We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa

Is this your business?
Save
Traveller (925)
Room & Suite (443)
Dining (56)
Membership_Slide_Up_Placement_on_Hotel_Review_Price_Refresh
Watch prices for this hotel.
We’ll alert you of any changes.
Sign up
Overview
  • Excellent41%
  • Very good32%
  • Average16%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“thermal suite”(77 reviews)
“piccadilly station”(317 reviews)
“car park”(384 reviews)
AMENITIES
Free Internet
Parking
Breakfast Buffet
Air Conditioning
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Room Service
4 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (6,333)
There are newer reviews for Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
6,233 results
Traveller rating
2,442
2,018
1,024
460
289
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
2,442
2,018
1,024
460
289
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthermal suitepiccadilly stationcar parklovely hotelcity centremini barlovely roomexecutive roomreception staffstayed here for one nightcomfy bedsaturday nightbathapolloslippersconcert
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1,191 - 1,195 of 6,233 reviews
Reviewed 23 October 2016

Went to a Conference and we were put up at the Macdonald. Lovely room and I loved the view of the city with the hills in the background. The room was very comfortable and the bathroom had a large bath and a separate, large shower....More

1  Thank Patricia G
Response from GenManManchester, Front Office Manager at Macdonald Manchester Hotel & SpaResponded 24 October 2016

Dear Patricia Thank you for taking the time to write about your positive experience at The Macdonald Manchester Hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future and hopefully you will have more time to enjoy our facilities. Kind Regards Johan Scheepers

Reviewed 23 October 2016

Excellent hotel, slight query with our room this was sorted straight away and we were upgraded to a panoramic suite, staff were great couldn't do enough for you, dinner and breakfast excellent. We will definitely be coming back again soonMore

Thank Samantha C
Response from GenManManchester, General Manager at Macdonald Manchester Hotel & SpaResponded 24 October 2016

Dear Samantha Thank you for choosing the Macdonald Manchester hotel to celebrate such a special day with us. I will share your positive comments with the entire team who will be very proud to know that we made you feel special. We look forward to...More

Reviewed 23 October 2016

Stayed for 1 night for business trip to Manchester. The hotel is in the centre of Manchester adjacent to Picadilly station. The hotel is easy to find with sat nav. It has its own secure car park slightly seperate to the hotel which costs £20...More

1  Thank grgrgray
Response from GenManManchester, General Manager at Macdonald Manchester Hotel & SpaResponded 24 October 2016

Dear valued guest Thank you for choosing to stay at Macdonald Manchester Hotel and for taking the time to write about your positive experience. I am delighted to learn that you liked our location and product offering. Thank you for bringing the maintenance issue to...More

Reviewed 23 October 2016

Stayed for 2 nights, Friday and Saturday, in October 2016. Rooms were adequate, facilities were ok but the big draw back was the lifts. They were slow and there were only two. Constantly queuing when wanting to get back to the ground floor and often...More

1  Thank Orpster
Reviewed 23 October 2016 via mobile

Booked a spa day for two online. Massage; back and facial by Sammi was excellent. Lunch was also decent along with the chill-out area with low lighting and water fountain. Actual spa itself was ok; no pool or jacuzzi which is disappointing but the two...More

Thank LouisCannell
View more reviews
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Restaurant
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room Service
Free Internet
Bar/Lounge
Spa
Hotel Amenities
Business Centre with Internet Access
Room Service
Meeting Rooms
Laundry Service
Concierge
Dry Cleaning
Banquet Room
Multilingual Staff
Conference Facilities
Breakfast Available
Room amenities
Air Conditioning
Things to do
Restaurant
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar/Lounge
Spa
Details
Price range
US$113 - US$268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#7 Spa Hotel in Manchester
#18 Business Hotel in Manchester
#24 Family Hotel in Manchester
#27 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#30 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
US$113 - US$268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#7 Spa Hotel in Manchester
#18 Business Hotel in Manchester
#24 Family Hotel in Manchester
#27 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#30 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (925)
Room & Suite (443)
Dining (56)
Amenities (30)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
MathewHall
16 January 2018|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Marius C | Property representative |
Hi MatthewHall, Thank you for this. I am sorry that you had such an unpleasant experience. I will speak to Laura to avoid this from happening in the future. Kind Regards Marius Front Office Manager
0
Votes
Julie T
3 January 2018|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Ying Z | Reviewed this property |
Abt 20-30 minutes walking, better get a taxi.
1
Vote
Karolinka M
28 December 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Marius C | Property representative |
Hi, There is a car park at the back of the hotel. The postcode for it is M1 2AD. The car park is operated on a" first come first serve " basis so reservation is not possible and it costs £20 per car per night. Looking... More
0
Votes
Room Tips
"great views from the 8th floor rooms"
Read review
"Go to a different Hotel!"
Read review
"We were there for the restaurant only"
Read review
"Just don't go"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing