness centre during their stay.
Is Novotel Manchester Centre located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.3 miles away from the centre of Manchester.
Are any cleaning services offered at Novotel Manchester Centre?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Novotel Manchester Centre offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to Novotel Manchester Centre?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Ordsall Hall (1.6 miles), Granada Studios (0.5 miles), and Victoria Baths (1.6 miles).
All Manchester HotelsManchester Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in ManchesterHotels near Novotel Manchester Centre
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire