Villa Bougainville by HappyCulture
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Villa Bougainville by HappyCulture

Traveller (259)
Panorama of the Double Room at the Villa Bougainville by HappyCulture
360
Panoramas (10)
Chambre Twin Double
Room & Suite (135)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.0
#45 of 207 hotels in Nice
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Villa Bougainville is a freshly hatched boutique hotel, in the Belle Epoque sumptuous, lush style. Great care has been taken in furnishing and appointing the 46 rooms, in a 1928 building with an exuberant and warm environment. The hotel takes its name from a 18th-century French mariner and explorer, Louis Antoine de Bougainville. Ideally situated in the center of the city, the hotel gives you access to the heart of Nice life. Whether for business travel, or family holidays, the Villa Bougainville is the ideal place for an unforgettable stay on the French Riviera.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Coffee shop
Board games / puzzles
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary tea
Shared lounge / TV area
Express check-in / check-out
Private check-in / check-out
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Safe
Bottled water
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Trendy
Romantic
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, Italian

Location

29 Avenue Thiers, 06000 Nice France
Name/address in local language
4.0
4.0 of 5 bubbles707 reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Reviews summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI

Villa Bougainville by HappyCulture is lauded for its cleanliness, with guests frequently complimenting the pristine condition of rooms, though a few mention minor shower sealant issues. The service garners high praise, with staff described as exceptionally welcoming and the offer of complimentary beverages adding to the positive experience. Its convenient location is a hit, nestled close to Nice Ville train station and various attractions. While the rooms are noted for their stylish decor, some guests find them snug and occasionally noisy. The value is enhanced by thoughtful touches like a complimentary breakfast and a welcome gift, and while the amenities are considered basic by some, the overall atmosphere and cleanliness of the hotel are well-regarded.
Location
Convenient
Atmosphere
Artistic
Rooms
Cozy
Value
Economical
Cleanliness
Spotless
Service
Friendly
Amenities
Satisfactory

Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or the opinions in it. For more information, please read the traveller reviews and learn more about how the site works.
707Reviews11Q+A54Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 346
  • 199
  • 95
  • 26
  • 41
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Jackie O wrote a review Jul 2023
Dublin, Ireland
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Fantastic small boutique hotel close to the train station. Staff so friendly and accommodating nothing an issue for them. Added small touch filter water and coffee freely available in the reception area !
Beds very comfortable - AC
Everything you need
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Villa Bougainville, Other at Villa Bougainville by HappyCulture
Responded 6 Jul 2023
Dear Jackie, Thank you for taking the time to share this positive feedback regarding your stay at the Villa Bougainville hotel. We are happy to read that you enjoyed our services. We hope to welcome you again on your next visit to Nice. Kind regards, Hotel Villa Bougainville Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Phil W wrote a review Mar 2024
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We had a lovely stay for a long weekend in a perfect location for a short walk to the seafront and lovely to walk through the streets of Nice. 5 minute walk to the station gives great access to Monaco and Cannes and the beautiful village of Eze.
Breakfast was fantastic with relaxed style and a wide choice of foods. The free tea coffee in reception all day was a brilliant touch, many other hotels should take note!
Hassan was fabulous on reception, so helpful and recommended a fabulous restaurant “la tchitchou”.
Only reason we have not given 5 stars is the room has one or two little maintenance/decor issues. Eg. Small hole in blackout lining in curtain and slightly broken chair and the mirror was difficult for wife to do make up in as lighting poor. However these are very minor and the room was perfectly acceptable albeit small and it was spotlessly clean with a lovely artistic styling of room.
In summary thank you to all the staff at the hotel for a lovely stay, well done.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Villa Bougainville, Autre at Villa Bougainville by HappyCulture
Responded 17 Mar 2024
Dear Phil, We thank you for your positive review regarding your stay at La Villa Bougainville. We are delighted to read that our location was convenient for you, that you enjoyed the free hot drinks in the reception as well as our breakfast buffet with varied choices, and that our team was able to make your stay with us a pleasant and a comfortable one. Furthermore, we apologize for the inconvenience caused regarding the maintenance and decor issues. Please note that our maintenance team was informed regarding this issue and this was already fixed. We will do our best to prevent it from happening again. It was a real pleasure to welcome you, and we hope to see you again very soon at La Villa Bougainville. Yours sincerely The reception
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
A lot to digest? Read an AI-generated summary of recent traveller reviews.
Zoe A wrote a review Aug 2023
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Excellent position near the train station and easy access to all Nice has to offer.
Lovely quirky rooms, very clean and comfortable.
Basic but enough for the breakfast and unlimited water, tea, coffee in reception - free of charge
Nice touch with a (very useful) gift beach bag upon arrival.
Would definitely recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Villa Bougainville, Autre at Villa Bougainville by HappyCulture
Responded 11 Aug 2023
Dear Zoe, We would like to thank you for taking a bit of your time to share your experience at La Villa Bougainville hotel. We are very delighted to know that you appreciated our location that allows our guests to easily explore the beauty of Nice, as well as the cities nearby. It also truly nice to know that you also appreciated the quality of our breakfast, our rooms and our staff which was able to make your stay comfortable and unforgettable. It was a real pleasure to have welcomed you, and we are looking forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to Nice. Kind regards, The Villa Bougainville team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
RachaMM wrote a review Aug 2021
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We arrived to the hotel in the afternoon and were informed that the AC is broken and that they can provide fans instead. They promised a 30% discount on the room rate. As the happy curlture chain has many hotels in Nice, the receptionist was very helpful in trying to find us a room in a different hotel but they were all fully booked, so we stayed for one night. A very hot night in august. The staff was kind and helpful. Upon check out we were told that management is not offering 30% discount on the room rate anymore and that only full rate applied. It was impossible to argue that they were the ones who told us about the discount and that a change of mind is very unprofessional. This simple fact made me change all my view of the happyculture chain, making it more money oriented than people oriented. No one told us that the AC was not working for almost a week and we had to deal with it upon arrival. unprofessional. Unethical. Liars.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Amandine Charpentier, Directeur général at Villa Bougainville by HappyCulture
Responded 17 Aug 2021
Dear RachaMM, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Villa Bougainville. First of all, we are sorry that during your stay the A/C wasn't working. And that you had a problem with the discount. The guidelines have changed following the request of the group, we could not make a reduction more than 10%. However, I'm glad to hear that you liked our stuff. Indeed, they are always very happy to learn that they fulfil all your expectations. The reception is open 24h/7 and receptionists are always available to help you or to give you some advices. Sincerely, Amandine Charpentier
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Graeme F wrote a review Apr 2024
Dundee, United Kingdom
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Just back from a 7-Night stay here and we would highly recommend it.
We arrived fairly late in the evening and received a lovely welcome.
Our Room on the 4th Floor, facing the back of the Hotel, was beautifully appointed, but we did feel that it was slightly small, bearing in mind the amount of luggage we had for our week’s stay.
Our request for a larger Room was treated very sympathetically and we were moved to a front facing Room, the next morning. Despite the Receptionist’s concern, that the noise from the Street and Rail Station, might disturb us, we experienced no problems and actually enjoyed watching the activity from our Balcony!
The cleanliness and servicing of our Room was very good, although attention to some black mould around the shower tray sealant, would certainly have increased its score!
Having complementary Hot Drinks and Cold Water available 24/7 within the bright and cheerful Reception area, was a real bonus.
If returning to Nice, we would have no hesitation in staying here again.
Many, many thanks to all.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Villa Bougainville, Autre at Villa Bougainville by HappyCulture
Responded 28 Apr 2024
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at Hotel Villa Bougainville. We are happy to know that our staff have been able to help you during your stay. Hopefully, you would come back to our hotel soon. Not far from the hustle and bustle of the city, you're always welcome to come and get away from it all! See you soon, Yasmine and the Villa Bougainville team... escape at the end of the quays!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Julia S wrote a review Aug 2021
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Arrived at 9pm to be told at reception they were full. Despite having booked and paid in advance we were told with a shrug that it was hotels.com's fault for overbooking.

No hotels in the area left so we had to pay 400EUR for a night in a horrible hostel instead. On our honeymoon :(

When we told hotels.com to try and get our money back they said they would contact Villa Bougainville to confirm they didn't accommodate us so we could get a refund on the stay. The hotel lied to hotels.com and denied that this happened. We only got our money back because hotels.com gave us a "one time exception" refund.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Avoid this place
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Amandine Charpentier, Directeur général at Villa Bougainville by HappyCulture
Responded 31 Aug 2021
Dear Julia, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is your feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short.It is true that recently, we have received reservations despite the fact that we were full. In this case, we advise customers to contact the agencies or platforms on which they made their reservation to find a solution to their situation, be sure that the information that we send to the agencies as well as to the booking platform concerning this kind of situation are true. We regret the inconvenience you may have suffered. Sincerely, Amandine Charpentier.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lily P wrote a review Oct 2023
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Nice clean and comfortable hotel, the hotel itself is quite small but cosy and welcoming. Members of staff all spoke English so could answer any queries. Breakfast was a small range but no more than you needed, with pastries, eggs and bacon and a coffee machine. The hotel is a little far out from nice town and about a 30 minute walk however only a 5 minute walk to the train station which is really handy for day trips. Only negative about this hotel was that the walls and windows are quite thin, so rooms close to the stairwell came with quite a lot of noise from others in the hotel talking etc and you could hear through to the next hotel room, this however was only a couple of the nights at the weekend so may be quieter during the mid-week period.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Villa Bougainville, Autre at Villa Bougainville by HappyCulture
Responded 13 Oct 2023
Dear Lily, Our team would like to thank you for taking your time to share your experience in our hotel Villa Bougainville. We are delighted to know that you had a wonderful stay with us, and we were able to make your stay comfortable. We are also glad to know that you enjoyed our breakfast. It is also nice to hear that our location was quite convenient for you and allowed to make your trip a bit easier. We would like to apologize if there were a couple of nights where it was not very quiet. The concerned service has been informed regarding this matter. Please note that the reception is available 24 hours. We invite our guests to come to the reception or dial 9 for any questions or remarks, and we are always willing to help them. Lastly, it was a real pleasure to have welcomed you, and we look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to Nice. Kind regards, The Villa Bougainville team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Connector09705190708 wrote a review Apr 2023
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The staff were super friendly and helpful. Hotel had free coffee and sometimes crossiants which I absolutely loved. Interior of the rooms was super cute and quirky and absolutely loved the balcony and balcony view we had from our room. Also you could smell fresh bakery in the early morning which was soo nice! Also very conveniently located within 5-10 minute walk to the gare (train station) making it very easy to commute to other areas. Highly recommend. Would definitely return.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: let the reception team know that you want your room cleaned every day so as to make sure the...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Villa Bougainville, Other at Villa Bougainville by HappyCulture
Responded 7 Apr 2023
Dear guest, We would like to thank you for this amazing feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Villa Bougainville and that the staff, our rooms and our geographical position lived up to your expectations. It was a real pleasure to have welcomed you, and the hotel team is looking forward to welcoming you again next time in Nice! Best regards, Hotel Villa Bougainville Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sandra wrote a review Jun 2022
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Our stay in the hotel was amazing from start to end. We were warmly welcomed by Almin, who gave us a lot of recommendations in and around the city, including sights, restaurants and activities.
The rooms lovely decorated and for sure clean. Furthermore, the breakfast was very good and included french specialities like waffles, croissants and cheese.
Especially Almin was always there for us when we had questions or needed anything.

Thanks a lot to the whole team, you made our trip amazing!
S&J
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Villa Bougainville, Other at Villa Bougainville by HappyCulture
Responded 1 Jul 2022
Dear guests, Thank you for taking some of your time to share your experience in our Villa Bougainville. We are happy to see that your stay met all your expectations very well. We thank you once again for your positive comment; your wish is the result of our hard work done every day to guarantee you a very pleasant time with us. It was also a real pleasure for us to have welcomed you and we wish to see you again as soon as possible. Very cordial greetings, The Villa bougainville team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mansoura M wrote a review 5 Jul
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The stay was more than perfect for me and my husband. It felt like home away from home.
Very clean, 24/7 reception, 3 mins walk to nice ville (great if you are planning to visit Monaco, Cannes, Antibes).
We reached early in the morning and they accepted to do an early checkin for us which was very convenient after a long tiring flight from Dubai.
We travel all over Europe and this is by far the most comfortable, budget friendly stay we’ve experienced.
Book and you will not regret.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2024
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Villa Bougainville, Autre at Villa Bougainville by HappyCulture
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you so much Mansourim for your kind words! We're glad to hear that you and your husband had such a wonderful experience with us. It's great to know that our cleanliness, 24/7 reception, and convenient location added to your comfort. We're glad we could accommodate your early check-in after your long flight from Dubai. Your positive feedback means a lot to us. We strive to provide a home away from home for all our guests, and it’s fantastic to hear we succeeded in doing so for you. We hope to welcome you back on your next visit to Nice. Kind regards, Vera and Villa Bougainville team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from Amandine C
Dear Trejure21, Thank you for your interest concerning the Villa Bougainville**** ! I do confirm you that there are kettles with tea and coffee and a mini fridge with a bottle of water in all our rooms. Air conditioning is normally working from June until end of October. You do also have coffee machine available 24h in the lobby. Do not hesitate to contact us for any request. Best regards, Amandine ESTEVE
Answer from Jaquesy Albyfeira
The Netherlands8 contributions
its safe, but not walking distance to the beach. Shopping depands on what pricerange you are looking for. We walked to the time square mall. 20 minutes.
Answer from Lisa Nore
Nice, France2 contributions2 helpful votes
Dear Madam, We have a dry cleaning service for hotel guests. You just have to fill out a form. Excellent day, Hope to meet you Regards, Amandine Charpentier
siukamyuc asked a question Apr 2017
57 contributions3 helpful votes
Is there laundry service avaliable in the hotel?
Answer from H11LSW
Macclesfield, United Kingdom110 contributions45 helpful votes
No idea, sorry. I'd be surprised if there was - it's a very small hotel.
Answer from Nareau
Nicolaus, California19 contributions12 helpful votes
My room bordered on a major street. Not the best room for a light sleeper (I am one). But, I don't recall any major problems.
Iggy B wrote a tip 6 Jul
2 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"All you need budget hotel"
Read full review
Danilo wrote a tip May 2024
Doha, Qatar1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"There is a parking in front of the hotel, train station is very near, tiny little bathroom."
Read full review
Roberto wrote a tip Apr 2024
10 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Use another hotel."
Read full review
ssabil wrote a tip Oct 2023
Brampton, Canada132 contributions31 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Rooms facing the main road have Juliet balcony. Try to get one in the upper floors."
Read full review
Mariano S wrote a tip Jul 2023
4 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Easy check in Near Tran station "
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Nice area.
PRICE RANGE
£115 - £180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
choiseul hotel nice, choiseul nice
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Hotel Choiseul
LOCATION
FranceProvence-Alpes-Cote d'AzurFrench Riviera - Cote d'AzurNice
NUMBER OF ROOMS
46
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

VILLA BOUGAINVILLE BY HAPPYCULTURE - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about Villa Bougainville by HappyCulture
Which popular attractions are close to Villa Bougainville by HappyCulture?
Nearby attractions include Cathedrale Saint-Nicolas a Nice (0.3 miles), Bar Pub Crawl - The Ultimate Night (0.2 miles), and Azurlingua, école de langues Nice, France (0.08 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Villa Bougainville by HappyCulture?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, breakfast buffet, and breakfast.
What food & drink options are available at Villa Bougainville by HappyCulture?
Guests can enjoy breakfast and complimentary tea during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Villa Bougainville by HappyCulture?
Conveniently located restaurants include Restaurant China, Lao Viet, and Le Tchitchou.
Is Villa Bougainville by HappyCulture located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.9 miles away from the centre of Nice.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Villa Bougainville by HappyCulture?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, and Italian.
Are there any historical sites close to Villa Bougainville by HappyCulture?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Villa & Jardins Ephrussi de Rothschild (3.5 miles), Villa Kérylos (3.7 miles), and Monastere de Cimiez (1.5 miles).
All Nice HotelsNice Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in NiceHotels near Villa Bougainville by HappyCulture
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire