Novotel Bordeaux Lac
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Novotel Bordeaux Lac

Traveller (429)
entardecer perfeito
Room & Suite (154)
Novotel Bordeaux Lac
Videos (1)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

3.5
#77 of 184 hotels in Bordeaux
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.7 of 5 bubbles
Value
Welcome to the Novotel Bordeaux Lac The Novotel Bordeaux Lac invites you to spend a relaxed stay. Enjoy our terrace, the view of the lake and our heated swimming pool a few minutes from the historic city center of Bordeaux. You can taste the menu of our restaurant composed of home cooking with local products. Our hotel, located near the city's business hubs, also has 12 meeting rooms and a coworking space. At the gates of the convention center, the exhibition center and the Matmut Atlantique stadium, the Novotel Bordeaux Lac is ideally located. The SNCF station is accessible in 15min by tram and Bordeaux Mérignac airport in 20min by taxi. Take advantage of a moment of escape and relaxation to set off on the roads of the Bordeaux vineyards: the Medoc and Saint Emilion are 30 minutes away.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Bar / lounge
Video game console
Kids stay free
Books, DVDs, music for children
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Fence around pool
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Snack bar
Children's television networks
Indoor play area for children
Highchairs available
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Concierge
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Sun deck
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Room features
Blackout curtains
Soundproof rooms
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Flatscreen TV
Extra long beds
Bath / shower
Interconnected rooms available
Room service
Safe
Sofa
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Clothes rack
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Radio
Sofa bed
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Accor Hotels.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Lagoon View
Lake View
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, Vietnamese

Location

Avenue Jean Gabriel Domergue, 33300, Bordeaux France
Name/address in local language
Getting there
Car recommended
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 47 out of 100
47
Bordeaux Airport
1,702Review10Q+A33Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 391
  • 748
  • 372
  • 117
  • 74
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Echologist wrote a review Aug 2022
Hamburg, Germany
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel is north of Bordeaux and can be reached by tram within 25 minutes from the Central Station. When we visited, it took a litte bit longer due to constructions.

The hotel is near the Bordeaux Lac - great for walking, cycling and swimming. It also has a mall and restaurants nearby. The hotel also has a pool which was open two of the three days when we were there, because of cleaning the filter.

The sizes of the room are standard for the Novotel-Chain, for a family of four it might get really cozy.

The hotel offers several games for children, which were greatly appreciated, such as an Xbox in the lobby and a chess outside on the lawn. Wifi did not work all the time.

The choices of snacks at the restaurant is quite small - only plates of cheese, meat or mixed. However, the restaurant buffet is quite extensive, with lots of options. The breakfast is also great, but tends to get very crowded.

The staff was very friendly and helpful.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Ask for a room which is not facing the parking spot.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tracy F wrote a review Mar 2022
Bordeaux, France
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We often stay at the Novotel, Bordeaux Lac and use the tram to get in and out of the town centre which is really easy and the tram stop is very close to the hotel. We haven't stayed for a while because of lockdown, but went for one night this week.

The prices seem to have rocketed since lockdown. One night, including breakfast was 190 euros which I think is expensive for a budget hotel. The breakfast was good.

The room was the same as always, no decorating has been done for years, the carpet is getting threadbare in places, but it was clean and the bathroom was fine.

Unfortunately, at about midnight, there were workmen cleaning the flat roof outside our window, using a high-pressure hose. This went on until 2am (I was awake to see the time). It was a nuisance and we had no notice of it.

The staff were very kind, as always, and we hope the hotel is able to get back to it's old self, but we felt disappointed.

Tracy F
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Date of stay: March 2022
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from LAPLACE Pascale, Other at Novotel Bordeaux Lac
Responded 22 Mar 2022
Dear Tracy F, First of all, I would like to thank you very much for your loyalty to our hotel. Our team is so glad to read you took time to share your experience among us. I am deeply sorry that during this stay we did not get your expectations. However, I am so pleased to inform you that renovations are coming soon for the entire hotels’ rooms and we are looking forward to making you discover it. We sincerely hope that this stay will not alter your entire perception of our hotel quality and we will have a chance to regain your trust very soon. I wish you a lovely day, Warmest regards, Pauline.P Executive Housekeeper
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Travel_Girl_Reviews wrote a review Aug 2022
London, United Kingdom
3.0 of 5 bubbles
What was great was the lady that checked us in was super friendly. In fact all of the staff were really friendly. Thank you for that :)

The pool area was a bonus after a long drive. There were not many loungers so many people were on the grass. That does not bother me, if it may bother others.

I thought that the kids games area was really cool.

Our accommodation was disappointing. We had an executive family room. Our room did not look like the one on the photo. The bathroom stocked rituals which was nice. What was not nice is that the large bottles (bolted to the wall) were empty! Both soaps (basin and shower) were empty. The toilet flusher was broken and only worked on one setting. There is no toilet brush…..
The sleep quality was good (as the bed was comfy) but my husband found the pillows uncomfortable.

What was great was that the key card was not plastic, it was made of bamboo.

The parking is limited. I think that they do warn you about this on the website but just wanted to say that it’s correct.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Angel A wrote a review Feb 2023
Mexico City, Mexico
Hotel's Favourite
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel was pretty nice and modern, the room was spacious, big comfy bed and very nice bathroom too, the breakfast was also quite good, its located near a train station so you can easily get to the city center.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
JKL69 wrote a review Aug 2021
Lyon, France
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Thank you to the staff for making our stay pleasant & enjoyable; starting with the Front Desk team member for taking the time to follow up on our room preferences - It isn't often that one gets such level of attention! Secondly, I would like to highlight that the friendly service from the overall staff helped us feel at home while we discover Bordeaux & its surroundings for the very first time. While the menu selection is somewhat restricted, the quality of the cuisine is good and the music of a live band on one evening was a real consolation to the Covid situation. Breakfast was good; its location enabled us to have breakfasts at nearby hotels on other mornings when we wanted a change. The heated pool outside entertained my friends on a day when I was too ill to drive everyone around. If you'd like a good wine recommendation at the bar, ask for Johann ;)
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
OBoulez wrote a review Mar 2024
Morbihan, France
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We have stayed at Novotel Bordeaux Lac many times, and in recent years as others have posted (as have I), it was beginning to look a bit tired. We last stayed there in August 2023 and the room in which we were staying had obviously been recently renovated, it was clean and comfortable.

This time we were possibly the first guests to stay in our freshly renovated room located on the fourth floor. The coffee machine appeared to have never been used, and the room had the smell of new paint and carpet. Decorators were still working on rooms on the fourth and third floor.

As always, the hotel staff are very friendly and helpful, and for the first time we dined in the restaurant. It was actually pretty good for a hotel chain. Whilst there were plenty of waiting staff, I assume that there is not a massive brigade in the kitchen, for the food took a little time to arrive. That said, it was freshly cooked, and that takes time.

The negatives - as others continually post, the room was very hot even with the aircon turned up to number 11 (in not brilliant weather in early March). At the end of the day, the hotel is quite old, so I suppose that there is only so much that can reasonably be done. We had a window open through the night, so that made it bearable.

Also, we had a sofa bed for our teenage son. The bottom sheet and protector were very flimsy and were possibly ‘disposable’, and they slid off the bed during the night, so ideally another solution needs to be found for bedding. The bedding on the double bed was super.

My wife ordered room service breakfast, and unfortunately there seemed to be a shortage of pain complet, for not only did she not receive it with her breakfast, but in the dining room itself there was only a little left when I had breakfast the first day - and none the second. Perhaps the hotel needs to be aware of changing eating habits in this respect, for it would appear to be a popular choice. Otherwise, the breakfast was adequate if unremarkable.

We love Bordeaux, and when back in the summer, we will return to Novotel Bordeaux Lac.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jens V wrote a review Aug 2022
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Novotel Bordeaux Lac is a nice hotel situated very close to the wonderful Bordeaux lake and to the tram station with connection to the city center (10-15 min). We stayed at the hotel for 12 days in July 2022 and we have these comments.
Room: Nice size, air con is working perfectly, beds are a bit firm.
Pool: Small and a bit shabby. Noisy children everywhere.
Table tennis: Old bats and no balls. The staff does not have access to new balls.
Restaurant: Expensive and the food is not impressive or tasty.
Reception: Due to the firm beds, we asked for top mattresses. It took the hotel 3 days to come with thin roll mattresses, whish was not at all satisfactory. We had to buy our own top mattresses, expense 55 euros.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
OBoulez wrote a review Aug 2023
Morbihan, France
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We have stayed at Novotel Bordeaux Lac several times before, and can echo many other posts that the hotel was beginning to look rather 'tired'. The hotel is however ideally located near tram line stops which will get you into the city centre.

Since our last stay, it appears that the hotel has undergone some modernisation.

Our room was nice, and the hotel staff were very friendly, polite and helpful. Breakfast was adequate - if nothing special.

On the negatives, we had two particular observations. Firstly, the air conditioning in the room was practically ineffective, and the room itself could have been cleaner. Beneath the sofa bed we found an ancient breakfast cereal bar and other bits of rubbish.

Regarding the price, we booked online on the Novotel site, and got quite a good price for the particular nights that we stayed, breakfast included. For the right 'deal', we will be back, as Bordeaux is one of our favourite cities.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Asian traveler from London wrote a review Jun 2022
London, United Kingdom
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I have lost count of the times I have stayed here. The hotel has always been good. We stayed here in August 2021 and no complaints again from us.
We stayed her from the 28th of May - 31st of May 2022. The room lacked cleaniness, gone down hill from August 2021. The toilet was not very clean at all. The toilet bowl had a big disgusting mark and it looks like a toilet brush has never visited the bowl. Room number was 246 ( I think so).
Breakfast buffet - the coffee machines were working on the first day of our stay then they changed them to some other machines, well to get a coffee it took at least 10 minutes. To get simple things refilled at breakfast was a chore. When you ask the guy who is generally there he keeps shouting saying yes I am filling it.
The sofa bed was like ROCK. Value for money was poor. You charged us £433 for 3 nights . This is not a 4 STAR hotel I would give it 2 Stars. Air Conditioner barely worked. Just noise. Could not keep the window open as we were just above entrance and it was very noisy.

Will I stay here again - NO. Not again. Only one nice employee in the hotel the reception lady called Phoung. I think that is her name. So friendly and goes out of her way to help customers. Some young ladies in breakfast area are good.
Very poor value for money and worst not clean at all. I have a photo of the dirty toilet bowl (feel free to email me happy to send it).
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Chris B wrote a review Sept 2023
Albany, Australia
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed here recently and was very impressed with the staff at the hotel and restaurant. All very friendly and catered to us not speaking the language. Room was great, very comfortable and the bathroom was excellent. Food at the restaurant was very tasty and reasonably priced.

Only negative was when we checked out - we asked the staff member to call us a taxi, but instead he called a private driver which cost us a bit more. I suspect this driver was his mate and although it wasn’t hugely more expensive, it’s still annoying. He could have been honest and suggested his driver, we probably would’ve agreed. Left a bad taste to an otherwise great stay
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Travel_Girl_Reviews asked a question Jul 2022
London, United Kingdom685 contributions259 helpful votes
Hello, can anyone tell me if the parking is for free? Thank you
24Leah asked a question Jun 2017
Manchester, United Kingdom2 contributions2 helpful votes
Can anyone tell me if there is a supermarket nearby? Thanks
Answer from
London, United Kingdom
If you take the Electrical tram next to the hotel, you are in 10 min. with the Auchan supermarket. (it's a very large one) Have a good holiday, keep in mind that the food in the hotel is very good, specially with a glass of local wine !!
James M asked a question May 2016
Prestwick, United Kingdom10 contributions12 helpful votes
What is the best way to transfer to your hotel from Bordeaux Airport (Billi Terminal)?
MaxwellStone wrote a tip Sept 2023
London, United Kingdom241 contributions131 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Plenty of parking. Close to the C Tram Line."
Read full review
Echologist wrote a tip Aug 2022
Hamburg, Germany280 contributions182 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ask for a room which is not facing the parking spot."
Read full review
Gwyn a wrote a tip Oct 2019
4 contributions6 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Avoid the side that overlooks the heating and ventilation duct-work which runs all night."
Read full review
Erik L wrote a tip Dec 2018
Malmö, Sweden153 contributions57 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"ask for lake view .. it safes you the noise from the parking/smokers outside."
Read full review
sashateeo wrote a tip Sept 2018
north west14 contributions5 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Comfortable haven"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Bordeaux area.
PRICE RANGE
£83 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
novotel bordeaux le lac hotel bordeaux, bordeaux novotel
LOCATION
FranceNouvelle-AquitaineGirondeBordeaux
NUMBER OF ROOMS
175
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

NOVOTEL BORDEAUX LAC - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about Novotel Bordeaux Lac
Which popular attractions are close to Novotel Bordeaux Lac?
Nearby attractions include Matmut Atlantique (0.5 miles), Laser Game Evolution Bordeaux (0.5 miles), and Casino Barriere Bordeaux (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Novotel Bordeaux Lac?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Novotel Bordeaux Lac?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and blackout curtains.
What food & drink options are available at Novotel Bordeaux Lac?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and an outdoor dining area during their stay.
Is parking available at Novotel Bordeaux Lac?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Novotel Bordeaux Lac?
Conveniently located restaurants include Brasserie Au 33, Hippopotamus, and L'Aquitania.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Novotel Bordeaux Lac?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Novotel Bordeaux Lac?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Novotel Bordeaux Lac?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Novotel Bordeaux Lac offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Novotel Bordeaux Lac?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, and Vietnamese.
All Bordeaux HotelsBordeaux Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in BordeauxHotels near Novotel Bordeaux Lac
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire