Univers Hotel
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Univers Hotel

Traveller (195)
Room & Suite (52)
Dining (14)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

3.5
#101 of 204 hotels in Nice
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Location
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.6 of 5 bubbles
Value

Finding an ideal family-friendly hotel in Nice does not have to be difficult. Welcome to Univers Hotel, a nice option for travellers like you.

Rooms at Univers Hotel provide a flat screen TV, air conditioning, and a desk, and guests can stay connected with free wifi.

In addition, while staying at Hotel Univers Nice guests have access to 24 hour front desk and baggage storage. You can also enjoy breakfast buffet.

Nearby landmarks such as Place Massena (0.1 mi) and Cathedrale Sainte-Reparate (0.4 mi) make Univers Hotel a great place to stay when visiting Nice.

While in Nice be sure to experience local oyster favourites at Boccaccio, Cafe de Turin, or Peixes.

If you’re looking for things to do, you can check out Castle Hill (0.5 mi), Old Town (Vieille Ville) (1.1 mi), or Cathédrale Saint-Nicolas (0.8 mi), which are popular attractions amongst tourists, and they are all within walking distance.

Univers Hotel puts the best of Nice at your fingertips, making your stay both relaxing and enjoyable.

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Breakfast buffet
Vending machine
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Room features
Soundproof rooms
Air conditioning
Desk
Safe
Telephone
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Classic
Languages Spoken
English, French

Location

2 rue de la Liberte, 06000 Nice France
Name/address in local language
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 100 out of 100
100
Cote D'Azur Airport
600Reviews6Q+A55Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 123
  • 259
  • 125
  • 52
  • 41
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
VV wrote a review Jan 2023
8 contributions4 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The room was clean and comfortable, staff friendly, helpful, and professional. Great location. However, I would not choose this hotel again due to some reasons. First of all, there was no drinkable water in the room at all. Even tap water that is quite good and suitable to drink in Nice had a very bad smell of chlorine in this hotel, so I had to bring botteled water from the supermarket everyday and it was very inconvenient. Secondly, I didn't find an electric kettle in the room, in mosty 4* and even 3* hotels one is provided. So, it's not what you could expect when you pay 600 euros for 4 nights and even without a breakfast included.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
J183 wrote a review Oct 2022
Dublin, Ireland597 contributions175 helpful votes
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Very central hotel, near all the main amenities and travel lines.

Hotel is lovely and modern, however the room seemed very damp, I put this down to the shower leaking all over the floor.

Breakfast was lovely, fresh croissants out of the oven and a great selection of cold meats and hot breakfast buffet style which is included in the price.

Staff all lovely and welcoming, and great english speaking. Checkout time is 11am. Breakfast only served until 10am daily also which are both very early times.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Diana wrote a review Jan 2024
Genoa, Italy6 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
For those who don't travel by car, this one is good for its central location, the structure doesn't have car parking. (Leaving your car in a parking area nearby for 1 day and a half you'll pay 62€). Breakfast NOT included and excessively expensive (€20 per person), soundproof rooms, you can hear everything, staff who barely understand English... for a 4-star hotel it`s a very big NO!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ceg wrote a review Sept 2022
Comrie, United Kingdom2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This is a lovely hotel, perfectly located close to the promenade and beach, restaurants, old Nice, tram stops, shops, the beautiful Place Massena and the parks. The staff were excellent - always friendly and helpful. The room was very clean and comfortable with all that you need for a relaxing stay - room safe, hair dryer, shower gel, tv with Netflix. The windows cut out most of the noise, meaning that it was quiet when they were closed. It’s easy to get to on the Tram, line 2, from Nice airport, stopping at Jean Medecin, followed by a two or three minute walk. The hotel provides towels for the beach.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Swisstravellers5 wrote a review May 2022
Lausanne, Switzerland61 contributions15 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel is very well located close to old town, beach and shopping sera. The public transportation are also close and you can easily reach all the museum by bus or tram.
The hotel was recently renovated but the phonic isolation is not efficient.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
KlaraMia777 wrote a review Sept 2022
Wiesbaden, Germany5 contributions1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I was planning a fun weekend in Nice for a long time. When I got to the Frankfurt airport on Friday, September 16, I found out that my flight was cancelled due to a strike of French airline employees. The next time flight „maybe“ the next day, Saturday.
I called the hotel immediately and explained that I will not be able to come because of the strike. I suggested that I rebook for another time in order to avoid paying the cancellation. I also called Booking.com and they told me that it is up to the hotel if they will show understanding and skip the cancellation fee. After long emails back and forth, the hotel refused to reschedule for another date and showed no understanding for the situation, not caused by me. Out of curiosity I checked to see if the hotel was full this weekend and it was not. Nevertheless , they showed no flexibility and charged me 150 Euros cancellation fee. I will never ever stay in this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Hotel Univers U, Service clients/Réception at Univers Hotel
Responded 5 Oct 2022
Dear KlaraMia777, Thank you for your comment. We are very sorry to learn that you were not able to come to Nice for your holidays because the airline cancelled your flight. We can understand how unfortunate and frustrating this situation must have been for you. However, when booking via booking.com, you agreed to the terms and conditions indicating that in case of late cancellation or non-arrival, the first night will be charged. Unfortunately,Booking.com refers his customers in such cases to the hotel directly, letting them believe the hotel manages terms and conditions on websites. But we only manage our own terms and conditions which are different and show much for flexibility as those stated on websites. For your specific case, we recommend to contact your travel insurance company. Again, we are very sorry for this annoying situation and hope that you will have the chance to come to Nice and stay with us at another time in the near future. We remain at your disposal for any further queries you may have.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
SiljeEm wrote a review Oct 2020
Oslo, Norway14 contributions18 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We have stayed here several times, but this was probably the least impressive. There was an strange odour throughout the hotel, however the staff were as polite and welcoming as always. The hotel is smack in the middle of the high street, so it has the best location you can dream of!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Molina-ec wrote a review Jan 2023
Quito, Ecuador55 contributions13 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel is very well located, close enough to reach old Nice on foot and near the main attractions to be found in the city. There is a tram stop almost next to the hotel. The hotel staff was very helpful, helping us with her laundry several times during put stay.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sohni R wrote a review Mar 2022
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I was verbally abused by the manager on duty and a senior member of staff. I had an accident in their shower due to the drainage cover not being secured and the extremely small shower. I reported this and nothing was done, they didn't even come to look at the shower or ask if i am okay. As a result of this fall, i then fell again hitting my head again. The manager and senior staff called me a liar and forced me to tears with some awful things said to me
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Hotel Univers U, Service clients/Réception at Univers Hotel
Responded 23 Mar 2022
Dear Sohnir2022, Thank you for your review. We would like to add some points that are missing in your comments. Staff members as well as the manager have presented their excuses for your slip and have asked you and your fiancée several times if you were alright. They have asked you as well if you needed medical assistance, which you declined. The staff member on duty came to your room twice, to check on you. You were offered a room change immediately which you accepted. The drainage cover has been checked out by our maintenance staff later that day, but no faulty installation could be detected. The drainage cover is removable in order to facilitate meticulous cleaning daily. None of the staff members nor the manager did ever call you a liar or forced you to tears. We still have not been able to find an understandable explanation of how the TV screen in the room you occupied has been completely smashed in a way that the TV itself does not work anymore, if one slips in the bathroom. Our goal is to provide our guests with the best service possible and safety is one of our top priorities. Our team gives 100% every day. Again, we are sorry for your slip; however, we did our maximum to assist you and took care of the situation in a professional and cordial way
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
oztraveller95630 wrote a review Mar 2005
Sydney, Australia9 contributions44 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
After a great vacation in Zermatt staying at the Albana (highly recommended), I was looking forward to a few relaxing days in Nice. The Universe is located on the corner of Ave Jean Medecin and Rue de Liberte in the Place Messena area with lots of great shops and restaurants. It's only a few blocks from the beach and within walking distance to the both the train and bus stations (about 15 mins to each). The entrance is hard to find, and the front desk clerk who works the afternoon shift will happily watch you struggle with bags as he sits behind the desk surfing the internet, talking to his friends on the phone and smoking as he talks to you. Don't expect his demeanor to change throughout your stay. The rooms are small and although recently painted are not worthy of the 3 stars they purport to have. The bedspreads are dirty and contain many holes and stains. Don't even think about using one of the extra blankets as they too are riddled with holes and look like they last saw a washing machine back in 2000. Although it fronts two busy streets the double glazed windows are pretty good at shutting out the street noise. There is very little storage space in the tiny closets, which were dirty and contained broken shelves. I would suggest you bring your own coat hangers as our room only had two. The desk (without chair) was falling apart and the carpet felt (and looked) like it needed a clean. The headboards (shiny laminex) contained writings from previous guests. The beds were soft and sank in the middle. The bathrooms were also dirty. The toilet seats were broken, there was mold around the bathtub and floors and no shower curtains. Don't expect the wireless internet to be working either. They often turn it off for no apparent reason. When it does work, you will need a password to access it, but the surly front-desk clerk won't tell you what it is. On the positive side, the clerk who runs the morning/day shift is a joy to work with and helped find us new rooms which were marginally better. But for the same amount of money you'd be better off staying at the Hotel Alba (a few blocks north on Ave Jean Medecin). We checked this one out as an alternative and wished we'd stayed there from the start. The place has just completed renovations and looks great.
Read more
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Answer from Stella G
Sofia, Bulgaria10 contributions2 helpful votes
No, there aren't. They have good breakfast room but I think you have to pay the total breakfast price.
Alison d asked a question Jul 2016
London, United Kingdom22 contributions23 helpful votes
How do I get to the hotel from the airport? Also at time of booking I requested a quiet room with good air-con.
Answer from John M
3 contributions
1. I had a friend pick me up, so did not use the buses. There should be plenty of buses from just outside the arrivals/departure area to the Place Massena. The bus number should be 400 or 500, but check. There would be a simple 5 minutes or so walk to the hotel along the avenue Jean Medecin. 2. Our A/C worked fine, once it was switched on. Rooms were adequately quiet. Have a good time; we did.
betti14 wrote a tip Apr 2019
boston, ma210 contributions144 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"NOT 5th floor"
Read full review
Jazzy1995 wrote a tip Jul 2018
London, United Kingdom136 contributions137 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ask for one on the 3rd or 4th floors"
Read full review
Seth M wrote a tip May 2018
Barre, Vermont222 contributions127 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Corner rooms have nice views, but can be noisier on Friday nights"
Read full review
hhepworth wrote a tip Aug 2017
Scarborough, United Kingdom23 contributions26 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ask for a room high up - best views and quieter."
Read full review
Ankit S wrote a tip Aug 2017
Mumbai21 contributions2 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"choose a room on the higher floor.."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Nice area.
PRICE RANGE
£119 - £203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
univers hotel nice, hotel univers nice
LOCATION
FranceProvence-Alpes-Cote d'AzurFrench Riviera - Cote d'AzurNiceCentre
NUMBER OF ROOMS
74
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

UNIVERS HOTEL - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about Univers Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Univers Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Riviera Bar Crawl & Tours (0.2 miles), Molinard Parfums (0.3 miles), and Promenade du Paillon (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Univers Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, breakfast buffet, and baggage storage.
Which room amenities are available at Univers Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a desk.
What are some restaurants close to Univers Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include La Cucina Nice, L'Alchimie Restaurant, and SMART DELIGHT ROOM.
Is Univers Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.4 miles away from the centre of Nice.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Univers Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and French.
Are there any historical sites close to Univers Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Villa & Jardins Ephrussi de Rothschild (3.0 miles), Villa Kérylos (3.3 miles), and Monastere de Cimiez (1.5 miles).
Is Univers Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Nice HotelsNice Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in NiceHotels near Univers Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire