Villa Otero by HappyCulture
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Villa Otero by HappyCulture

Quirky decorating
Traveller (367)
Panorama of the Superior Double Room at the Villa Otero by HappyCulture
360
Panoramas (11)
Chambre Double Twin Supérieure
Room & Suite (306)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Fully refundable before Sat, 25 May
Breakfast included
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
£313
Fully refundable before Sat, 25 May
Breakfast included
No prepayment needed
£313
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.0
#40 of 204 hotels in Nice
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Villa Otero is a 38 room hotel located in the most emblematic neighbourhood of Belle Epoque architecture in Nice Musicians/artists district. It is located 300 meters from the Nice train station and 15 minutes walk from the Promenade des Anglais. The decoration of the Villa Otero is directly inspired by the opulence of traditional Belle Epoque Villa along with a decoration from many origins. Mirrors and paintings, art deco lighting and vintage pictures are decorating the walls of this modernized version of a typical Nice Villa.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Coffee shop
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
24-hour security
Baggage storage
24-hour check-in
Street parking
Wifi
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Room features
Soundproof rooms
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Safe
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.5 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Quirky Hotels
Trendy
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, Arabic and 1 more

Location

58 rue Herold, 06000 Nice France
Name/address in local language
695Reviews18Q+A45Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 341
  • 216
  • 83
  • 38
  • 17
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Tim T wrote a review Sept 2023
Trenton16 contributions6 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel is in walking distance from the main train station. When we first arrived in Nice, we went to this company's other location around the corner. We stayed there 2 nights and would have stayed longer if they had a room available. We stayed here 4 nights. It is also in walking distance of the beach. Even though it is just off a busy street and near the railway tracks, you don't hear that noise with the windows closed. In the lobby where they serve breakfast, they have a TV playing a video of their locations all over Europe. They are all unique and have interesting decor, as does Villa Otero. It has a comfortable vibe while maintaining a standard where you can tell that it is not a place where anything goes. Staff was genuinely friendly and polite. They were also helpful in arranging van tours of nearby attractions.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Don't miss the Prosecco and pastries they put out in the lobby in the afternoon!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Antoine Volant, Directeur général at Villa Otero by HappyCulture
Responded 12 Sept 2023
Dear Tim1534 Thanks a lot for your very nice and detailed comment, It is a great pleasure to read that you enjoyed your experiences in Happyculture hotels and our boutique hotel Villa Otero. Glad that you enjoyed the location of the hotel, its retro and charming decoration always very appreciated and the vibe of the place. Thank you for mentionning our team as well. They do their best every day in order to maintain a great level of service, they felt very blessed with your review. We look forward to welcoming you soon in the near future, why not during winter, indeed Nice has a great carnaval in february. Sincerly yours, Antoine for the charming boutique hotel Villa Otero
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Emma_t82 wrote a review Jan 2023
Warrington, United Kingdom22 contributions10 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I have stayed @ Villa Otero 3 times and each time is as good as the previous. The location is brilliant - 5 minutes’ walk from the train station with regular trains running to Cannes and Monaco.

I stayed with my husband for the Grand Prix de Historique in Monaco and it was perfect for us. The hotel doesn't have any additional amenities other than your room, but when there is so much exploring to do all you need is a comfy bed and a friendly face on reception, both of which you’ll find here.

The complimentary teas/coffees and cakes are a nice touch too.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
Room Tip: The top floor rooms offer balconies but the views aren't great
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Antoine Volant, Directeur général at Villa Otero by HappyCulture
Responded 1 Feb 2023
Dear Emma_t82, What a delight to read a such a lovely comment ! All the team thank you for choosing the Villa Otero during your stay in Nice, We are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and our service met your expectations. We hope we will welcome you again very soon, Kind regards,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Katie G wrote a review Feb 2020
5 contributions5 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Fantastic hotel with a boutique feel. The room was very comfortable I stayed in superior room with a lovely big bed! I’ve already recommended to friends and family, hopefully I’ll be back soon. The hotel is just a minute walk from the train station and about 15 mins walk to the promenade. Thank you for a lovely stay!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from DirectionVillaOtero, Directeur général at Villa Otero by HappyCulture
Responded 27 Feb 2020
Dear 374katieg Thank you for having taken the time to write such a beautiful review of our hotel. I am really glad to know that you had a very pleasant and memorable stay in our hotel. Thanks a lot for recommending us ! Great to read that you liked our tasty breakfast and the location of the hotel. Wishing you many more trips back to our beautiful city, I look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future. With very warm regards from each one of us, Sincerely yours, Antoine
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
JRAIRKA wrote a review Jun 2022
France22 contributions49 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
One thing going for this hotel is that the staff is super nice, and the manager included. But the hotel needs a lot of work; breakfast is terrible, and the dining area, if you can call it that, hardly has any space to even turn around; and has hardly any kind space between guests; breakfast itself is much to be desired. Ok, this is typical of many French hotels, and the solution is never to go to France; I mean it; after visiting Paris I promised myself I I would never set foot in France, but against my better judgment, a friend insisted I visit the "south of France" because it is beautiful, blah blah; well, take it from it from: no the south of france if no different; horribly dirty, rude people, dog poop, urine smells all over, and a total mess; arrogance of the french does not help. Also it is hard to find any good food in Nice; with the exception of a few restaurants; went to Antibes, and it had some redeeming qualities. Never again.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Clément Doix, Directeur général at Villa Otero by HappyCulture
Responded 27 Jun 2022
Dear n0seka, We are disappointed to read that your stay did not meet up to your expectations, although we are satisfied to read that you appreciated the kindness of our staff. Indeed, we are a small boutique hotel and therefore we don't have very large space, but it's also what makes the charm of our establishment and what gives this "cozy" side to our hotel. Regarding the points concerning the city, the streets or even France as a destination in general, I remind you that the hotel page is reserved only to give your opinion on our establishment, and not on the city or the French people in, general. These are things we cannot control. Thank you for your understanding. Regards, Villa Otero
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jojo B wrote a review Feb 2020
1 contribution1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Cant fault this hotel. It is in a great location, the room was kept clean and tidy, the staff were lovely and very accommodating. I will definitely be returning and could not recommend it enough. We often spoke to Samantha, who checked our room whilst we were staying in the hotel. She was very friendly and answered any questions we had.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from DirectionVillaOtero, Directeur général at Villa Otero by HappyCulture
Responded 9 Feb 2020
Dear 982jojob Thank you for taking the time to write such a beautiful review after your visit to our Hotel. I am delighted to read that your stay have been excellent. All our team is very glad to learn about your satisfaction regarding the service provided and Samantha was very happy to read you words. Wishing you many more trips back to our beautiful city and I look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future. With very warm regards from each one of us, Sincerely, Antoine
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Janet F wrote a review Oct 2022
County Offaly, Ireland7 contributions12 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Beautiful vintage style hotel with dainty and quirky rooms. We stayed for 4 nights and stayed on the 3rd floor at the back of the hotel where it was lovely and quiet, we slept very well. Super clean rooms with a big bed, mini fridge, coffee facilities and beautiful decoration. Room cleaned everyday by the cleaning staff who were very polite. We didn’t have breakfast but it was within a 3 minute walk to a bakery for fresh bread and pastries. Staff were very friendly and helpful. We were a 15/20 minute walk to the old town and had plenty of grocery stores/cafes and shops within close proximity. Easily accessible from the airport with tram line 7 minute walk from hotel and frequent trams to airport. We would definitely stay again. Merci beaucoup!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Antoine Volant, Directeur général at Villa Otero by HappyCulture
Responded 18 Dec 2022
Dear janetfS9376CD, Thank you for having taken the time to write such a beautiful review of our hotel. I am really glad to know that you had a very pleasant and memorable stay with us and we thank you for having chosen the Villa Otéro. Great to read that you enjoyed the location, its surroundings, the confort of the bed, the rooms and the service of our team. Your satisfaction is their best rewards, Wishing you many more trips back to our beautiful city, I look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future. With very warm regards from each one of us, Sincerely,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Diana Lupu wrote a review Jun 2022
Romania10 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
A charming Belle Epoque hotel, very friendly and helpful staff, nice rooms, close to the railway station and the main attractions.
It is the second time we stayed here as a group of 23 people and everything was perfect. Water, tea, coffee, croissants were available for free all day long.
Rooms are big enough to be comfortable, quiet atmosphere, cleaning services every day, quality cosmetics.
We felt great at Villa Ottero and we will definitely come back the next year.
Thank you for a lovely stay!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Clément Doix, Directeur général at Villa Otero by HappyCulture
Responded 27 Jun 2022
Dear Diana, We are delighted to read that your stay and that of your entire group was a success! Please know that we will share your opinion with our entire team. It will be with great pleasure that we will welcome you again in the future during your next trips to the French Riviera. Kind regards, Villa Otero
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Annina wrote a review Apr 2023
Helsinki, Finland47 contributions16 helpful votes
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Nice small botique hotel near the train station. The decor is beautiful and beds and linen are comfortable and good quality. Polite and friendly staff, especially the guy in the reception and ladies who served breakfast. The breakfast is good in my opinion with fresh croissants and bread, brie, jam, ham, cheese etc. Orange juice is high standard.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Book a room with a balcony, nice afternoon sun.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Antoine Volant, Directeur général at Villa Otero by HappyCulture
Responded 10 Apr 2023
Dear Annina, Thank you for choosing Villa Otéro for your recent stay and for taking the time to share your very good experience on TripAdvisor.com. It is a real pleasure to know that your stay lived up to your expectations and that you appreciated the quality of service, the comfort of the room and the quality of the breakfast. We would be delighted to welcome you again for an unforgettable stay at Villa Otéro. Devoted greetings,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ian S wrote a review Jun 2022
Northallerton, United Kingdom274 contributions130 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed here overnight between trains and could have stayed longer. It is a bit of a walk to the promenade but the room was good and the breakfast in the entrance hall was excellent if a little crowded. Some noise at the front from the road but earplugs were provided!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Clément Doix, Directeur général at Villa Otero by HappyCulture
Responded 6 Jun 2022
Dear Ian S, We would like to thank you for taking time to share your review regarding your recent stay at the Villa Otero. We are happy to read that your stay with us has been a success and we hope to have the great pleasure to welcoming you again in the future. Wishing you a pleasant day. Best regards, Villa Otero
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Em M wrote a review Apr 2022
Burgess Hill, United Kingdom73 contributions13 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Loved our overnight stay here.
Welcoming staff were a great first impression and an early check in was such a
Bonus.
The bedroom was smaller than the photos look but the bed and bedding was lovely, the mattress was so comfortable I had a great sleep.
The room was so quiet - 4 th floor
The curtains blocked out morning light and we had an amazing sleep.
The dressing gowns were a lovely treat.
The breakfast was relaxed, informal and yummy perfect for a
Lazy morning start.
The balcony was also a lovely sun spot.
They even held our bags for the day whilst we explored Nice.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Clément Doix, Directeur général at Villa Otero by HappyCulture
Responded 29 Apr 2022
Dear emm592, We would like to thank you for your comment. We are delighted to read that your stay was a success and that you particularly appreciated the style of your room with balcony as well as our buffet breakfast offer. We also thank you for your words regarding the welcome and kindness of our staff, it will be with great pleasure that we will welcome you back to our establishment. Good for you, Villa Otero
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Alan W asked a question Jan 2020
Aughton, United Kingdom3 contributions5 helpful votes
Is there a pool
Nice, France
Dear, Thanks a lot for your message and your interest in our hotel, No, unfortunately, there is no Pool in our hotel. Kind regards Reception
Silver asked a question May 2019
Beirut, Lebanon39 contributions
Hi, the superior double room, the bathroom it's bath or shower?
Silver asked a question May 2019
Beirut, Lebanon39 contributions
Hi, do u have a fridge and a kettle in ur rooms..? Thnx
Answer from Hollie M
14 contributions22 helpful votes
Hi, No fridge unfortunately, but a coffee machine with plenty of pods and tea bags, bottled water also in the room. Hope this helps.
Michelle L asked a question May 2019
Kirk Sandall, United Kingdom77 contributions87 helpful votes
Hi does the room have an iron / ironing board pls ?
Nice, France
Dear Michel, thanks for you question, room doesn't have iron in it, however, reception provide it, you just need to ask them and will provide it to your, Do not hesitate to let us know if you have further question, Kind regards
Tim T wrote a tip Sept 2023
Trenton16 contributions6 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don't miss the Prosecco and pastries they put out in the lobby in the afternoon!"
Read full review
Carrababe wrote a tip Jul 2023
United Kingdom12 contributions6 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Give it a try we were pleasantly surprised at how much we enjoyed our stay."
Read full review
Julie T wrote a tip May 2023
3 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Central area easy walk to centre and 5 mins from train station "
Read full review
elirose1203 wrote a tip Apr 2023
Brussels, Belgium15 contributions11 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Few minutes steps from the Nice train station, the beach, the old town. It’s very accessible! "
Read full review
Annina wrote a tip Apr 2023
Helsinki, Finland47 contributions16 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Book a room with a balcony, nice afternoon sun."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Nice area.
PRICE RANGE
£103 - £210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
exclusive hotel nice
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Hôtel Médicis
LOCATION
FranceProvence-Alpes-Cote d'AzurFrench Riviera - Cote d'AzurNice
NUMBER OF ROOMS
38
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

VILLA OTERO BY HAPPYCULTURE - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about Villa Otero by HappyCulture
Which popular attractions are close to Villa Otero by HappyCulture?
Nearby attractions include Cathedrale Saint-Nicolas a Nice (0.3 miles), Pubcrawl Nice I The Ultimate Night (0.3 miles), and Azurlingua, école de langues Nice, France (0.06 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Villa Otero by HappyCulture?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, breakfast buffet, and dry cleaning.
What food & drink options are available at Villa Otero by HappyCulture?
Guests can enjoy breakfast, complimentary tea, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Villa Otero by HappyCulture?
Yes, paid public parking nearby and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Villa Otero by HappyCulture?
Conveniently located restaurants include Le Vingt4, Restaurant China, and Lao Viet.
Is Villa Otero by HappyCulture located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.9 miles away from the centre of Nice.
Are any cleaning services offered at Villa Otero by HappyCulture?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Villa Otero by HappyCulture?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Villa Otero by HappyCulture?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, Italian, and Arabic.
Are there any historical sites close to Villa Otero by HappyCulture?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Villa & Jardins Ephrussi de Rothschild (3.5 miles), Villa Kérylos (3.7 miles), and Monastere de Cimiez (1.6 miles).
Is Villa Otero by HappyCulture accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Nice HotelsNice Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in NiceHotels near Villa Otero by HappyCulture
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire