La Maïoun Guesthouse
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

La Maïoun Guesthouse

Personal bed fan!
Traveller (11)
female dorm
Room & Suite (28)
breakfast
Dining (13)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#4 of 22 hostels in Nice
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Service
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Value
Built in a former temple, la Maïoun Guesthouse is an original place, located in the center of Nice, next to Massena square as well as Old Town and only a 5 min walk to the beach. Our rooms are equipped with bunk beds specially designed for travelers, combining comfort, privacy and functionality. We also offer a double room with an en suite shower outside the bedroom. You can enjoy the common room (with fridge, microwave, kettle, games and music), meet other travelers, relax and sunbathe on the balcony or hang out in the shady garden. Breakfast included!
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Free breakfast
Coffee shop
Board games / puzzles
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Shared lounge / TV area
Room features
Air conditioning
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
Trendy
Languages Spoken
English, French

Location

50 B rue Gioffredo, 06000 Nice France
Name/address in local language
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 100 out of 100
100
Cote D'Azur Airport
32Reviews3Q+A2Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 28
  • 2
  • 0
  • 0
  • 2
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Karen S wrote a review May 2021
Paris, France10 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Very nice experience. First time I booked solo and The Maioun Guesthouse was perfect!
Not far from the beach, well located in general. Bus stop just in front. I was mistaken while booking and they made sure I could stay in the Girls’ room the next day. Really, the staff is nice, friendly and very smiley. I’ll definitely go back if ever I’m visiting Nice again. I recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from La Maioun guesthouse, Propriétaire at La Maïoun Guesthouse
Responded 25 May 2021
Thank you very much for your nice review :) hope to see you again in the future !
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Amelia wrote a review Nov 2017
6 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed with my brother in the coed dorm and it was great. The location is amazing. The building is old and beautiful. The hosts are extremely knowledgeable and helpful. The building is kept very clean. I would absolutely stay here again and highly recommend it.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2017Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Isabelle_g_aus_k wrote a review Dec 2016
Western Ireland, Ireland19 contributions17 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I can highly recommend this hostel. Unfortunately I only stayed for one night, but if I would go back to Nice I would definitely stay here again. The rooms where really big and new. Also I like that the beds hat little curtains and the lockers where big and nice. The only thing I missed was a fridge to put my food. But other than that it was perfect. Over all one of the nicest hostels I've seen so far!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2016
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from La Maioun g, Gérant at La Maïoun Guesthouse
Responded 26 Oct 2017
Hi Isabelle, and thank you for your comment! Just to let you know we have a fridge for our guests now ;) Hope to see you again in Nice
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Guest 2023 wrote a review Aug 2021
2 contributions1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Very Bad !
NOT recommendable! The owner insisted on having the air condition on all the times, even since I told her about already having severe pain in the eyes. The air conditioner was placed exactly above my bed, that’s ridiculous ! And she took away the air condition control panels from all rooms so this is also a huge waist of energy to keep all rooms on air con even when people are not in the rooms. That’s crazy, very unfriendly to our environment. Also the linen and towels had very bad spots so I felt it was very dirty. Finally, it has to be noticed that the wifi did NOT work in the room and that the mattress and bed were very old so that my back hurt all night heavy. I will never book this place anymore and it’s a very high price for a hostel!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Do not go there, I felt like in prison!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from La Maioun guesthouse, Owner at La Maïoun Guesthouse
Responded 16 Dec 2021
Hi Martina, we are really sorry to read about your bad experience, luckily was only one night ! we keep the room at 24 degrees during the suffocating summer nights here in Nice. Sorry but you stayed in a dorm and you were not the only one sleeping there. A/C is ON only during the night and we control the temperature BECAUSE we care about our guests and the planet. Your bed was next to the A/C so as you felt unconfortable about it I spent time to figure out what we could do do make you feel better but apparently wasn't enough as you wanted me to turn off the A/C. Next time I recommend you to stay in a private room because your attitude wasn't respectfull for other guests. Concerning the beds, bed sheets are cleaned after each guest and mattresses are only 1 year old, but we are sorry if you felt unconfortable. Best regards
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tyrone wrote a review Oct 2023
Makati, Philippines31 contributions12 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
One of the very best Hostel/Guesthouse i ever been. First of all the staff is accomodating, he explains everything regarding the Hostel/Guesthouse what are the house rules no loud noises after 10pm and etc. Secondly the Room is big cozy and clean. It has a privacy for every guest because of the curtains in every bed. The toilet is super clean and i think it is one of the cleanest toilet i ever been in a Hostel/Guesthouse. Common area is homey and spotless.There are free coffee and teas as well as cold water. In every Hotels,Guesthouses and Hostel there are also cons but it is not a big issue. Wifi is sometimes a bit slow then the Hostel is located on a 1st floor so there are no elevetors for the PWDs and also this Hostel is not for young people who wants to mingle or make friends because this is not a typical Hostel with everynight Parties but rather this Hostel is a haven for people who wants to take a rest for a long day of tour..Lastly, and no doubt i will recommend thos Hostel to my friends and collegues and i will come back again.This is my honest self review of this Hostel.
À bientôt !
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Maya G wrote a review Sept 2023
6 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
There is literally everything you could need from a hostel. I stayed in the mixed dorm for 4 nights. The rooms are neat and cleaned very regularly and it shows! The bathroom is always clean and dry when you come to use it. Breakfast included every day, which was just right. The hosts are super friendly and helpful. There’s a fridge, dry food storage, plenty of seating in the common area, small balcony to eat or drink on. Towel and padlock with key provided for no extra cost (never had this before !!!) Wifi also free & works well. Can leave your bags in storage until the evening on your day of departure which was so helpful for me. The vibe is super chill and relaxed. Would recommend to any solo traveller wanting to visit Nice!!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
veroseagull wrote a review Jul 2019
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I truly could not have asked for a better hostel. Everything was perfect. I stayed in the all girls room and it was so clean and always smelled like lavender. The bathroom was nicer than mine at home! Location can't be beat. You're a 10 minute walk from the beach and a few minutes from old town Nice. Tons of places to eat and shop within walking distance as well. Bath towels, locker, breakfast, things that most places would charge extra for were all included which was great. Oh and air conditioning! A rarity in France. They have a fridge, microwave, and toaster for your use as well and they do all the dishes. It's a fairly small hostel. I think only 3 rooms which gives it a more chill vibe. Definitely not a party hostel which I appreciated. Would 100% stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Explore7777777 wrote a review Jun 2019
4 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The couple who own and run this guesthouse do a FANTASTIC job! It’s evident they care about their guests having a comfortable and enjoyable stay by all the extra special touches they provide. Beds have not only a lamp and privacy curtain but also a fan! The breakfast was wayyy better than I expected. A prepared plate consisting of a fresh fruit, bread or cake, and yogurt. Juice, fresh and coffee ready for you. Coffee, tea, and hot chocolate is available for you to make all day long. I can’t guarantee they will always have this type of breakfast, but that’s what they offer now so come and get it! They even wash the dishes for you! The bathroom is outstanding. In my room there were 2 available shower heads. One traditional European one that you can take off the hook and use, and an overhead rainshower which was so relaxing.

The owners are always cleaning and making the environment comfortable for the guests as well as give great advice. I was told I could take bus 100 to Monaco for only 1.5 Euro and have the best view along the coast, which I greatly enjoyed!

I liked it so much I wanted to extend my stay by one night, but they were fully booked, understandably. This is where I will want to stay next time I visit Nice.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2019Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
valerielmtl wrote a review Jul 2018
Montreal, Canada38 contributions7 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Close to everything, this guesthouse offers female dorms, mixed dorms and a double room. There is a kitchen where free breakfast is offered every morning. Great place to stay if you are on a budget. Friendly staff and close to the beach and commodities.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2018Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Pacifica12 wrote a review Oct 2017
Germany23 contributions13 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Spent a week in that beautiful hostel. After a warm welcome we were delighted to see the rooms: spacey, clean, well-equipped.
Great breakfast, supermarkets around the corner, very short walks to either old town, beach or Médecin shopping area.
Could not be better!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2017
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Eileen H asked a question Oct 2018
Houston, Texas6 contributions2 helpful votes
Hi I am traveling with my husband...do you have double rooms with a private bath?
Nice, France
Hi! Yes we have a double room with private bathroom, but located outside the room and toilet are shared. For more info check our website ;)
Nice, France
Bonjour, nous essaierons mais je ne peux rien vous garantir, cela dépendra des disponibilités le jour de votre arrivée. À bientôt chez nous :)
Guest 2023 wrote a tip Aug 2021
2 contributions1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Do not go there, I felt like in prison!"
Read full review
ZZhc6464 wrote a tip Nov 2016
Menton, France1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"I was staying in the female dorm, it's with a big bathroom!"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Nice area.
PRICE RANGE
£42 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
FranceProvence-Alpes-Cote d'AzurFrench Riviera - Cote d'AzurNiceCentre
NUMBER OF ROOMS
3
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

LA MAÏOUN GUESTHOUSE - Updated 2024 Prices, Reviews, and Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about La Maïoun Guesthouse
Which popular attractions are close to La Maïoun Guesthouse?
Nearby attractions include Riviera Bar Crawl & Tours (0.2 miles), Fox in a Box Nice (0.2 miles), and Molinard Parfums (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at La Maïoun Guesthouse?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and baggage storage.
What food & drink options are available at La Maïoun Guesthouse?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to La Maïoun Guesthouse?
Conveniently located restaurants include Papilla, Tipsy, and SMART DELIGHT ROOM.
Is La Maïoun Guesthouse located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.2 miles away from the centre of Nice.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at La Maïoun Guesthouse?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and French.
Are there any historical sites close to La Maïoun Guesthouse?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Villa & Jardins Ephrussi de Rothschild (2.9 miles), Villa Kérylos (3.1 miles), and Monastere de Cimiez (1.5 miles).
All Nice HotelsNice Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in NiceHotels near La Maïoun Guesthouse
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire