We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Der Blaue Reiter

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Der Blaue Reiter
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

228 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Der Blaue Reiter
See the most recent reviews
Showing 65: English reviews
Antwerp, Belgium
Reviewed 20 July 2016

Well located in the 'historic' center of Durlach. Arriving by car, and need for parking? Ask for a place in their under ground parking (limited places) - not exactly free. Appreciated much the service and hospitality ( a bottle f water offered by departure - thx ), but compared to the ranked 'first' hotel in Karlsruhe, the facility, commodities and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 222Peter_B222
Marcus_Fraenkle, Geschäftsführer at Der Blaue Reiter, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you for your evaluation. Parking is available at the underground garage for € 12,00 per night. Our annex “KUBUS” has a park area for € 9,00 per night and at our event center “KunstWerk” and along the road you can park for free. We would like to improve constantly and are always open for suggestions and comments....

Fareham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 June 2016

Comfortable room and bed with good size bathroom however strange automatic venetian blinds on the outside of the window, coupled with sliding blinds on the inside, that you couldn't fully retract, meant that the room could have been lighter. We stayed on a night that was quite warm and found the air-con to be fairly ineffective - this was also...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dan R
Marcus_Fraenkle, Geschäftsführer at Der Blaue Reiter, responded to this review

Dear „Dan R“, thank you for your evaluation. Unfortunately we couldn’t satisfy you with our hotel – I’m sorry for that. For breakfast you can choose between 100 products varieties. We attach great importance to the quality and freshness of our articles. Especially our eggs and bacon are one of our most popular foods – we purchase these exclusively from...

Austin Texas
Reviewed 15 March 2016

This hotel is very neatly designed. Almost everything is perfect about it. Be it the room setting, room comfort OR the breakfast and dinner options. Fortunately for me, the work place was 1 minute walking distance which was an added advantage. Friendly staff.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nils_KR
Marcus_Fraenkle, Inhaber at Der Blaue Reiter, responded to this review

Dear “Nils_KR”, thank you for the kind evaluation. We are really glad you had a pleasant stay with us and that you were satisfied about your visit at our hotel. See you soon at the Hotel Der Blaue Reiter. Best regards Marcus Fränkle CEO

Nafferton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 March 2016 via mobile

Only stayed 1 night , took the 20 euro upgrade to a suite in the kubus building 2 mins walk away from main hotel , and loved it. Just sorry we were there only for 1 night as couldn't fault it. Huge room with big bathroom , separate bath and large shower unit. Balcony , living room, kitchenette and very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SueTait69
Marcus_Fraenkle, Inhaber at Der Blaue Reiter, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you for the evaluation. We are really happy you enjoyed the stay at our hotel that much. Maybe the next time you can stay more than one night at Karlsruhe-Durlach. The brewery has his own management and is not the restaurant of the hotel. Nonetheless we will talk to the management of the brewery about your feedback....

Berlin area
Reviewed 1 March 2016

Can't have it all ... but here you are really close! Really nice rooms offer everything you need even in standard/single option. Modern fixtures and features, impeccably clean. Everything is tastefully themed to "Blauer Reiter" impressionist art. Perfect service by friendly competent knowledgeable staff. The best hotel breakfast buffet I am aware of (and I've seen a few). Separate microbrewery/restaurant...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rainer W
Antwerp, Belgium
Reviewed 4 February 2016

Fair price for what the hotel offers. Spacey and clean rooms, decent breakfast and very friendly staff. It is downtown, but not in the bussy restaurant and bar area. Underground parking is useful and fair priced.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DVG59
Marcus F, Geschäftsführer at Der Blaue Reiter, responded to this review

Dear “DVG59”, thank you very much for your evaluation. We are glad you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. My staff will be very happy to see your comments. We are looking forward to welcoming you again. Kind regards, Marcus Fränkle CEO

Munich, Germany
Reviewed 26 January 2016

I am very very disappointed with this hotel. Which looked good at first but when I entered our "non smoking" room I had anyway to face the disgusting strong smell of smoking. Another surprise was inside the bath room, where there was just a shower and it looked dark around the siphon. Also one of the stuff was not replying...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarito88
Marcus F, Inhaber at Der Blaue Reiter, responded to this review

Dear „Sarito88“, thank you for the evaluation. We are really sorry you had a room, which smelled like somebody smoked in it before. If you booked a non-smoking room, you got a non-smoking room. I can’t explain why nobody realized the strong smell in the room before you did. I already talked to my staff because of this case. The...

Madison, WI
Reviewed 17 January 2016

I stayed here last month for a business trip. Sadly, only for one night. It was a great hotel. The staff was very friendly, the room was spacious and comfy and the breakfast was fresh and very good. My adapter didn't fit the outlets for some reason, and they kindly had one for me to borrow. Very clean room and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MrsBrit
Marcus_Fraenkle, Manager at Der Blaue Reiter, responded to this review

Dear “MrsBrit”, thank you very much for your evaluation. We are glad to satisfy you with our hotel. My staff will be very happy to see your comments. We are looking forward to welcoming you again. Best regards, Marcus Fränkle CEO

New Delhi
Reviewed 22 December 2015

This hotel was a very pleasant surprise. I had work in Baden-Baden for 3 days and picked this hotel as I couldn't find any local place in Baden-Baden. This turned out to be a very good choice. The hotel is not fancy, but the rooms are well sized and neat. Ditto for the bathroom. The 3-4 types of water carafes...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank VikasSingh72
Marcus_Fraenkle, Geschäftsführer at Der Blaue Reiter, responded to this review

Dear “VikasSingh72”, thank you so much for the evaluation and your nice comments about our hotel and our team. It is nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Durlach and we are looking forward to welcoming you again in the Hotel Der Blaue Reiter. Kind regards, Marcus Fränkle CEO

Heusden, The Netherlands
Reviewed 19 December 2015 via mobile

On our way to Cortina d'Ampezzo we stopped here for the night. Very nice hotel, comfortable rooms and a wonderful breakfast. The hotel is connected to a lively bar/restaurant where we had a couple of drinks. Brilliant start of our winter holidays.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andre882014
Marcus F, Inhaber at Der Blaue Reiter, responded to this review

Dear „Andre8820“, thank you for the evaluation. It’s nice to see you had a pleasant stay with us. The quality and the variety of the products of our breakfast buffet is very important to us. We are happy that you enjoyed the breakfast at our hotel and are looking forward to welcoming you again. Best regards, Marcus Fränkle CEO

53 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (35)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
3:53
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Karlsruhe hotels
Novotel Karlsruhe
#1 of 61 in Karlsruhe
948 reviews
Hotel Rio
#5 of 61 in Karlsruhe
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Südstadt
ACHAT Plaza Karlsruhe
ACHAT Plaza Karlsruhe
#6 of 61 in Karlsruhe
361 reviews
Südstadt
Leonardo Hotel Karlsruhe
Leonardo Hotel Karlsruhe
#8 of 61 in Karlsruhe
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge

Additional Information about Der Blaue Reiter

Address: Amalienbadstr. 16, 76227, Karlsruhe, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Region: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Karlsruhe
Price Range: £99 - £164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Der Blaue Reiter 4.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, Priceline, HRS, Orbitz, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Der Blaue Reiter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Karlsruhe
#2 Romantic Hotel in Karlsruhe
#2 Luxury Hotel in Karlsruhe
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Der Blaue Reiter staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Der Blaue Reiter staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If Facing the street the room gets hot with sun light through the window so use the motorised shutters.”
 of 5 bubbles BigAl1703, 6 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Be upgraded to the "KUBUS" for extra spectacular rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles RainerW560, 1 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Dont go to this hotel. The room I've been into was stinking.”
 of 5 bubbles Sarito88, 26 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Doesn't really matter, but prefer the rooms which do not face the street.”
 of 5 bubbles VikasSingh72, 22 Dec 2015 | Read review
“go for the KUBUS, especially is you have allergies”
 of 5 bubbles Jo_Chen_Lah, 13 Oct 2015 | Read review
5 of 5