We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Residence de France

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Residence de France
Residence de France
Panoramas (14)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

326 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 117: English reviews
Reviewed 19 October 2016

Only stopped one night but what a fantastic hotel. The reception staff were very welcoming on arrival. Our room was in the old part of the hotel and was nicely furnished and spacious. What really makes the hotel is the lounge, dining area and bar at the rear of the property with its open fire, comfy armchairs and homely feel....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tim D
Eric_Pujos, Propriétaire at Residence de France, responded to this review

Dear Sir, We are very grateful to read your very nice comment. We hope you had a safe way home et would be delightful welcoming you again. Very best regards

Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 October 2016

We picked this hotel as we wanted a central location in order to have supper in one of the seafood restaurants near the harbour. Our room was comfortable and well equipped. We were courtyard facing so not affected by any street noise. The decorations in the hotel were of good taste to suit the style of the building. Parking was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank banglo
Eric_Pujos, Propriétaire at Residence de France, responded to this review

Dear Bruce, thank you very much for your nice comment and very good notation. We are happy you had a great stay in our hotel. The harbour offers many fantastic seafood restaurants, 'must go' places. And it's only a few minutes walk, don't need to take the car. We hope you had a safe way home and lokk forward to...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 October 2016

I stayed at this hotel for three nights as part of a large group booking. Overall it was a very positive experience with just one downside, but the Reception service was so good I have rated it as Excellent overall. Here is my usual, balanced review and top tips. Here's what I liked: The hotel is well located, just a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank AlisonJCowan
Eric_Pujos, Propriétaire at Residence de France, responded to this review

Dear Alison, I think this is what we can call a Review ! You look very experienced at writing such fantastic articles. Let me tell you your contribution is very important for us to improve our work, and very interesting for other guests in order to choose our hotel. You reach quicly was seems to be some of our main...

Poole, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 September 2016 via mobile

We booked a last minute superior double room hoping for a comfortable one-night stay in La Rochelle. The room was very tired to say the least, with unfinished paintwork around the windows and water stains on the ceiling. The bathroom was an adequate size but there was only a sink and a small bath - (the toilet was separate) -...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank L6650KOluisa
Eric_Pujos, Propriétaire at Residence de France, responded to this review

Dear Sir, dear Madam, We feel very upset about your stay. Obviously we encountered issues with the room, and should'nt have given you that one wich is still needing refurbishment. We we're very full lats week because of the Grand Pavois boat show. We apologize for the way it happened. Please get back to us so we can refund you...

Stamford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 September 2016

Having booked a classic suite, I discovered this only had a bath with shower attachment but on arrival the hotel had upgraded us to a deluxe suite ( with shower and kitchenette) free of charge which I thought was a nice touch. The staff were all extremely friendly and helpful and spoke excellent English. The hotel had a lot of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Liz22_traveller
Eric_Pujos, Propriétaire at Residence de France, responded to this review

Dear Liz, thank you so much for posting this very kind advice. We were happy to upgrade to to our new suite, as it is very important to us you get the best unit possible and best value for money. Our breakfast is whorth it, but there are so many nice places in La Rochelle to discover. Many clients do...

Paris, France
Reviewed 4 September 2016

We were glad to return for another long-term stay at the Résidence de France and were not disappointed. We chose a panoramic suite on the sixth floor and preferred the one looking north because it was still equipped with a kithchenette. This was a luck choice because our original booking, with the famous view of the spires of La Rochelle...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marc R
Eric_Pujos, Propriétaire at Residence de France, responded to this review

Dear Marc, thank you for your fantastic comment ! You're very welcome in Residence de France. We will try to keep a few suites with kitchenettes, because this is very convenient, especially if you've been use to it by the past. Margot, Marie and Clarisse (the young lady who drove you back to the station) and I hope you made...

Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 August 2016 via mobile

We recently booked 2 nights in this 5 star hotel. The suite to be precise. The best room available. We made our way to the 6th floor suite and after 10 minutes we checked out. The room looks like nothing on the hotel's website. At the time of our visit it was 36 degrees. The room was roasting. Also transpires...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Martin O
Eric_Pujos, Propriétaire at Residence de France, responded to this review

Dear Martin, Unfortunately we do not have AC, wich is a real problem several days a year, when it get really hot. We apologize for this. We are working on this matter bit it is quite difficult because our buildings are in the very antique part of the town. We hope anyway you had a great time in La Rochelle...

Surrey
Reviewed 20 August 2016

Room 151 was not by any stretch of the imagination five star. Yes it had a bowl of fruit, gowns and slippers but that's where it ends. They might like to call the decor chic, but I would describe it as bare and functional, the furnishings were basic. Bathroom was really shoddy, poorly planned and the toiletries less than minimal....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ScouseTonyT
Eric_Pujos, Propriétaire at Residence de France, responded to this review

Dear Tony, we feel very upset about your comment. When the hotel is very full, it can happen that you get a room that has not yet been refurbished. This is probably what happened to you. I know you get in touch with the manager to solve this issue. Very best regards

Rugby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 August 2016

The hotel is very pleasant but no way 5 star, location is away from the port but still close enough for accessibility. The rooms try to be chic but the quality is hit and miss, our third room was a suite and much better than the other rooms but for the cost I would stay a three star hotels and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank englishmanabroad2016
Eric_Pujos, Propriétaire at Residence de France, responded to this review

Dear Sir, thank you for you comment. We are not a harbour hotel, but still very close (less than 10 minutes walk), and right in the middle of the old town center. We apologize for the size of the pool. But as we are in the historical center of the town our garden is quite little, and the pool had...

Reviewed 13 August 2016 via mobile

Beautiful lounge areas and very lovely helpful staff. Rooms more 4 star than 5. The outside and pool areas could do with a lick of paint and sone TLC. Very French and very relaxing. The location couldn't be more central in La Rochelle but still very quiet and still.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mark P
Eric_Pujos, Propriétaire at Residence de France, responded to this review

Dear Mark, thank you very much for your comment about Residence de France. We work hard to make this hotel a fantastic place. Lot of work, but it's worth it ! We look forward to welcoming you again. Very kind regards.

354 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (85)
Viewed
Room/Suite (32)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (30)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (219)
Viewed
Amenities (25)
Viewed
Deluxe Room (31)
Viewed
Deluxe Suite (37)
Viewed
Duplex Suite (58)
Viewed
Pool (18)
Viewed
Dining (21)
Viewed
The Hotel (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (50)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Rochelle hotels
0.6 mi away
La Monnaie Art & Spa Hotel
La Monnaie Art & Spa Hotel
#5 of 48 in La Rochelle
494 reviews
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Masqhotel
BEST WESTERN Masqhotel
#3 of 48 in La Rochelle
659 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Champlain France Angleterre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel du Chateau
Hotel du Chateau
#1 of 2 in Lagord
312 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Saint Jean d'Acre
Hotel Saint Jean d'Acre
#6 of 48 in La Rochelle
467 reviews
0.5 mi away
Central Park Hotel & Spa
Central Park Hotel & Spa
#24 of 48 in La Rochelle
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Charming hotel in the historical town center of La Rochelle. RESIDENCE DE FRANCE offers 54 rooms and suites classified 5-stars. On site, you will get : full hotel service both for hotel, 24/24 welcome desk, parking, bar with meal offers, garden, heated swimming-pool, lounge with piano and library, free Wi-Fi in both rooms and lounge, buffet breakfast, meeting rooms etc ... more   less 

Additional Information about Residence de France

Address: Residence de France 43 rue du Minage, 17000, La Rochelle, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Charente-Maritime > La Rochelle
Price Range: £65 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Residence de France 5*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Residence de France reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence De France Hotel La Rochelle
Residence De France La Rochelle
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in La Rochelle
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Residence de France staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Residence de France staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Deluxe suite has shower”
 of 5 bubbles Liz22_traveller, 22 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Try to negotiate for a better room or go somewhere else”
 of 5 bubbles englishmanabroad2016, 13 Aug 2016 | Read review
“rooms in newer building are more up to date be clear if you want a bath or a shower.”
 of 5 bubbles Z1941RScarolinew, 9 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Junior suites on the higher floor or Suite on the third floor are great. Rooms overlooking the main courtyard are the best because sunny.”
 of 5 bubbles francoist93, 4 Aug 2016 | Read review
“If you want 5 star don't bother”
 of 5 bubbles leemI9FJ, 16 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay