A l'Hotel des Roys
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

A l'Hotel des Roys

Hôtel
Traveller (124)
Panorama at the A l'Hotel des Roys
360
Panoramas (10)
chambre double classique
Room & Suite (142)

View prices for your travel dates

Fully refundable before Sat, 1 Jun
Get rewarded with One Key
£112
£103
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.0
#8 of 26 hotels in Versailles
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Value
Entirely renovated during summer 2017, HDR, Hôtel des Roys is your warm and friendly house for your next stay in Versailles. 2 steps away from the castle and the heart of the city, his 37 quiet rooms are designed to welcome business travelers as well as famillies in quadruple room .
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
Baggage storage
Concierge
24-hour check-in
Street parking
Wifi
Coffee shop
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Sun terrace
24-hour front desk
Room features
Housekeeping
Safe
Telephone
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
2.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Classic
Family
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, Arabic and 6 more

Location

14 avenue de Paris, 78000, Versailles France
Name/address in local language
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 100 out of 100
100
Charles De Gaulle Airport
23.9 mi
See all flights
Orly Field
11.8 mi
See all flights
Versailles-Château
4 minParis RER
493Reviews8Q+A26Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 164
  • 216
  • 73
  • 20
  • 20
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
SnowyShasta wrote a review Aug 2022
Portland, Oregon2,309 contributions911 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here for two nights during a visit to Versailles. The location was perfect - just a short walk away from both the main Chateau Rive Gauche train station and the Versailles Chateau itself. We arrived with a car and there was parking available in front of the hotel which was free during the late evening/morning when we needed it.

Our room was relatively small, with a tiny bathroom that barely fit one person at a time. But it worked for what we needed and was comfortable sleeping. Breakfast was not included in our rate, so we ate elsewhere. Overall for a reasonable rate and great location we were happy with our choice.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Paula B wrote a review Sept 2022
Plymouth, United Kingdom680 contributions127 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We decided to stay over an extra night in Versailles and found this small hotel at a reasonable price. It was very quaint and close to the Palace. The staff were lovely and couldn’t be more helpful. They have a section outside with tables and chairs to relax and breakfast was very fresh and well prepared.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
aa27 wrote a review Jan 2022
Lausanne, Switzerland531 contributions235 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We had already been here few years ago, and will surely be back again: it's easy to reach from 2 of the Versailles train station, and you can find a parking just in front (quite expensive though) if you have a car. The room and the bathroom are small but comfortable, clean, anti-covid measures are taken seriously. Bed is comfortable, pity that the stilish nice sink in the bathroom is not that practical, no real room for properly wash your hands, but this was really the only "bad" point for us. Breakfast buffet more than adequate, good quality, and properly setup.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Laurence Guilloux, Directeur général at A l'Hotel des Roys
Responded 12 Apr 2022
Good afternoon ! Thank you for sharing your experience at the Hotel des Roys. We are delighted to read that you appreciated the location of the hotel and that the quality of service met your expectations. We hope to welcome you again for a wonderful stay, Beautiful day, The Hotel des Roys*** team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
mumistheword wrote a review Jul 2022
United Kingdom50 contributions65 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I chose this hotel as I wanted to be as close as possible, as cheaply as possible to the Palace of Versailles. It's definitely bijoux and there was a fan when air conditioning would have been better but it was a great location, nice little place with lovely staff. All I needed.
The area is a little odd in that there is a lack of good restaurants nearby, or that I could find. Lots of over-priced tourist food, a McDonalds and a KFC.
It is very close to the metro station so swings and roundabouts really!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Roel P wrote a review Oct 2021
Ghent, Belgium187 contributions96 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Hotels in Versailles are expensive. This one is very affordable. Beds aren't the best, rooms are outdated. But it's clean and service is extremely friendly. There's no parking space but it's fairly easy to find a public spot. Breakfast is varied and very tasty. Only 10min walk from the palace. Recommended!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Laurence Guilloux, General Manager at A l'Hotel des Roys
Responded 12 Apr 2022
Good afternoon, Thank you for your ratings and comments about our establishment. We are delighted to know that your stay met your expectations. The Hôtel des Roys team***
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ronny wrote a review Jul 2020
Weyhe, Germany53 contributions11 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Have had the smallest room - Paris style - but was clean. Staff very friendly, breakfast was good, no huge buffet but that was also not expected. Ideally located to start Versailles waiting lines tour 😜.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Bar1Tara wrote a review Aug 2014
Toronto2 contributions8 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I want to begin this review by letting you know I had been travelling Europe for three weeks prior to staying at this hotel. In this time I stayed in a variety of hotels, and believe I have a good understanding of European standards for hotels.

When my husband and I checked into the hotel, I was incredible disappointed. The hotel was not cheap, but very run down. The hallways were dingy, and there was vomit on the carpet as we made our way to our room (which was still there in the morning). When we opened the door to our room, there were two very powerful smells, the first of smoke (in our non smoking room) and the other of mold. After closer inspection, I found the source of the mold smell was the bathroom, as there was a collection black mold growing in the shower and throughout the bathroom. I also happen to find hair (short ones) all over the bathroom, and in sheets which turned me off this hotel completely. Additionally the carpet felt filthy. I felt itchy standing in this room (I have stayed in hostels cleaner). I wish I could have taken a sample of the smell of our room and left it here for future prospects, because words can describe how terrible it was. Having the window open all night, did nothing to lessen it.

We opted for the 12 euro/person breakfast, and our disappointed continued. The 12 euro gets you decent coffee, juice, cereal and old toast. You can do much better elsewhere in the city. In previous hotels we stayed at, including Nice and Paris, similar price breakfasts included much more variety, and way better quality.

Although we prepaid for two nights, one night is all I could do at this hotel, and we decided the check in somewhere else. When checking out, the front desk was not interested in the reason we decided to leave, or if there was anything they could do to improve our stay, but rather that we were still planning to pay for the second night. Just really bad service all around.

The room is small for North American standards, but average size in Europe. The location is good as well. The service is terrible, but I could have dealt with that. My husband and I would have been fine here if the hotel had higher standards for cleanliness.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2014Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from BrunoROSE, Propriétaire at A l'Hotel des Roys
Responded 23 Sept 2014
Too bad for you, other customers called your bluff and checked our hotel by themselves only to see that you were all wrong and probably lying for some reason. We may not be perfect but we're far from dingy and we always try our best to satisfy our customers. Best regards. Bruno ROSÉ
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Rob B wrote a review Sept 2016
Devon, United Kingdom177 contributions123 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Let's start by saying that the staff were fine........helpful, cheerful and 'doing their best'......

The parking is in the, French style, road parking outside the hotel.....12 euros a day.

Our small room ( a superior room!) opened directly onto a small courtyard at the back of the hotel so that when we opened our room door the rain blew in and we stepped, in our wet outdoor shoes, directly onto the bedroom floor - the doormat wouldn't fit under the door while open! The beautifully equipped bathroom, cut out of the corner of the already small room, was fine but suffered from an average 3 minute wait for hot water to run when the tap was turned on.

The room was adequately decorated but it was a while ago, leaving a shabby appearance......the most noticeable item on entering the room, because it is straight in front of the door, was the large headboard.......pink with a grey, stained sheen! The bathroom extractor fan didn't work and, being internal, there were no windows to open so steam from the bathroom made the already damp bedroom.........damper! After an evening shower the, very thin, towel was still wet ( not just damp), the next morning. Everything felt 'tired and 'downmarket' and damp......very dispiriting.

We woke at 7am to the cigarette smoke from, loudly talking, 'fellow guests' cigarettes, having a morning smoke in the courtyard of the non-smoking hotel, drifting through the window of our room.

Breakfast was ok, just ; ( French bread, a tiny croissant and various breads) ..... I enjoyed the freshly squeezed Orange juice......but was expensive at 12 euros.

In the end we left after one night ( and paid for the two nights that we had booked), frankly neither our French nor the stafff's English was upto our explaining the problems and we couldn't face a second night in the damp, depressing room.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2016
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Don't have rooms 3-10 ..... In the courtyard.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
traveler39633 wrote a review Jan 2016
London, United Kingdom2 contributions6 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed here at least 3 individual times throughout fall of 2015 for work. I usually booked through booking.com , upon checking in to a standard room , as the one older white haired man was running my credit card, he told me to book directly on their site to save money. I was upset, why not tell me that before you charge me more on the spot. After I wrote a email, he did refund me €10 . and gave me the nightly price on their site. In January of 2016, I booked directly from their site as he had suggested. I arrived after driving 2 hours and had a lot of work to prepare. He told me the room i booked was a small room, he did show me the room, and told me a normal room was €18.00 more
Personally , I think i should have been upgraded for free but Im American and that does not happen in France but it looked ok
When i was sitting in the courtyard room with door onto bed that was glass and cold air blowing through , heater not working , blanket older than my grandma's and could not get any reception on my mobile that is when i became upset. I m trying to talk to the Us London for my work , and i cannot and im freezing. I asked for the normal room and i would pay but they were sold out. So i was out of luck in a room that was unfit, did i mention the one tiny wood chair's back fell off so i had to sit in the tiny bed?
this was €72.00 a night
when i asked to switch , he offered me a blanket and made a bad joke suggesting he would keep me warm?
utterly disgusting!!!
i hope he is fired
a fat, man who suggests i book on their site then i end up with that room
ill never go there again
Good Luck
I ended up with a cold the next day because the room , was freezing
they just lost regular business
Read more
Date of stay: January 2016
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: not the courtyard so called rooms
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
studionn wrote a review May 2012
Portland, Oregon20 contributions52 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We couldn't find a hotel in Paris (in our price range) and expanded our search to Versailles. We stayed at the Hotel des Roys. It is a great location, right down the avenue from the palace, around the corner from the train station, and situated within walking distance to many fine restaurants. The hotel desk manager was so helpful, making sure we were parked legally and even renewed our parking voucher while we were in Paris. The room was clean and quiet, just the right size and the bathroom was brand new with beautiful new dark blue tile. We really enjoyed taking the train to Paris and would stay in this Versailles hotel again.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2012
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Answer from PetrolPete
Mentone, Australia102 contributions43 helpful votes
We caught the metro trains from Paris to Versailles and then walked from Gare de Versailles Chateau Rive Gauche. It’s not that far from the station.
Aurelie Harley asked a question Dec 2015
Santa Rosa, California197 contributions23 helpful votes
How easy is it to get to and from Paris center and to the CDG airport?
Answer from Clark C
13 contributions18 helpful votes
It takes about 90 minutes to get to CDG airport (RER C line to Saint Michel-Notre Dame station, then RER B line to CDG). Less than 60 minutes to get to central Paris.
jamilajaan asked a question Sept 2014
Okinawa City, Japan10 contributions11 helpful votes
Hi, Does this hotel have parking available? If not, how much extra is it?
Answer from BrunoROSE
Hello, There is no parking in the hotel but many parking in front of it. The cost is 6 € per 24h. Best regards.
jamilajaan asked a question Sept 2014
Okinawa City, Japan10 contributions11 helpful votes
Hi, Does this hotel have parking available? If not, how much extra is it?
Answer from BrunoROSE
Hello, We have no parking but there are many possibilitie in front of the hotel. The price is 6,00€ per 24h. sincerely yours.
246aberdonian wrote a tip Oct 2018
braco181 contributions77 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Not 204 if you want space"
Read full review
20goto10 wrote a tip Jul 2018
London, United Kingdom37 contributions10 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ask if they have A/C"
Read full review
nancydI1359RU wrote a tip Aug 2017
19 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"My room was on the second floor and had a lovely big window. Easy to use stairs or elevator to get around. Several restaurants nearby"
Read full review
Katarzyna K wrote a tip Aug 2017
Leicester59 contributions24 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don't be fooled by the photo's"
Read full review
aa27 wrote a tip May 2017
Lausanne, Switzerland531 contributions235 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Check room dimension"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Versailles area.
PRICE RANGE
£80 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
FranceIle-de-FranceYvelinesVersailles
NUMBER OF ROOMS
37
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

A L'HOTEL DES ROYS - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about A l'Hotel des Roys
Which popular attractions are close to A l'Hotel des Roys?
Nearby attractions include Engrenage Escape Game (0.2 miles), Galerie des Carrosses (0.3 miles), and Académie Équestre de Versailles (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at A l'Hotel des Roys?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a lounge, and breakfast buffet.
What food & drink options are available at A l'Hotel des Roys?
Guests can enjoy a lounge and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at A l'Hotel des Roys?
Yes, paid public parking nearby and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to A l'Hotel des Roys?
Conveniently located restaurants include Bleue Blanche Rouge, Il Cilento, and Creperie Belle Ile.
Is A l'Hotel des Roys located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.2 miles away from the centre of Versailles.
Are pets allowed at A l'Hotel des Roys?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at A l'Hotel des Roys?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, German, Italian, Portuguese, and Arabic.
Are there any historical sites close to A l'Hotel des Roys?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Palace of Versailles (0.6 miles), The Royal Opera (L'Opera Royal) (0.4 miles), and The Trianons & The Hamlet (0.5 miles).
All Versailles HotelsVersailles Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in VersaillesHotels near A l'Hotel des Roys
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire