Mercure Saint Malo Front de Mer
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Mercure Saint Malo Front de Mer

Traveller (337)
Chambre vue sur mer
Room & Suite (145)
Dining (23)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.0
#38 of 79 hotels in Saint-Malo
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Value
The Mercure Saint Malo Front de Mer overlooks the main beach, 5 minutes walk from the Corsair City and 20 min from the TGV train station and the port. Book one of our standard or sea view rooms. In winter St Malo offers peace and quiet, long walks or bicycle rides and spectacular tides. In summer music fills the streets with life and visitors can enjoy the beaches, water activities and golf. For your meetings, the hotel offers a small room for up to 10 people.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Street parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Beach
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Room features
Air conditioning
Room service
Safe
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Accor Hotels.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Green
Modern
Languages Spoken
English, French

Location

36 Chaussee du Sillon, 35400, Saint-Malo France
Name/address in local language
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 79 out of 100
79
Pleurtuit Airport
States Airport
39.7 mi
See all flights
1,269Review6Q+A65Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 377
  • 564
  • 237
  • 61
  • 30
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
SJ McKinnon wrote a review Aug 2022
London, United Kingdom
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We wanted somewhere with a view and an easy walk into the Old Town of Saint Malo, safe parking was also a criterial and the Mercure fitted our requirements.

We arrived on a warm and busy Sunday afternoon, we had arranged parking in advance directly emailing the hotel (they have an arrangement with the Ibis round the corner), but when we arrived there was street parking directly outside that was free which we used.

Some of the hotels in the centre of town feel a bit more claustrophobic with access and parking presenting a problem. We had been travelling for a month and had a lot of things in the car, but didn’t want to empty everything for just one night, we felt the car was safe on the street immediately outside.

The member of staff at reception was friendly and the check-in process was quick and within no time we were in our sea facing room on the second floor. He also helped with a restaurant recommendation and booked a table for us.

The rooms are not huge, but absolutely adequate. There was a kettle with some sachets of coffee/tea and a bottle of water. The bathroom had a bath with an overhead shower. It was well ventilated and bright.

The really star of the show was the fantastic sea view. We had the windows open so we could enjoy the sound of the waves below and we loved the views towards Île de la Cézembre, Fort de la Conchée and le Fort National.

The Seaview rooms get to experience spectacular views of the sunset. In the morning were were able to watch our ferry coming in - good to know it was on time.

Although there is a road directly outside it was not busy at night and we were not disturbed by the any traffic noises.

It is a 10 minute walk into the old town from the hotel along the seafront. St Malo is busy, so worth doing your research and maybe booking a restaurant in advance.

We were only here for one night, but if you have time, definitely walk along the seafront and/or beach and explore the old town.

We decided not to have breakfast which is served on the ground floor, instead we found a local bakery and sat on the beach with a croissant and coffee.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from MIREILLE ESNAULT, General Manager at Mercure Saint Malo Front de Mer
Responded 26 Aug 2022
Good evening, Thank you for your comment about your stay. We hope to see you again. Best regards
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Elisabetta M wrote a review Aug 2022
Padua, Italy
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel is right in front of the beach and a short walk to the walled city. Parking on the street in easy and cost is very reasonable (night parking is free).
COULD BE BETTER: the temperature in the breakfast room. Way too cold!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Date of stay: August 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from MIREILLE ESNAULT, General Manager at Mercure Saint Malo Front de Mer
Responded 26 Aug 2022
Good evening, We thank you for your comment about your stay. Best regards
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jonathan D wrote a review Jul 2022
Christchurch, United Kingdom
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here in early July and were looking for a room with a nice sea view and within a short walk of the old town. The Mercure met both needs very well. Check in was straightforward and the receptionist friendly and helpful. Our room was on the second floor and whilst there was no balcony, the double doors opened inwards and it was just lovely watching the sunset from there. The old town is about a 10/15 minute level walk. The only slight downside is no hotel parking, although that having been said we found some street parking quite easily which you pay for at pay stations and it worked out at less than £5 for about 24 hours.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Date of stay: July 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from MIREILLE ESNAULT, General Manager at Mercure Saint Malo Front de Mer
Responded 24 Jul 2022
Good morning, We thank you for your return. For the parking, we have a parking share with the IBIS HOTEL PLAGE. Best regards
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Haojun J wrote a review Aug 2022
London, United Kingdom
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Location was great. (And this is the reason why I give it 2 stars but not 1)

Room was below average: the worst of Mercure that I have ever seen. It is not better than any Ibis. And the room was still dirty after cleaning (see pictures). Air-con doesn’t work properly.

Service was a disaster: it is incredibly understaffed during the august high season. There is often a queue on the reception desk. The receptionist is also the bar man/women. It seems that there is no additional staff outside the breakfast time. If you have any questions/requirements for them, you can expect the answer: “no, I can’t/I don’t have time/we don’t have this”. Staff just ignore you when they see you.

Facility is a disaster: 1- they often claim that they have a parking shared with Ibes, in reality, they only have 5 spaces and no one get parked there (wondering if their staff uses the parking personally?). 2- no restaurant/dinner

They treat Accor members as a s**t: as we were not happy with the room so we mentioned “we are gold member with Accor, is there anything that you can do?”, the receptionist cut us off by saying “there is diamond member staying here and we can do nothing for them”.

Overall it is the worst experience I have ever had with Mercure or Accor in general (as Ibes is better than this Mercure). Anyone should avoid this hotel to save your holiday. Any average hotel/Airbnb would work better.

The booking is not under my name, if Accor want to investigate further, we can share the booking detail.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Avoid this hotel to save your holiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from MIREILLE ESNAULT, General Manager at Mercure Saint Malo Front de Mer
Responded 28 Aug 2022
Cher client, Nous aurons mis peu de temps, même si la réservation n’était pas sous votre nom, à se rappeler de votre passage également. Nous ne pouvons jamais se satisfaire d’un tel commentaire néanmoins et de la déception globale concernant votre séjour. Nous pourrons rétablir néanmoins certains faits (et non des suppositions) dans des termes adéquats (et non orduriers) concernant votre séjour. Nous avons bien retenu que la chambre ne vous ait pas plu, vous l’avez signifié dès votre arrivée. Vous avez demandé un surclassement (qui se base sur un principe de disponibilité) et devant votre insistance, vous avons expliqué que nous étions complets, nous n’avons pas cependant voulu vous offusquer en sous entendant que vous n’aviez pas le bon statut, nous l’aurions fait avec grand plaisir si nous l’avions pu, fût-ce une question ou une exigence (même sans un « s’il vous plait ») Nous nous excusons pour notre polyvalence, d’avoir une équipe stable à l’année dans une région et dans un contexte global ou beaucoup d’hôteliers peinent à recruter, d’avoir parfois des clients arrivant ou partant en même temps, de ne pas avoir de restaurant, et de n’avoir pu vous le dire quand vous avez réservé depuis votre ordinateur. Nous nous excusons aussi auprès de notre femme de chambre, qui en 20 ans d’expérience, n’a jamais vu une chambre dans un tel état d’insalubrité et de désordre. Nous nous excusons que vous ayez cassé un élément de mobilier et d’en avoir demandé fébrilement réparation à votre départ, ce que vous avez accepté sans rechigner. Nous nous excusons enfin de VOUS avoir dit NON en effet quand en cherchant sur votre téléphone à votre départ, vous avez voulu NOUS prouver une dernière fois que votre statut vous donnait le droit à de nombreux avantages obligatoires que nous n’aurions pas honorés. Les photos prises à votre départ sur l’état de votre chambre et informations ont été transmises de notre côté au service client ALL après votre départ. Cordialement. La Direction
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Bikerhino wrote a review Sept 2022
Kalamazoo County, Michigan
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Hotel is in an excellent location and the staff was friendly and helpful. The staff we interacted with spoke acceptable English. We needed a triple and this was one of the few options that was anywhere near the walled city area.

The hotel has elevator service for all but the top floor...which is where the two triple rooms are located. So, please keep in mind that you will need to haul luggage up a flite of stairs. Also, pay attention to the skylight. that's you're only view of the water. As long as the weather is acceptable, make sure you open it up and get some air and you can look through it.

We enjoyed our stay, but I probably wouldn't wish to stay in the room for more than 2-3 nights.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from MIREILLE ESNAULT, General Manager at Mercure Saint Malo Front de Mer
Responded 10 Oct 2022
Monsieur Nous vous remercions pour vos commentaires suite à votre séjour à Hôtel Mercure Saint-Malo Front de Mer. C’est avec grand plaisir que nous recevons vos compliments. Aussi, nous ne manquerons pas de partager vos appréciations avec toute notre équipe. Votre satisfaction est la plus belle récompense pour notre personnel qui travaille jour après jour pour vous offrir un service irréprochable. Dans l’attente de vous accueillir de nouveau Cordialement
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sophie_r wrote a review Nov 2021
Zurich, Switzerland
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We didn’t expect anything very luxurious but at least a clean room with good location.

The location was great - 5 minute walk from the center, however there was mold around the windows, hair on the bed and a water bottle from the guest who slept there before. When checking out we mentioned it and were given a small discount….however this should really not happen.

Also, if you are not a fan of really hard beds don’t expect to sleep well.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from MIREILLE ESNAULT, General Manager at Mercure Saint Malo Front de Mer
Responded 5 Nov 2021
Good Evening We thank you for your return during your stay. Cordially Front Desk
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Runtoseetheworld wrote a review Jan 2020
Coppell, Texas
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The rooms are nice with comfy beds. It was easy to park out front in winter but I could imagine it may be harder in peak season. It's about a 10 minute walk from the city walls, but it was nice to stroll along the seawall.
Breakfast was good- lots of choices. I enjoyed the sauna they had.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Herman592 wrote a review Jul 2023
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Why only 2 star? I stayed at this hotel ten+ years ago and thought it was nice. and a good location. So months ago . as an Accor member. I booked a "Classic Room with the Sea View." for three nights. I really enjoy watching the sea, especially in Northern France with 6+m/18ft+ tides. So our room is actually on the third floor with a small window view. Large windows are on the 1st and 2nd floor.. At the reception, they said they are fully booked (no surprise) and some guy behind the counter (not the receptionist) gives me some attitude and says I should have requested a big window. Excuse me, but the big window is in the reservation picture!!! On top of that, this room has a big support post in the middle of the room, next to the bed. A real nose breaker in the dark. So BEWARE... If you want a good sea view, order a room with a large window. Otherwise, the hotel is OK. Clean. People are friendly. Good breakfast. Quiet.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
FrequentTraveller921 wrote a review Jul 2022
London, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I’ve stayed here before and this time was no exception - a good room with a clean efficient bathroom, great air conditioning and a comfortable bed. The breakfast was very good and the most important thing is the staff - friendly and efficient they make the difference. There are hundreds of hotels in Saint-Malo and I choose this one because of all the things I just wrote but mostly because of the staff.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Date of stay: July 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from MIREILLE ESNAULT, General Manager at Mercure Saint Malo Front de Mer
Responded 15 Jul 2022
Good Morning, We thank you for your return about your stay. Best regards,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Agata Z wrote a review Apr 2020
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Was supposed to visit, but coronavirus hit. I would understand that those are special circumstances, but the hotel's response, Overall Service was so bad that it's hard to described. I would not to like to have anything more to do with the hotel. Although still waiting to get a refund for a booked stay.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from MER035, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Saint Malo Front de Mer
Responded 29 Jun 2020
Mrs, We apply for all guest the same selling conditions for this Exceptionnal circumstances. It was normal for the delay about the refund (90 days ) All this conditions are mentionned on the ACCOR website. Best regards,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
stredfield asked a question Mar 2016
Long Beach, California13 contributions2 helpful votes
Is there parking available? What is your cancellation policy? Thank you!
uzureau asked a question Nov 2014
Paris, France
bonjour acceptez vous les chats ? merci
Answer from MER035
saint malo
Bonjour, Nous acceptons les animaux avec un suplément de 10 euros par jour. cordialement Mireille ESNAULT
harrietnicole wrote a tip Aug 2023
London, United Kingdom77 contributions65 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Definitely book rooms facing the seafront. Third floor rooms are lovely."
Read full review
POLLYANNA57 wrote a tip May 2023
Brisbane, Australia541 contributions213 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Go for a walk. Beautiful area."
Read full review
Haojun J wrote a tip Aug 2022
London, United Kingdom5 contributions2 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Avoid this hotel to save your holiday"
Read full review
Haris C wrote a tip Aug 2019
Whitby, Canada35 contributions13 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Upper floors, sea view."
Read full review
Christopher W wrote a tip Sept 2018
Thornford, United Kingdom17 contributions13 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Sea view desirable if one is available."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Saint-Malo area.
PRICE RANGE
£117 - £164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
mercure st malo front de mer hotel saint-malo, mercure saint malo, mercure hotel saint malo
LOCATION
FranceBrittanyIlle-et-VilaineSaint-Malo
NUMBER OF ROOMS
51
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

MERCURE SAINT MALO FRONT DE MER - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about Mercure Saint Malo Front de Mer
Which popular attractions are close to Mercure Saint Malo Front de Mer?
Nearby attractions include Plage de l'Eventail (0.07 miles), Tombelaine Coquillages (0.10 miles), and Carre Chocolat - Sylvain Dahirel (0.08 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Mercure Saint Malo Front de Mer?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Mercure Saint Malo Front de Mer?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Mercure Saint Malo Front de Mer?
Yes, street parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Mercure Saint Malo Front de Mer?
Conveniently located restaurants include La Cabane, Restaurant Les 7 Mers, and Le Kaziela.
Is Mercure Saint Malo Front de Mer located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.4 miles away from the centre of Saint-Malo.
Are any cleaning services offered at Mercure Saint Malo Front de Mer?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Mercure Saint Malo Front de Mer?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Mercure Saint Malo Front de Mer?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and French.
Are there any historical sites close to Mercure Saint Malo Front de Mer?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Demeure De Corsaire (0.6 miles), Fort National (0.4 miles), and Musée Jacques Cartier (2.8 miles).
Does Mercure Saint Malo Front de Mer have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
All Saint-Malo HotelsSaint-Malo Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Saint-MaloHotels near Mercure Saint Malo Front de Mer
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire