We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Smart Place Paris

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Smart Place Paris
Smart Place Paris
Panoramas (4)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

371 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 209: English reviews
Penang Island, Malaysia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The worst receptionist I've ever come across my traveling in my life!! They simply charged my credit card before I arrived where my booking says payment upon arrival. Unprofessional and rude to their valued customer!! I hate people who choose to work in service line but have no customer service sense at all!! No atmosphere, no information given when we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank alexsace
Smart Place Par... |, Manager at Smart Place Paris, responded to this review

Dear Alexsace, Thank you for taking the time to express your feelings about your stay in our hotel. We would like to sincerely apologize for the different inconveniences you have met during your stay with us. Indeed the prepayment of your booking has been made in advance as per the booking policy of booking.com. The policy says : The payment...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Very close to Gare du Nord which was perfect for me as I travel by train. The room/dorm is quite comfortable, clean and the receptionist very friendly. the common area kinda artsy and it is great to hang around or reading books. my only letdown is the toilet very small and there's no storage compartment in the room as far...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jamalmirdad
Smart Place Par... |, Manager at Smart Place Paris, responded to this review

Dear Jamal, It was a pleasure hosting you during your recent stay in Paris and thank you for taking the time to write your kind review. It was very rewarding to read that you found our reception to be very warm and accommodating to you throughout your stay with us. We have staff available 24-7 to assist you with all...

New Delhi, India
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

1) Looks a little dingy 2) I did not find too many younger people here 3) Bathroom is attached to the room and is not very clean. The hostel does not even provide hand soap. 4) Sockets/plug points are there in some beds but not in all, so it is difficult to put phones, etc on charge at night. 5)...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vrinda D
Smart-Place-Team, Gérant at Smart Place Paris, responded to this review

Dear Vrinda Thank you for taking the time to express your feelings about your stay in our hotel. We would like to sincerely apologize for the different inconveniences you have met during your stay with us. We do have hand soap available at the reception desk. Do not hesitate to ask the reception next time. We already have considered and...

Winnipeg, Canada
Reviewed 31 October 2016 via mobile

It was fine, I really liked the location (around the corner from a popular and delicious boulangerie). The common area was small and did not invite hanging out, even though the hostel sold beers at the reception (I wouldn't consider it a "bar"). Always free coffee and tea. The beds were cot sized in the dorm room and comfortable, but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dbogas
Smart-Place-Team, Gérant at Smart Place Paris, responded to this review

Dear dbogas, It was a pleasure hosting you during your recent stay in Paris and thank you for taking the time to write your kind review. We were also pleased to read you enjoyed our location, which is very central to all the best restaurants, cafes, bars Paris has to offer. We look forward to another opportunity to host you...

Reviewed 25 October 2016 via mobile

I was there for only one night as I came from Brussels by train and had a flight from Charles de Gaulle the next day. The location is perfect near the gare du Nord. Hostel is very clean and very friendly. Only thing to criticise is the size of the dorm, just way too small. No room for luggage for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarah K
Smart-Place-Team, Gérant at Smart Place Paris, responded to this review

Dear Sarah, It was a pleasure hosting you during your recent stay in Paris and thank you for taking the time to write your kind review. It was very rewarding to read that you found our reception to be very warm and accommodating to you throughout your stay with us. We have staff available 24-7 to assist you with all...

Placerville, California
Reviewed 4 October 2016

I booked a night at this hostel simply because it's the cheapest one i could find in Paris. Because of that i kept my expectations low, but it turned out to be pretty good. it's a simple hostel with all the basic facilities. Rooms were big enough, though i found the shower area pretty cramped. It's very close to Gare...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jeremiah D
Smart-Place-Team, Gérant at Smart Place Paris, responded to this review

Hello, It was a pleasure hosting you during your recent stay in Paris and thank you for taking the time to write your kind review. Great constructive feedback, this is the best tool we could ever use to improve our service. We are looking forward to welcoming you again at Smart Place. We were also pleased to read you enjoyed...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 September 2016 via mobile

Friendly personnel but diabolical management. I you wanted to wash my clothes, I had to go get washing powder! And....the hotel does not have a working iron!!! Common! No ironing!!! It is not about money. Poor service

 Report
Helpful?
Thank alex4321234
Smart-Place-Team, Gérant at Smart Place Paris, responded to this review

Dear Alex Thank you for taking the time to express your feelings about your stay in our hotel. We would like to sincerely apologize for the different inconveniences you have met during your stay with us. We already have considered and analyzed your esteemed feedback and have noticed with concern your comments. In this respect and in order to improve,...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 24 September 2016 via mobile

Stayed in the private rooms of the hotel/hostel, rooms and ensuite bathroom were clean, reception staff very helpful with tour information and luggage storage. The location is convenient, a short walk from Gard du Nord and handy for taking the Eurostar. Unfortunately there was the occasional power short circuit and smoke alarms set off due to another person smoking in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Danielle A
Smart-Place-Team, Gérant at Smart Place Paris, responded to this review

Dear Danielle, It was a pleasure hosting you during your recent stay in Paris and thank you for taking the time to write your kind review. It was very rewarding to read that you found our reception to be very warm and accommodating to you throughout your stay with us. We have staff available 24-7 to assist you with all...

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed 21 September 2016

Stayed for 2 nights. Hotel is good for Solo traveller. Good location. Near to Metro Station. Staff is not that accommodating. Room and washroom is clean but quite small. Lift is very little. Overall the Hotel is decent and I will recommend this.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sidewinder0512
Smart-Place-Team, Gérant at Smart Place Paris, responded to this review

Dear Acri It was a pleasure hosting you during your recent stay in Paris and thank you for taking the time to write your kind review. We were also pleased to read you enjoyed our location, which is very central to all the best restaurants, cafes, bars that Paris has to offer. Do not hesitate to come by again. Valerie...

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 15 September 2016

Smart Place is located 5 mins from the Gare Du Nord metro station, this isn't the best or safest neighbourhood (not that i met any grave immediate dangers). You will see different characters lurking/loitering the area most of the time, especially after it gets dark. Do take note/into consideration if you are a solo girl travelling. That being said, i...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jas0n11
Smart-Place-Team, Gérant at Smart Place Paris, responded to this review

Hi, thank you very much for your comment. We were pleased to read you enjoyed our location, which is very central to all the best restaurants, cafes, bars that Paris has to offer. We are also just minutes away from XXX, and much more! Indeed you need to be carefull at night but it is in all neighborhood in Paris...

248 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (64)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Other (17)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (162)
Viewed
Amenities (17)
Viewed
Double Room (40)
Viewed
The Hotel (65)
Viewed
Twin Room (40)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Vintage Hostel
#7 of 149 in Paris
711 reviews
Canal Saint-Martin
Generator Hostel
Generator Hostel
#5 of 149 in Paris
973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Arty Paris
#9 of 149 in Paris
562 reviews
Montmartre
Le Village Hostel
Le Village Hostel
#3 of 149 in Paris
728 reviews
Le Marais
Auberge de Jeunesse MIJE  Fourcy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Smart Place Paris is the perfect budget hostel to experience the most of Paris. Located close to all the popular areas where the night life is quite animated, you will discover the most beautiful places of the french capital while enjoying a local city life. Surrounded by bars, theatres, you can easily walk to the Grands Boulevards, Montparnasse or Gare du Nord. Chose between the modern private, double or triple rooms, or share a dormitory with your friends ( mixed or not ). Prepare a meal in the common kitchen, relax in the lobby, stay connected with the free wifi and ask anything you need to the friendly team. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Smart Place Paris

Address: 28 rue de Dunkerque, 75010 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Entrepôt
Price Range: £21 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Smart Place Paris 1.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Smart Place Paris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Smart Place Paris staff and other travellers.
18 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (18)

Questions? Get answers from Smart Place Paris staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Highest level (5th floor) for the rooms with balcony!”
 of 5 bubbles jas0n11, 15 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Room 14 has a window to the street, fresh air for free.”
 of 5 bubbles JuanI288, 13 Sep 2016 | Read review
“En suite room was lush!”
 of 5 bubbles Joshuwa, 23 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Get a private bathroom to feel like you have your own private little world.”
 of 5 bubbles justg975, 20 May 2016 | Read review
“The mixed rooms are really tiny, but otherwise OK.”
 of 5 bubbles 543luk_v, 18 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay